Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby De Dragon » March 27th, 2017, 5:12 pm

sMASH wrote:not-the-mama will reference leekoko for u... (or what ever it is the saying that they say.)

While Baby D did say she would be like a jumbie from Les Coteaux to the UNC, it was Scarfy who boasted about going there and getting Manning to have a stroke, that eventually led to his death. The reason? Manning tried to get out of 'De Cabinet". :roll:

Property tax....why?

Postby desifemlove » April 10th, 2017, 12:46 am

It's needless.

Does the state need more money? No. Are there other ways to get revenue? Yes. It's economics 101 that taxes should meet overall fiscal or economic strategy and not be imposed willy nilly.

the rationale for this tax is pretty scant.

Re: Property tax....why?

Postby The_Honourable » April 10th, 2017, 1:04 am

Thread already exists with all the property tax arguments

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=685417&start=420

Re: Property tax....why?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 10th, 2017, 1:05 am

The real question is why not? its only natural to take advantage of anything. If they could still enslave people they would do it. Racket have to run aswell as pension and free healthcare, how are they going to pay for all of this? yes there are other ways to make money but why bother going through all that trouble when you can just easily force people to pay more taxes which isn't going to take any effort on their part?

Besides we don't pay tax under $6000 anyways so if push come to shove we can't argue much against this property tax.

Postby desifemlove » April 10th, 2017, 1:31 am

people can do anything, doesn't mean it's justified. if the government put a tax on people who wear black shoes, is this valid, jus cos they can do it?

Excessive taxes are a burden to any economy, and the government itself says that the fiscal hole has been plugged. I don't get why this extra tax is needed, but if PNM want to lose next elections (local and general) and allow equal yellow sheit (UNC) back in, Dr. Rowley is welcome.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 10th, 2017, 2:06 am

^ Rowley could do anything he wants because he knows UNC will not win, Kamla and the Cabal will make sure that UNC never wins another election.

So Rowley can be lazy and just tax everybody and not worry about anything. This is not the legendary pandey/ramesh UNC this is the joke UNC run by retards, Rowley have nothing to fear.

Postby De Dragon » April 10th, 2017, 9:22 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Rowley could do anything he wants because he knows UNC will not win, Kamla and the Cabal will make sure that UNC never wins another election.

So Rowley can be lazy and just tax everybody and not worry about anything. This is not the legendary pandey/ramesh UNC this is the joke UNC run by retards, Rowley have nothing to fear.

Continue to feel so, even notoriously docile Trinbagonians have their limits.

Postby desifemlove » April 10th, 2017, 5:02 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Rowley could do anything he wants because he knows UNC will not win, Kamla and the Cabal will make sure that UNC never wins another election.

Not sure about that. PDP can win Tobago East, and UNC Grande and maybe St. Joseph and Moruga. That's 20 seats, enough to at least remove PNM's majority.

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2017, 11:30 pm

Are you saying that you would rather base rates on a calculation of square footage per defined locale and type of property?

If you are, that is essentially the way that a property evaluation is done to assess value. You can get a per square foot value of most property in Trinidad based on location and intended usage.

greggle71 wrote:I could live with a land and building tax but was never in favour of using the rental value as a basis. Developing my own space which indirectly increases my utility consumption should be reflected in my utility bills and not the property value. I prefer they meter my water so I could control that spend rather than a new bathroom that increases my property value and net tax.

What makes better sense is a square feet calculation based on a zoning definition, residential, commercial or industrial. Within each type you create tiers based on infrastructure and environmental factors.

If I want to live in Westmoorings or Valsyn or Gulf View which may be the top tier residential zone then based on my square footage I will know what is payable etc.

It also gives governments the impetus to continuously enhance infrastructure within zones to move communities up through the tiers and increase revenue. Better roads and utility supply, crime, education, access to health facilities, sporting and green spaces are some of the indices that can be factored.

The proposed scheme just creates complexities that causes confusion.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » April 12th, 2017, 9:48 am

adnj wrote:Are you saying that you would rather base rates on a calculation of square footage per defined locale and type of property?

If you are, that is essentially the way that a property evaluation is done to assess value. You can get a per square foot value of most property in Trinidad based on location and intended usage.

greggle71 wrote:I could live with a land and building tax but was never in favour of using the rental value as a basis. Developing my own space which indirectly increases my utility consumption should be reflected in my utility bills and not the property value. I prefer they meter my water so I could control that spend rather than a new bathroom that increases my property value and net tax.

What makes better sense is a square feet calculation based on a zoning definition, residential, commercial or industrial. Within each type you create tiers based on infrastructure and environmental factors.

If I want to live in Westmoorings or Valsyn or Gulf View which may be the top tier residential zone then based on my square footage I will know what is payable etc.

It also gives governments the impetus to continuously enhance infrastructure within zones to move communities up through the tiers and increase revenue. Better roads and utility supply, crime, education, access to health facilities, sporting and green spaces are some of the indices that can be factored.

The proposed scheme just creates complexities that causes confusion.

Yes

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 19th, 2017, 11:13 am

but im only seeing things for renters there

. what about the people who own homes?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2017, 12:50 pm

Monkey Man wrote:but im only seeing things for renters there

the tax is based on the potential rental value of the property. So you will be taxed based on what your property would be rented for if you were to rent it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2017, 12:51 pm

0128e2a1-6bd2-46db-b8b3-f5f31995f7fb.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 19th, 2017, 1:04 pm

So for people who have 5 Acres of agriculture land how much Tax are we going to pay on that?

I have 1.25 acre planted but those coconut won't start to produce until the year 2022. My brother has 2 Acres with 200 coconut trees that were producing and in just 4 years he lost 60 Trees to the red ring and lethal yellowing disease. He has another 1 acre where 90% of the trees are dead including orange trees killed from a previous bush fire.

So given diseases and all these things how exactly are they calculating this? because they will need to take into consideration the yearly losses of farmers especially since the government has done absolutely nothing to help coconut farmers with this disease.

Postby sMASH » April 19th, 2017, 1:05 pm

it is highly inappropriate

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 19th, 2017, 1:16 pm

the tax is based on the potential rental value of the property. So you will be taxed based on what your property would be rented for if you were to rent it.

so if i rel struggle to buy a piece of lann in the bush and build a small dwelling. Then all of a sudden the place get bright and mall and movie town and ting get build... my tail will get wail.

Postby Chimera » April 19th, 2017, 1:24 pm

tax upon tax upon tax in yuh mccccc

$h@dy

Postby $h@dy » April 19th, 2017, 1:28 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 19th, 2017, 1:31 pm

^^Paint sales go drop now!!!

Postby Chimera » April 19th, 2017, 1:31 pm

what they gonna do with land and houses that in contention before the courts though

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 19th, 2017, 1:49 pm

so wah going on with men who like to build without approvals

Postby pete » April 19th, 2017, 1:52 pm

It just says as many of the supporting documents as possible. They aren't all mandatory.

car

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby car » April 19th, 2017, 1:54 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so wah going on with men who like to build without approvals

Right now they just concerned with getting tax $ on whatever is on the land. They will deal with approvals in the next few years.
Last edited by car on April 19th, 2017, 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 19th, 2017, 2:00 pm

ADONI wrote:^^Paint sales go drop now!!!

HAHAHHAHA :lol:

Postby hydroep » April 19th, 2017, 2:42 pm

The $ 3000.00 per month rental figure they're using in that illustration is extremely conservative even for modest homes in urban areas. No doubt, it was chosen to appease the masses by making the calculated tax look reasonable.

There'll be surprises a plenty when the final assessments are done. Prepare yourselves.

Postby The_Honourable » April 19th, 2017, 5:13 pm

hydroep wrote:The $ 3000.00 per month rental figure they're using in that illustration is extremely conservative even for modest homes in urban areas. No doubt, it was chosen to appease the masses by making the calculated tax look reasonable.

There'll be surprises a plenty when the final assessments are done. Prepare yourselves.

Sounds feasible. I guess he will increase the tax somewhere down the road if the economy continues to stagnate.

For now, nobody will riot...

Dragular

Postby Dragular » April 19th, 2017, 5:26 pm

Property Tax = Great Reason to Riot!

call the man bluff

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2017, 5:41 pm

Monkey Man wrote:

so if i rel struggle to buy a piece of lann in the bush and build a small dwelling. Then all of a sudden the place get bright and mall and movie town and ting get build... my tail will get wail.

Well you'd be lucky to get that kind of return on your investment.

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2017, 5:50 pm

lot of properties in woodbrook also dont have current city corp leases, technically no owner

Phone Surgeon wrote:what they gonna do with land and houses that in contention before the courts though