The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iPhone 7 announced!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Super Mario in the AppStore

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2016, 5:35 pm

Dunno how I feel about the jet black

never really like piano black

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 7th, 2016, 6:39 pm

Hidden in the fine print of the tech specs page for iPhone 7 is the following warning:

The high-gloss finish of the jet black iPhone 7 is achieved through a precision nine-step anodization and polishing process. Its surface is equally as hard as other anodized Apple products; however, its high shine may show fine micro-abrasions with use. If you are concerned about this, we suggest you use one of the many cases available to protect your iPhone.

https://9to5mac.com/2016/09/07/apple-wa ... scratches/

Daran

Postby Daran » September 7th, 2016, 6:51 pm

Looks awesome! iPhone 7+ is the one to get.

Headphone jack is a non-issue, got a BT headphones.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 7th, 2016, 6:51 pm

So when do online preorders ship? Would they ship on the 16th or would they ship earlier to guarantee delivery by the 16th?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 7th, 2016, 8:00 pm

nick639 wrote:Pay attention when he was saying the pricing per memory size.... If i'm not mistaken the piano black is not coming in the smallest memory size (32gb)... I could've heard wrong tho

Correct. 128 and 256 only.

Postby pugboy » September 7th, 2016, 8:08 pm

What about those whose ears don't fit the apple earphones well ?
I prefer earphones which snug fit into the ear canal

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2016, 8:17 pm

That protruding camera design is the same reason why I blank the nexus and samsung handsets.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 7th, 2016, 8:19 pm

Bluetooth EarPods are not standard with the phone right?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 7th, 2016, 9:14 pm

No earpods coming with the bundle, u hav to buy it seperately for US$150...black is the best option in ah 256gb plus model...

Postby pete » September 7th, 2016, 9:32 pm

6s gonna go for 549 now?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 7th, 2016, 9:41 pm

Think I'm going to wait for next year's model. It'll be the 10 year anniversary so the design and overall upgrades should be more substantial...

limegreen

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iPhone 7 announced!

Postby limegreen » September 7th, 2016, 10:01 pm

Swisha wrote:So when do online preorders ship? Would they ship on the 16th or would they ship earlier to guarantee delivery by the 16th?

it will arrive on the 16th and it usually delivered by FedEx

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 7th, 2016, 10:10 pm

Cool thanks. Still confused by the T-Mobile unlocked version and the sim free version though.

Only seeing the T-Mobile unlocked version available for preorder and they're saying u would need to activate it in store or through T-Mobile.

When I bought my iPhone 6 it was the same T-Mobile unlocked version that came with the sim card and if I remember correctly I simply did a restore in iTunes and put my Digicel sim card in. No activation was required...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2016, 11:08 pm

pugboy wrote:What about those whose ears don't fit the apple earphones well ?
these are not for the ear canal
PapaC wrote:Bluetooth EarPods are not standard with the phone right?
nope but the new lightning ones and the Lightning to mini headphone adapter may come with the iPhone 7.

baigan

Postby baigan » September 7th, 2016, 11:16 pm

pugboy wrote:What about those whose ears don't fit the apple earphones well ?
these are not for the ear canal
PapaC wrote:Bluetooth EarPods are not standard with the phone right?
nope but the new lightning ones and the Lightning to mini headphone adapter may come with the iPhone 7.

Yeah they're giving an adapter with the phone

Postby shogun » September 7th, 2016, 11:24 pm

nick639 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Dunno how I feel about the jet black

never really like piano black

It'll probably be a fingerprint magnet

Ent.

I like the piano black in theory. Will have to see it in person, though

Wonder if anyone got in trouble for releasing then deleting that tweet a full hour ahead of the presentation, listing the features of the phone?
Last edited by shogun on September 7th, 2016, 11:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 7th, 2016, 11:27 pm

Yup, adapter comes in the box...the main issue wud be is charging while using headfones...headfones dont bother me anyway, most stuff is bluetooth and if u need to just use the adapter...i wanna see if the lightening headfones actually gonna make ah difference in audio quality...

rookie

Postby rookie » September 8th, 2016, 8:59 am

my concern is that those earbuds maybe easily lost :shock: 159 :)

Postby pete » September 8th, 2016, 11:49 am

Postby redmanjp » September 8th, 2016, 12:32 pm

water resistant (but with a disclaimer at the end though)

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 8th, 2016, 12:54 pm

I mean i ent gonna swim wit my fone but water resistance helps in my situation...lost fones that went in d sea with me...wud help wit splashes an such...

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 8th, 2016, 1:00 pm

I've run a lot with the 6s in torrential rain with no issues to the phone at all. Apple certainly has a level of waterproof that isn't advertised so no doubt the 7 will be a lot more resiliant than advertised.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 8th, 2016, 1:06 pm

Fresh water an saltwater is different...small salt cud kill your fone easily

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2016, 1:42 pm

pete wrote:http://appleplugs.com/
ROFL

baigan

Postby baigan » September 8th, 2016, 3:54 pm

nick639 wrote:What about the fact that next year is the phone's 10th anniversary......

I doubt they'll slouch around next year.... Maybe just maybe, it will be wise to hold out eh??

Yeah that might be the better thing to do

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iPhone 7 announced!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2016, 4:04 pm

In 2017 the iPhone 7S is due. An S model has never been a different form factor. It usually is the same device with upgraded hardware.

They may just say in the keynote "10 years ago the iPhone changed the world" and that's it.

baigan

Postby baigan » September 8th, 2016, 4:24 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:In 2017 the iPhone 7S is due. An S model has never been a different form factor. It usually is the same device with upgraded hardware.

They may just say in the keynote "10 years ago the iPhone changed the world" and that's it.

True ...but fingers crossed lol

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 8th, 2016, 4:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:In 2017 the iPhone 7S is due. An S model has never been a different form factor. It usually is the same device with upgraded hardware.

True but I feel somehow that Apple won't pass up on a good marketing chance to make a statement with a significant redesign on the 10 year anniversary. The 7 looks remarkably close to the 6/6s. A bit too close.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2016, 5:24 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

True but I feel somehow that Apple won't pass up on a good marketing chance to make a statement with a significant redesign on the 10 year anniversary. The 7 looks remarkably close to the 6/6s. A bit too close.
good point