New speed limit soon?

Re: New speed limit soon?

Postby adnj » April 18th, 2017, 2:34 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:But if you drive in the US you will notice that the slow lane most time is moving at the speed limit and the other lanes are moving even faster .

This is not true. You will typically get ticketed for doing 5 mph over the limit all over the US. Ontario and Quebec will ticket you for exceeding the limit. Period.

German Autobahn: if someone flashes their lights at you, immediately pull into the slow lane. 190 km/h is common.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » April 18th, 2017, 2:43 pm

adnj wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:
src1983 wrote:What they need to do is crack down on right lane drivers that under the impression "I driving 80, so I could drive on this lane all the time"

<a class="vglnk" href="https://youtu.be/4oqfodY2Lz0" rel="nofollow"><span>https</span><span>://</span><span>youtu</span><span>.</span><span>be</span><span>/</span><span>4oqfodY2Lz0</span></a>

But if you drive in the US you will notice that the slow lane most time is moving at the speed limit and the other lanes are moving even faster . And according to the video they trying to crack down on slow cars driving on the (faster lane ) so as not to obstruct the vehicles moving at a faster pace .
But here in Trinidad they want to ticket you for driving above 80 km /hr so what is the sense.

Note to the idiots who going to say there is no fast lane or slow lane , I did not use left and right because it opposite in the US.
and yes i know the law is keep left unless if overtaking here in Trinidad.

This is not true. You will typically get ticketed for doing 5 mph over the limit all over the US. Ontario and Quebec will ticket you for exceeding the limit. Period.

German Autobahn: if someone flashes their lights at you, immediately pull into the slow lane. 190 km/h is common.

What horse mess you spewing here? In Ontario you are allowed to go as much as 20 km/h over the speed limit before you are charged (they take overtaking and human behaviour into consideration). If you excessively speed (150 km/h and up), they will tow your car and you'll have to walk home. So yeh, take advantage of the allowance, and you get horrible consequences.

Everywhere except Trinidad has a margin for error when it comes to speed limit. Down here its just a money making thing which is why its so dogmatic.

Postby Redman » April 18th, 2017, 2:43 pm

Well Sheeeeit, Max Power have a good point.

Without permanent enforcement the speed limit is irrelevant.

Postby sMASH » April 18th, 2017, 3:46 pm

Monkey Man wrote:stupes if ullur cant handel the pace drive at ullur 60.

jes keep out ah we way.
not we fault ollur have crap car with crap suspention and crap drivers

oarrrr, drive on the main roads, and leave highways for big people.

Postby sMASH » April 18th, 2017, 3:58 pm

Monkey Man wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
sMASH wrote:i thought the roads aren't engineered to be safe above 80kmph?

could really remember a lot of words read about the engineering.

the enginnering hasnt changed much.... the road surface is still $hit..... if you feel like going 120kmh on the extreme left lane between grand bazzar and munroe rd chaguanas.....feel free......

jes keep out ah we way.

:lol: :lol: :lol: your comment really suits your name...

spoken like a true GTR tiida driver.....btw Bilstein and H&R user checking in....

lemme hear yuh...

src1983 wrote:What they need to do is crack down on right lane drivers that under the impression "I driving 80, so I could drive on this lane all the time"

https://youtu.be/4oqfodY2Lz0

well...your vid is nice ....but pointless to some ppl..

extreme left lane is for slower moving vehicles... T- plates vehicles are limited to 65kmh...they SHOULD be here..but they not.

as SOOOOON as they start enforcing the 65 kmh law for T vehicles ANNNDDDD fix the extreme left lane surface (no patch job eah....) i'll be more than happy to stay left....

BUT until then UDFR.......

btw i drive in the middle lane and i do 75kmh let ppl who want to drive fast with their GTR tiida and suspex suspension feel free to pull left OR pull right to overtake.

aaron17 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Wonder if they'd refund everyone they charged for doing between 80-100km/h if they raised it to 100km/h?

This!

ummm no. :|
they were ticketed when it was unlawful for them to be moving at that rate of speed.

as laws are updated and amended they arent made retroactive...

by that same logic if they implement tint laws and the new limit is now 10% ...everyone who previously had on 10% and was forced to remove it will want a refund too???

all that to say u cant control yuh car pass 80?
if thats the case im not judging pal. all of us out here aint equal.

one of the laws is to keep left EXCEPT when over taking. so unless the word 'left' is spelt c-e-n-t-e-r, try and obey the people laws, plzzz eh faddah.

Postby Country_Bookie » April 18th, 2017, 4:03 pm

it have a speed limit?

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2017, 4:24 pm

I hope they don't raise it too high

previously 2-3 days a week they have to fix cable barriers causing massive traffic
now it is hardly

Postby DVSTT » April 18th, 2017, 4:39 pm

sMASH wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

the enginnering hasnt changed much.... the road surface is still $hit..... if you feel like going 120kmh on the extreme left lane between grand bazzar and munroe rd chaguanas.....feel free......

jes keep out ah we way.

:lol: :lol: :lol: your comment really suits your name...

spoken like a true GTR tiida driver.....btw Bilstein and H&R user checking in....

lemme hear yuh...

https://youtu.be/4oqfodY2Lz0

well...your vid is nice ....but pointless to some ppl..

extreme left lane is for slower moving vehicles... T- plates vehicles are limited to 65kmh...they SHOULD be here..but they not.

as SOOOOON as they start enforcing the 65 kmh law for T vehicles ANNNDDDD fix the extreme left lane surface (no patch job eah....) i'll be more than happy to stay left....

BUT until then UDFR.......

btw i drive in the middle lane and i do 75kmh let ppl who want to drive fast with their GTR tiida and suspex suspension feel free to pull left OR pull right to overtake.

aaron17 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Wonder if they'd refund everyone they charged for doing between 80-100km/h if they raised it to 100km/h?

This!

they were ticketed when it was unlawful for them to be moving at that rate of speed.

by that same logic if they implement tint laws and the new limit is now 10% ...everyone who previously had on 10% and was forced to remove it will want a refund too???

all that to say u cant control yuh car pass 80?
if thats the case im not judging pal. all of us out here aint equal.

one of the laws is to keep left EXCEPT when over taking. so unless the word 'left' is spelt c-e-n-t-e-r, try and obey the people laws, plzzz eh faddah.

https://www.amazon.com/Stebel-11690019- ... l+nautilus

This usually helps them to keep left.

Postby skylinechild » April 18th, 2017, 10:49 pm

sMASH wrote:one of the laws is to keep left EXCEPT when over taking. so unless the word 'left' is spelt c-e-n-t-e-r, try and obey the people laws, plzzz eh faddah.

as i said ..

""as SOOOOON as they start enforcing the 65 kmh law for T vehicles ANNNDDDD fix the extreme left lane surface (no patch job eah....) i'll be more than happy to stay left....

BUT until then UDFR......."

Postby sMASH » April 18th, 2017, 10:54 pm

u will force people to overtake on the left, which is also an offense....

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 18th, 2017, 11:13 pm

adnj wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:But if you drive in the US you will notice that the slow lane most time is moving at the speed limit and the other lanes are moving even faster .

I guess it depends on the state, and the roads. In most of those 4 lanes i have driven on it does not seem any of the faster lanes follow the speed limit. You see the cops there also, some on the roads driving and even they going faster than the speed limit following the flow of traffic.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 18th, 2017, 11:46 pm

adnj wrote:

This is not true ... have passed speed traps in Maryland and Florida doing 5-7 mph over the limit multiple times and have not been ticketed.

Postby RBphoto » April 19th, 2017, 8:17 am

D Diesel Report wrote:Everywhere except Trinidad has a margin for error when it comes to speed limit. Down here its just a money making thing which is why its so dogmatic.

This is precisely the problem I have with enforcement here. You practically have to drive at 75Kmph to ensure you are not ticketed if they will stop you for 5kmph over the limit. Some allowance has to be made in setting the speed at which a ticket or just a warning would be issued. The current system is designed, as you say, as a revenue earner. I have been an avid supporter of enforcement and the current speed limit, but the implementation is ridiculous. I try my best to stay at 80, but in reality my speed varies between 75-90. I try my best to stay under 80, but if a car is going 60-65 on the left, I will overtake and not be a douche and drive at exact 80 on the right to slow down a line of cars on the right going above that until I can pull on the left. Some consideration and discretion is needed in all situations.

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 19th, 2017, 8:23 am

You would think the human element would think like that, unlike a traffic cam that has a set limit.

Postby wagonrunner » April 19th, 2017, 9:57 pm

if they were serious about limiting damage in the event of an accident, they would target the heavier vehicles first.
but with the 80km limit, there are busses / maxis / trucks who break it with impunity.

Postby adnj » April 19th, 2017, 10:11 pm

D Diesel Report wrote:In Ontario you are allowed to go as much as 20 km/h over the speed limit before you are charged (they take overtaking and human behaviour into consideration). If you excessively speed (150 km/h and up), they will tow your car and you'll have to walk home.

If you got away with it, I guess you're one of the lucky ones.

The speed limit in Ontario is 100 km/h, iirc. I remember that the King's highway was only 80 and 50 km/h around Windsor and other urban areas. Other provinces of Canada are 120km/h maximum. You'll get your vehicle impounded at 50 over only in Ontario.

The officers are not required to take anything into "consideration". You may not get a ticket by going 10 over but the limit is not variable. And if you are an out of province resident, you pay on the spot.

I have never seen fewer people get ticketed for speeding in any country when compared to Trinidad. That may not be true much longer.

For the record, you don't just automatically get a speeding ticket anywhere in my experience. Many police officers are just not going to give you a ticket for going a few miles too fast. It's a hassle and many of my police officer friends believed that they had more important crimes to deal with. In the past, I've been given breaks on what my speed really was but that was up to the individual officer.

If you go faster than the posted limit, you just broke the law. It doesn't matter what your reasons are. But you may not get fined... or maybe you will.

Postby sMASH » April 19th, 2017, 10:32 pm

sooo, they used common sense and discretion. ^^

Postby adnj » April 19th, 2017, 10:45 pm

sMASH wrote:sooo, they used common sense and discretion. ^^

It's probably not too easy to use much discretion when the camera just snapped you doing 3km/h over the limit.

Blame the one that bought the speed camera instead of the gun.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 19th, 2017, 11:12 pm

sMASH wrote:u will force people to overtake on the left, which is also an offense....

I am sorry.. but I for one am not going to "stay left" in those places where the left is a "horrible patch" of messy corrupt sheit paving work.

I am a tax payer just like everybody else, so why should I be forced to drive on the Off Road part of the highway?
It appears as though, a person who drives within the speed limit and obey the highway laws have to endure the most crap.

I not saying that I will hog the right lane all the time, but for certain sections
(like heading North infront C3)
I'll be driving the speed limit on the right.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 20th, 2017, 12:03 am

^^^agreed...I am at 80 on the right lane for that northbound piece by C3. I overtaking bad road...
Tuner posted his ticket where he get tagged for overtaking in that area as well.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 20th, 2017, 6:46 am

i does get "lights" from my fellow road monkies on the opposite lane anyways 0X

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 20th, 2017, 8:00 am

Monkey Man wrote:i does get "lights" from my fellow road monkies on the opposite lane anyways 0X

Guess i am a road monkey then. I will keep giving lights till they have a good speed limit. I don't support jackass driving or excessive speeding (which i consider above 130km).

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 20th, 2017, 8:05 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:i does get "lights" from my fellow road monkies on the opposite lane anyways 0X

Guess i am a road monkey then. I will keep giving lights till they have a good speed limit. I don't support jackass driving or excessive speeding (which i consider above 130km).

cheers!

GOAT

Postby GOAT » April 20th, 2017, 9:14 am

KEEP LEFT EXCEPT WHILE OVERTAKING

Is this so difficult?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 20th, 2017, 3:29 pm

Yeah ... allu save my ass twice on sunday ... Speed trap after caroni and one by Arima side.

Thanks for the lights! Will return the favour.

Postby sMASH » April 20th, 2017, 3:43 pm

If the point is to have the speed reduced, then the lights doing a better job than the police

Postby sMASH » April 20th, 2017, 3:43 pm

If the point is to share ticket, then the police are being upstaged by the lights

Postby Slartibartfast » April 20th, 2017, 4:43 pm

Please tell me, exactly how do you "engineer" a road for a certain speed limit? Once you can answer that you will see why anybody that mentions that as a point against a higher speed limit is speaking utter rubbish. If you want to talk about safe highway speeds given the current wearing surface due to weathering, wear and tear and faulty construction then that is a different point and would only be applicable to specific locations of the highway inspected for such. Otherwise, please stop the spread of misinformation. It makes it worse for us all.

skylinechild wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

This!

Exactly. With that kind of thinking if they change speed limit to 100 and then decide to drop it back to 80 because they realise it making things worse then they could charge everybody that was driving above 80 when it was legal to do so. Sounds ridiculously stupid right?

The point is that you broke the law. You drove above the speed limit when the limit was 80. Btw, I'm guilty of this as well so this isn't a "holier than thou" speech.

Postby sMASH » April 20th, 2017, 7:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:Enforce all the road traffic laws
Published on May 13, 2016, 7:10 pm AST

On behalf of the Transportation Sub-Committee of the Association of Professional Engineers (APETT), I wish to comment on the controversy surrounding the improved enforcement of speed limits.

The road system comprises three elements viz: (i) the roadway (ii) the vehicles and (iii) the users (drivers, pedestrians).
These elements interact with each other and the external environment. In determining what would be the safe operating speeds for road and highway systems it is important to understand the nature of this interaction, the expected operating arrangements and the likelihood and severity of risks associated with deviation.

On April 9, the Motor Vehicles Act was amended to permit police officers to utilise speed guns for spot speed enforcement.
Almost immediately after this announcement, a petition initiated by members of the public began circulating, requesting that the legal speed limit be revised upward from 80 km/h to 120 km/h on the nation’s highways.
In responding to this call the following should be noted.

(1) The current speed limits were established over 40 years ago and need to be reviewed in the light of changes in the land use and highway system as well as in vehicle technology.

(2) Most of the highways built over the last 20 years have been engineered to specific design speeds.
The design speed is defined as the maximum safe speed that can be maintained over a specified section of highway when conditions are favourable, such that the design features of the highway govern.
Design features include: pavement surface quality, lane width, presence and width of hard shoulders, horizontal and vertical curves, traffic signage, existence of medians and buffer zones, frequency, design and location of accesses and intersections.
Therefore, notwithstanding the design speed, the safe operating speed on the highway will be compromised if the actual operating conditions in any one of the above areas is lowered or compromised.
Unfortunately, most of our highways suffer from poor pavement surface quality, narrow lane widths, poor super-elevation at curves, medians that are cluttered with advertising hoardings, poor signage and lane demarcation and significant illegal accesses.

(3) Speed differentials e.g. at merge, diverge and intersection points are an important risk factor. A higher operating speed would lead to a higher speed differential between vehicles in the traffic stream.
This higher speed differential, combined with drivers who do not adhere to the regulation of driving on the left lane except when overtaking, would lead to more high speed weaving manoeuvres and decreased safety.

(4) Any proposed increase in the speed limit on any particular road must be preceded by a traffic engineering study that examines the existing roadway conditions, safety features, driver behaviour, accident history, 85th percentile operating speeds, activity/land use and terrain in the surrounding area.

In this regard, we support the position as articulated by the Ministry of Works, Infrastructure and Transport.
Unfortunately, the Traffic Management Branch of the ministry has not been given the human and financial resources over the years to carry out what should be a routine programme of traffic data collection, safety analysis and accident blackspot detection and remediation.
It is imperative that the institutional strengthening of this organisation be placed on the top of the Government’s transportation agenda.

Additionally, the relevant agencies are encouraged to enforce all of the traffic laws including illegal accesses, improper lane use, breach of traffic signals, and illegal use of shoulders and turning lanes.
These breaches contribute significantly to both unsafe traffic conditions and indiscipline on the roadways.
Finally, it should be noted that enforcement of the current speed limit cannot lead to significantly increased travel times and traffic congestion.

For example, a motorist who in very light traffic would have normally driven from Arima to PoS at a speed of 120 km/h would take an additional seven minutes at 80km/h.
Similarly the time from San Fernando to PoS would take an additional 12.5 minutes.
Of course, the likelihood of maintaining such a high speed over the entire trip is quite small, thus in reality, the time difference would be even less.
Indeed, when coupled with enforcement of other rules such as keeping left except when overtaking, speed limit enforcement can lead to better platooning of vehicles and a calmer driving experience.

Trevor Townsend
APETT Transportation Committee

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160513 ... affic-laws

i really had wished the 'disinformation' was nipped in the bud, and not allowed to spread for so long.

Nissan12

Postby Nissan12 » April 20th, 2017, 7:11 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

Please tell me, exactly how do you "engineer" a road for a certain speed limit? Once you can answer that you will see why anybody that mentions that as a point against a higher speed limit is speaking utter rubbish. If you want to talk about safe highway speeds given the current wearing surface due to weathering, wear and tear and faulty construction then that is a different point and would only be applicable to specific locations of the highway inspected for such. Otherwise, please stop the spread of misinformation. It makes it worse for us

All physics (but hopefully some civil engineers here will chime in) horizontal curves and cross fall to counter centripetal and centrifugal forces, vertical curves for visibility and stopping distance based on speed.... Yeah, not just making a foundation and paving it...