Budget 2016/2017

Re: Budget 2016/2017

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 2:47 pm

Well 3% of 1 million is $30,000 a Year.

But I doubt they are doing it like that I mean the average person makes what $40,000 a year?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 2:48 pm

3k a month. ..nevaaaaa

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2016, 2:51 pm

I checking it at rental value...so if you can get 3k a mth you will get 36k for the year...3% of 36 would be the tax

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 30th, 2016, 2:51 pm

It should be 3% of the monthly rental value.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 2:51 pm

What is the percent for rural and agriculture areas? Anyone knows?

How much are you paying for say a high house on 5 Acres of Agriculture land?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2016, 2:53 pm

All imballs said was a flat rate of 3%...therefore that should translate to all types of properties
Last edited by shake d livin wake d dead on September 30th, 2016, 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 2:54 pm

Don't quote me ed but somewhere I saw it was either 1 or 2 percent

Postby Slartibartfast » September 30th, 2016, 2:56 pm

I just hear that from a friend. In work so I can't watch the budget. I depending on tuner for info XD

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 2:57 pm

Wifi in busses ...wtf

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 2:57 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:All imballs said was a flats rate of 3%...there that should translate to all types of properties

WTF? is he insane or something?

He claims the opposition didn't support his new property tax so its unconstitutional to charge different rates for different areas so its flat 3%

But I am wondering if they are going to tax garden with crops planted if they do this would be bad.

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 2:58 pm

2 hours and nothing about revenue generating initiatives. Sigh.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 30th, 2016, 2:59 pm

cherrypopper wrote:Wifi in busses ...wtf

ground breaking stuff. Welcome to 2010 Trinidad.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:00 pm

cherrypopper wrote:Don't quote me ed but somewhere I saw it was either 1 or 2 percent

Yeah I mean Agriculture is a different cup of tea, we have 5 Acres of land that we plant but its mainly citrus and coconuts, our produce is getting smaller and smaller year by year. People are stealing the oranges and the coconut trees are either dying from LY disease or people stealing it. So I am hoping it is like the 1% I originally heard about.

Otherwise we may be have to sell out our land if its 3% unless this is his intention...

Daran

Postby Daran » September 30th, 2016, 3:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:All imballs said was a flats rate of 3%...there that should translate to all types of properties

WTF? is he insane or something?

He claims the opposition didn't support his new property tax so its unconstitutional to charge different rates for different areas so its flat 3%

But I am wondering if they are going to tax garden with crops planted if they do this would be bad.

Well we need to see how the assessment of monthly rental is done.

I'm sure it's going to be done by some formular as opposed to actual valuation. Otherwise those tiny houses in westmoorings will lead to a hefty tax rate and we can't have that now can we.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2016, 3:01 pm

[vimeo][/vimeo]
bluefete wrote:2 hours and nothing about revenue generating initiatives. Sigh.

Like u ain't hear property tax or wah

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 3:02 pm

I don't know why they did not put up the speech on the Min of Finance website so we could skip the talk and get to the revenue details.

Oh, sorry. T&T 2010.

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 3:04 pm

Last edited by bluefete on September 30th, 2016, 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:04 pm

well if he taxing people planting garden then he have to go and tax doubles people and taxi drivers because this would be very unfair.

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 3:04 pm

bluefete wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:[vimeo][/vimeo]
bluefete wrote:2 hours and nothing about revenue generating initiatives. Sigh.

Like u ain't hear property tax or wah

And that caused quite a debate. Actually, I did not hear the 3% but he had mentioned this some months ago.

So 3% of rental value of the property. Ok - Seems fair. Rent @$3,000. p.m. = $36,000.00 per year x 3% = Property tax of $1,080.00 per year.
Last edited by bluefete on September 30th, 2016, 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 30th, 2016, 3:04 pm

property tax is the same exact rate it was before and it is based on rental value..
"14:18 Property Tax coming in 2017
Finance Minister Colm Imbert: Existing property tax act put into effect in 2017. Collection of Property Tax commences in 2017 #Budget2017"
Last edited by Bezman on September 30th, 2016, 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 3:05 pm

Lol this turning out to be the official "T&T 2010" thread

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 30th, 2016, 3:05 pm

I wah dem collect dey 3% from d laventillians first..

Postby rollingstock » September 30th, 2016, 3:06 pm

After bumping mih gum after the last budget I'll have to hide my head after this one.

BRB avoiding family and friends, going and stick head in ground

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2016, 3:06 pm

bluefete wrote:I don't know why they did not put up the speech on the Min of Finance website so we could skip the talk and get to the revenue details.

Oh, sorry. T&T 2010.

They put in on the website on the same day every year immediately after the reading of the budget.

Postby desifemlove » September 30th, 2016, 3:06 pm

haha..bollocks. nothing changes in this country.

he said no diversification..."we have to rely on oil and gas for a decade"

no ICT expansion, and we already know about this TTwifi thing.

Pt. Fortin highway, Toco highway...yawn.

Crown Point (no ANR Robinson airport...call it by its official name in an official setting nah...) terminal..yawn.

typical sheit, just relying on oil and gas lol.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 30th, 2016, 3:08 pm

nos_specialist wrote:I wah dem collect dey 3% from d laventillians first..

Come on dude. You know better than that. Why work hard and buy your own house and land when you can get everything handed out to you for free.

Serious question, do those who have HDC homes have to pay this property tax?

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 3:09 pm

HAHAHAAAAAAAAAAA! Laventillians doh rent boy.

Try and tell them that dey have to pay property tax based on a rental value, nah.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 3:10 pm

The fairness continues

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2016, 3:10 pm

Daran wrote:

Come on dude. You know better than that. Why work hard and buy your own house and land when you can get everything handed out to you for free.

Serious question, do those who have HDC homes have to pay this property tax?

Every home owner and anyone who OWNS property will have to pay the property tax.

Postby desifemlove » September 30th, 2016, 3:11 pm