UNC evicted from Rienzi Complex

neilsingh100

UNC evicted from Rienzi Complex

Postby neilsingh100 » July 16th, 2016, 4:36 pm

For a party that spent hundred's of million dollars in an election campaign less than a year ago to now can't afford to pay 25k/month rent things have to be real bad. Guess Kamla didn't have a plan after all :D.

UNC gets walking papers
http://www.looptt.com/content/unc-gets-walking-papers

The United National Congress (UNC) has been ordered to vacate its Rienzi Complex headquarters by July 31.

This, as the landlord said the party refused to meet the new rent requirement.

The $12,000 rent was raised to $25,000.

The property is owned by the All Trinidad General Workers’ Trade Union (ATGWTU).

Former UNC Chairman Jack Warner issued this statement via his Facebook page following the news of the party’s eviction:

“I empathise with the United National Congress (UNC), they having been evicted from the headquarters they have occupied since inception - Rienzi Complex - by the All Trinidad General Workers' Trade Union (ATGWU) which provided the base for the birthing of the party under Basdeo Panday in 1989.
I am informed that the ATGWU increased the rent for the property and the UNC is unable to pay the new amount, thus the UNC on Thursday was asked to vacate Rienzi Complex. The UNC has also been prohibited from holding functions, meetings and other exercises at Rienzi Complex, hence it's screening exercises had to be conducted in Siparia.
How the mighty is falling, and how swiftly so! What a contrast to the magnificent days of the past!
I wish them well in their return to glory.”

Re: UNC evicted from Rienzi Complex

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 16th, 2016, 4:45 pm

Why didn't they just do like the PNM and build their own headquarters?

What about all the contractors who made billions shouldn't they chip in and build a headquarters for the UNC now?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 16th, 2016, 4:52 pm

Well if my rent was doubled in one shot, I would have walked too. Guess that part expecting that evicting the UNC will give them supporters

Postby Morpheus » July 16th, 2016, 5:12 pm

Tha heck? More than double rent? I would be like fleck dem too yes! WTF...

Postby pugboy » July 16th, 2016, 5:50 pm

Maybe too busy building personal wealth

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Why didn't they just do like the PNM and build their own headquarters?

What about all the contractors who made billions shouldn't they chip in and build a headquarters for the UNC now?

Postby skylinechild » July 16th, 2016, 6:32 pm

something more to this.......rent don't just double jus so......but then again Indian mentality - crab in a barrel....clamoring over the almighty dollar...

when UNC returns in power.....they will be dealing it straight back to the ATGWTU...

Postby desifemlove » July 16th, 2016, 6:44 pm

so many financiers, and cyah afford dat?? hahahahaha...nah, mus be silly season, stupid article.

Kronik

Re: RE: Re: UNC evicted from Rienzi Complex

Postby Kronik » July 16th, 2016, 7:45 pm

skylinechild wrote:something more to this.......rent don't just double jus so......but then again Indian mentality - crab in a barrel....clamoring over the almighty dollar...

when UNC returns in power.....they will be dealing it straight back to the ATGWTU...

Remember the trade union formed their own political party that opposes UNC, and they said they have first preference to use there over UNC.
desifemlove wrote:so many financiers, and cyah afford dat?? hahahahaha...nah, mus be silly season, stupid article.

Have a difference between cant afford and no sense in affording. If you renting somewhere and the landlord just doubles your rent just to spite you, and you have the money to pay the double rent, would you do it or would you say salt for that and get somewhere for slightly more than the original rent?

Postby RASC » July 16th, 2016, 9:12 pm

See what I been saying...they focusing on foolishness when serious POLITICAL business matters to be handled. This is a real. Voops and Vaaps kinda party.

Postby K74T » July 16th, 2016, 10:06 pm

Postby K74T » July 16th, 2016, 10:07 pm

Postby nervewrecker » July 16th, 2016, 10:10 pm

Kronik wrote:
skylinechild wrote:something more to this.......rent don't just double jus so......but then again Indian mentality - crab in a barrel....clamoring over the almighty dollar...

Remember the trade union formed their own political party that opposes UNC, and they said they have first preference to use there over UNC.
desifemlove wrote:so many financiers, and cyah afford dat?? hahahahaha...nah, mus be silly season, stupid article.

Have a difference between cant afford and no sense in affording. If you renting somewhere and the landlord just doubles your rent just to spite you, and you have the money to pay the double rent, would you do it or would you say salt for that and get somewhere for slightly more than the original rent?

Why you tryna talk sense to desi?

Postby desifemlove » July 17th, 2016, 12:37 pm

Kronik wrote:

no reason why dey can't have dey own place...they can afford it and need it.

abducted

Postby abducted » July 17th, 2016, 12:49 pm

Starbucks opening in Rienzi instead?

Postby K74T » July 17th, 2016, 12:51 pm

AR-151129773.jpg

More than enough space here to house the HQ, parking available too.

Postby desifemlove » July 17th, 2016, 1:03 pm

Kronik wrote:

Why you tryna talk sense to desi?

UNC is a party that wants to be seen like PNM....as a gold standard in public life. UNC mus have the most wealthy financiers. building a four storey building somewhere is nothing compared to the money they can afford to get UK QC to come here, or telephone/online ads for election, or hampers to poor chirren. it's as much about image than money.

Postby shogun » July 17th, 2016, 8:00 pm

This story brings me no joy.

I'd like a stable opposition to keep the party in office, in check. The opposition needs to get their act together.

Postby SR » July 17th, 2016, 8:01 pm

Like rienzi moving like movitowne .....double d rent to make yuh move out.... but tbh that place reel run dong for a political office

Postby K74T » July 17th, 2016, 8:02 pm

Well de party run dong, wha yuh expect

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 17th, 2016, 8:55 pm

:lol: So dem couldn't build ah damn hq so long dey form? When uncle Jack was dey so much they use de man eh? He woulda build ah rell bess hq fuh dem. :lol:

Postby j.o.e » July 17th, 2016, 9:25 pm

UNC has always been run like a parlour. Not surprised

Postby skylinechild » July 17th, 2016, 9:55 pm

shogun wrote:This story brings me no joy.

I'd like a stable opposition to keep the party in office, in check. The opposition needs to get their act together.

AGREED !!!! however times have changed since the inception of independence and our governance method.

instead of " keeping the ruling party in check" it has changed into " I not supporting it cause is not my idea"

the two party system works in Britain cause both parties are willing to come together and COMPROMISE on certain issues...to help move the country forward..... here in sweet tnt the only thing both parties (regardless of who in govt or not - unc pnm nar njack etc) can agree on is a salary increase. :|

Postby De Dragon » July 17th, 2016, 9:59 pm

K74T wrote:AR-151129773.jpg

Yes all 152 million dollars worth.................... :roll:

buckredan

Postby buckredan » July 17th, 2016, 10:05 pm

Is only idiots who making and thiefing so much money would want to rent a place for so many years. They should of have there own place and save that money just so the maths.

Postby De Dragon » July 17th, 2016, 10:17 pm

buckredan wrote:Is only idiots who making and thiefing so much money would want to rent a place for so many years. They should of have there own place and save that money just so the maths.

It would appear that the UNC thought that the "sugar link" would be there forever. However the new ATSGWTU leader has openly been anti UNC/PP so this should have been expected.

baigan

Postby baigan » July 18th, 2016, 12:34 am

Kamla's house is worth 152 million? .-. Wtf lol
I doubt it lol

Looks like its worth abt 10-20 million at most

Postby De Dragon » July 18th, 2016, 1:02 am

baigan wrote:Kamla's house is worth 152 million? .-. Wtf lol
I doubt it lol

Patos said so.............

baigan

Postby baigan » July 18th, 2016, 1:06 am

baigan wrote:Kamla's house is worth 152 million? .-. Wtf lol
I doubt it lol

Patos said so.............

Oh lol
Idk what went through his mind
That aint $152m lol

BRZ

Postby BRZ » July 18th, 2016, 8:33 am

EXACTLY!

K74T wrote:AR-151129773.jpg

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » July 19th, 2016, 3:43 pm

Indian mentality ? LMFAO !!!!!! lemme doh say nothing eh.... smh