Re: Budget 2016/2017

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2016, 3:11 pm

See here for explanation of property tax:
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-01- ... operty-tax

“So a $1 million apartment or house, for example, would rent for about $4,500 per month, or $54,000 a year. The annual taxable value (ATV) is calculated by deducting ten per cent for voids, resulting in a taxable value of $48,600.

“The rate of three per cent for residential properties is then applied to this, resulting in an annual Property Tax of $1,458 and this is using the existing formula, which we intend to revisit.

“So all of this alarmist rhetoric from the other side is just wrong,” he added.

Postby desifemlove » September 30th, 2016, 3:12 pm

how they gonna revalue?

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 3:15 pm

Savings bonds are back.

Postby teems1 » September 30th, 2016, 3:16 pm

nick639 wrote:All this drama when everybody tuning in to hear the major raise....cigarette and rum

and fuel

Daran

Postby Daran » September 30th, 2016, 3:17 pm

That language wrt to rental value is unclear in that statement. Is their a factor they're using to estimate rental value because it seems as if they arbitrarily applied a factor of 0.0045 to the property valuation.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 30th, 2016, 3:19 pm

teems1 wrote:
nick639 wrote:All this drama when everybody tuning in to hear the major raise....cigarette and rum

and fuel

And my axe.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:19 pm

ok so no devaluing of the TT Dollar right?

Postby rollingstock » September 30th, 2016, 3:21 pm

bluefete wrote:Savings bonds are back.

Only good thing I hear so far.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2016, 3:24 pm

ICT Plan for schools? Genius.

That PP free laptop was balls

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2016, 3:26 pm

Means test for GATE. #sense
back to 50%
Postgrad sorta sketchy.

Postby desifemlove » September 30th, 2016, 3:26 pm

Means-testing for GATE...cool. makes sense.

Postby teems1 » September 30th, 2016, 3:27 pm

Daran wrote:That language wrt to rental value is unclear in that statement. Is their a factor they're using to estimate rental value because it seems as if they arbitrarily applied a factor of 0.0045 to the property valuation.

That is quite true. He should have never mentioned 1m if it plays no part in the evaluation for rent.

A 1m house in the west can probably rent for 10k per month as opposed to a 1m house in central which would be 4.5-5k.

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 3:29 pm

The man has not really said anything new.

All the GATE stuff was said in September 2015 / April 2016.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:30 pm

So is Gate back to 50%? dollar for dollar?

Postby desifemlove » September 30th, 2016, 3:30 pm

Couva hospital....sept 2016 handover. UNC didnt open it properly,according to short man lololool.

Postby rollingstock » September 30th, 2016, 3:30 pm

Oh goud, Kamla open a construction site. Get your kid's tonsils removed with a caterpillar D4

Postby desifemlove » September 30th, 2016, 3:31 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So is Gate back to 50%? dollar for dollar?

family income under $10000 pay no fees. it's means-tested.

Postby desifemlove » September 30th, 2016, 3:31 pm

PPP for Couva hospital....so no more marching and saying pnm doh care about no chirren.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:32 pm

Is it possible we may end up abolishing free health care soon? sounds like we might be going down this road.

This good or bad?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:34 pm

desifemlove wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So is Gate back to 50%? dollar for dollar?

family income under $10000 pay no fees. it's means-tested.

Yeah but what I mean are they paying the 100% if income is under $100k?

And they paying 50% if the income is over $100k?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2016, 3:34 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Is it possible we may end up abolishing free health care soon? sounds like we might be going down this road.

This good or bad?

free health care as it exists is cat in bag. some people have good experiences, some have terrible.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:39 pm

They making WIFI Access possible on TTPS buses but half of the time the bus break down or has no AC....

Many of the TTPS bus drivers allow people on the bus for free without a ticket then we have the ones legally allowed on the bus for free school children and old people. Look I am all for this but you have to provide a proper service, if you cannot provide a reliable service you have to squash all the free rides until we can do so.

Postby aaron17 » September 30th, 2016, 3:41 pm

'The Couva Hospital & Training Facility was completed and handed over to the govt in Sept 2016. It was a construction site"

So 'Now' is it still a construction site? :|

simplicity16

Postby simplicity16 » September 30th, 2016, 3:42 pm

bluefete wrote:
Daran wrote:
nos_specialist wrote:I wah dem collect dey 3% from d laventillians first..

Come on dude. You know better than that. Why work hard and buy your own house and land when you can get everything handed out to you for free.

Serious question, do those who have HDC homes have to pay this property tax?

Every home owner and anyone who OWNS property will have to pay the property tax.

PPl who have HDC houses are owners of said property. They take Mortgages etc to purchase same. so they will not be spared.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:44 pm

Imbert said he restarting 900 Acres of coconut planting and something about helping small businesses in coconut production this will be people like me I am playing 160 coconut trees right now, this is good news.

Coconut is something we should push hard because its healthy and grows very easily with no effort.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » September 30th, 2016, 3:44 pm

So gas going up or not ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2016, 3:46 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:So gas going up or not ?

Subsidy gone. No further details provided yet.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:46 pm

Imbert: Working to re-establish the Red House as the house of parliament

GOOD this should have been done a long time ago.

Did Imbert remove Diesel Subsidy completely?

cherrypopper

Re: RE: Re: Budget 2016/2017

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 3:47 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Is it possible we may end up abolishing free health care soon? sounds like we might be going down this road.

This good or bad?

Good. .. implement an insurance system like the States otherwise a bill.

However the service must match the fee.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 30th, 2016, 3:48 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Imbert said he restarting 900 Acres of coconut planting and something about helping small businesses in coconut production this will be people like me I am playing 160 coconut trees right now, this is good news.

Coconut is something we should push hard because its healthy and grows very easily with no effort.

Two huge coconut plantations are owned by two PNM financers, well one is a financier and the other is Faris family. Looks like they trying to get labour for their land.
Last edited by Daran on September 30th, 2016, 3:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.