Fuel saving gadgets - Rip-off or Miracle?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 8th, 2005, 9:15 am

Check Fuel saving gadgets - An engineer's view - http://www.fuelsaving.info/debunk.htm

Comments :?: :)

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 8th, 2005, 9:57 am

WASTE OF TIME & MONEY

Gas Gimmicks

But then high gas prices are known to fuel absurd ideas.

How else to explain increased sales of so-called gas-saving devices claiming to boost miles per gallon?

"Buyers really need to beware of these claims," says Chris Grundler, chief executive of the Environmental Protection Agency's National Vehicle and Fuel Emissions Laboratory in Ann Arbor, Mich. "We have tested over 100 of these over the last 20 or so years and have found that very few of them provide any fuel economy benefits. Those that did were marginal."

The hot fuel-saving technology this year is called the "Tornado." For $69, this air-swirling gadget installs in a car's intake and, supposedly, creates a "vortex" of air that results in more efficient combustion. Its ads say tests show the Tornado increases mileage from 11 percent to almost 29 percent.

Sound too good to be true? "Nobody can believe this!" says Jay Kim, president of Tornado Air Management, in Santa Fe Springs, Calif., the manufacturer.

Kim says sales are up like never before: "A lot of consumers just love it. Tens of thousands of them."

But the government doesn't love it. The EPA has tested similar air-moving gadgets and none worked. The agency evaluated the Tornado's data and found no reason to think it can improve fuel economy, says spokesman John Millett.

Automotive expert Pat Goss, who hosts "Goss's Garage" on WJFK-FM and NewsChannel 8 and is a regular on PBS's "Motorweek," has tested more than a thousand fuel-saving devices over 25 years at his auto repair business in Seabrook, including earlier and current versions of the Tornado. The best it tested was a 0.6 mpg increase; the worst, a decrease in fuel economy.

"We get these things all the time," says Goss. "Not one of them that we ever tested did anything significant."

Kim dismisses the EPA's remarks as a "big government thing. Nothing you can do." Goss's findings? "Hmm, really?" he says.

Another device called the FuelSaver-Pro promises to save up to 27 percent in fuel economy by realigning gas molecules using magnets boxed around the fuel line. Mark Ayoub, who markets the product on FuelSaver-Pro.com, says, "Sales have increased since gas prices have recently shot up."

But the EPA in November alerted the Federal Trade Commission that the maker of the $89.95 FuelSaver-Pro was making unsubstantiated claims by mixing results from different tests to boost its mileage claims.

The manufacturer, IRD International Research & Development in San Diego, did not reply to requests for interviews, but the FuelSaver-Pro Web site just changed its promotion.

Roger Crawford, a businessman and independent researcher in Midland, Tex., takes a different approach to fuel economy. He has just begun marketing a gas additive he calls "XtraMPG." He says it boosts octane, burns cleaner and enables motorists to get better fuel economy and buy less expensive grades of gas -- saving 10 to 15 percent overall on gas.

What's in XtraMPG? "Most of us know it as nail polish remover," Crawford says. "It is simple acetone, a nonhazardous organic chemical . . . rated at 150 octane."

Crawford says he'd be happy if everyone bought acetone and added it to their gas tanks. But since people seem reluctant, he's packaging it as XtraMPG.

The EPA hasn't tested XtraMPG. But the EPA's Chandler warns that consumers need to beware what gadgets and fuel additives they add to their cars -- especially with today's computer-controlled fuel-injection systems. "There are other, more practical ways to save fuel," he says.

Taken from http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/ar ... 4May3.html

Over a year ago...and the same things are still being advertised.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 8th, 2005, 10:54 am

great read guys!

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » September 8th, 2005, 11:04 am

all dem fuel saving gadets is total BS

olton

Postby olton » September 8th, 2005, 11:07 am

This one works :lol:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 8th, 2005, 11:29 am

I Put a CB-26P in my car 4 years ago. It works for my old car.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » September 8th, 2005, 11:30 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: actualy.. the best additon i did to my car economy wise is pay $10 tt for a octain additive tabled from wynns and i averaged bout 60 - 70 kms more to a tank of gass whic for a car that normaly does 250 - 300 on an tank is good IMO

323fsport

Postby 323fsport » September 8th, 2005, 12:42 pm

"XtraMPG." He says it boosts octane, burns cleaner and enables motorists to get better fuel economy and buy less expensive grades of gas -- saving 10 to 15 percent overall on gas.

What's in XtraMPG? "Most of us know it as nail polish remover," Crawford says. "It is simple acetone, a nonhazardous organic chemical . . . rated at 150 octane."

Acetone uh!... :o

should i, or should i not???

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » September 8th, 2005, 2:15 pm

What about the Fitch fuel catalyst that GPS is currently selling right now?

Anyone tried it?

imperial

Postby imperial » September 8th, 2005, 2:23 pm

I try that ECOTEC cb26p CRAP and the only thing that happened is that I lost about $900 from my bank account. That blasted thing was a total RIP OFF and this was after I read the RAVE REVIEWS on the local papers. I even researched it on the net and was encountered again with RAVE REVIEWS!!!! Since then, I told EVERYONE who was intending on buying it to spend the money elsewhere. To tell you how bad the thing is... the man who used to sell it CLOSE DOWN HE SHOP!!!
I'll tell you how to save gas... dont let you right foot be that heavy!!!
http://www.fuelsaving.info/ecotek.htm

Rudman

Postby Rudman » September 8th, 2005, 3:41 pm

Never mind about the question about the Fitch fuel catylist, I just read the link Santifier put up.

Put this one under crap and rip-off as well.

Well done Santifier....... this link is a very good read!!

Rx

Postby Rx » September 8th, 2005, 4:06 pm

good info !!!

never had any belief in those things anyway .

Sully

Postby Sully » September 8th, 2005, 8:08 pm

A brick under your accelerator and you should save some money.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 9th, 2005, 8:26 am

imperial wrote:I try that ECOTEC cb26p CRAP and the only thing that happened is that I lost about $900 from my bank account.

What type of vehicle?
imperial wrote:To tell you how bad the thing is... the man who used to sell it CLOSE DOWN HE SHOP!!!

Woah there hoss!! Don't be spreading mis-information!! Labeed did not close down his 'shop' as you put it!!

Rudman

Postby Rudman » September 9th, 2005, 8:43 am

^^^ So where is he now? how come he and Ecotec seems to have vanished? Where is the advertisment that was running in Trinituner for Ecotec? Why have links to this individual dried up?

Seems to me the best part of that Ecotec deal was the free engine de-carbonizing he did. Then he gives you a $900 engine decoration!!
Last edited by Rudman on September 9th, 2005, 9:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » September 9th, 2005, 9:06 am

imperial wrote:I try that ECOTEC cb26p CRAP and the only thing that happened is that I lost about $900 from my bank account. That blasted thing was a total RIP OFF and this was after I read the RAVE REVIEWS on the local papers. I even researched it on the net and was encountered again with RAVE REVIEWS!!!! Since then, I told EVERYONE who was intending on buying it to spend the money elsewhere. To tell you how bad the thing is... the man who used to sell it CLOSE DOWN HE SHOP!!!
I'll tell you how to save gas... dont let you right foot be that heavy!!!
http://www.fuelsaving.info/ecotek.htm

Boi, I EAT that chain up too. There was also a favorable review on trinituner.com as well.

Dat $900.00 hurt boy :cry:

Rudman

Postby Rudman » September 9th, 2005, 9:38 am

Just out of curiosity Imperial the car U install the Ecotec buisness, was it carburetted or fuel injected?

nigel828

Postby nigel828 » September 9th, 2005, 12:59 pm

i wanted to try the ecotek in my 4wd libero but you guys convinced me not to $900 can giveme 6 sessions in agnes street :D :D :D :D :D :D

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » September 9th, 2005, 1:15 pm

Pal, I'll give you my ecotek FREE. It jus collectin dust somewhere :?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 9th, 2005, 1:27 pm

Rudman wrote:^^^ So where is he now? how come he and Ecotec seems to have vanished? Where is the advertisment that was running in Trinituner for Ecotec? Why have links to this individual dried up?

If you want his contact info PM me and you can ask him why he not advertising.

nigel828 wrote:i wanted to try the ecotek in my 4wd libero but you guys convinced me not to

I wouldn't recommend it either for that type of vehicle.

Corollaman wrote:Pal, I'll give you my ecotek FREE. It jus collectin dust somewhere

It prolly wont work properly though.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » September 9th, 2005, 4:07 pm

Computerman, seeing as u hav ethe inside scope shed some light nah.. why wont u recomend it for tha tvehicle ..and why do u say that corolla ma's ownt work

scientist

Postby scientist » September 9th, 2005, 5:31 pm

I have a method i use...put a block below the gas pedal to prevent me on flooring it....saves me $80 EC a week on gas

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 10th, 2005, 1:06 am

once yuh maintain yuh vehicle with yuh usual scheduled "tune ups" then I really don't see how those so called "gas saving devices" could be more beneficial than that!!!!!!!!!

Sully

Postby Sully » September 10th, 2005, 1:24 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~, You should consider the brick/block under the accelerator. I really think that would save me some money. Less time spent at WOT the better on my gas consumption.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 10th, 2005, 8:17 pm

horsepwrjunki wrote:Computerman, seeing as u hav ethe inside scope shed some light nah.. why wont u recomend it for tha tvehicle ..and why do u say that corolla ma's ownt work

Firstly, ~˜VëgŲ˜~ hit the nail on the head!

I seriously doubt that the libero will see any significant improvement (although there should be some improvement) in power or gas consumption. The benefit here will be in emissions... but even that will be negligible.

If the CB-26P was already installed in the vehicle and the nylon valve has seated (takes about 200Km) it would not work effectively in another vehicle.

imperial

Postby imperial » September 11th, 2005, 6:34 am

Computerman wrote:
imperial wrote:I try that ECOTEC cb26p CRAP and the only thing that happened is that I lost about $900 from my bank account.

What type of vehicle?

Its a B14 wit an SR20. It turns out that when I put in the engine, I was DRINKIN gas. And I read about this on the net and I decided to put it in. When I told my mechanic he said that I wasted money. Turns out that the problem was the super that NP was selling. Somehow my engine consumes it faster than premium.

imperial wrote:To tell you how bad the thing is... the man who used to sell it CLOSE DOWN HE SHOP!!!

Woah there hoss!! Don't be spreading mis-information!! Labeed did not close down his 'shop' as you put it!!

Why then did he take down the signs of all the things that he was selling?
Anyway, read the report and then you will see why it was a wasted $900.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » September 11th, 2005, 9:40 am

^^ Imperial, I ask him that same question, he says that you go have to P.M. him to find out where he gorne.

Personally, I think he just hiding....... the amount of dissatisfied customers this product seems to have, people must be want to lick him down with his CB26P for a full refund!! :?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » September 11th, 2005, 10:08 am

Its a B14 wit an SR20. It turns out that when I put in the engine, I was DRINKIN gas.

What I want to know is why did Labeed proceed to install Ecotec on this engine anyway?

Ecotec gave best results on cars that were carbureted, made before 1993. A B14 with an SR20 Engine I'm sure was after 1993. After all, the CB26 is just a glorified auxiliary air valve that helped leaned the mixture under certain conditions. Do modern fuel injected cars need this???

Why did he not advise of this? Was he willing to put this device on any engine for those who seemed interested? Seems unscrupulous to me. :?

Computerman, shed some light on this....... you are the only one defending Labeeds' honour. :|

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » September 12th, 2005, 10:00 am

I seem to have no complaints with the ecotek on my 2000 Ford Laser (same as Mazda 323) fuel injected. Averages about 10% improvement in gas mileage on a repeatable basis... and I have switched it off and then back on to verify my results.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » September 12th, 2005, 1:00 pm

^^ Finally, one man who say he get results on this thread. 10% is really good. What were the mileages before and after Ecotec?