16 cycles wrote:roads engineered for the 80kph limit (+over engineering for above it)
don't think MoW or any government will want to accept liability for increasing a speed limit where the roads have not been built on an engineering basis to accommodate for the 120kph limit as this might be at the over design limit of the 80kph - a civil engineer might better be able to chime in...
*$kїđž!™ wrote:on the SHH AND UBH.....the limit should be 120km....other minor highways.....80 km is fine.....
120 km is crusing speed on the major higways////
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:on the SHH AND UBH.....the limit should be 120km....other minor highways.....80 km is fine.....
120 km is crusing speed on the major higways////
This is a terrible suggestion, no highway in this country should allow anyone to drive at 120. That is madness!!!! we are a culture of drunks and speeding hooligans, arrogant and disgusting set of people when we are coming back from a fete. The minute you tell trinis to take it easy they want to shoot you.
Leave this sheit at 80KM/H.
At most 90Km/H but nothing beyond that, trinis in general need an attitude change otherwise we will be encouraging way more accidents and deaths of innocent people. As it stands its 80KM/H and everyday people die because the Trini is driving twice that speed this is how Trinis operate the average driver going at 160km/h these days. This is double 80 can you imagine if the government was to allow 100 or god forbid 120? Trinis would be driving over 200 because when you give them an inch they take a mile.
Leave this thing at 80 yes and save a few thousand lives.
src1983 wrote:16 cycles wrote:roads engineered for the 80kph limit (+over engineering for above it)
don't think MoW or any government will want to accept liability for increasing a speed limit where the roads have not been built on an engineering basis to accommodate for the 120kph limit as this might be at the over design limit of the 80kph - a civil engineer might better be able to chime in...
I keep seeing this comment, could you provide the data where the highway was designed for a top speed of 80kph?
16 cycles wrote:roads engineered for the 80kph limit (+over engineering for above it)
Rory Phoulorie wrote:src1983 wrote:16 cycles wrote:roads engineered for the 80kph limit (+over engineering for above it)
I keep seeing this comment, could you provide the data where the highway was designed for a top speed of 80kph?
As far as I know, the design speed for the highway to Point Fortin that is currently being built is 100km/h. I don't think any of the highways that would have been recently been built (from 1990 onwards) would have a design speed more than 100km/h. And I am pretty sure that the older highways (pre 1990) would have a lower design speed.
It is not recommended to set your speed limit at the same speed as the design speed for the road. You need to have a safety factor built into your design (I am trying to explain this for the layman to understand).
You all have to also remember that whereas automotive technology may have improved tremendously from the Ford Model T to what is available now, the human body has not really evolved at an equivalent pace with a person's ability to see what is in front of him/her and react to it in a time to avoid/circumvent the situation.
So, as the poster indicated above the MOWT will not, or should not, revise the speed limit to anything close to or exceeding the engineered design speed for the road.
I honestly don't see what is the issue with driving at 80km/h and why all the complaining about it. It is quite easy to do.
mitsu_chick941 wrote:100km/h is just fine imo.....80 is a little too slow for me personally.
But what about the ones doing 80 in the overtaking lane? In my couple of years on the highway, from what i saw everyday it's those people causing the traffic. Why not enforce the laws that already there? I have seen police cars drive behind these "slow drivers" on the O/T lane and just pass them and go. Why not charge the slackers who not adhering to the main law of the highway? They are reason for cutting in and out continuously.
Another thing, allyuh want speed guns...come out between 12-6am, that's when the deadly carnage happens most.
desifemlove wrote:trinidad a small island. why yuh does need to travel so quick? yuh doubles gonna get cold before yuh get home?
cornfused wrote:UK argument to support that is around moving the limit from 70MPH to 80MPH on the freeways 112 to 128 kmph
US speed limits
30 mph on urban roads or 48 kmph
County paved road , similar to the M2 and the Sangre Grande by pass - 45 mph or 72 kmph
Dual Carrige ways - CRH headiing east after Maloney , UBH after Chaguanas 88 kmph
4 lane highways , we have three - 65 mph or 104 kmph
Those advocating 80kmph are older dirvers in every sense of the word . Its easy to see from the above information that a 100- 115 or 120 kmph is very resonsable for the three lane sections of our highways . With dual lane at 88-90 kmph , main road 50 kmph
Rory Phoulorie wrote:This proposal is not safe when you take the attitude of the average T&T driver into account. Leave the speed limit on the highways at 80km/h.