The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

uncle sam

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby uncle sam » January 18th, 2016, 9:12 am

tr1ad wrote:discussion over the weekend....

does it make sense to get a mbp without the cd/dvd drive?

is it that we are actually moving away from discs with everything in the cloud/ online?

discuss

pretty much obsolete... I haven't used a CD/DVD in years... I have a late '08 mbp, probably used the drive twice if so much. Run far from that CD Drive buiness, you ant gonna use it.

Postby tr1ad » January 18th, 2016, 9:38 am

uncle sam wrote:

does it make sense to get a mbp without the cd/dvd drive?

is it that we are actually moving away from discs with everything in the cloud/ online?

discuss

pretty much obsolete... I haven't used a CD/DVD in years... I have a late '08 mbp, probably used the drive twice if so much. Run far from that CD Drive buiness, you ant gonna use it.

curious, because the mbp i currently have is a 2011 and the drive stopped working, which is how the discussion came up in the first place

PapaC

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby PapaC » January 18th, 2016, 9:57 am

It is not obsolete yet, but because the average usage is low it make sense to save space and weight in the laptop and either get an external or know someone with one.

Have my mbp about two years now and needed a drive twice. I just borrowed my brothers external drive.

neexis

Postby neexis » January 18th, 2016, 11:12 am

Pretty much. With good internet speeds, cloud storage, removable flash media and external hard drives, I can't say I've had much use for an optical drive for years; certainly never had to use one with the MBP.

In fact I'm looking to get a (Windows) notebook right now without one just to save on size and weight.

Postby tr1ad » January 18th, 2016, 1:01 pm

currently I have an SSD in the MBP, and 16GB Ram

Postby Redman » January 18th, 2016, 1:50 pm

The truth is that the day after you get the MBP without an optical drive.....would be the day that you will have a mission critical need for it.

That said ...i have not used mine since 2011...

Postby S_2NR » January 18th, 2016, 5:12 pm

i have a 2015 15" rMBP. Dont miss the optical drive one bit. But i do miss the ethernet port like hell. Just ordered that stupid dongle after months of debate with my wallet.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2016, 6:21 pm

PapaC wrote:It is not obsolete yet, but because the average usage is low it make sense to save space and weight in the laptop and either get an external or know someone with one.

Have my mbp about two years now and needed a drive twice. I just borrowed my brothers external drive.
what specifically did you need the optical drive for?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 18th, 2016, 6:41 pm

tr1ad wrote:currently I have an SSD in the MBP, and 16GB Ram

Get it but also get an external disk drive. You may not use it often but it isn't obsolete. I have had to use my external disk drive to read data off a cd for a project, burn CDs for family members who not tech savvy enough to download and it came in handy with installing Windows from installation CDs I already had.

Postby tr1ad » January 18th, 2016, 7:38 pm

S_2NR wrote:i have a 2015 15" rMBP. Dont miss the optical drive one bit. But i do miss the ethernet port like hell. Just ordered that stupid dongle after months of debate with my wallet.

retina make a big difference now oar bigman

Postby S_2NR » January 18th, 2016, 7:44 pm

tr1ad wrote:
S_2NR wrote:i have a 2015 15" rMBP. Dont miss the optical drive one bit. But i do miss the ethernet port like hell. Just ordered that stupid dongle after months of debate with my wallet.

retina make a big difference now oar bigman

Retina is great and definitely reduces eye strain when using the system for prolonged periods. The glare from the reflective screen on the other hand is distracting. Would like an anti reflective screen in the future. I think the 2011-2012 has an anti reflective screen. Ent?

Sent from my SGP312 using Tapatalk

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 19th, 2016, 9:38 am

PapaC wrote:It is not obsolete yet, but because the average usage is low it make sense to save space and weight in the laptop and either get an external or know someone with one.

what specifically did you need the optical drive for?

Collected some pictures from a shoot once. And I had to make a slideshow to show on a dvd once.
More off than on, hence I didn't buy one.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 19th, 2016, 1:10 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Get it but also get an external disk drive. You may not use it often but it isn't obsolete. I have had to use my external disk drive to read data off a cd for a project, burn CDs for family members who not tech savvy enough to download and it came in handy with installing Windows from installation CDs I already had.

Forward ever.. all them things you could do on a flash...

I own 1 flash just for reinstalling OS etc.. other than that I don't even use a flash..

Cloud storage is the way to go though and a duplicate on a passport..

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 19th, 2016, 2:18 pm

Never used the drive on my mbp its just there.

But with my luck the day it fails I will need it smh

neexis

Postby neexis » January 19th, 2016, 2:51 pm

How that 15" working for you over the 13" ?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 19th, 2016, 6:36 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Forward ever.. all them things you could do on a flash...

I own 1 flash just for reinstalling OS etc.. other than that I don't even use a flash..

Cloud storage is the way to go though and a duplicate on a passport..

Please tell me how I was supposed to read the important data off the cd without a cd drive. Please tell me how my non tech savvy family members were going to access the music on their own.

I use cloud for my things. What you gonna do when the cloud won't work at a particular point in time? My point wasn't that the disk drive was needed for everyday things hence why I bought an external that was cheap. It comes in handy for specific scenarios simply because cloud and flash aren't 100% ready for everyone. If you work alone or know for sure you will never need the drive then by all means go ahead and don't bother getting an external.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2016, 6:55 pm

^ you can fight it but the reality is that CDs and DVDs have become obsolete and newer computers and media devices will not come with drives for them.

I know ppl who fought the fight for floppy disks for a decade after it became obsolete claiming it wasn't.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 19th, 2016, 7:11 pm

Where did I say it wasn't obsolete?

Postby tr1ad » January 20th, 2016, 8:38 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ you can fight it but the reality is that CDs and DVDs have become obsolete and newer computers and media devices will not come with drives for them.

I know ppl who fought the fight for floppy disks for a decade after it became obsolete claiming it wasn't.

yuh mean all 12 of meh installation floppy obsolete?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2016, 11:00 am

tr1ad wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ you can fight it but the reality is that CDs and DVDs have become obsolete and newer computers and media devices will not come with drives for them.

yuh mean all 12 of meh installation floppy obsolete?
all 12 cause yuh forget to switch the write-protect on number 8 and now it have Lotus 123 files on it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2016, 11:02 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Where did I say it wasn't obsolete?
right here
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Get it but also get an external disk drive. You may not use it often but it isn't obsolete. I have had to use my external disk drive to read data off a cd for a project, burn CDs for family members who not tech savvy enough to download and it came in handy with installing Windows from installation CDs I already had.
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?p=9035627#p9035627

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 20th, 2016, 12:57 pm

^hahahahahah poor fella

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 20th, 2016, 5:05 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Where did I say it wasn't obsolete?
right here
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Get it but also get an external disk drive. You may not use it often but it isn't obsolete. I have had to use my external disk drive to read data off a cd for a project, burn CDs for family members who not tech savvy enough to download and it came in handy with installing Windows from installation CDs I already had.
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?p=9035627#p9035627

No problem. My mistake. However if you read the rest of the post in context I wasn't promoting the disc drive as future necessary tech. So far no one has stated a work around for my scenarios that is practical.

Get the external if you believe you'll encounter scenarios where without a disc drive you will be severely inconvenienced. If you will not be then don't get one. Either way doesn't exclude one from using cloud and flash.

Postby S_2NR » January 21st, 2016, 1:56 pm

neexis wrote:

How that 15" working for you over the 13" ?

Extremely glad I did it. Gave the 13 to the wifey. More screen real estate, much better speakers, much faster (quad core i7 vs dual core i5) and 16gb ram which makes it more future proof. Only downside is I had to buy a new sleeve too. Got the booq mamba sleeve in black on amazon. Goes with it nicely. No regrets at all except I'm poorer now.

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » January 21st, 2016, 2:25 pm

Just sharing an experience here - I use an Iphone6 and 6plus everyday and yesterday I used an android phone with the swipe feature on the keyboard and was blown away by how fast you can type using that.

I really wish Apple supported that feature. Anyone ever tried it out?

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 21st, 2016, 3:14 pm

Stark Auto Rentals wrote:Just sharing an experience here - I use an Iphone6 and 6plus everyday and yesterday I used an android phone with the swipe feature on the keyboard and was blown away by how fast you can type using that.

I really wish Apple supported that feature. Anyone ever tried it out?

Works great

Postby S_2NR » January 22nd, 2016, 11:37 am

So I would recommend you guys hold off on updating to os x 10.11.3. Multiple reports of random bugs online.

Postby S_2NR » January 30th, 2016, 5:40 pm

is there any way to keep transparency disabled and keep the dock transparent only? el capitan

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2016, 12:18 am

S_2NR wrote:So I would recommend you guys hold off on updating to os x 10.11.3. Multiple reports of random bugs online.
bugs such as?

been running it some days now and no problems at all

Postby S_2NR » January 31st, 2016, 12:49 am

S_2NR wrote:So I would recommend you guys hold off on updating to os x 10.11.3. Multiple reports of random bugs online.
bugs such as?

been running it some days now and no problems at all

Yea me too. But macrumors people say otherwise. You know how to make the dock transparent while turning off transparency everywhere else?