INHUMAN wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160201/news/boy-10-crushed
Another
Slartibartfast wrote:Price is king. Even with laws and legislation in place there will be no adherence without enforcement. We have the knowledge, expertise and skills needed to build proper gates locally but everybody want to save a few dollars here and there.
BRZ wrote:This ALL boils down to our BUILDING CODES which are Way OUTDATED.
There has never been a serious concern to have them UPDATED to international Standards so , until then we will still see people building make shift "Huts" , welding fences and handrails on the side of the road and so forth.
RBphoto wrote:Anyone knows of a actual international standard for gates? Or at least a first world country building code? Interested in finding where exactly we fall short.
maj. tom wrote:well guess what again?
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160423/news/man-crushed-to-death-by-falling-gate
Man crushed to death by falling gate
Published on Apr 23, 2016, 11:00 pm AST
By Carolyn Kissoon
A simple man with great potential.
That was how 25-year-old Darren Mangalsingh was described by his family yesterday.
Mangalsingh, a process operator at Industrial Plant Services Ltd (IPSL) in Point Lisas, died at the San Fernando General Hospital after a steel gate fell on him on Friday.
The incident occurred at his family’s St Joseph Village, San Fernando, home around 10 a.m.
Police said Mangalsingh was holding an umbrella and opening the front gate when it fell, pinning him to the ground.
He remained under the gate for almost 20 minutes.
Two workers, Ravi Balkaran and Jason Samaroo, found Mangalsingh and removed the gate. But he was unconscious.
He was taken to hospital by an Emergency Medical Services ambulance where he died while being treated.
His father, Vishnu Mangalsingh, returned from the United States on Friday night.
He said: “My son was opening the gate manually while holding an umbrella and it fell on him. Darren was a simple child with great potential.
“He had everything going for him. He went to work, came home and played video games, go out with friends and come back. He bought his own car, a BMW, and was on the road to achieve perfection.”
Mangalsingh said his last of three sons was the child any parent would crave to have.
“When the gate fell my two older sons came to assist him, doing CPR. But help came too late,” he said.
Mangalsingh’s elder brother, Dalelan, said they were both working on a specialty line of GPS tracking units for cars.
“He was the product champion for this. He was a loving, caring person and never said no to anyone,” he said.
Investigators have classified Mangalsingh’s death as accidental.
An autopsy performed at the San Fernando mortuary confirmed that he died as a result of chest asphyxiation.
Mangalsingh’s body will be cremated at the Shore of Peace cremation site, following a funeral service on Wednesday.
EL JEFE wrote:maj. tom wrote:well guess what again?
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160423/news/man-crushed-to-death-by-falling-gate
By Carolyn Kissoon
That was how 25-year-old Darren Mangalsingh was described by his family yesterday.
Mangalsingh, a process operator at Industrial Plant Services Ltd (IPSL) in Point Lisas, died at the San Fernando General Hospital after a steel gate fell on him on Friday.
The incident occurred at his family’s St Joseph Village, San Fernando, home around 10 a.m.
Police said Mangalsingh was holding an umbrella and opening the front gate when it fell, pinning him to the ground.
Two workers, Ravi Balkaran and Jason Samaroo, found Mangalsingh and removed the gate. But he was unconscious.
He was taken to hospital by an Emergency Medical Services ambulance where he died while being treated.
His father, Vishnu Mangalsingh, returned from the United States on Friday night.
He said: “My son was opening the gate manually while holding an umbrella and it fell on him. Darren was a simple child with great potential.
“He had everything going for him. He went to work, came home and played video games, go out with friends and come back. He bought his own car, a BMW, and was on the road to achieve perfection.”
Mangalsingh said his last of three sons was the child any parent would crave to have.
“When the gate fell my two older sons came to assist him, doing CPR. But help came too late,” he said.
Mangalsingh’s elder brother, Dalelan, said they were both working on a specialty line of GPS tracking units for cars.
“He was the product champion for this. He was a loving, caring person and never said no to anyone,” he said.
An autopsy performed at the San Fernando mortuary confirmed that he died as a result of chest asphyxiation.
Mangalsingh’s body will be cremated at the Shore of Peace cremation site, following a funeral service on Wednesday.
I believe both his brothers are tuners. RIP to him and condolences to the family.
and his father, Vishnu Mangalsingh, is trustee of TTASA and has done an incredible amount of work over the past decades for motorsport in T&T.EL JEFE wrote:maj. tom wrote:well guess what again?
By Carolyn Kissoon
I believe both his brothers are tuners. RIP to him and condolences to the family.
desifemlove wrote:still parents' fault.....keep small chirren inside that's it.
i doih care if people respond "but yuh cyah watch lil chirren 24/7!" erm, yes you can. cos that's the point, toddlers ent no what's what.
ingalook wrote:I could be passing through a gate holding My child and it falls and injures me and kills my child - does that make me irresponsible?
Or should we just use good sense and introduce some blasted standards that we ENFORCE so this does not happen to man/woman/child/pothound again???