Digicel Internet Thread

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 21st, 2016, 3:19 pm

^ they already ran the lines in Piarco to Las Lomas area they ran fibre where my coconut estate is in El Carmen Piarco. They even have the box on the poles that allow for connection to people homes.

But since they are still in Diego it seems like it will be a year or 2 again before they activate this area.

killercow

Postby killercow » February 21st, 2016, 8:24 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ they already ran the lines in Piarco to Las Lomas area they ran fibre where my coconut estate is in El Carmen Piarco. They even have the box on the poles that allow for connection to people homes.

But since they are still in Diego it seems like it will be a year or 2 again before they activate this area.

Well d rep I spoke to said lines and everything is already in place and ready to go in most of T&T.
As such, I'm not sure why dey sticking to roll out the service :|

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » February 21st, 2016, 9:27 pm

killercow wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ they already ran the lines in Piarco to Las Lomas area they ran fibre where my coconut estate is in El Carmen Piarco. They even have the box on the poles that allow for connection to people homes.

Well d rep I spoke to said lines and everything is already in place and ready to go in most of T&T.
As such, I'm not sure why dey sticking to roll out the service :|

Lines run but it takes time to configure OLTs, routers, DWDM rings etc.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » February 21st, 2016, 10:21 pm

Praying they launch very soon in penal/debe area

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 22nd, 2016, 12:16 am

They said they are launching in Piarco April 2016.

Can't wait their site also says free modem and free installation I am guessing this means I am not paying a cent to get connected?

AD Solutions

Postby AD Solutions » February 22nd, 2016, 4:01 pm

They reach south yet?

AD Solutions

Postby AD Solutions » February 22nd, 2016, 4:02 pm

They reach south yet?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 23rd, 2016, 9:08 am

spoke to a digicel business rep for a client and dey said dey ent reach SanDo yet, there is the option of using their MiFi modem though, they say it actually has better reliability and SLA than their fiber connections.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 23rd, 2016, 1:13 pm

daxt0r wrote:spoke to a digicel business rep for a client and dey said dey ent reach SanDo yet, there is the option of using their MiFi modem though, they say it actually has better reliability and SLA than their fiber connections.

lol never

Postby gastly369 » February 23rd, 2016, 1:22 pm

Well now ik we fked with Digicel reps for assistance when needed with dem kinda info

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 23rd, 2016, 3:25 pm

shaq090 wrote:
daxt0r wrote:spoke to a digicel business rep for a client and dey said dey ent reach SanDo yet, there is the option of using their MiFi modem though, they say it actually has better reliability and SLA than their fiber connections.

lol never

well that's what your representative said, and i cya vouch for reliability of the MiFi but i do know the fiber is unreliable compared to other ISP services.

kadijahveronica

Postby kadijahveronica » February 24th, 2016, 7:23 am

Digicel senior tech here ,so I am seeing everyone takkin about using their routers instead of the digicel router again I stress its not recommended as your Mbps will dramatically drop if you pull from our router in need be cases ( magic jack,usunblock) u can use your router as a portal jus my attaching it to our Ethernet port but any major bandwidth usage you should connect directly to our 2.4 GHz signal on our router thanks again

kadijahveronica

Postby kadijahveronica » February 24th, 2016, 7:24 am

Digicel senior tech here ,so I am seeing everyone takkin about using their routers instead of the digicel router again I stress its not recommended as your Mbps will dramatically drop if you pull from our router in need be cases ( magic jack,usunblock) u can use your router as a portal jus my attaching it to our Ethernet port but any major bandwidth usage you should connect directly to our 2.4 GHz signal on our router thanks again

kadijahveronica

Postby kadijahveronica » February 24th, 2016, 7:25 am

kadijahveronica

Postby kadijahveronica » February 24th, 2016, 7:25 am

Postby cinco » February 24th, 2016, 8:27 am

kadijahveronica wrote:Digicel senior tech here ,so I am seeing everyone takkin about using their routers instead of the digicel router again I stress its not recommended as your Mbps will dramatically drop if you pull from our router in need be cases ( magic jack,usunblock) u can use your router as a portal jus my attaching it to our Ethernet port but any major bandwidth usage you should connect directly to our 2.4 GHz signal on our router thanks again

Why?

Trinislacker

Postby Trinislacker » February 24th, 2016, 9:19 am

That makes no sense

Postby gastly369 » February 24th, 2016, 9:32 am

gastly369 wrote:Well now ik we fked with Digicel reps for assistance when needed with dem kinda info

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » February 24th, 2016, 9:53 am

gastly369 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Well now ik we fked with Digicel reps for assistance when needed with dem kinda info

LMFAO

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » February 24th, 2016, 11:04 am

kadijahveronica wrote:Digicel senior tech here ,so I am seeing everyone takkin about using their routers instead of the digicel router again I stress its not recommended as your Mbps will dramatically drop if you pull from our router in need be cases ( magic jack,usunblock) u can use your router as a portal jus my attaching it to our Ethernet port but any major bandwidth usage you should connect directly to our 2.4 GHz signal on our router thanks again

Need some clarification on this also, why would that happen? This is a red flag for me as i prefer using my own router for the 5Ghz band among other things.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 24th, 2016, 11:47 am

Hi there does Digicel have plain simple wired modems so we can use our own routers?

I don't trust this Chinese Huawei and its not because of the fact that they spy on people and capture sensitive data, but because their modem is

A) White/Butt ugly

B) Many of us have our superior sexy ASUS routers with the fancy blue led that makes us feel fuzzy inside.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 24th, 2016, 12:06 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:

Need some clarification on this also, why would that happen? This is a red flag for me as i prefer using my own router for the 5Ghz band among other things.

Folks doh worry with these ppl, it rel sad d misdirection of the ppl that suppose to be supporting ya.

on the huawei configure the WAN as a bridge
then hook up your router (should be Gigabit if your Internet is 100Mbps+) to the Modem via the router's WAN port.
The configure your router's WAN to be PPPoE and put in username and password for your account.

Basically when you do this your router itself gets the WAN ip, performing routing and NAT functions and the Huawei is purely an ONT.

Daran

Postby Daran » February 24th, 2016, 2:29 pm

daxt0r wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

Folks doh worry with these ppl, it rel sad d misdirection of the ppl that suppose to be supporting ya.

then hook up your router (should be Gigabit if your Internet is 100Mbps+) to the Modem via the router's WAN port.
The configure your router's WAN to be PPPoE and put in username and password for your account.

Basically when you do this your router itself gets the WAN ip, performing routing and NAT functions and the Huawei is purely an ONT.

I plan on doing this as well. But I've been told the Huawei ONT does support dualband 2.4 and 5GHz, so I may end up using it once the performance and coverage is good.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » February 24th, 2016, 2:35 pm

daxt0r wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

Appreciate you breaking it down, thanks. Good to know i can always depend on a tuner as opposed to the actual company rep.

Think you've officially appointed yourself as the tuner digicel tech support. :ugeek:

Also guys just signed up & digicel no longer requires a security deposit so installation is free. Not sure for how long & they have no online payment system as yet, was told it's being worked on still.

AD Solutions

Postby AD Solutions » February 26th, 2016, 5:44 pm

So Digicel expect me to not use my expensive router and use their Chinese brand :/

AD Solutions

Postby AD Solutions » February 26th, 2016, 5:44 pm

So Digicel expect me to not use my expensive router and use their Chinese brand :/

Postby cinco » February 26th, 2016, 6:13 pm

daxt0r wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

Shhhh
Lemme hear the explanation of the genius who decided to sprout their knowledge with authority

felix

Postby felix » February 27th, 2016, 12:28 pm

I SEE MASSEY OFFERING FIBRE NOW INTERNET AND TV ANYBODY HAVE ANY INFO

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 27th, 2016, 12:38 pm

felix wrote:I SEE MASSEY OFFERING FIBRE NOW INTERNET AND TV ANYBODY HAVE ANY INFO

Is true bai!!

PNM win de election too!

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » February 27th, 2016, 12:56 pm

There is already a Massy Internet thread on here...