Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Re: Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby teems1 » May 2nd, 2016, 9:44 am

This is the issue which causes the most traffic/stress on the roadways when there is free flowing traffic, and is a strong argument for leaving the speed limit at 80 and implementing more radar guns.

You're driving 80 in the left lane, coming up behind a loaded truck/van going 40, clearly you want to overtake, however looking in the mirror you see a line of cars in the right lane going 120+.

What should have been a simple overtaking maneuver has now brought doubt into your mind. Can you make the overtake safely? Should I slow down to the speed of the truck and wait for a safe overtake, but then that means being stuck behind the truck for a while as the line of cars passes.

Overtaking was unsafe so being a cautious driver, you slow down 40 (speed of truck). Now other cars in the left lane face the same dilemma as you did a few moments ago. Eventually there are a bunch of cars going slowly in the left lane, and never ending speeding cars in the right lane.

The cars behind the truck then try to dart out from the left lane to overtake the train of slow cars/truck. Doing so dangerously as the cars in the right lane often have to step on the brakes.

Now in your mind, being stuck behind the train of cars/van sucks, it would have just been easier to stay in the right lane, and go 120+ like the rest of the drivers to avoid this very situation. So you conform from your cautious driving style to one of speeding because in the end you think it's safer/better overall.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 2nd, 2016, 9:50 am

on the SHH AND UBH.....the limit should be 120km....other minor highways.....80 km is fine.....
120 km is crusing speed on the major higways////

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » May 2nd, 2016, 9:56 am

People need to remember w speed limit is not a target. Those comfortable at 80km/h would be free to stay at that speed

Postby noshownogo » May 2nd, 2016, 10:39 am

My goodness!

I drove from Diego to Grand Bazaar this Saturday gone at 10am, observing all speed restrictions.

Well, if it wasn't Granny in her Toyota giving me the finger, it was a trailer truck running up behind me blowing horn (almost sh!t myself), several people while passing, clearly giving me the stink eye. I suspect they thought I was running on a shot engine.

My resolve hadn't wavered.

I maintained the left most lane until I encountered others clearly preparing for this morning's enforcement similarly to myself. Using the middle lane solely for overtaking anyone going less than I was, but still remaining under 80kph.

Tbh, I don't think it took me notably longer to get to my destination. I did notice that at these speeds I now feel like a passenger. I could get easily distracted sightseeing, and with AC and 97 pumpin surely fall into a meditative state reserved for a Spa.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 2nd, 2016, 10:44 am

100km/h is just fine imo.....80 is a little too slow for me personally.

But what about the ones doing 80 in the overtaking lane? In my couple of years on the highway, from what i saw everyday it's those people causing the traffic. Why not enforce the laws that already there? I have seen police cars drive behind these "slow drivers" on the O/T lane and just pass them and go. Why not charge the slackers who not adhering to the main law of the highway? They are reason for cutting in and out continuously.

Another thing, allyuh want speed guns...come out between 12-6am, that's when the deadly carnage happens most.

Postby 16 cycles » May 2nd, 2016, 11:23 am

roads engineered for the 80kph limit (+over engineering for above it)

don't think MoW or any government will want to accept liability for increasing a speed limit where the roads have not been built on an engineering basis to accommodate for the 120kph limit as this might be at the over design limit of the 80kph - a civil engineer might better be able to chime in...

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 2nd, 2016, 11:43 am

16 cycles wrote:roads engineered for the 80kph limit (+over engineering for above it)

don't think MoW or any government will want to accept liability for increasing a speed limit where the roads have not been built on an engineering basis to accommodate for the 120kph limit as this might be at the over design limit of the 80kph - a civil engineer might better be able to chime in...

I keep seeing this comment, could you provide the data where the highway was designed for a top speed of 80kph?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 2nd, 2016, 2:05 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:on the SHH AND UBH.....the limit should be 120km....other minor highways.....80 km is fine.....

This is a terrible suggestion, no highway in this country should allow anyone to drive at 120. That is madness!!!! we are a culture of drunks and speeding hooligans, arrogant and disgusting set of people when we are coming back from a fete. The minute you tell trinis to take it easy they want to shoot you.

Leave this sheit at 80KM/H.

At most 90Km/H but nothing beyond that, trinis in general need an attitude change otherwise we will be encouraging way more accidents and deaths of innocent people. As it stands its 80KM/H and everyday people die because the Trini is driving twice that speed this is how Trinis operate the average driver going at 160km/h these days. This is double 80 can you imagine if the government was to allow 100 or god forbid 120? Trinis would be driving over 200 because when you give them an inch they take a mile.

Leave this thing at 80 yes and save a few thousand lives.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 2nd, 2016, 2:19 pm

let's be realistic, whether they change the limit or not, ENFORCEMENT will never be consistent or regular.

in a few days people will be back to killing themselves and others on the roads because the police not doing what they supposed to in the first place.

scotty_buttons

Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby scotty_buttons » May 2nd, 2016, 2:23 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:on the SHH AND UBH.....the limit should be 120km....other minor highways.....80 km is fine.....

This is a terrible suggestion, no highway in this country should allow anyone to drive at 120. That is madness!!!! we are a culture of drunks and speeding hooligans, arrogant and disgusting set of people when we are coming back from a fete. The minute you tell trinis to take it easy they want to shoot you.

Leave this sheit at 80KM/H.

At most 90Km/H but nothing beyond that, trinis in general need an attitude change otherwise we will be encouraging way more accidents and deaths of innocent people. As it stands its 80KM/H and everyday people die because the Trini is driving twice that speed this is how Trinis operate the average driver going at 160km/h these days. This is double 80 can you imagine if the government was to allow 100 or god forbid 120? Trinis would be driving over 200 because when you give them an inch they take a mile.

Leave this thing at 80 yes and save a few thousand lives.

Er what? I don't think people intentionally and automatically drive twice the speed limit :?
If the speed limit were 140, those who accustomed driving 160 from before, will continue to drive 160; those who accustomed driving 120 will continue to do so, etc.
It's a matter of what you're accustomed to and what you personally deem safe and controllable. Although it may not be in keeping with the law.
80 is too slow for some areas of the highway. Ideally there should be variable speed limits. One for trucks; one for cars. One for wet roads, one for dry roads. One for daytime and/or rush hour, one for night. And there are certain parts of the highway where you can safely drive 100-110km/HR. And keep other parts at 80.
Also, the speed limit is NOT a target that you must meet. So if someone driving at 80 from before and limit is raised to 100. He doesn't need to drive at 100. Just keep to the left if you're not overtaking. That NEEDS to be enforced more. It'll prevent overtaking on the right and people weaving in and out of lanes.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 2nd, 2016, 2:27 pm

^ Well put it this way regardless if they raise it or leave it, it matters not. Police not charging anybody and will turn a blind eye just like they do with people who break red light and people who use the PBR. If police feel charging a man for breaking a red light is too much paper work you feel them going to use a speed gun to charge a man? thats extra work.

So leave it as is 80km and just drive at whatever speed you want, everybody will be doing the same.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 2nd, 2016, 5:23 pm

src1983 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:roads engineered for the 80kph limit (+over engineering for above it)

I keep seeing this comment, could you provide the data where the highway was designed for a top speed of 80kph?

As far as I know, the design speed for the highway to Point Fortin that is currently being built is 100km/h. I don't think any of the highways that would have been recently been built (from 1990 onwards) would have a design speed more than 100km/h. And I am pretty sure that the older highways (pre 1990) would have a lower design speed.

It is not recommended to set your speed limit at the same speed as the design speed for the road. You need to have a safety factor built into your design (I am trying to explain this for the layman to understand).

You all have to also remember that whereas automotive technology may have improved tremendously from the Ford Model T to what is available now, the human body has not really evolved at an equivalent pace with a person's ability to see what is in front of him/her and react to it in a time to avoid/circumvent the situation.

So, as the poster indicated above the MOWT will not, or should not, revise the speed limit to anything close to or exceeding the engineered design speed for the road.

I honestly don't see what is the issue with driving at 80km/h and why all the complaining about it. It is quite easy to do.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » May 2nd, 2016, 7:11 pm

Leave it at 80, Tiidas dont handle well above that speed anyway

Postby supercharged turbo » May 2nd, 2016, 7:35 pm

Signed

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » May 3rd, 2016, 4:44 am

100km is good

unikit911

Postby unikit911 » May 3rd, 2016, 5:02 am

Signed. ...

Postby Team Loco » May 3rd, 2016, 9:23 am

correct

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 3rd, 2016, 10:07 am

This applies to the upgrade from 2 lanes to 3 lanes also?

80km is to slow, my car says 100km the best for her

Postby Slartibartfast » May 3rd, 2016, 11:16 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
src1983 wrote:

As far as I know, the design speed for the highway to Point Fortin that is currently being built is 100km/h. I don't think any of the highways that would have been recently been built (from 1990 onwards) would have a design speed more than 100km/h. And I am pretty sure that the older highways (pre 1990) would have a lower design speed.

It is not recommended to set your speed limit at the same speed as the design speed for the road. You need to have a safety factor built into your design (I am trying to explain this for the layman to understand).

You all have to also remember that whereas automotive technology may have improved tremendously from the Ford Model T to what is available now, the human body has not really evolved at an equivalent pace with a person's ability to see what is in front of him/her and react to it in a time to avoid/circumvent the situation.

So, as the poster indicated above the MOWT will not, or should not, revise the speed limit to anything close to or exceeding the engineered design speed for the road.

I honestly don't see what is the issue with driving at 80km/h and why all the complaining about it. It is quite easy to do.

Correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't design speed have to do with the vertical and horizontal alignments of the road? Isn't design speed (according to AASHTO) supposed to allow the drivers adequate visibility ahead to give them enough time to react to road and traffic conditions in front of them? I'm think lane width also plays a factor.

If this is the case a survey can be done to see what the actual design speeds for sections of the highway. I'm sure of you look at some long straight stretches of road (like chaguanas to grand bazaar) you would find that the design speed there is well above 100 (or can be once small dips in the road by the Caroni bridges are fixed). I'm guessing places like that turn on the highway by Gasparilla might really be designed for about 100kph so 80kph in an area like that makes sense.

Personally I think an increase in speed limit to 100kph would be best with guaranteed ticketing if you cross 120. This would allow for a +/-10kph error with speed recording equipment as well as a +/- error with car"s speedometers which is extremely generous.

What we really need on the highways in enforcement. Without that an 80kph speed limit mean jackshit. People should also start getting charged for driving slow in overtaking lanes and a minimum speed limit should be set for the highway. Let those contractor get proper transport for their backhoes instead of driving it at 40kph on the highway.

Postby pete » May 3rd, 2016, 11:29 am

Could also drive the backhoes on the main roads and not the highway in the absence of trailers.

Postby desifemlove » May 3rd, 2016, 11:39 am

in principle, no.

this group does seem well-intentioned, but then iz using stupid rationale:

- iz a defensive driver, trained overseas. speed limits ent just about ease of travel. it's a guideline to safe travel in given road types and conditions.

- so people cannot say "but i tekking too SLOW to reach South/North!" lol..no.

- driving at speed has to account for road conditions. on highways we does have potholes, which ent in USA, Canada, UK, Germany, etc. those highways also does have signage,police patrols, cameras, emergency telephones, so they are better equipped to handle bad driving.

- it's true dat it car tech has improved, and the old limit was set for old tech cars. But then remember T&T's driving culture is immature and reckless compared to foreign. This group is making an error in directly comparing us to UK, Germany, USA, which has better driving standards holistically applied than we do. We need to see global best practices, but apply best when it suits us. We can't say "but in Canada dey does do ting, we do it too!" no. In the UK, it's not commonplace to pass ting to get licence, nor in Canada. Nor do people in Canada/UK swerve in traffic. UK driving test also has a computerised theory component, and they does teach motorway and parallel park and turn in corner is in an actual road corner, not on a line in a car park.

There are also issues on national productivity, driving at nights, and this group is using too simplistic rationale to justify this.

I say keep limit as is, and only increase once driving standrds overall does improve. this includes a total revamp of Licensing OPffice, more comprehensive learners' test, better road signage, speed cameras, and penalising bad drivers or at least discouraging bad drivers.

Postby desifemlove » May 3rd, 2016, 11:42 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:100km/h is just fine imo.....80 is a little too slow for me personally.

But what about the ones doing 80 in the overtaking lane? In my couple of years on the highway, from what i saw everyday it's those people causing the traffic. Why not enforce the laws that already there? I have seen police cars drive behind these "slow drivers" on the O/T lane and just pass them and go. Why not charge the slackers who not adhering to the main law of the highway? They are reason for cutting in and out continuously.

Another thing, allyuh want speed guns...come out between 12-6am, that's when the deadly carnage happens most.

trinidad a small island. why yuh does need to travel so quick? yuh doubles gonna get cold before yuh get home?

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » May 3rd, 2016, 11:45 am

80 and ppl will be servicing their fuel system often with the sh_t fuel we Have

Postby desifemlove » May 3rd, 2016, 11:56 am

i'd also like to know the qualifications of this group who making this petition.

if dey iz so quick to make comparisons wit other countries, then they should see what arguments are used for dis, ent?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/roa ... ainst.html

Postby gastly369 » May 3rd, 2016, 12:11 pm

cornfused

Postby cornfused » May 3rd, 2016, 12:26 pm

UK argument to support that is around moving the limit from 70MPH to 80MPH on the freeways 112 to 128 kmph

US speed limits

30 mph on urban roads or 48 kmph
County paved road , similar to the M2 and the Sangre Grande by pass - 45 mph or 72 kmph
Dual Carrige ways - CRH headiing east after Maloney , UBH after Chaguanas 88 kmph
4 lane highways , we have three - 65 mph or 104 kmph

Those advocating 80kmph are older dirvers in every sense of the word . Its easy to see from the above information that a 100- 115 or 120 kmph is very resonsable for the three lane sections of our highways . With dual lane at 88-90 kmph , main road 50 kmph

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 3rd, 2016, 12:39 pm

desifemlove wrote:trinidad a small island. why yuh does need to travel so quick? yuh doubles gonna get cold before yuh get home?

100 isn't quick, 120 is quick.

I personally needed a lil speed adrenaline on mornings....now i live charlieville, it doesn't bother me anymore.....less distance to cover,less a$$hole drivers to encounter.

And nobody likes cold doubles :roll:

Postby desifemlove » May 3rd, 2016, 4:16 pm

cornfused wrote:UK argument to support that is around moving the limit from 70MPH to 80MPH on the freeways 112 to 128 kmph

US speed limits

30 mph on urban roads or 48 kmph
County paved road , similar to the M2 and the Sangre Grande by pass - 45 mph or 72 kmph
Dual Carrige ways - CRH headiing east after Maloney , UBH after Chaguanas 88 kmph
4 lane highways , we have three - 65 mph or 104 kmph

Those advocating 80kmph are older dirvers in every sense of the word . Its easy to see from the above information that a 100- 115 or 120 kmph is very resonsable for the three lane sections of our highways . With dual lane at 88-90 kmph , main road 50 kmph

UK drivers and USA drivers better skilled and trained. they can handle it, trini ent...

Postby aaron17 » May 3rd, 2016, 9:39 pm

Let's say they change the nos.. Then they have to change all the signs with the correct nos. That might take a while though. A few years and counting.

$h@dy

Postby $h@dy » May 4th, 2016, 6:16 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:This proposal is not safe when you take the attitude of the average T&T driver into account. Leave the speed limit on the highways at 80km/h.

Agreed :)