WTF - Snake!

Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby SMc » May 8th, 2016, 4:57 pm

how they deads.. death by green mango? I hope people still not going about killing them fellas for no reason

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 25th, 2016, 9:53 am

if y'all are fascinated by snakes like me........check out this page

http://www.prehistoricpets.com/

some of the biggest reptiles I've ever seen.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 25th, 2016, 11:19 am

M_chick...no need...jess go in the zoo...

Postby bluefete » May 26th, 2016, 11:47 pm

Python Crawls Up Toilet Bowl and Bites Man's Genitals for 1/2 hour.

Re: RE: Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby Morpheus » May 27th, 2016, 1:23 am

Miktay wrote:M_chick...no need...jess go in the zoo...

Nah man that camera work was terrible. Headache ting....

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 27th, 2016, 9:40 am

Morpheus wrote:
Miktay wrote:M_chick...no need...jess go in the zoo...

Nah man that camera work was terrible. Headache ting....

Thaz why u s/go in the Emperor Valley Zoo.

One of the better reptile houses.

Postby Morpheus » May 27th, 2016, 11:08 am

Went twice last year. I haven't seen the snakes feed since I was in primary school.

I want to go at feeding times one of these days. The snakes and the big cats at least

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 8th, 2016, 12:08 pm

Wah kinda snake is this
IMG-20160608-WA0003.jpg

Postby 88sins » June 8th, 2016, 12:26 pm

looks like it might be a fer de lance

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 8th, 2016, 2:11 pm

poisonous

Postby SMc » June 8th, 2016, 2:20 pm

a dead one by the looks of it....why kill first then ask after, just let them do they thing and perhaps we would not have threads about getting rid of rats

Postby 88sins » June 8th, 2016, 2:38 pm

SMc wrote:a dead one by the looks of it....why kill first then ask after, just let them do they thing and perhaps we would not have threads about getting rid of rats

pay close attention. that pic don't look like it was taken in d bush. Unless yuh ever see or experience in person what happens to ppl that get bitten from these animals, I suggest yuh either witness or experience that first & then talk. better yuh advocate for ppl to mind macajuel before yuh tell ppl doh kill mapepire that stray out of the bush.
If yuh see one in d bush, leave it be unless it attacks you. if yuh see it in yuh house/yard/street/ kill it. one good bite from even a juvenile snake is enough to cause some serious & life threatening damage.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » June 8th, 2016, 2:44 pm

Looks like a fer de lance. By the way when ever you kill a poisonous snake take off the head and bury it. Even though it is dead it can still inject venom for days, so if any poor soul steps on its head it will be trouble.

Postby 88sins » June 8th, 2016, 2:51 pm

actually the better thing is to burn it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 8th, 2016, 4:12 pm

It was burnt...totally agree with 88sins....pray not to get bite from one of these....

Postby SMc » June 8th, 2016, 4:52 pm

SMc wrote:a dead one by the looks of it....why kill first then ask after, just let them do they thing and perhaps we would not have threads about getting rid of rats

pay close attention. that pic don't look like it was taken in d bush. Unless yuh ever see or experience in person what happens to ppl that get bitten from these animals, I suggest yuh either witness or experience that first & then talk. better yuh advocate for ppl to mind macajuel before yuh tell ppl doh kill mapepire that stray out of the bush.
If yuh see one in d bush, leave it be unless it attacks you. if yuh see it in yuh house/yard/street/ kill it. one good bite from even a juvenile snake is enough to cause some serious & life threatening damage.

I really hope that was an attempt at sarcasm.

I have encountered many of them and never seen the need to kill them as tough they can be seen as being aggressive really couldn't be arsed with us...also how many deaths have been attributed to snake-bites in TT?

As you are an avid hunter I am really surprised that is the tac you would take as there is definitely a place& purpose for them in the forests & populated areas of T&T. Anyway to each his own & good luck with the Pawi hunting.

Postby 88sins » June 8th, 2016, 5:53 pm

Son, that particular species of reptile has a place. In d forest. Nowhere else. If you don't agree with that its no skin off my nose. These snakes are known to be very aggressive when startled. Imagine one of them in your yard under some leaves by a tree & a child passes a little too close for the animals comfort. If bitten and the venom doesnt kill said child, he will have a huge reminder for the rest of his life.

They have their place, in d bush.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » June 9th, 2016, 7:58 am

Two species of mapepire in trinidad. Mapepire balsain (fer de lance) and mapepire zanana (bushmaster)

Hans Boos talks about them in his book. It's a nice read. And I wish my snake knowledge was all purely theoretical, but unfortunately no

https://books.google.tt/books/about/The_Snakes_of_Trinidad_and_Tobago.html?id=tItyRBj7-zUC&redir_esc=y

Some excerpts:

The potency of the venom is well illustrated in a report (Ditmars)
of a man in Honduras in Central America being bitten on the leg by a ferde-
lance. While he was being “treated” by the resident “snake doctor,” his wife,
who had been grating dried coconut, was helping to attend to the victim by washing
the site of the bite, which was bleeding severely. These ministrations failed to
save the man, who died some hours later, followed by his wife the next day, for
she had absorbed enough venom from the blood flowing from her husband,
through minor cuts
and abrasions on her fingers caused by the coconut grater

Nevertheless, the mapepire zanana bite under certain circumstances, in defense
or to feed. The strike and bite of one specimen in the collection of the Emperor
Valley Zoo were fearsomely accurate on the rats supplied for food. Mole
and Urich state that hunting dogs, when bitten, are seldom killed, but
Carr tells of four dogs being bitten in quick succession when they came
upon a large specimen of this snake and attacked it
. Two of the dogs died, the
first almost immediately, obviously getting the first, full dose of venom, and the
second some time later. The third and fourth dogs, treated with bush medicine
antidote, survived to hunt again another day. These surviving dogs had obviously
been less envenomated when they were bitten

as for killing them

"Its proximity to human habitations is likely the reason why it is considered more dangerous to humans than others."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bothrops_asper

Well technically, what we have in Trinidad is Bothrops atrox. Both are called fer de lance

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 9th, 2016, 9:42 am

My bro had to shoot behind a mapepire the other day he went hunting. An agouti came, my bro fire and snap (sourness). Then a lil while after he heard bush moving, thinking it was the agouti again. Only to realise it was a big ass mapepire, that came and coil up at the base of the tree he was on. No where to come down the tree. My bro change cartridge and shoot the mapepire. He said it was over 6 feet, the thing was so huge it had ticks on it...

Postby 88sins » June 9th, 2016, 11:17 am

& he'd have taken his own sweet time before he move :lol:
it funny how ppl don't think reptiles would carry ecto-parasites

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 9th, 2016, 3:10 pm

Corn Bird wrote:Two species of mapepire in trinidad. Mapepire balsain (fer de lance) and mapepire zanana (bushmaster)

Hans Boos talks about them in his book. It's a nice read. And I wish my snake knowledge was all purely theoretical, but unfortunately no

https://books.google.tt/books/about/The_Snakes_of_Trinidad_and_Tobago.html?id=tItyRBj7-zUC&redir_esc=y

Great book. Too bad about the writer.

baigan

Postby baigan » June 9th, 2016, 6:27 pm

Yep its bothrops asper, aka fer-de-lance, a venomous pit viper species...
Please dont attempt to handle these cause they are quite dangerous.
If you get bit you can experience swelling, bruising, blisters, fever, headaches, numbness, gastrointestinal bleeding, coughing up of blood, vomiting, hypotension, etc
And if left untreated necrosis can occur and may require amputation..and well the healthcare in Trinidad is pretty terrible, so avoid these pitvipers..
They are pretty quick and vigorous in their defense
and they grow to around 5-8 feet at most and can live around 15-25 years..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 9th, 2016, 6:41 pm

baigan wrote:Yep its bothrops asper, aka fer-de-lance, a venomous pit viper species...
If you get bit you can experience swelling, bruising, blisters, fever, headaches, numbness, gastrointestinal bleeding, coughing up of blood, vomiting, hypotension, etc
And if left untreated necrosis can occur and may require amputation..and well the healthcare in Trinidad is pretty terrible, so avoid these pitvipers..

Etc? Wdmc. Those are enough symptoms lol.

What kind of bush they like?

Postby nervewrecker » June 9th, 2016, 7:05 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
baigan wrote:Yep its bothrops asper, aka fer-de-lance, a venomous pit viper species...

5 to 8 feet yes. Thats kinda big. :shock:

I know they common in some parts of the northern rage and south eastern side of Trinidad.

Not sure what kind of bush but i've been told they do well at blending in. Does pray to never meet one.

baigan

Postby baigan » June 9th, 2016, 7:27 pm

5 to 8 feet yes. Thats kinda big. :shock:

I know they common in some parts of the northern rage and south eastern side of Trinidad.

Not sure what kind of bush but i've been told they do well at blending in. Does pray to never meet one.

Lol yep a lot of symptoms

Yep they're found a lot in the northern range, and in a lot of agricultural areas mostly around rivers, streams, ponds etc
They are mainly nocturnal so youll see them a lot at night but during the day they like to spend time hidden among roots, leaf litter and such and some of the juveniles are known to climb trees.

And yep 8 feet is pretty big, the average length for them is around 6ft and there are unconfirmed reports of people finding some around 10 feet. If you find one thats more than 6 1/2-7 feet itll be a female, They're pretty heavy too, they weigh around 13-25 lbs lol.

Postby rspann » June 9th, 2016, 7:32 pm

I have a piece of land in Tamana. One day I saw a shed snake skin,so friggin big, that is three years now I haven't gone back there.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 9th, 2016, 7:46 pm

And men vex because I kill the thing yes...d fork

Postby nervewrecker » June 9th, 2016, 7:52 pm

Forgot to mention the nocturnal part. Its night I does be outside.

Had to walk through some bushes taller than me as a last resort some months back. Everytime I move my feet I just saying in my head I hope one dont bite me. The amount of things ran though my head that night eh

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 9th, 2016, 8:19 pm

rspann wrote:I have a piece of land in Tamana. One day I saw a shed snake skin,so friggin big, that is three years now I haven't gone back there.

How much you selling d land for?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 9th, 2016, 8:20 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Forgot to mention the nocturnal part. Its night I does be outside.

Had to walk through some bushes taller than me as a last resort some months back. Everytime I move my feet I just saying in my head I hope one dont bite me. The amount of things ran though my head that night eh

Hoss it have thing call guesthouse.