http://www.prehistoricpets.com/
Miktay wrote:M_chick...no need...jess go in the zoo...
Morpheus wrote:Miktay wrote:M_chick...no need...jess go in the zoo...
Nah man that camera work was terrible. Headache ting....
SMc wrote:a dead one by the looks of it....why kill first then ask after, just let them do they thing and perhaps we would not have threads about getting rid of rats
88sins wrote:SMc wrote:a dead one by the looks of it....why kill first then ask after, just let them do they thing and perhaps we would not have threads about getting rid of rats
pay close attention. that pic don't look like it was taken in d bush. Unless yuh ever see or experience in person what happens to ppl that get bitten from these animals, I suggest yuh either witness or experience that first & then talk. better yuh advocate for ppl to mind macajuel before yuh tell ppl doh kill mapepire that stray out of the bush.
If yuh see one in d bush, leave it be unless it attacks you. if yuh see it in yuh house/yard/street/ kill it. one good bite from even a juvenile snake is enough to cause some serious & life threatening damage.
Corn Bird wrote:Two species of mapepire in trinidad. Mapepire balsain (fer de lance) and mapepire zanana (bushmaster)
Hans Boos talks about them in his book. It's a nice read. And I wish my snake knowledge was all purely theoretical, but unfortunately no
https://books.google.tt/books/about/The_Snakes_of_Trinidad_and_Tobago.html?id=tItyRBj7-zUC&redir_esc=y
baigan wrote:Yep its bothrops asper, aka fer-de-lance, a venomous pit viper species...
Please dont attempt to handle these cause they are quite dangerous.
If you get bit you can experience swelling, bruising, blisters, fever, headaches, numbness, gastrointestinal bleeding, coughing up of blood, vomiting, hypotension, etc
And if left untreated necrosis can occur and may require amputation..and well the healthcare in Trinidad is pretty terrible, so avoid these pitvipers..
They are pretty quick and vigorous in their defense
and they grow to around 5-8 feet at most and can live around 15-25 years..
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:baigan wrote:Yep its bothrops asper, aka fer-de-lance, a venomous pit viper species...
If you get bit you can experience swelling, bruising, blisters, fever, headaches, numbness, gastrointestinal bleeding, coughing up of blood, vomiting, hypotension, etc
And if left untreated necrosis can occur and may require amputation..and well the healthcare in Trinidad is pretty terrible, so avoid these pitvipers..
Etc? Wdmc. Those are enough symptoms lol.
What kind of bush they like?
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:baigan wrote:Yep its bothrops asper, aka fer-de-lance, a venomous pit viper species...
nervewrecker wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:baigan wrote:Yep its bothrops asper, aka fer-de-lance, a venomous pit viper species...
5 to 8 feet yes. Thats kinda big.![]()
I know they common in some parts of the northern rage and south eastern side of Trinidad.
Not sure what kind of bush but i've been told they do well at blending in. Does pray to never meet one.
rspann wrote:I have a piece of land in Tamana. One day I saw a shed snake skin,so friggin big, that is three years now I haven't gone back there.
nervewrecker wrote:Forgot to mention the nocturnal part. Its night I does be outside.
Had to walk through some bushes taller than me as a last resort some months back. Everytime I move my feet I just saying in my head I hope one dont bite me. The amount of things ran though my head that night eh