Amplia (formerly Massy Fibre) Internet Thread

Re: Massy Fibre - Internet Thread

Postby Spitfir3 » February 1st, 2016, 10:40 am

instantfrugality wrote:well boy I sticking with flow, stellar performance from them so far. Hopefully the competition will cause flow to increase there package from 15mbs to 20 mbs for the 200 a month.

according to this they will

gencon

Postby gencon » February 1st, 2016, 12:39 pm

well boy look at pressure dey for massy! dey go buss!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2016, 2:10 pm

instantfrugality wrote:well boy look at pressure dey for massy! dey go buss!

You doh worry about Massy, them eh have no pressure.

Flow could advertise 200% increase on all their packages. At the end of the day 200% of 0KB/S is still 0KB/S.

killercow

Postby killercow » February 1st, 2016, 5:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:At the end of the day 200% of 0KB/S is still 0KB/S.

THIS :!:

Postby Spitfir3 » February 1st, 2016, 5:31 pm

once massy connection is stable and consistent they will make

Postby gastly369 » February 1st, 2016, 8:49 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:One of my uncles working for Massy running fibre.Right now they down in south hitting out ah good few locations:San Fernando,Princes Town,Penal/Debe

Yep saw them running out lines infront sbcs etc sat

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 2nd, 2016, 7:57 am

too little too late.

Which ethical home user would really need over 100Mbps? Really? Marketing hype across the entire spectrum. How often are you connected to your Wi-Fi device to be maximizing such speeds? If all you do is read articles, check email and a few YT vids. Not everyone is involved in unethical downloading of music/movies so the higher packages are over-kill. That $175. package is enough for most!

Postby S_2NR » February 2nd, 2016, 7:59 am

acesinghit wrote:too little too late.

Which ethical home user would really need over 100Mbps? Really? Marketing hype across the entire spectrum. How often are you connected to your Wi-Fi device to be maximizing such speeds? If all you do is read articles, check email and a few YT vids. Not everyone is involved in unethical downloading of music/movies so the higher packages are over-kill. That $175. package is enough for most!

well go back to dial up nah. jeez

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 2nd, 2016, 11:38 am

You are so gullible - foolish doesn't begin to describe you. I will continue to play with your e-motions :D

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 2nd, 2016, 12:01 pm

acesinghit wrote:You are so gullible - foolish doesn't begin to describe you. I will continue to play with your e-motions :D

Why are you complaining about speed?

Try downloading GTA 5 on steam which is 65GB nah and see how long that takes.

Or try downloading all those free weekend games on steam like Black Ops 3 weekend sale play free from Friday to Sunday nah. Or try living in a house with an extended family where a whole bunch of people streaming HD in their tablets and phones, others having a big game library on steam and each game requiring all kinda 500 to 1000MB updates.

Do you remember the days of 56k and 128k where we complained like hell? I remember, for me it was yesterday, literally.

Postby S_2NR » February 2nd, 2016, 12:29 pm

acesinghit wrote:You are so gullible - foolish doesn't begin to describe you. I will continue to play with your e-motions :D

You giving yourself too much credit. Stay there and feel I won't forget you exist after I close this thread.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 2nd, 2016, 2:30 pm

doh lie, you can't wait to read my reply you gullible keyboard warrior.

Effectic, I completely forgot the gamers like yourself. You guys will need bandwidth. Have fun.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 2nd, 2016, 2:37 pm

Woosah fellahs...

Btw ... Green dot is the best !

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 2nd, 2016, 2:47 pm

acesinghit wrote:doh lie, you can't wait to read my reply you gullible keyboard warrior.

Effectic, I completely forgot the gamers like yourself. You guys will need bandwidth. Have fun.

Yeah when I had to deal with Mortal Kombat X on PC the biggest abomination ever released that garbage required constant patches each 1GB for really simple things because the company they hired for the PC port was too incompetent.

But you are right beyond 15MB one would find little use for all that speed, the thing is when you really need it you happy but most of the time you don't need it.

As for me nah I don't need the speed I have said repeatedly said that 5MB is fine for me. Because well unlike other gamers out there who download lots of different games and manage a huge steam library I does only play Arma 3, Killing Floor 2 and Counter Strike GO. All of which are fine on 5MB connection.

As a matter of fact I am even considering taking the 3MB connection for $136 and save myself a good bit. I think the reason we seeing such high speeds being offered is because of how cheap data has become over the years. The rate at which the world is moving at things like 4K streaming on multiple devices at the same time. It just so cheap for these ISP to offer we these high speeds so cheap.

Don't worry sometimes I feel the same way but thats because technology is moving so fast.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 2nd, 2016, 2:54 pm

Imagine how the cost for bandwidth would be if Tstt was still the sole isp..

15Mb is working pretty good for me so far for Netflix, downloading caps out at 1.2 Mbps.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 2nd, 2016, 5:03 pm

What about wireless service ?...are any of the providers considering wireless service.....I have underground ttec lines by me and no cable or INTERNET provider is ready to run anylines underground....so I'm stuck.with looking for a good wireless service

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 2nd, 2016, 7:19 pm

^ Underground lines are very expensive to run. These companies can barely keep up with a 3rd class standard of service overhead.

But for them to run LTE or something they need a license not so? how many companies have TATT issued a license to?

Postby S_2NR » February 3rd, 2016, 6:26 am

acesinghit wrote:doh lie, you can't wait to read my reply you gullible keyboard warrior.

......nope, still cant find a firetruck to give.

snow7940

Re: Massy Internet Thread

Postby snow7940 » February 15th, 2016, 11:21 am

i have flow 45mbps download and 3mbps upload and i have problems watching movies because of high ping copper is outdated fiber is the future

Vinnny

Postby Vinnny » February 25th, 2016, 8:15 pm

Launching on Monday according to their Facebook page, lets see how this goes..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 25th, 2016, 9:47 pm

snow7940 wrote:i have flow 45mbps download and 3mbps upload and i have problems watching movies because of high ping copper is outdated fiber is the future

This is not true, Flow only uses Copper for "last mile" at most you are saving 10ms ping if you go pure fibre.

Furthermore DOCSIS 3.1 copper can reach up to 1Gigabit easily matching fibre.

The problem with flow appears to be incompetence, internal sabotage, typical trini eat ah food mentality, 0 respect for customers by their employees. Total ignorance from upper management when it comes to respect for customers they have this belief that abusing a customer is ok they also believe that trolling customers is also ok and a host of other things when it comes to abusing customers.

The reason I continue to put up with Flow is because even though my 30MB connection works only 20% of the time this still beats a 1MB TSTT connection working 99% of the time. If only TSTT could wake up and realize there is a market for DSL only if they start offering competitive packages.

You cannot be offering packages worse than broadband in Egypt in a country like Trinidad.

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » February 26th, 2016, 6:38 am

Massy called me the other day asking if I was still interested in their service
So I asked them if they run fibre direct to your home
lady replied they utilize other service providers wiring.
Then I asked if they use Flow she said YES
I replied no thank you
Still waiting on Digicel was promised next week

Postby gastly369 » February 26th, 2016, 10:36 am

Lefuk....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 26th, 2016, 11:35 am

Spitfir3 wrote:
instantfrugality wrote:well boy I sticking with flow, stellar performance from them so far. Hopefully the competition will cause flow to increase there package from 15mbs to 20 mbs for the 200 a month.

according to this they will

still have some quirks in this tho. flow send me an email saying they upgrade me to 60mbps from 50mbps.. so i do the speedtest... result.. 30mbps. it cut in half. 3 days now they cah fix it. but noone can compete with flow really. over the past few years my bill decrease and my speed more than double. changing to flow from tstt was the best decision i ever made.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 26th, 2016, 1:36 pm

R-H-D wrote:Massy called me the other day asking if I was still interested in their service
I replied no thank you

I had somewhat expected this, anything going through flow they can just forget it.

Massy is big but nowhere near the level of companies like C&W and Digicel. Not even a fraction!! so I figured there is noway a company like that will ever have the kind of money required to roll out fibre.

The only thing I care about is enough ISP in T&T so TSTT will be forced to adjust their DSL packages. Soon as I see some reasonable prices from TSTT yeah I going right back.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » February 26th, 2016, 2:09 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
R-H-D wrote:Massy called me the other day asking if I was still interested in their service
I replied no thank you

I had somewhat expected this, anything going through flow they can just forget it.

Massy is big but nowhere near the level of companies like C&W and Digicel. Not even a fraction!! so I figured there is noway a company like that will ever have the kind of money required to roll out fibre.

The only thing I care about is enough ISP in T&T so TSTT will be forced to adjust their DSL packages. Soon as I see some reasonable prices from TSTT yeah I going right back.

http://www.speedtest.net/awards/tt Ways lol so fast, times change quick

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 26th, 2016, 3:56 pm

^ why is flow number 2 though?

Should be about the level of greendot.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » February 26th, 2016, 3:57 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ why is flow number 2 though?

Should be about the level of greendot.

LOL!

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » February 26th, 2016, 5:01 pm

Does anyone know about their cable TV listing.

Postby tr1ad » February 26th, 2016, 7:43 pm

It's on the website