*** The official car accident thread***

Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby teems1 » August 10th, 2016, 1:11 pm

rollingstock wrote:So wait a boy made a mistake in eagerness to yam down some doubles, civic man was maybe going too fast for the conditions. That why it's called an 'accident'
And you with your dotishassself think it warrants all road side vendors to be removed? Why yuh doh hush your stupid kant?

In the UK when the police are writing up an incident, they are not allowed to use the word accident.

They have to use the word collision.

Accident implies no one was to blame.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » August 10th, 2016, 9:36 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:How do you all know the Civic was speeding?
Was there a speedometer at the bottom of the CCTV footage?

Your posts are usually intelligent but this one is just opposing for the sake of opposition..if the driver was doing even as low as 50 km/h, do you really think the guy would have been thrown that far?? Momentum=mass x velocity..simple physics can dictate that the driver was doing (well) over 50 km/h, hence, he was speeding..pedestrians, however, need to understand the simple principles of crossing a road, especially, as perceived from the comments above, a road with significant vehicular traffic..imagine we're so dimwitted when it comes to not being struck by <2,000 lbs of moving iron, that vehicular manufacturers have invested time and finances into altering vehicle designs to reduce the damage to the human body on impact.. :roll: I mean, accidents happen and utmost respect to the family of the dearly departed but..as we say locally..iyon doh feel pain..

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2016, 11:25 pm

Many bounce dong cases have been unsuccessful in convictions due to in ability of proving driving was speeding.

Postby 16 cycles » August 11th, 2016, 9:34 am

so who scaled off the stopping distance from the video and the time?

where the calculations???

Postby maj. tom » August 11th, 2016, 9:57 am

we have the right equipment. We can do the calculations!
hold it. run that back.
zoom and enhance! now look at that reflection on the car window. see that stray cat on the lightpole?
now zoom in on the doubles.
check the thermozoom scanner for the temperature of the channa.
ok! Freeze and zoom in! Can you enhance it? Measure the length of of that doubles van. Lock on and enlarge the Z-axis.

We need new software!

bbainey

Postby bbainey » August 11th, 2016, 9:58 am

Spotted at 9:30 am by Arawak Mausica

Postby Dizzy28 » August 11th, 2016, 10:26 am

Joshie23 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:How do you all know the Civic was speeding?
Was there a speedometer at the bottom of the CCTV footage?

Your posts are usually intelligent but this one is just opposing for the sake of opposition..if the driver was doing even as low as 50 km/h, do you really think the guy would have been thrown that far?? Momentum=mass x velocity..simple physics can dictate that the driver was doing (well) over 50 km/h, hence, he was speeding..pedestrians, however, need to understand the simple principles of crossing a road, especially, as perceived from the comments above, a road with significant vehicular traffic..imagine we're so dimwitted when it comes to not being struck by <2,000 lbs of moving iron, that vehicular manufacturers have invested time and finances into altering vehicle designs to reduce the damage to the human body on impact.. :roll: I mean, accidents happen and utmost respect to the family of the dearly departed but..as we say locally..iyon doh feel pain..

I have seen a Carib bottle fall from a table around 4' high and bounce back up as if it was a tennis ball and never broke. Physics isn't always as simple as it may seem. From a legal perspective I was just asking how do you all know the driver was speeding. All I have seen are assumptions and suppositions which generally do no count as evidence. Maybe a collision at 30km/h and at the correct angle can throw a body 20' away....it may be possible.

With that said pedestrians (of which I am one daily) do need to try and remember the golden rule of the road from primary school - Look right, then left then right again before crossing. Everyday I see pedestrians cross without looking at all, not make use of a cross walk although it may be 5' away from where they are crossing and not make use of a walk over.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 11th, 2016, 11:37 am

Dizzy and other people fail to realise that the speed limit is not a target. You have to drive for the situation. Anyone with eyes that saw the video can see he was driving too fast for the situation. A good estimate of his speed could be derived by doing a frame by frame analysis of his position (speed = distance/ time). Investigators could go on the site and measure the distances to give a better estimate. If I was being paid to do it I could do it very easily.

With that said, I still don't hold the driver at fault. The majority of drivers that are familiar with a road (i.e. any road they frequently drive on) drive well above the speed limit. I would like to tell everyone to drive slower but we know that not going to happen. People have to learn to be more cautious by the roadway.

I sorry to say but only Ezekiel could have prevented that accident. If that driver was driver slower, who is to say another driver would not have knocked him down.

At the end of the day, the person who is in most danger should be most interested in looking our for their own safety. Pedestrians and bikers will always lose to a car. Cars will always lose to a truck. It doesn't matter who right and who wrong because you could be right and still dead and no mother should have to bury her son for something so easily avoidable.

I feel it for the family though. The boy made one minor mistake and paid the ultimate price for it.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 11th, 2016, 7:52 pm

maj. tom wrote:we have the right equipment. We can do the calculations!
hold it. run that back.
zoom and enhance! now look at that reflection on the car window. see that stray cat on the lightpole?
now zoom in on the doubles.
check the thermozoom scanner for the temperature of the channa.
ok! Freeze and zoom in! Can you enhance it? Measure the length of of that doubles van. Lock on and enlarge the Z-axis.

We need new software!

This made my day :lol:

Postby ismithx » August 11th, 2016, 8:08 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
bluefete wrote:The young man looked to his left just before crossing the road but only looked to his right when he was actually crossing the road. He had a split second to try and stop but the car was speeding so much that it was impossible.

I do not understand how people are making excuses for the driver. If he was going within the speed limit Ezekiel Burton might have been alive today.

Where are all those people who are clamouring for an increase in the speed limit to 100 kph?

the ass that have to do with anything? is a residential area with a long run up to it..RESIDENTIAL!!!...even I have to check myself and slow down at times.......... "clamoring for the 100kph"?

THE HELL THE INCREASE OF THE HIGHWAY SPEED LIMIT HAVE TO DO WITH DRIVING IN A RESIDENTIAL AREA!!

I SWEAR SOME OF YU NEED TO NOT USE THE INTERNET INNO!!! SETTA BLASTED CSI'S/KNOW IT ALLS IN THIS PLACE

*flings Nokia M2

agreed.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 12th, 2016, 4:29 pm

pickup lost a skidding competition today..... driver gave a valiant fight though..... man have skills ..alas the coefficient of drag exceeded braking fyahz...

bounce.jpg

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 12th, 2016, 4:39 pm

:cry:

Postby Monk BANzai » August 12th, 2016, 4:43 pm

^^ boy ..and just this week we was talking a talk eh.... *knock on wood.

*** The official car accident thread***

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2016, 4:49 pm

Jammin' Jetta

Sucks for the owner.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2016, 5:32 pm

Pickup insurance go feel it...

TriP

Postby TriP » August 12th, 2016, 6:15 pm

Panel van overturned .. jus after chase village today
2.jpg
1.jpg

sheldon king

Postby sheldon king » August 13th, 2016, 12:34 pm

1471105984982.jpg
saw dis on d northbound before monroe road flyover

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby Morpheus » August 13th, 2016, 2:23 pm

eXamin wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Kalisnakov wrote:Charge for what? The fella is wrong, rip tho

Death by dangerous driving, driving without due care and attention

LOL, you never heard the saying watch both sides before crossing? The guy is wrong here.

What about another primary school teaching?

Never cross from behind a parked vehicle...

MOST Trinis forget that by age 14...

sheldon king

Postby sheldon king » August 13th, 2016, 2:24 pm

Yes it was this morning

Postby Morpheus » August 13th, 2016, 2:33 pm

PDK Jetta. Ouch....

Postby Team Loco » August 13th, 2016, 7:08 pm

Those mitsu panel vans. Just put them back on wheels and good to go again

TriP

Postby TriP » August 14th, 2016, 9:37 pm

This car hit another vehicle and flipped on High Street, Siparia in the vicinity of Siparia CID.
Driver escaped alive.
1.jpg

Postby K74T » August 14th, 2016, 9:42 pm

Them ole rolla strong like dat

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 15th, 2016, 1:07 am

Postby ismithx » August 15th, 2016, 8:13 am

opposite breakfast shed this morning. I wanna know how he park up on the pole so and I hope nobody hurt badly

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 15th, 2016, 8:50 am

epic stunt

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » August 15th, 2016, 9:47 am

clone101