:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby X_Factor » October 7th, 2016, 11:49 pm

anyone changed their 4/8ft tubes to led yet?

Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby *KRONIK* » October 8th, 2016, 5:56 am

X_Factor wrote:anyone changed their 4/8ft tubes to led yet?

No

But i saw that electrical shops doing rel demos and pushing this as the way forward

neexis

Postby neexis » October 8th, 2016, 6:31 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:never was a spade bit fan bc i find they cut kinda rough but if finish doesnt matter then no scene & its always clogging up so u have to stop 1\2 way & clean d bit or go from d other side , even with good irwin bits

recently got d porter cable 7 piece holesaw kit & by far d best 1 i used so far , cuts rather efficiently & doesnt burn d wood unless u drilling slow , u need a good high speed drill with some torque for wood though ....

You ever tried those on MDF?

Tried a hole saw on a thick piece of MDF and it started smoking... was a cheapo black & decker

bossmann

Postby bossmann » October 8th, 2016, 7:44 am

I did. Really bright. Only had one burn out on me so far after lightning hit a pole.

Postby Rovin » October 8th, 2016, 10:21 am

neexis wrote:
- Rovin's car audio - wrote:never was a spade bit fan bc i find they cut kinda rough but if finish doesnt matter then no scene & its always clogging up so u have to stop 1\2 way & clean d bit or go from d other side , even with good irwin bits

recently got d porter cable 7 piece holesaw kit & by far d best 1 i used so far , cuts rather efficiently & doesnt burn d wood unless u drilling slow , u need a good high speed drill with some torque for wood though ....

You ever tried those on MDF?

Tried a hole saw on a thick piece of MDF and it started smoking... was a cheapo black & decker

d poreter cable holesaw ? - yes on 1\2 & 3\4 mdf , worked well

cheap holesaws is d worse , some so dull & cheaply designed that it cud barely cut 1 hole good ....

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2016, 11:13 am

*KRONIK* wrote:

No

But i saw that electrical shops doing rel demos and pushing this as the way forward

yes i have done a lot at my office

they REALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL bright

i had 4 , 4 feet assemblies before

i took down 2 and put leds in the remaining 2 assemblies

and much more light than the 4 it had before

lol i blow 2 bulbs when i was initially trying to rewire it though

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2016, 11:14 am

i cant find the 8 feet to buy anywhere though

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2016, 11:21 am

the dewalt metal cutting hole saws are very good, have a couple 2 1/2, 3"
the ones you get in them door install kits are not so good
almost as bad as the ones in a reverse sensor kit

bossmann

Postby bossmann » October 8th, 2016, 11:23 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:i cant find the 8 feet to buy anywhere though

Tried infinity electrical in couva?

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2016, 11:33 am

them still in business after pp lorse elections ?

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2016, 1:10 pm

bossmann wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:i cant find the 8 feet to buy anywhere though

Tried infinity electrical in couva?

i went to the one in mcbean
thats where i always buy my 4 feet
they say they never get the 8 feet, the one in mcbean and the one in couva are the same company i think

Postby Ted_v2 » October 8th, 2016, 1:54 pm

Boodoos electrical has too. 55ish for a 4 ft bulb.

Postby X_Factor » October 8th, 2016, 2:31 pm

a 4ft led tube up here goes for $110 in modern

Postby adnj » October 9th, 2016, 7:46 am

You'll have to remove the starter and short circuit the ballast for an LED tube to work. It's was easy to do on my old shop lights.

The energy used for the LED is less but you won't notice a big difference. What you will notice is longer life, no humming from the LED and instant on. You'll also notice that one or diodes that fail before the others and create a dark spot.

If you've blown a starter or your ballast is bad changing to LED makes sense. Warmer colors and higher lumens will cost you more just like in florescent tubes.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 9th, 2016, 8:17 am

There's a power seller selling the 4ft and 8ft in the Misc section.

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2016, 9:18 am

There is a major difference in brightness

Postby X_Factor » October 9th, 2016, 11:03 am

adnj wrote:

You'll have to remove the starter and short circuit the ballast for an LED tube to work. It's was easy to do on my old shop lights.

The energy used for the LED is less but you won't notice a big difference. What you will notice is longer life, no humming from the LED and instant on. You'll also notice that one or diodes that fail before the others and create a dark spot.

If you've blown a starter or your ballast is bad changing to LED makes sense. Warmer colors and higher lumens will cost you more just like in florescent tubes.

will change out 2 panels and see if it makes sense

will be any big difference on energy saving ?
160w (4 tubes) for 12hrs(over night) vs 36w for the same 12hrs

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » October 9th, 2016, 6:03 pm

Does anyone know where I can get a bead roller for sheet metal locally?

Postby adnj » October 9th, 2016, 6:22 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:There is a major difference in brightness

You're right. Perceived brightness is a function of both color rendering and lumens. The same number of lumens at a higher color temperature will appear "brighter" to many people BUT you will lose the ability to see colors in the red to yellow spectrum.

You really can't compare wattage anymore. Some of the LEDs use the same amount of power but don't produce the same amount of light.

NappyheadRR

Postby NappyheadRR » October 12th, 2016, 5:44 pm

1476308575538.jpg

Hilti AVR TE 905 jackhammer. 7000neg. Inbox me for details.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby adnj » October 12th, 2016, 7:58 pm

X_Factor wrote:

You'll save about 45 kwh per month. I'm guessing TT$15 to TT$16 per month.

Postby X_Factor » October 12th, 2016, 9:51 pm

thats actually quite a decent amt of savings
within 4mths they pay back for themselves ( getting them at 55 each) and thats just changing 4 tubes

Postby X_Factor » October 13th, 2016, 11:20 am

youtube vids seem pretty simple to wire for led.....
I am getting frosted 4ft tubes...is that good or are there better?

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2016, 11:32 am

who sells shopvac filters locally?

i didnt know there were different filters or that you had to remove the filter if using it for wet applications

lol need a new cartridge filter

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby adnj » October 13th, 2016, 2:16 pm

adnj wrote:
X_Factor wrote:

You'll save about 45 kwh per month. I'm guessing TT$15 to TT$16 per month.

X_Factor wrote:thats actually quite a decent amt of savings
within 4mths they pay back for themselves ( getting them at 55 each) and thats just changing 4 tubes

Those savings are for the numbers that were given by the OP. LED T8 lighting is about 30% more efficient than fluorescent lighting.

If the tubes are swapped with tubes that have the same lumens (4 tubes at 40 watt equivalence, each), you will save about $6 per month (depending on your TTEC rate) for all four tubes. You'll only save about $1.50/month/tube. It will take about three years for the tube to pay for itself.

If you have a tube that is already blown, it's a no-brainer.
Last edited by adnj on October 13th, 2016, 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2016, 2:39 pm

U normally don't use the pleated filter with water on a shopvac
There are versions of the filter which are meant to be washed and reuseable

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2016, 3:14 pm

yeah i read that after lol

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2016, 3:15 pm

Gonna chaos bhags today

Postby Ted_v2 » October 13th, 2016, 10:23 pm

I need a vice to buy, where's reasonable?

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2016, 5:06 am

Depends. Smoking,drinking,gambling,hoes? Could get all in one place most of the time. Which vice yuh want?