EmilioA

Re: Marlene McDonald fired

Postby EmilioA » March 18th, 2016, 11:18 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
EmilioA wrote:Now that Kamla in the cross hairs.....will this thread die ?

Why do you want this thread to die?

:roll: :roll: :roll: English is your second language ?

It isn't a stretch to interpret your question as seeing the issue with Marlene as a none issue and thus potentially having an issue with the thread.

Yes it is. More than a stretch, you rip some ligaments there with that conclusion you jumped to.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2016, 12:07 am

EmilioA wrote:

It isn't a stretch to interpret your question as seeing the issue with Marlene as a none issue and thus potentially having an issue with the thread.

Yes it is. More than a stretch, you rip some ligaments there with that conclusion you jumped to.

Humor me. Why ask if the thread will die?

Postby desifemlove » March 19th, 2016, 12:24 am

politics in this country is real sheit... uncs will say "ha! told yuh so! PNM iz corrupt too!" and then PNMs will say "well we ent did/done nutten like youse!! no airport, no ting under Kamla!" and who is kamla to talk about public decency? this is why t&T never progresses, hypocrisy from both sides, and then people beyotch and moan about being in recession since neither she or Manning truly diversified. \nd i bet in ten years, there's another oil price crash, and same shite, whilst whoever is PNM or UNC leader then is balling who did what or who steal what, or who ent do/ent steal...lol.

Postby De Dragon » March 19th, 2016, 9:44 am

desifemlove wrote:politics in this country is real sheit... uncs will say "ha! told yuh so! PNM iz corrupt too!" and then PNMs will say "well we ent did/done nutten like youse!! no airport, no ting under Kamla!" and who is kamla to talk about public decency? this is why t&T never progresses, hypocrisy from both sides, and then people beyotch and moan about being in recession since neither she or Manning truly diversified. \nd i bet in ten years, there's another oil price crash, and same shite, whilst whoever is PNM or UNC leader then is balling who did what or who steal what, or who ent do/ent steal...lol.

UNC will claim that it was all the controversies that Two Plate found herself in and that the last one was the straw that broke the camel's back. Nothing will come of any nieces in the constituency office issue if that is indeed true.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » March 19th, 2016, 9:51 am

EmilioA wrote:

Because Kamla is now in the crosshairs, duh.

As De Dragon point out above. People already making excuses for her.

Postby Chimera » March 19th, 2016, 10:06 am

desifemlove wrote:politics in this country is real sheit... uncs will say "ha! told yuh so! PNM iz corrupt too!" and then PNMs will say "well we ent did/done nutten like youse!! no airport, no ting under Kamla!" and who is kamla to talk about public decency? this is why t&T never progresses, hypocrisy from both sides, and then people beyotch and moan about being in recession since neither she or Manning truly diversified. \nd i bet in ten years, there's another oil price crash, and same shite, whilst whoever is PNM or UNC leader then is balling who did what or who steal what, or who ent do/ent steal...lol.

thats a worldwide thing though
politics on the whole is like that

not just trinidad

a big game of manipulation.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2016, 10:46 am

EmilioA wrote:

Yup duh. Humor me though, now that Kamla is in the crossfires would those on the PNM side keep posting in this thread?

Postby De Dragon » March 19th, 2016, 10:53 am

EmilioA wrote:

Yup duh. Humor me though, now that Kamla is in the crossfires would those on the PNM side keep posting in this thread?

The rabid ones will because parity must be restored. Eye for an eye kinda ting nah. There will be much disappointment though. as I have stated earlier that there is already a rationalizing of the transgressions in respect to Two Plates' being viewed as cumulative and KPB's as being singular and thus of less consequence.
Epic beat-up and chest burn will ensue, and there will be multiple appearances by RASC, zr, Habit7 and UML. In the end there will be the usual stalemate.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 19th, 2016, 12:23 pm

Trinis generally too racial to do anything abt the disgusting politics of past and present. It will remain so. Doh waste time beating up!

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Marlene McDonald fired

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2016, 1:43 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:[quote="EmilioA"]Now that Kamla in the cross hairs.....will this thread die ?

The rabid ones will because parity must be restored. Eye for an eye kinda ting nah. There will be much disappointment though. as I have stated earlier that there is already a rationalizing of the transgressions in respect to Two Plates' being viewed as cumulative and KPB's as being singular and thus of less consequence.
Epic beat-up and chest burn will ensue, and there will be multiple appearances by RASC, zr, Habit7 and UML. In the end there will be the usual stalemate.[/quote]

Agreed there will be those that say "non issue" because X y or z but what do you think about this particular scenario?

Personally I believe Marlene wasn't fired for cumulative issues but really for just this issue which is pretty cut and dry.
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on March 19th, 2016, 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » March 19th, 2016, 2:07 pm

Many relatives will be fired because I suspect that there are many of them in different offices. Many MP's will claim ignorance of the rules and get away scotch free, having fired said relatives. Whatever are the prescribed punishments for breaking the rules should be applied no matter who is the offender.

Postby zoom rader » March 20th, 2016, 9:46 am

Meanwhile email gate hangs over Rowley head while its all swept under the carpet. PNM police and DPP working for you

Postby j.o.e » March 20th, 2016, 11:27 am

Media Release:
FIXIN' T&T will tomorrow deliver a letter to the Chairman of the Integrity Commission, copied to the Director of Public Prosecutions, requesting an investigation to determine whether Opposition Leader Mrs. Kamla Persad-Bissessar SC, MPs Barry Padarath, Dr. Bhoe Tewarie and Rushton Paray, all of whom reportedly admitted to having relatives employed at their constituency offices, are in breach of the Integrity in Public Life Act as it relates to, among others, Sections 24 (2), and 29 (1).

We are deeply troubled and utterly confused by the response of Mrs. Persad-Bissessar to allegations that she has relatives in the employ of her constituency office. Surely the Opposition Leader understands the definition of the word 'relative'. Further, as a learned Senior Counsel, she must fully appreciate that ignorance of the law/rules is not a defense. Her as well as MP Barry Padarath's suggestion that the monies paid to said relatives can simply be repaid, is insulting. Our Administration of Justice does not allow alleged perpetrators of laws/rules to arbitrarily determine their own fate and the debt to be paid to society. We look forward to the views of Dr. Tim Gopeesingh, Dr. Suruj Rambachan and Prakash Ramadhar on this matter with the same vigour as their pronouncement of the Marlene McDonald situation.

Provisions of the Integrity in Public Life Act:

Section 24 (2) states:

A person for whom this part applies shall not -

(a) use his office for the improper advancement of his own or his family's personal or financial interests or the interest of any person;

(b) engage in any transaction, acquire any position or have any commercial or other interest that is incompatible with his office, function and duty or the discharge thereof;

(c) use public property or services for activities not related to his official work; or

(d) directly or indirectly use his office for private gain.

Section 29 (1) states:

For the purposes of this act, a conflict of interest is deemed to arise if a person in public life or any person exercising a public function were to make or participate in the making of a decision in the execution of his office and at the same time knows or ought reasonably to have known, that in the making of the decision, there is an opportunity either directly or indirectly to further his private interests or that of a member of his family or of any other person;

Section 31 (1) states:

The Commission shall report any breach of this Part (of the Act) to the appropriate Service Commission, Board of other Authority and to the Director of Public Prosecutions setting out such details and particulars as it thinks fit.

daron

Postby daron » March 20th, 2016, 12:18 pm

Saw this on,f.b

You really want to talk nepotism and cronyism?

1. Vidwattee Newton - hired in non existent post of Nurse to PM...and happened to be the PMs sister.

2. Mary King - awarded contract to company owned by husband and son.

3. Neil Parsan - nephew of Chandresh Sharma and Ambassador to Washington DC.

4. Chandresh Sharma's son also worked with SNC Lavalin...remember that deal gone awry?

5. Rabindranath Moonan - HDC and CAL chairman...relative of Winston Dookeran.

6. Jwala Ramberran - Central Bank Governor and nephew of Winston Dookeran.

7. Fuad Khan's wife - Chairman of RHA.

8. Sushilla Mark - Wade Mark's wife and TTEC Chairperson

9. Fazal Karim's daughter worked within the Ministry of Tertiary Education.

10. Kern Saney - deputy chairman of WASA, whose mother Roamar Achat-Saney was appointed to the Police Service Commission, without being qualified for the post, being a retired school teacher and an attorney with less than one year experience (this is the case Reggie Dumas took to the High Court). (It is also reputed that the Saneys are related to Kamla.)

11. Tim Goopeesingh hired his niece in the Ministry of Education to head the Social Worker/Guidance Officer Department. She famously summoned staff by ringing a bell.

12. Prakash Ramadhar hired his relative Neisha Somai as his personal assistant in Legal Affairs.

13. John Bharath, father of Vasant Bharath, over 70 years old and getting 25,000.00 a month as a Dentistry consultant.

14. Ria Karim, Fazal Karim's daughter gets appointed to CEO of Creative TT (from what I hear without tender).

15. A and Ramlogan nephew as his personal assistant

16. Devant sister in law in ADB

17. Chandresh nephew was on UDECOTT Board. Need to check history is that company was under his own supervision in Local Govt

18. Ramona Ramdial sister and sister bf used to run her constituency office / her photographer

19. Vasant wife was appointed to a senior central bank post

20. Sat Maharaj niece / relative of Devant moved from secondary school teacher in Lakshmi Girls to senior central bank post

21. Glen brother came back from abroad just to be an Advisor to Kevin. While Kevin's mother was hired as a manager in social Development Sangre Grande to handle Food cards

22. Dr Roodal Moonilal
Sister was in charge of his office with the stink attitude

And this is what I remembered offhand.

This list will grow. Feel free to add and share.

Postby shogun » March 20th, 2016, 12:24 pm

You could cut the hypocrisy in this place with a dull butter knife

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2016, 12:26 pm

Wait padarath admit guilt and say he paying back salaries
So it is ok to steal and when caught just repay the money?
This is the example leaders set for chirren of the nation ?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 20th, 2016, 12:51 pm

pugboy wrote:Wait padarath admit guilt and say he paying back salaries
So it is ok to steal and when caught just repay the money?
This is the example leaders set for chirren of the nation ?

In the words of 1uzfe we like it so. Usually he uses it tongue in cheek against the pnm but it seems applicable on the other side too.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » March 20th, 2016, 1:09 pm

Now i see how stupid this country can be, wasn't manning and he wife both ministers the last time we had to suffer under pnm?

Anyhow it's sunday go support the bacchanal and not focus on real issues to fix tnt but remember to eat ya crix and cheese for lunch while we indians still stuffing we belly take that in ya mc.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 20th, 2016, 2:02 pm

We need law abiding pro t&t radicals in this country.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2016, 2:08 pm

WarrLordd wrote:Image

Now i see how stupid this country can be, wasn't manning and he wife both ministers the last time we had to suffer under pnm?

Anyhow it's sunday go support the bacchanal and not focus on real issues to fix tnt but remember to eat ya crix and cheese for lunch while we indians still stuffing we belly take that in ya mc.

TnT could never fix as long as people have the mentality like that last sentence you just type.

patricksarg

Postby patricksarg » March 20th, 2016, 2:37 pm

So now that padarath and other opposition including is guilty of the same breach what y'all have to say now.

Postby 1UZFE » March 20th, 2016, 2:40 pm

patricksarg wrote:So now that padarath and other opposition including is guilty of the same breach what y'all have to say now.

Ammm hydmc.....

patricksarg

Postby patricksarg » March 20th, 2016, 2:42 pm

And for that rubbish post about hazel and Patrick the rules for parliament hiring doesn't apply to Senate ministers since they have no parliamentary office. Like you not benefiting from gate at all. The prime minister reserve the right to hire or fire any minister weather it's family or not. Let's not forget JFK was the president and Robert Kennedy was the AG so this is nothing new. So stop the non sense these rules only apply to parliamentary hiring. If parliament did their background checks instead of sitting on their asses whole day this won't be a issue.

patricksarg

Postby patricksarg » March 20th, 2016, 2:48 pm

1UZFE wrote:
patricksarg wrote:So now that padarath and other opposition including is guilty of the same breach what y'all have to say now.

Ammm hydmc.....

A thousand short hand for cowards

patricksarg

Postby patricksarg » March 20th, 2016, 2:52 pm

Hiring Rules

Parliament’s communication division yesterday clarified the constituency office hiring rules.

The Constituency Manual for the immediate past 10th Parliament (2010-2015) stated that MPs have the authority to employ, promote or terminate employees. Under Points to Note (Staff) it also stated MPs “should not hire members of their immediate family, (defined as spouse, children or parents) to work in their constituency office.”

Rules in the Constituency Handbook for the current 11th Parliament (2015-2020) are more specific. Under “Engagement of Constituency Office Staff” it states “Restriction on Employment of Relatives.”

The clause states that members are restricted from employing relatives as employees in their constituency offices. Relatives include the following individuals: (a) spouses; (b) co-habitants; (c) children/step-children/adopted children/ grandchildren; (d) parents/step-parents/grandparents; (e) siblings; (f) nephews/nieces; (g) uncles/aunts; (h) cousins.

antlind

Postby antlind » March 20th, 2016, 3:04 pm

WarrLordd wrote:Image

Your last sentence confirms that you're an idiot.......

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » March 20th, 2016, 3:11 pm

antlind wrote:Your last sentence confirms that you're an idiot.......

1UZFE wrote:

Ammm hydmc.....

x2 :drinking:

Postby Habit7 » March 20th, 2016, 3:33 pm

I loving the UNC logic.

Padarath wrong, Dr. Tewarie wrong, but Kamla not wrong although her niece and cousin were hired over a decade ago, the new parliamentary laws she should be aware of as a PM and senior counsel, for 6mths she didn't know and wasn't advised.

Postby Morpheus » March 20th, 2016, 3:34 pm

Ahahaha lol that last sentence Teeheehee......

Postby S_2NR » March 20th, 2016, 3:38 pm

WarrLordd wrote:remember to eat ya crix and cheese for lunch while we indians still stuffing we belly take that in ya mc.

this is gold :lol: