hong kong phooey wrote:But if you drive in the US you will notice that the slow lane most time is moving at the speed limit and the other lanes are moving even faster .
adnj wrote:hong kong phooey wrote:src1983 wrote:What they need to do is crack down on right lane drivers that under the impression "I driving 80, so I could drive on this lane all the time"
<a class="vglnk" href="https://youtu.be/4oqfodY2Lz0" rel="nofollow"><span>https</span><span>://</span><span>youtu</span><span>.</span><span>be</span><span>/</span><span>4oqfodY2Lz0</span></a>
But if you drive in the US you will notice that the slow lane most time is moving at the speed limit and the other lanes are moving even faster . And according to the video they trying to crack down on slow cars driving on the (faster lane ) so as not to obstruct the vehicles moving at a faster pace .
But here in Trinidad they want to ticket you for driving above 80 km /hr so what is the sense.
Note to the idiots who going to say there is no fast lane or slow lane , I did not use left and right because it opposite in the US.
and yes i know the law is keep left unless if overtaking here in Trinidad.
This is not true. You will typically get ticketed for doing 5 mph over the limit all over the US. Ontario and Quebec will ticket you for exceeding the limit. Period.
German Autobahn: if someone flashes their lights at you, immediately pull into the slow lane. 190 km/h is common.
Monkey Man wrote:stupes if ullur cant handel the pace drive at ullur 60.
jes keep out ah we way.
not we fault ollur have crap car with crap suspention and crap drivers
Monkey Man wrote:skylinechild wrote:sMASH wrote:i thought the roads aren't engineered to be safe above 80kmph?
could really remember a lot of words read about the engineering.
the enginnering hasnt changed much.... the road surface is still $hit..... if you feel like going 120kmh on the extreme left lane between grand bazzar and munroe rd chaguanas.....feel free......Monkey Man wrote:stupes if ullur cant handel the pace drive at ullur 60.
jes keep out ah we way.
your comment really suits your name...
spoken like a true GTR tiida driver.....btw Bilstein and H&R user checking in....
lemme hear yuh...src1983 wrote:What they need to do is crack down on right lane drivers that under the impression "I driving 80, so I could drive on this lane all the time"
https://youtu.be/4oqfodY2Lz0
well...your vid is nice ....but pointless to some ppl..
extreme left lane is for slower moving vehicles... T- plates vehicles are limited to 65kmh...they SHOULD be here..but they not.
as SOOOOON as they start enforcing the 65 kmh law for T vehicles ANNNDDDD fix the extreme left lane surface (no patch job eah....) i'll be more than happy to stay left....
BUT until then UDFR.......
btw i drive in the middle lane and i do 75kmh let ppl who want to drive fast with their GTR tiida and suspex suspension feel free to pull left OR pull right to overtake.aaron17 wrote:DVSTT wrote:Wonder if they'd refund everyone they charged for doing between 80-100km/h if they raised it to 100km/h?
This!
ummm no.![]()
they were ticketed when it was unlawful for them to be moving at that rate of speed.
as laws are updated and amended they arent made retroactive...
by that same logic if they implement tint laws and the new limit is now 10% ...everyone who previously had on 10% and was forced to remove it will want a refund too???
all that to say u cant control yuh car pass 80?
if thats the case im not judging pal. all of us out here aint equal.
sMASH wrote:Monkey Man wrote:skylinechild wrote:sMASH wrote:i thought the roads aren't engineered to be safe above 80kmph?
the enginnering hasnt changed much.... the road surface is still $hit..... if you feel like going 120kmh on the extreme left lane between grand bazzar and munroe rd chaguanas.....feel free......Monkey Man wrote:stupes if ullur cant handel the pace drive at ullur 60.
jes keep out ah we way.
your comment really suits your name...
spoken like a true GTR tiida driver.....btw Bilstein and H&R user checking in....
lemme hear yuh...src1983 wrote:What they need to do is crack down on right lane drivers that under the impression "I driving 80, so I could drive on this lane all the time"
https://youtu.be/4oqfodY2Lz0
well...your vid is nice ....but pointless to some ppl..
extreme left lane is for slower moving vehicles... T- plates vehicles are limited to 65kmh...they SHOULD be here..but they not.
as SOOOOON as they start enforcing the 65 kmh law for T vehicles ANNNDDDD fix the extreme left lane surface (no patch job eah....) i'll be more than happy to stay left....
BUT until then UDFR.......
btw i drive in the middle lane and i do 75kmh let ppl who want to drive fast with their GTR tiida and suspex suspension feel free to pull left OR pull right to overtake.aaron17 wrote:DVSTT wrote:Wonder if they'd refund everyone they charged for doing between 80-100km/h if they raised it to 100km/h?
This!
ummm no.![]()
they were ticketed when it was unlawful for them to be moving at that rate of speed.
by that same logic if they implement tint laws and the new limit is now 10% ...everyone who previously had on 10% and was forced to remove it will want a refund too???
all that to say u cant control yuh car pass 80?
if thats the case im not judging pal. all of us out here aint equal.
one of the laws is to keep left EXCEPT when over taking. so unless the word 'left' is spelt c-e-n-t-e-r, try and obey the people laws, plzzz eh faddah.
sMASH wrote:one of the laws is to keep left EXCEPT when over taking. so unless the word 'left' is spelt c-e-n-t-e-r, try and obey the people laws, plzzz eh faddah.
adnj wrote:hong kong phooey wrote:But if you drive in the US you will notice that the slow lane most time is moving at the speed limit and the other lanes are moving even faster .
This is not true. You will typically get ticketed for doing 5 mph over the limit all over the US. Ontario and Quebec will ticket you for exceeding the limit. Period.
German Autobahn: if someone flashes their lights at you, immediately pull into the slow lane. 190 km/h is common.
adnj wrote:hong kong phooey wrote:But if you drive in the US you will notice that the slow lane most time is moving at the speed limit and the other lanes are moving even faster .
D Diesel Report wrote:Everywhere except Trinidad has a margin for error when it comes to speed limit. Down here its just a money making thing which is why its so dogmatic.
D Diesel Report wrote:In Ontario you are allowed to go as much as 20 km/h over the speed limit before you are charged (they take overtaking and human behaviour into consideration). If you excessively speed (150 km/h and up), they will tow your car and you'll have to walk home.
sMASH wrote:sooo, they used common sense and discretion. ^^
sMASH wrote:u will force people to overtake on the left, which is also an offense....
Monkey Man wrote:i does get "lights" from my fellow road monkies on the opposite lane anyways
hong kong phooey wrote:Monkey Man wrote:i does get "lights" from my fellow road monkies on the opposite lane anyways
Guess i am a road monkey then. I will keep giving lights till they have a good speed limit. I don't support jackass driving or excessive speeding (which i consider above 130km).
Please tell me, exactly how do you "engineer" a road for a certain speed limit? Once you can answer that you will see why anybody that mentions that as a point against a higher speed limit is speaking utter rubbish. If you want to talk about safe highway speeds given the current wearing surface due to weathering, wear and tear and faulty construction then that is a different point and would only be applicable to specific locations of the highway inspected for such. Otherwise, please stop the spread of misinformation. It makes it worse for us all.sMASH wrote:i thought the roads aren't engineered to be safe above 80kmph?
Exactly. With that kind of thinking if they change speed limit to 100 and then decide to drop it back to 80 because they realise it making things worse then they could charge everybody that was driving above 80 when it was legal to do so. Sounds ridiculously stupid right?skylinechild wrote:aaron17 wrote:DVSTT wrote:Wonder if they'd refund everyone they charged for doing between 80-100km/h if they raised it to 100km/h?
This!
ummm no.![]()
Habit7 wrote:Enforce all the road traffic laws
Published on May 13, 2016, 7:10 pm AST
On behalf of the Transportation Sub-Committee of the Association of Professional Engineers (APETT), I wish to comment on the controversy surrounding the improved enforcement of speed limits.
The road system comprises three elements viz: (i) the roadway (ii) the vehicles and (iii) the users (drivers, pedestrians).
These elements interact with each other and the external environment. In determining what would be the safe operating speeds for road and highway systems it is important to understand the nature of this interaction, the expected operating arrangements and the likelihood and severity of risks associated with deviation.
On April 9, the Motor Vehicles Act was amended to permit police officers to utilise speed guns for spot speed enforcement.
Almost immediately after this announcement, a petition initiated by members of the public began circulating, requesting that the legal speed limit be revised upward from 80 km/h to 120 km/h on the nation’s highways.
In responding to this call the following should be noted.
(1) The current speed limits were established over 40 years ago and need to be reviewed in the light of changes in the land use and highway system as well as in vehicle technology.
(2) Most of the highways built over the last 20 years have been engineered to specific design speeds.
The design speed is defined as the maximum safe speed that can be maintained over a specified section of highway when conditions are favourable, such that the design features of the highway govern.
Design features include: pavement surface quality, lane width, presence and width of hard shoulders, horizontal and vertical curves, traffic signage, existence of medians and buffer zones, frequency, design and location of accesses and intersections.
Therefore, notwithstanding the design speed, the safe operating speed on the highway will be compromised if the actual operating conditions in any one of the above areas is lowered or compromised.
Unfortunately, most of our highways suffer from poor pavement surface quality, narrow lane widths, poor super-elevation at curves, medians that are cluttered with advertising hoardings, poor signage and lane demarcation and significant illegal accesses.
(3) Speed differentials e.g. at merge, diverge and intersection points are an important risk factor. A higher operating speed would lead to a higher speed differential between vehicles in the traffic stream.
This higher speed differential, combined with drivers who do not adhere to the regulation of driving on the left lane except when overtaking, would lead to more high speed weaving manoeuvres and decreased safety.
(4) Any proposed increase in the speed limit on any particular road must be preceded by a traffic engineering study that examines the existing roadway conditions, safety features, driver behaviour, accident history, 85th percentile operating speeds, activity/land use and terrain in the surrounding area.
In this regard, we support the position as articulated by the Ministry of Works, Infrastructure and Transport.
Unfortunately, the Traffic Management Branch of the ministry has not been given the human and financial resources over the years to carry out what should be a routine programme of traffic data collection, safety analysis and accident blackspot detection and remediation.
It is imperative that the institutional strengthening of this organisation be placed on the top of the Government’s transportation agenda.
Additionally, the relevant agencies are encouraged to enforce all of the traffic laws including illegal accesses, improper lane use, breach of traffic signals, and illegal use of shoulders and turning lanes.
These breaches contribute significantly to both unsafe traffic conditions and indiscipline on the roadways.
Finally, it should be noted that enforcement of the current speed limit cannot lead to significantly increased travel times and traffic congestion.
For example, a motorist who in very light traffic would have normally driven from Arima to PoS at a speed of 120 km/h would take an additional seven minutes at 80km/h.
Similarly the time from San Fernando to PoS would take an additional 12.5 minutes.
Of course, the likelihood of maintaining such a high speed over the entire trip is quite small, thus in reality, the time difference would be even less.
Indeed, when coupled with enforcement of other rules such as keeping left except when overtaking, speed limit enforcement can lead to better platooning of vehicles and a calmer driving experience.
Trevor Townsend
APETT Transportation Committee
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160513 ... affic-laws
Please tell me, exactly how do you "engineer" a road for a certain speed limit? Once you can answer that you will see why anybody that mentions that as a point against a higher speed limit is speaking utter rubbish. If you want to talk about safe highway speeds given the current wearing surface due to weathering, wear and tear and faulty construction then that is a different point and would only be applicable to specific locations of the highway inspected for such. Otherwise, please stop the spread of misinformation. It makes it worse for usSlartibartfast wrote:sMASH wrote:i thought the roads aren't engineered to be safe above 80kmph?