racedriverpro

Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby racedriverpro » January 25th, 2016, 10:09 am

shottaboilife wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
shottaboilife wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:^^ check around the local tournaments and see u cud train with. Don't expect to play ur first match a week or two after. just train hard and be disciplined. Go for it. I gave up on that dream too soon.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Thanks for the advice I from central I register with a small side but I does dream bout rally round the West Indies lol

I hope you is not one ah dem who get ah lil pips and it gone to yuh head cuz that's the end of yuh "career". There are several well recognised teams across T&T.......just approach the manager or coach and simply tell them you wish to tryout for the team.........

Nah nah growing up I didn't have any dreams at all to be a doctor or lawyer or fireman or them kinda thing, all I know was I like cricket. When I was younger I played for club and zonal with the best that my parents could afford.
Kinda gave up on the sport in the earlies because of certain things I saw happening that dissuaded me and plus the need for an income.
So big circle come back around, I have a family of my own now, have a decent job and still thinking about it,
So this time I giving myself a real chance
Thatsall

If ur mind is made up doh stick cuz before u know it ur 34. Time does fly.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » January 25th, 2016, 10:57 am

shottaboilife wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
shottaboilife wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:^^ check around the local tournaments and see u cud train with. Don't expect to play ur first match a week or two after. just train hard and be disciplined. Go for it. I gave up on that dream too soon.

Thanks for the advice I from central I register with a small side but I does dream bout rally round the West Indies lol

I hope you is not one ah dem who get ah lil pips and it gone to yuh head cuz that's the end of yuh "career". There are several well recognised teams across T&T.......just approach the manager or coach and simply tell them you wish to tryout for the team.........

Nah nah growing up I didn't have any dreams at all to be a doctor or lawyer or fireman or them kinda thing, all I know was I like cricket. When I was younger I played for club and zonal with the best that my parents could afford.
Kinda gave up on the sport in the earlies because of certain things I saw happening that dissuaded me and plus the need for an income.
So big circle come back around, I have a family of my own now, have a decent job and still thinking about it,
So this time I giving myself a real chance
Thatsall

If you looking for a bat check me.
Follow your dreams bro. Might be difficult but perseverance will always bring success

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 25th, 2016, 1:09 pm

QPCC
Preysal
Moosai

are good places to start

rish1108

Postby rish1108 » January 25th, 2016, 3:04 pm

[/quote]
If you looking for a bat check me.
Follow your dreams bro. Might be difficult but perseverance will always bring success[/quote]

If shottaboi not taking the bat, the guys in my area in Cunupia trying to revive our cricket team, and looking for a little start-up equipment that you or anyone else may be willing to part with

shottaboilife

Postby shottaboilife » January 25th, 2016, 9:04 pm

Hey.. Thanks for the support I am trying its all in the mind, give the bat to the guys in cunupia, I've got one

larafan

Postby larafan » January 26th, 2016, 7:51 pm

just go back to the club u used to play for

rish1108

Postby rish1108 » January 27th, 2016, 9:21 pm

hey guys, further to my post above, we're trying to get back a cricket team in my area (Cunupia) after about 15 years. it mainly the youngsters in the area, so we're looking for some start up equipment.

If anyone has any used bats, pads, gloves or helmets that are usable and you are willing to donate to us, please let me know. you can contact me here or call 687 2727

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 28th, 2016, 7:27 am

would Narine really benefit from this new coach? would he be ready for le world cup?

trent

Postby trent » January 28th, 2016, 9:14 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:would Narine really benefit from this new coach? would he be ready for le world cup?

Well he's in the 15 man squad so far... his action jus needs approval nex mth.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 28th, 2016, 9:33 am

WICB has until the 14th feb to submit names...time would tell

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 3rd, 2016, 6:51 am

all of a sudden Australia just struggling

Postby Dizzy28 » February 3rd, 2016, 9:16 am

WI U19s under tremendous criticism for their defeat of Zimbabwe by 2 runs where the Zimbabwean last wicket was taken via "Mankading" (tis a cricket thread so will assume you all know what that is)
It was also noteworthy I find that the countries doing most of the criticizing were the "white" countries whilst the little support the WI U19's got was from the non white countries.

I agree with Ashwin who came came out in support of the young Windies. He said as a bowlers he is not allowed to step over the front line why should batsmen be allowed yards of leeway in taking a run.
Bishop also had a valid point - if it is frowned upon/considered wrong why is it legally allowed under the MCC rules.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » February 3rd, 2016, 9:28 am

Though unsportsmanlike it is still legal.
Why don't batsmen get criticized when they edge a ball and umpire gives not out but they don't walk.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 3rd, 2016, 10:35 am

Owners of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) have asked Government to pay US$4.5 million for T&T to host the semifinals and final of the event here from August 3-6. However, sources say that while Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley is convinced that staging the three main matches here will generate substantial benefits for the country, he is not willing to pay that price and is insisting on re-negotiations to bring the cost in line with what the country can afford.

Last year, the PP government spent US$3.5 million and there was massive interest and sold out crowds for the final which was won by the local Red Steel, which beat Barbados Tridents in the final at the Queen’s Park Oval. T&T is facing competition from the governments of Barbados and Guyana, as they have both made presentations to CPL owners, but negotiations are still ongoing with the three countries.......http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-02- ... -cpl-final

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 3rd, 2016, 10:49 am

I hope the finals are in Trinidad....last year was good

PapaC

Postby PapaC » February 3rd, 2016, 11:17 am

Most people go for the lime, but the recently concluded NAGICO had a lot of space in the stands.
I really hope we get as much CPL games as possible. We could generate a lot of revenue

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 3rd, 2016, 11:38 am

that NAGICO tournament was real boring....men aint really going to watch no 50 overs game unless is big intl teams....t20 on the hand is different

Postby De Dragon » February 3rd, 2016, 5:17 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:WI U19s under tremendous criticism for their defeat of Zimbabwe by 2 runs where the Zimbabwean last wicket was taken via "Mankading" (tis a cricket thread so will assume you all know what that is)
It was also noteworthy I find that the countries doing most of the criticizing were the "white" countries whilst the little support the WI U19's got was from the non white countries.

I agree with Ashwin who came came out in support of the young Windies. He said as a bowlers he is not allowed to step over the front line why should batsmen be allowed yards of leeway in taking a run.
Bishop also had a valid point - if it is frowned upon/considered wrong why is it legally allowed under the MCC rules.

Once again it seems to be the preserve of Australia,NZ England etc to engage in these practices without nary a comment, but when the little black boy do it, there is uproar. Stephen Fleming farse and damn outta place!

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » February 3rd, 2016, 8:24 pm

^ exactly!

Bishop is a boss.. He is one of the best cricket commentators I would say. He doesn't stand for BS at all!

Rules are Rules Big up Ashwin too.. even though he does pelt.

Postby X_Factor » February 3rd, 2016, 9:07 pm

^ ashwin did it a couple times before..lol

in other news...glad to see nz blaze Australia arse

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » February 3rd, 2016, 10:37 pm

uncle sam wrote:^ exactly!

Bishop is a boss.. He is one of the best cricket commentators I would say. He doesn't stand for BS at all!

Except when it comes to potentially offending India/BCCI. That is one area he steers clear with a 10 foot pole.

From the looks of the play in the over before the mankad, I think someone spotted that the batsman was wandering out of his crease during the bowler's run up. They had a short discussion, quite possibly to point out that fact, and decided to have the bowler do a mankad...just in case the batsman was wandering out of his crease. Which he did.

Doesn't matter if it's by 1mm or half the pitch. Bet your bottom Zimbabwean dollar that the boy never makes that mistake again!

Postby Dizzy28 » February 4th, 2016, 9:07 am

Was looking at Win Sports some night and saw a windball cricket match going on and one of the teams had Emrit, Narine and Cooper on it.......them fellas like advantage oui!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 4th, 2016, 1:47 pm

And we wonder how narine does be pelting^

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » February 4th, 2016, 9:11 pm

^ It was from windball cricket that the man learned how to do his 'knuckle ball'. He said that in an interview pretty early on.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2016, 7:06 am

India tipped to win world cup.....your views......well that according to Lara

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » February 5th, 2016, 9:07 am

WI side is very strong.. they have a very good chance. SA, India in that order

Postby De Dragon » February 6th, 2016, 9:15 pm

uncle sam wrote:^ exactly!

Rules are Rules Big up Ashwin too.. even though he does pelt.

Now Darren Lehmann and Eoin Morgan jump in to condemn. Racist sledging is alright as its also not illegal, but mankading isn't? :roll:
Fack Lehmann and Morgan!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 7th, 2016, 9:42 am

Carlos Brathwaite really worth that much?

killercow

Postby killercow » February 7th, 2016, 8:29 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Carlos Brathwaite really worth that much?

Imagine he was bought for more than what Dwayne Bravo was 'retained' for.
Meanwhile ppl like Darren Sammy and Martin Guptil remain unsold :|

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » February 7th, 2016, 10:07 pm

guptil tho.. how???? Carlos aint worth sheit... would luv for him to prove me wrong tho!