Pablo660

Re: Where can you get good Steak Cuts eg rib eye, tomahawk, cowboy

Postby Pablo660 » November 3rd, 2016, 10:25 am

neexis wrote:
Pablo660 wrote:Both were Ribeye but one was dry age at $168.80 and the other was cowboy French cut at $175.45

Went Blooms today and bought the same dry aged and French cut. They also have grass fed ribeye that's halaal, for those looking.

Post your findings pls... curious to know if freezing affects the taste of that dry aged.

I don't think I had a pure dry age yet but I will definitely buy another French cut n dry age it for 28 days and compare to their frozen dry age

The dry age was flavorful, fat was just marvelous even after storing piece in fridge n re heating next day

If my wife wasn't Hindu I would be having one every week so I will settle for once a month

Postby *KRONIK* » November 3rd, 2016, 10:41 am

Where is this blooms place located?

Postby eliteauto » November 3rd, 2016, 10:52 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Where is this blooms place located?

Diego Martin less than a minute drive from Four Roads on the Main Road next to FCB

Re: RE: Re: Where can you get good Steak Cuts eg rib eye, tomahawk, cowboy

Postby *KRONIK* » November 3rd, 2016, 10:56 am

eliteauto wrote:

Diego Martin less than a minute drive from Four Roads on the Main Road next to FCB

Ohhoooooo

Note to self: walk with cooler when i going!

Postby Dizzy28 » November 3rd, 2016, 11:35 am

neexis wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:As someone who has never eaten Beef (but takes a keen interest in the culinary)............is it (steak) really that good??

Depends on the cut and quality of the meat. Probably started eating the stuff about 2 years ago. Most of the cheaper generic stuff tasted kinda bland to me, but I kept sampling around to develop some kinda baseline and to see if it's an acquired taste.

It seems like you get what you pay for.. the best and most flavourful stuff usually cost more. And for those times...... yeeaaaahhhh it's that good!!

Don't intend to start eating it but just wanted to know.
TBH swine is fine so if beef better it must be really good.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 3rd, 2016, 12:16 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

Ohhoooooo

Lol leave some for us please 1or2 will be fine

Postby *KRONIK* » November 3rd, 2016, 12:45 pm

Pablo660 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

Ohhoooooo

Lol leave some for us please 1or2 will be fine

I just going for 1 of the halaal cuts.
The rest is gor allyuh

neexis

Postby neexis » November 3rd, 2016, 12:45 pm

Pablo... I visiting this thread on a daily basis just to look at them pics

Pablo660

Where can you get good Steak Cuts eg rib eye, tomahawk, cowboy

Postby Pablo660 » November 4th, 2016, 12:49 pm

Side experiment: Goat burgers
Boneless goat n mincer ( belair store Marabella)

Cooking tomorrow

I got some strip loin for $21, not impressed but will try n see

Anyone know where to get sausage casings preferably collagen, veggie as most casings are pork
Lamb or other meat will be fine to

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 4th, 2016, 1:11 pm

neexis wrote:Pablo... I visiting this thread on a daily basis just to look at them pics

Lol well I'm glad you like it. I encourage you to try it( if you eat beef)
Pic doesn't do justice to how good it was

Duane did you make yours?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 4th, 2016, 1:23 pm

Pablo660 wrote:Side experiment: Goat burgers
Boneless goat n mincer ( belair store Marabella)

Cooking tomorrow

I got some strip loin for $21, not impressed but will try n see

Anyone know where to get sausage casings preferably collagen, veggie as most casings are pork
Lamb or other meat will be fine to

Oi pablo lewwe know how it come out, i see the meat looking really lean, interesting to see if the end result is dry..

I was thinking to try my hand with lamb burgers too but i wanna find a nice meat-fat ratio

Postby SR » November 4th, 2016, 5:10 pm

I use minced lamb from xtra foods gbaazaar

nick639v2

Where can you get good Steak Cuts eg rib eye, tomahawk, cowboy

Postby nick639v2 » November 4th, 2016, 5:56 pm

SR wrote:I use minced lamb from xtra foods gbaazaar

How was the end result? I bought in a meat shop in couva and burgers came out tooo dry

neexis

Postby neexis » November 4th, 2016, 6:42 pm

Pablo660 wrote:
neexis wrote:Pablo... I visiting this thread on a daily basis just to look at them pics

Has me thinking of a 20oz dry aged bone in ribeye I had in the US few weeks ago... might just have to go back for another round.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 4th, 2016, 6:47 pm

pugboy wrote:who going paul grant meat fest this weekend ?

Well i here...

now

Will update soon

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 4th, 2016, 6:48 pm

pugboy wrote:His stuff is a lot of New Zealand meat, good quality
He cooks with mccormicks rubs

Trust me, he does not use Mc Cormics, he's using a dry rub from a local supplier.

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2016, 6:55 pm

Pics pics

Postby *KRONIK* » November 4th, 2016, 7:13 pm

pugboy wrote:Pics pics

Wifey say we eh come to take pics... :(

Either way...food done eat out...

They said it can feed 2...but tbh...i woulda blaze everything without hesitation.

Lol

Tasted good tho.

Ordered medium..got it a bit past medium but taste was good.
Sides were kinda bland tho (veges and cream potato)

Postby *KRONIK* » November 4th, 2016, 10:03 pm

ImageImageImage

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 5th, 2016, 4:46 pm

Pablo660 wrote:

Yup i made both last night

did the dry aged reverse-seared and did the cowboy cut on the grill alone.
The flavour on the dry aged was orgasmic, a kinda earthy, mushroomy flavour - yummy!

both were tender and had good marbling - both tasted great, but the dry aged I'll def try again!

oh and forgot to take pics :oops: :(

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2016, 8:04 pm

Got this from a padna today

Any suggestions as to how to cut, prepare?

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2016, 9:22 pm

you have real good padnas

for basic steaks
cut in steaks 1" and season salt/bp and brush with olive oil just before grilling high heat fast
it is a lean tender cut so no need if overcooked will get stiffer.

a real nice asian style marinade is from alton brown
cut in 1" cubes for kebabs and marinate overnight in plastic bag

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alto ... ecipe.html

grill on real high heat also

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2016, 9:24 pm

I eh get it free eh!

When i say i get it....he buy a case and sold me 1 at cost price...lol

I didnt want to thaw it and cut...will cutting it frozen on a band saw be a wise idea?

I was thinking 1" pieces also...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 10th, 2016, 9:25 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:^^
I eh get it free eh!

When i say i get it....he buy a case and sold me 1 at cost price...lol

I didnt want to thaw it and cut...will cutting it frozen on a band saw be a wise idea?

I was thinking 1" pieces also...
I think that's how the meat shops do it!

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2016, 9:26 pm

Ok cool

I will update when i get it cut up next week

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2016, 9:36 pm

you could let it thaw partially in the cool side of fridge
after a day it will be stiff but not melted frozen and can be cut in sections for use later

wrap tightly with glad wrap, dont leave air pockets on surface of meat and put the wrapped pieces in a good bag and tie that bag also. Will keep a long time.

I have used that alton brown recipe many times, in fact I have frozen bags of meat cut in the marinade as well
and later on just thawed and skewered.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 10th, 2016, 9:36 pm

Got another bad boy

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 10th, 2016, 9:39 pm

Also the goat burgers I added to much salt so I have to re do, but all aspects came out good and taste from tester was awesome until I added salt

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 10th, 2016, 9:40 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Image

Got this from a padna today

Any suggestions as to how to cut, prepare?

What cut is that

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2016, 9:41 pm

Tenderloin