The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

neexis

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby neexis » October 28th, 2016, 10:12 am

Perhaps.. IMO it just complicates things unnecessarily esp since so much current tech still uses those I/O ports.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 28th, 2016, 10:31 am

neexis wrote:
baigan wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
baigan wrote:
pete wrote:LOL, you can't use your iphone 7 headphones with the new Macbook.

Lol apple is so uncoordinated right now lmao
The MacBook has a standard headphone port lol yet the 7 has the lightening...

But I'm not buying the iPhone 7 tho lol
And I use wireless headphones most of the time

And after all the courage they can't even give a release date for their flagship wireless headphones.

The fact that the headphone jack remains in the MacBooks prove that is was never about courage. They didn't have the technical ability to keep the headphone jack in the smaller iPhone space vs having extra in the MacBook.

I'm guessing many of you are going to say you didn't use sd cards either or don't mind using a dongle?

lol Apple needs to get their sh*t together. I love the idea of the touchbar but I kinda need that SD card slot :/ so that kinda kills it for me...I move around a lot and carrying around a dongle is just an unnecessary pain in the a**.

It'd be nice if they could put the option for 2tb in the 13 inch too :/ I see only the 15 inch has it...which sucks...my previous 15 was just cumbersome to carry around

The future is wireless and dongle-ful

Steups.. So no SD card slot, no USB 3.0. No Mag Safe.

The fanboys still gonna love the hell out of it though. Yea you can use an Eye Fi card, but that's just a run around fix to a problem that didn't need to exist in the first place. I like my 2014 MBP, but I'll probably go back to Windows for my next computer.

The same guys who said no disc drive no problem. It started there and soldering ram. Failure. Now they just gonna remove stuff and say it's better.

Taking away MagSafe is a step forward? A little lighter laptop but more potential damage?

I'll have to seriously think about the next laptop I buy the rate apple is going.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 28th, 2016, 10:43 am

Eyefi decent idea but practically it doesn't work well. Half the time it doesn't pair and limited in speeds transfers at best.
Good idea but execution flawed. Yes the future is wireless. But this is a pro device. We aren't there as yet.
I loved mag safe as well. Got my 12" pulled a couple times to the floor because of the usbc plugs.
And no I'm not carrying any extra stupid dongle. Travel a lot and ull see every extra thing adds up.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2016, 12:15 pm

neexis wrote:Yea you can use an Eye Fi card, but that's just a run around fix to a problem that didn't need to exist in the first place. I like my 2014 MBP, but I'll probably go back to Windows for my next computer.
jhonnieblue wrote:Eyefi decent idea but practically it doesn't work well. Half the time it doesn't pair and limited in speeds transfers at best.
Good idea but execution flawed. Yes the future is wireless. But this is a pro device. We aren't there as yet.
I loved mag safe as well. Got my 12" pulled a couple times to the floor because of the usbc plugs.
And no I'm not carrying any extra stupid dongle. Travel a lot and ull see every extra thing adds up.
even professional DSLRs like the Canon 5D MkIII are coming with built in WiFi.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 28th, 2016, 11:03 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:even professional DSLRs like the Canon 5D MkIII are coming with built in WiFi.

Transferring raw or video via WiFi would probably be too slow to be practical... unless you really have the time to wait for it.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 28th, 2016, 11:48 pm

Once Apple is involved Duane will wait till the ends of time

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 29th, 2016, 12:06 am

Ever wonder how Apple manages to get 1000 recharge cycle out of a lithium polymer battery that only has 500 recharge cycles?

Well if these batteries only discharge to 50% and is then recharged you double the recharge cycles. SO they placed double the amount of batteries inside the macbook thereby allowing it to only discharge down to 50% but to the user it seems like it is 100%

Here is a picture of a macbook with the battery removed, there is a lot less space to work with than we think.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2016, 12:36 am

neexis wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:even professional DSLRs like the Canon 5D MkIII are coming with built in WiFi.

Transferring raw or video via WiFi would probably be too slow to be practical... unless you really have the time to wait for it.

I transfer 4K video from my iMac to and from my NAS via Wifi 802.11ac pretty quick. In fact the only cable on my iMac is the power cable. Everything is wifi.

The salient point here tho is that everything is going to soon become USB-C and/or wireless.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 29th, 2016, 1:23 am

nick639 wrote:
My 2012 mbp hit >900 cycles and its health was 88% of the original. Regular once a month full discharge and recharge of the battery would carry me from 85 back up to 88-90.. Care to explain why?

After 500 recharge cycles it in noway means the battery is gone, they retain a significant charge for a few more hundred cycles but it no longer holds the same charge and thats the reason Apple advertises 1000 recharge cycles on their newer macs the reality is their newer macs with 1000 recharge cycles can do 2000 recharge cycles but they only guarantee 1000 at a near perfect health. After 5 years the actual battery starts to lose a lot of charge regardless of recharge cycles. The idea of the 1000 recharge cycle is that it will hold the max capacity and then go down to 88% or 85%

Also most of the time your mac cannot give you a perfectly accurate health on your battery. That 88% is likely lower than its reporting.

There is a reason the Tesla Model S features the very same tech apple does with discharging the battery to only 50%

baigan

Postby baigan » October 29th, 2016, 4:51 am

I don't even check cycles lol ._.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 30th, 2016, 7:35 am

The number of negative stories and reviews for Apple right now after a product launch is surprising. Nornally most are positive with no sustained criticism.

Postby Redman » November 1st, 2016, 9:38 am

Morning fellas

The cd/dvd/optical(?) drive on my 2009 MBP is not allowing me to insert and disc s..but it is doing this intermittently.

what do you all recc??

thx

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 1st, 2016, 9:51 am

Redman wrote:Morning fellas

The cd/dvd/optical(?) drive on my 2009 MBP is not allowing me to insert and disc s..but it is doing this intermittently.

what do you all recc??

thx

people does still use them ting..?? :?

make an image (use another computer) and mount it

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 1st, 2016, 9:57 am

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby mojosodope » November 1st, 2016, 11:27 am

uncle sam wrote:

what do you all recc??

thx

Or get rid of it completely and buy the ssd enclosure and boost your performance

Another thing,
Anyone buying one of the new MacBook pros? The 16GB of DDR3 is the killer for me man, wish they did better. I'm in dire need of an upgrade tho Image

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 1st, 2016, 11:30 am

mojosodope wrote:
uncle sam wrote:

what do you all recc??

thx

Or get rid of it completely and buy the ssd enclosure and boost your performance

Another thing,
Anyone buying one of the new MacBook pros? The 16GB of DDR3 is the killer for me man, wish they did better.

Until you have to deal with an actual CD that has information you need. Having the drive is less about having to use it every single day.

To Redman maybe the lense needs cleaning?

Postby Redman » November 1st, 2016, 12:04 pm

It's not allowing me to insert a CD ..and yeah I hardly use it...But it's there now...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 1st, 2016, 5:54 pm

mojosodope wrote:Another thing,
Anyone buying one of the new MacBook pros? The 16GB of DDR3 is the killer for me man, wish they did better. I'm in dire need of an upgrade tho
MacOS does a whole lot more with 16GB RAM than Windows though

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 1st, 2016, 5:58 pm

mojosodope wrote:Another thing,
Anyone buying one of the new MacBook pros? The 16GB of DDR3 is the killer for me man, wish they did better. I'm in dire need of an upgrade tho
MacOS does a whole lot more with 16GB RAM than Windows though

This. Can't always watch specs.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » November 1st, 2016, 6:11 pm

Yeah I know but after making everyone wait so long and more refined versions being available you would expect the latest and greatest when you getting ready to shell out more than 3 grand US, not saying it's not a more than capable machine but they used to offer more bang for your buck. There was a time Apple used to work closer with intel to get the next set of processors before anyone else. If that was still true they would have been shipping with Kaby lake instead of Skylake

baigan

Postby baigan » November 1st, 2016, 6:42 pm

16gb ram isn't enough ?

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 2nd, 2016, 7:04 pm

Anyone looking to pull the trigger on a 2016 13in MacBook Pro should get the Touch Bar model with the 28W CPUs.
The Function Bar model runs on 15W CPUs which typically were used in the MacBook Air.
So much so that all the upgrade processors for the Function Bar model are low power 15W units.
If you are looking for better performance then you will be better served with a Touch Bar 13in or 15in MacBook Pro.

13" MacBook Pro Late 2016 Review
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=
13" MacBook Pro vs. HP Spectre x360 Late 2016 Comparison Smackdown
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 2nd, 2016, 7:31 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 2nd, 2016, 10:28 pm

a bit bulky

If there is one tech feature that is missing from the Apple Watch, it would a camera. Granted it’s not exactly a feature that high in demand, but we’re sure some users would not mind the feature anyway.

CMRA is basically a third-party strap for the Apple Watch that according to its creators, will give users two cameras: a 2MP camera and an 8MP camera. The 2MP front-facing camera will basically act as a FaceTime camera, so you can make video calls on your Apple Watch or snap selfies.

The 8MP camera will be pointing outwards so you can snap photos without having to take out your phone. It also makes it more discreet if you’re into that sort of thing. According to Glide, the cameras on the band come with features like tilt-balancing, lens correction, noise reduction, and pixel optimization.

http://www.ubergizmo.com/2016/11/cmra-a ... n-cameras/

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 6th, 2016, 6:27 pm

http://hiltmon.com/blog/2016/11/06/on-t ... book-pros/

On the New MacBook Pros
NOV 6TH, 2016 11:20 AM
Much has been written, tweeted and complained about the new MacBook Pros released by Apple last week. Complaints about the 16GB limit, all-in switch to Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C), the removal of the SD-card and MagSafe, the new keyboard, the aged CPUs, the slow GPU, dongles, that they are not “Pro” level machines, and more. More and more influential folks are writing that Apple has forgotten the Mac, that the Mac is doomed or dead.

They are probably right. The new MacBook Pros are not ideal, nor for them.

I believe the real issue for these folks is not what Apple did not do, but that there is no viable alternative product out there for them that has the one feature they need and all the benefits of the Mac.

Linux on the Desktop is getting better, even Windows is improving, but it’s not macOS. The applications professional-level users prefer run better in the Apple ecosystem. Several only exist in the Apple ecosystem. And even if the primary applications are cross-platform, the tools, utilities, and productivity applications we use are not available elsewhere.

If there were a better alternative to Apple’s ecosystem, professional users and developers like myself would have already switched.

In the mean time, Apple released new MacBook Pros that are according to Apple’s base, horrendously compromised ones.

Its all kremlinology whether this was intentional on Apple’s behalf.

Some believe Apple compromised now because the line was aging, they needed to do something and Intel was falling too far behind. But then Microsoft released Surface the day before and it was the same platform, nothing newer inside (except for a better GPU in a thicker, heavier body).

Some believe Apple intentionally made the shift to a new design and ports now, just as they did with USB, floppies and CDs before. Their first machines with the new ports were always compromised, but they got better.

And some believe Apple simply does not care about the Mac. That one does not compute with me. The new design, the new touch-bar, the effort that went in to the look, weight and feel of the device proves otherwise.

I am a professional programmer, writing multithreaded, complex, big-data applications. I should be using a Mac Pro at work (and another at home and in the coffee shop) with maximum cores and RAM in order to compile and run my code and maximize my productivity. But I am also a graphics and print designer, a web developer, a writer, an amateur-photographer and a productivity nut. The MacBook Pro, as imagined by the complainers, should be the perfect machine for me.

The reality is that the perfect machine does not exist for professional you or professional me, it never has and never will. I have always wanted a UNIX-based operating system with a GUI, more cores, more RAM, faster storage, better battery life, a better screen and a thin and light laptop because I walk and work everywhere. You may need a machine with certain ports, more RAM, longer battery life, bigger screen, whatever. Our needs are mostly the same, but differ in significant areas.

I have tried Dell Windows, MacBook Pros, Mac Pros, MacBook Airs, Lenovo’s running Linux and combinations thereof, and the one computer that has met the most of my needs – but never all of them – has been the MacBook Pro. I am writing this on my maxed-out trusty 15-inch Mid-2014 MacBook Pro. The cores have been plenty fast, the RAM sufficient, the SSD good enough, the display great, the battery life the best ever, the ports just fine. But it never was my ideal computer. It was and remains the best I could get to meet the most of my needs at the time.

I have ordered the new 15-inch MacBook Pro, with upgraded CPUs, faster GPU, new larger SSD and the same, but faster, RAM. I do not expect the new laptop to be perfect, none ever has, but I do expect a reasonable performance improvement in compile times and database reads, way better color on my display and a lighter load when walking. It may not sound like a lot, but these small improvements when added up over days and weeks turn into major productivity gains.

What I will not be doing is giving up on the stuff that already makes me so productive. The operating system that I love, the tools that I know and love, and the processes and workflows and muscle memories that help me fly. I see nothing else on the market right now that I can change to that can help me perform better.

I also think that Apple, Microsoft and Google are all being frustrated by Intel, who in turn is being frustrated by their issues with their latest process. Knowing Intel, we know they will solve this. Sooner than later. And so I do expect next year for all of Apple’s, Microsoft’s and Googles PCs to move to the next generation of Intel chip-ware that will meet more of professional users needs.

Until then, I intend to enjoy the beautiful new MacBook Pro and its productivity improvements when it arrives, and use a few adapters to replace the ports I need to keep going. But I also will look closely at the 2017 MacBook Pros when they come out. And keep an eye on the pro-level iOS/Pencil/Keyboard solution in case it becomes part of a better solution for my needs.

Follow the author as @hiltmon on Twitter.

Posted by Hilton Lipschitz Nov 6th, 2016 11:20 am

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » November 6th, 2016, 6:56 pm

and lenovo traveled back in time (2008) to troll the new macbook 2016

2WNBoost

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby 2WNBoost » November 6th, 2016, 9:40 pm

8 year old Lenovo ad.
Good luck trying to find your VGA port and DVD drive on the current X series.
They all start off laughing but somehow end up with the same design and features.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 8th, 2016, 8:00 pm

Get your geek on
http://appleinsider.com/articles/16/11/08/apples-engineering-in-new-macbook-pro-paves-way-for-speedy-optane-storage-in-future-models

Apple's engineering in new MacBook Pro paves way for speedy Optane storage in future models
By Mike Wuerthele
Tuesday, November 08, 2016, 11:36 am PT (02:36 pm ET)

Apple has set the table for inclusion of the future XPoint-based Optane SSD technology in an iteration of the MacBook Pro, potentially leading to dramatically faster access times and transfer speeds than conventional SSDs.
18940-18583-macbookpro-top-l.jpg

In the new MacBook Pros, Apple has implemented NVMe storage, across the PCIe bus. In part, this is why the Apple SSD storage in the new machines is best-in-class, with the 13-inch MacBook Pro with Function Keys are pulling down 2.2 gigabytes per second write speeds, and 3.1 gigabytes per second read speed.

Most of the rest of the industry relies on SATA-III SSD interfaces, limited to speeds around 575 megabytes per second, and is exceeded by the earlier 2015 MacBook Pro. Wider adoption of PCIe/NVMe storage for the mass market isn't expected until mid- to late-2017.
"Apple has been a pioneer when it comes to PCIe/NVMe storage. They were the first PC company to broadly adopt it across its laptop portfolio while other companies today are still just using it in a very limited portion of their PC lineup," IDC research vice president Jeff Janukowicz told Computerworld. "By doing so, Apple has been able to deliver higher performance in terms of read/write speed and latency when compared to traditional SATA-based PC designs —thus, making the new MacBook pro more responsive and faster."

NVMe, Apple's SSD controller, and 3D XPoint

NVMe is meant to replace the older AHCI technology, which was implemented to keep systems using spinning hard drives at maximum efficiency. The newer NVMe is optimized for low-latency operations made possible by solid state media.

Even in its infancy, NVMe reduces latency by 50 percent over a drive managed by AHCI. The newer NVMe has 2.8 nanosecond latency at present, with room for future boosts, versus AHCI's absolute peak with a SSD at 6 nanoseconds.

For comparison, AHCI's latency in a magnetic hard drive is measured in milliseconds, limited by the drive itself, and not the underlying technology, and around 10,000 times slower than LPDDR3. Furthermore, conventional SSD media is about 100 times slower than the RAM used in the MacBook Pro, with Apple's new drives in the MacBook Pro about 65 times slower overall.
18940-18582-3D-XPoint-l.jpg

Optane storage media will be only about 8 times slower than LPDDR3 RAM.

The speed of the SSD in the new MacBook Pro is from more than just NVMe support. Apple's 338S00199 SSD controller is the key to the operation, allowing for throughput on a portable SSD never before seen.

The next generation of flash media storage, called 3D XPoint, and branded as Optane by Intel, is compatible with the NVMe storage protocol that Apple already uses in some of its MacBooks, including the MacBook Pro. The new technology could be used in a new MacBook Pro in 2017, controlled by either the current Apple SSD custom controller, or a future version of same as the underlying technologies are compatible now.

Intel's forthcoming "Mansion Beach" SSD line based on Optane is intended to be installed on a system's motherboard, or with a connector similar to what Apple has utilized on the new MacBook Pro, and should debut very shortly. Refreshes of the as-yet unreleased technology, and variants for data centers, are expected in mid-2017, just in time for Apple to include in a 2017 MacBook Pro.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 8th, 2016, 8:16 pm

http://www.computerworld.com/article/3082658/data-storage/intel-lets-slip-roadmap-for-optane-ssds-with-1000x-performance.html

Intel lets slip roadmap for Optane SSDs with 1,000X performance
The Optane line of SSDs, also known as 3D XPoint, will debut under the Mansion Beach platform
By Lucas Mearian
Computerworld | Jun 13, 2016 11:50 AM PT

Intel has let slip its timeline for releasing what is arguably the most significant advancement in non-volatile data storage in years, its 3D XPoint (cross point) memory, which will be sold under the name Optane.
Taiwanese technology news site benchlife.info posted slides from a presentation showing that the line will be released by the end of this year and likely alongside its Kaby Lake processor platform.
Optane will likely debut several SSD lines, beginning with the Mansion Beach product by the end of 2016, which will be followed by Brighton Beach and Stony Beach, according to an Intel slide presentation.
intel-roadmap.png

The Mansion Beach SSD line will use the NVMe PCIe Gen 3 x4 configuration (with 4 I/O lanes), which will allow it to be placed directly on a system's motherboard.
Around the same time as Mansion Beach, Stony Beach will debut as an enterprise-class PCIe/NVMe SSD, which will be marketed as a server accelerator technology.
Brighten Beach will be released sometime in the first quarter of 2017 and will represent a lower-end product line using a PCIe 3.0 x2 (two I/O lanes) configuration.
After Brighten Beach, Carson Beach will introduce a PCI 3.0 x4 with the M.2 card, as well as ball grid array (BGA) that will solder directly onto a computer's motherboard and act as a second generation of Intel's "system accelerator."
Intel also plans a Mansion Beach refresh, as well as second generations of its PCIe and SATA 3D NAND flash products, sometime in 2017.
Intel and Micron announced the Optane memory almost a year ago, calling it 3D XPoint, within the four walls of the companies.
intel-optanecomparison.png

While Intel and Micron heralded 3D XPoint RAM as "the first new class of memory since 1989," referring to floating gate NAND, most experts believe it is a resistive RAM (ReRAM) memory based on a 128Gbit chip.
The companies claimed it was a new type of memory that is up to 1,000 times faster than NAND flash and has 1,000 times the endurance. One thousand times the endurance would be about 1 million erase-write cycles, meaning the new memory would essentially last forever.
Optane technology is primarily a mass storage-class memory that, while slower, is still cheaper to produce than DRAM and faster than NAND. Significantly, it's non-volatile, so when the power goes off, the data remains intact, just as it does with NAND flash.
intel-3d-xpoint.jpg

By comparison, today's NAND flash lasts for 3,000 to 10,000 erase-write cycles. With wear-leveling and error correction software, those cycles can be improved but still don't get anywhere near 100,000 cycles.
So pumped are the companies about 3D XPoint that they're claiming it's the first new memory category in more than 25 years. According to research analysts, Intel and Micron are not exaggerating. 3D XPoint will reside between DRAM and NAND flash, able to replace both in some instances in enterprise data centers and, eventually, consumer desktops and laptops.
In previous announcements, Intel was clear that it planned on shipping Optane products this year. The documents obtained by benchlife.info again show they will be out by the end of 2016.
intel-crosspoint_structure.jpg

At its Intel Developers Forum in Shenzhen, China, the company said Optane has up to 10X the density of NAND flash and will enable SSDs to store more than a terabyte of data in an M.2 card that is only 1.5 millimeters thick.
"This will be great for notebook products," Intel Senior Vice President Rob Cooke said during a presentation at the conference.

Further reading
Next generation memory technology: Intel Optane and Optane SSD Testbed
https://www.ibm.com/blogs/bluemix/2016/11/intel-optane-ssd-testbed/

Intel’s 140GB Optane 3D XPoint PCIe SSD Spotted at IDF
http://www.anandtech.com/show/10604/intels-140gb-optane-3d-xpoint-pcie-ssd-spotted-at-idf

The next MacBook Pro could sport Intel's new 3D XPoint SSD
http://www.computerworld.com/article/3139505/computer-hardware/the-next-macbook-pro-could-sport-intels-new-3d-xpoint-ssd.html

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 14th, 2016, 10:57 pm

I did number portability and switched to digi. I was using imessage and facetime fine since the switch.

Yesterday the sim card shifted and the phone read, "no sim" . I reseated the sim and the connection is back. However, I am seeing "waiting for activation" and "error occured during activation "when logging in to iMessage and Facetime.

It's as if the phone lost the initial carrier setting. I have been trying to call digi and no ans.

Any idea what's going on?