The United National Congress (UNC) has been ordered to vacate its Rienzi Complex headquarters by July 31.
This, as the landlord said the party refused to meet the new rent requirement.
The $12,000 rent was raised to $25,000.
The property is owned by the All Trinidad General Workers’ Trade Union (ATGWTU).
Former UNC Chairman Jack Warner issued this statement via his Facebook page following the news of the party’s eviction:
“I empathise with the United National Congress (UNC), they having been evicted from the headquarters they have occupied since inception - Rienzi Complex - by the All Trinidad General Workers' Trade Union (ATGWU) which provided the base for the birthing of the party under Basdeo Panday in 1989.
I am informed that the ATGWU increased the rent for the property and the UNC is unable to pay the new amount, thus the UNC on Thursday was asked to vacate Rienzi Complex. The UNC has also been prohibited from holding functions, meetings and other exercises at Rienzi Complex, hence it's screening exercises had to be conducted in Siparia.
How the mighty is falling, and how swiftly so! What a contrast to the magnificent days of the past!
I wish them well in their return to glory.”
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Why didn't they just do like the PNM and build their own headquarters?
What about all the contractors who made billions shouldn't they chip in and build a headquarters for the UNC now?
skylinechild wrote:something more to this.......rent don't just double jus so......but then again Indian mentality - crab in a barrel....clamoring over the almighty dollar...
when UNC returns in power.....they will be dealing it straight back to the ATGWTU...
desifemlove wrote:so many financiers, and cyah afford dat?? hahahahaha...nah, mus be silly season, stupid article.
Kronik wrote:skylinechild wrote:something more to this.......rent don't just double jus so......but then again Indian mentality - crab in a barrel....clamoring over the almighty dollar...
when UNC returns in power.....they will be dealing it straight back to the ATGWTU...
Remember the trade union formed their own political party that opposes UNC, and they said they have first preference to use there over UNC.desifemlove wrote:so many financiers, and cyah afford dat?? hahahahaha...nah, mus be silly season, stupid article.
Have a difference between cant afford and no sense in affording. If you renting somewhere and the landlord just doubles your rent just to spite you, and you have the money to pay the double rent, would you do it or would you say salt for that and get somewhere for slightly more than the original rent?
Kronik wrote:skylinechild wrote:something more to this.......rent don't just double jus so......but then again Indian mentality - crab in a barrel....clamoring over the almighty dollar...
Remember the trade union formed their own political party that opposes UNC, and they said they have first preference to use there over UNC.desifemlove wrote:so many financiers, and cyah afford dat?? hahahahaha...nah, mus be silly season, stupid article.
Have a difference between cant afford and no sense in affording. If you renting somewhere and the landlord just doubles your rent just to spite you, and you have the money to pay the double rent, would you do it or would you say salt for that and get somewhere for slightly more than the original rent?
nervewrecker wrote:Kronik wrote:skylinechild wrote:something more to this.......rent don't just double jus so......but then again Indian mentality - crab in a barrel....clamoring over the almighty dollar...
Why you tryna talk sense to desi?
shogun wrote:This story brings me no joy.
I'd like a stable opposition to keep the party in office, in check. The opposition needs to get their act together.
K74T wrote:AR-151129773.jpg
More than enough space here to house the HQ, parking available too.
buckredan wrote:Is only idiots who making and thiefing so much money would want to rent a place for so many years. They should of have there own place and save that money just so the maths.
baigan wrote:Kamla's house is worth 152 million? .-. Wtf lol
I doubt it lol
Looks like its worth abt 10-20 million at most
De Dragon wrote:baigan wrote:Kamla's house is worth 152 million? .-. Wtf lol
I doubt it lol
Looks like its worth abt 10-20 million at most
Patos said so.............
K74T wrote:AR-151129773.jpg
More than enough space here to house the HQ, parking available too.
skylinechild wrote:something more to this.......rent don't just double jus so......but then again Indian mentality - crab in a barrel....clamoring over the almighty dollar...