The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

ryan99tt

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iPhone 7 announced!

Postby ryan99tt » September 8th, 2016, 7:10 pm

I usually make my yearly upgrade...i feel dey mite skip the s model next year an go for the 8 or anniversary model or something...mite just make ah anniversary model too...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 8th, 2016, 8:06 pm

:angry:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 8th, 2016, 8:13 pm

LOL at $160 US ear buds that really cost them $15 to make. A bit like how they did a dissecting of beats headphones not long ago and it was revealed it was garbage $12 parts in them and they were selling it for $200.

Apple ear buds have always been garbage its widely known by the audio community, this is why people resort to real brand name quality stuff with German or Japanese Engineering like Sennheiser, Denon, AKG, Audiotechnica.

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2016, 8:13 pm

They go buss with the, pricey lostful earphones

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 8th, 2016, 8:23 pm

Swisha wrote:Still confused by the T-Mobile unlocked version and the sim free version though.

Only seeing the T-Mobile unlocked version available for preorder and they're saying u would need to activate it in store or through T-Mobile.

When I bought my iPhone 6 it was the same T-Mobile unlocked version that came with the sim card and if I remember correctly I simply did a restore in iTunes and put my Digicel sim card in. No activation was required...

Anyone can confirm this. Did anyone buy the T-Mobile unlocked 6s that came with the sim and was able to activate it without problems?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2016, 8:24 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:LOL at $160 US ear buds that really cost them $15 to make. A bit like how they did a dissecting of beats headphones not long ago and it was revealed it was garbage $12 parts in them and they were selling it for $200.

Apple ear buds have always been garbage its widely known by the audio community, this is why people resort to real brand name quality stuff with German or Japanese Engineering like Sennheiser, Denon, AKG, Audiotechnica.
these aren't audiophile headphones and are not meant to be

these are a show of tech. the W1 processor will be a predecessor of smarter and better tech using the Wx processor platform.
It's about data transfer, smart device, speech, speech recognition, motion, usage, ergonomics, noise cancelling, directional mic, battery etc - a whole lot of new tech in there that has nothing to do with sound quality.

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2016, 8:24 pm

Once you paying the $694 price you should be good to go
Every year these same questions arise,

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 8th, 2016, 8:30 pm

pugboy wrote:Once you paying the $694 price you should be good to go
Every year these same questions arise,

Yeah cos Apple like to confuse ppl every year

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2016, 8:38 pm

I have bought a variety of ways in the past,
As I said once you pay the $694 full price you safe.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 8th, 2016, 8:53 pm

Swisha wrote:
Swisha wrote:Still confused by the T-Mobile unlocked version and the sim free version though.

Only seeing the T-Mobile unlocked version available for preorder and they're saying u would need to activate it in store or through T-Mobile.

When I bought my iPhone 6 it was the same T-Mobile unlocked version that came with the sim card and if I remember correctly I simply did a restore in iTunes and put my Digicel sim card in. No activation was required...

Anyone can confirm this. Did anyone buy the T-Mobile unlocked 6s that came with the sim and was able to activate it without problems?

I did. Purchased a T-Mobile 6s directly from Apple. It came with a nano SIM in the box.
I just popped in my local SIM and it activated over the air.
Easy.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 8th, 2016, 10:06 pm

Soo preordering starts at 12.01am pacific time which is around 2.01am our time ?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 8th, 2016, 10:08 pm

3:01 a.m.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 8th, 2016, 10:08 pm

More like count 3 hours behind us so 3.01 am. Check it on your world clock on your iPhone.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 8th, 2016, 10:22 pm

Jeez. Ok thanks. Any issues with Trinidad issued credit cards ? First time preordering nuh..

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 8th, 2016, 11:48 pm

2WNBoost wrote:
Swisha wrote:

I did. Purchased a T-Mobile 6s directly from Apple. It came with a nano SIM in the box.
Easy.

Same with me and my 6S which was the unlocked tmobile model bought off the apple store.
Have the tmobile sim somewhere, but just popped in my bmobile sim and it worked.
Also have a close friend who bought the tmobile 6 at launch the year before without issues as well with her bmobile sim.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 10th, 2016, 11:39 am

dredman1 wrote:
2WNBoost wrote:
Swisha wrote:

Easy.

Same with me and my 6S which was the unlocked tmobile model bought off the apple store.
Have the tmobile sim somewhere, but just popped in my bmobile sim and it worked.
Also have a close friend who bought the tmobile 6 at launch the year before without issues as well with her bmobile sim.

Same. Bought the T-Mobile iPhone 6, put in my bmobile SIM and worked fine ever since. Using that same iPhone to write this in fact.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 10th, 2016, 2:08 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2016, 11:05 am

Real curious to see how that new force touch home button feels with haptic feedback. The reviews so far not good but it's probably personal preference.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 11th, 2016, 11:14 am

What's the point of haptic feedback for the home button?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 11th, 2016, 1:12 pm

Hey guys, hav my 128gb space grey iphone 6s plus for sale...in mint condition...spigen case an glast.r slim screen protector...all accessories never used (headfones) sealed...looking at $5500 or nearest offer...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2016, 9:57 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:What's the point of haptic feedback for the home button?
it's now force sensitive so i guess there will be new things the home button can do and haptics will confirm those actions. Similar to force / 3D touch on the 6S, when you push into the screen for additional functions you get haptic feedback for those functions.

Postby pete » September 12th, 2016, 5:07 am

Pretty standard having tactic feedback on those buttons. My phone has that for the home, back and recent apps buttons.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 12th, 2016, 9:39 am

Apple features 10-movie bundles for $10 in 10th iTunes Movies anniversary sale
By Mike Wuerthele
Monday, September 12, 2016, 05:56 am PT (08:56 am ET)
itunes-top.jpg

The Warner Brothers bundle includes "The Judge," "Edge of Tomorrow," "Pacific Rim," "Magic Mike," "Congation," "The Town," "The Hangover," "Sex and the City: The Movie," "300," and "Superman Returns."

A bundle from Universal Studios contains "Ride Along," "Identity Thief," "Rush," "Snow White and the Huntsman," "The Adjustment Bureau," "Little fawkers," "It's Complicated," "Forgetting Sarah Marshall," "Knocked Up," and "Inside Man."

Paramount's collection includes "Whiskey Tango Foxtrot," "Selma," "The Wolf of Wall Street," "Flight," "No Strings Attached," "The Fighter," "Up In The Air," "Tropic Thunder," "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," and "Zodiac."

Purchasers of Sony Pictures' collection get The Monuments Men," "Captain Phillips," "To Rome With Love," "Moneyball," "The Social Network," "Easy A," "Julie & Julia," "Nick & Norak's Infinite Playlist," "The Pursuit of Happyness," and "The Da Vinci Code."

The first Lionsgate bundle encompasses Divergent," "Now You See Me," "Warm Bodies," "The Perks of Being a Wallflower," "Margin Call," "Warrior," "The Switch," "Kick-Ass," "Twilight," and "No Country for Old Men."

Lionsgate bundle 2 has Ender's Game," "Mud," "The Impossible," "Arbitrage," "The Cabin In the Woods," "The Hunger Games," "The Expendables," "The Cove," "Gone Baby Gone," "The Queen."

All of the movies are HD-quality. Some of the titles include iTunes extras.

The iTunes Movie store opened on Sept. 12, 2006, with HD content hitting the store in March 2009. Regular prices for movies range from $8 for standard definition to $20 for a popular title in HD.

The sale is only for U.S. iTunes account holders, and ends at 11:59 p.m. PT.
http://appleinsider.com/articles/16/09/12/apple-features-10-movie-bundles-for-10-in-10th-itunes-movies-anniversary-sale

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » September 12th, 2016, 10:11 am

How do you guys pre order directly from Apple? What address do you use? iirc when I tired last year they don't accept skybox addresses. Anyone willing to share info on this

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2016, 2:16 pm

pete wrote:Pretty standard having tactic feedback on those buttons. My phone has that for the home, back and recent apps buttons.
is it also force sensitive? detects how hard you press it?

Postby pete » September 12th, 2016, 2:25 pm

No, once you touch that area of the screen it vibrates so you know you've pressed it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2016, 4:06 pm

Force touch adds functionality to a single button

Postby pete » September 12th, 2016, 4:11 pm

Having taken a 5s into an apple store to get the home button triaged and then start to give trouble again a few months later I could see why they needed to change to this though.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 12th, 2016, 6:32 pm

smr_fingers wrote:How do you guys pre order directly from Apple? What address do you use? iirc when I tired last year they don't accept skybox addresses. Anyone willing to share info on this

I used my skybox address last week and it seems to have went through. Well for one of the purchases at least. Still awaiting for second purchase to appear on my CC statement.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2016, 8:05 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Force touch adds functionality to a single button

Haptic feedback or headphone jack? Maybe iOS10 needs to come out for the benefits of haptic feedback to become apparent but so far from the reviews I've come across the reviewers seem bemused about the point of it.