tr1ad wrote:discussion over the weekend....
does it make sense to get a mbp without the cd/dvd drive?
is it that we are actually moving away from discs with everything in the cloud/ online?
discuss
uncle sam wrote:tr1ad wrote:discussion over the weekend....
does it make sense to get a mbp without the cd/dvd drive?
is it that we are actually moving away from discs with everything in the cloud/ online?
discuss
pretty much obsolete... I haven't used a CD/DVD in years... I have a late '08 mbp, probably used the drive twice if so much. Run far from that CD Drive buiness, you ant gonna use it.
tr1ad wrote:discussion over the weekend....
what specifically did you need the optical drive for?PapaC wrote:It is not obsolete yet, but because the average usage is low it make sense to save space and weight in the laptop and either get an external or know someone with one.
Have my mbp about two years now and needed a drive twice. I just borrowed my brothers external drive.
tr1ad wrote:currently I have an SSD in the MBP, and 16GB Ram
S_2NR wrote:i have a 2015 15" rMBP. Dont miss the optical drive one bit. But i do miss the ethernet port like hell. Just ordered that stupid dongle after months of debate with my wallet.
tr1ad wrote:S_2NR wrote:i have a 2015 15" rMBP. Dont miss the optical drive one bit. But i do miss the ethernet port like hell. Just ordered that stupid dongle after months of debate with my wallet.
retina make a big difference now oar bigman
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:what specifically did you need the optical drive for?PapaC wrote:It is not obsolete yet, but because the average usage is low it make sense to save space and weight in the laptop and either get an external or know someone with one.
Have my mbp about two years now and needed a drive twice. I just borrowed my brothers external drive.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:tr1ad wrote:currently I have an SSD in the MBP, and 16GB Ram
Get it but also get an external disk drive. You may not use it often but it isn't obsolete. I have had to use my external disk drive to read data off a cd for a project, burn CDs for family members who not tech savvy enough to download and it came in handy with installing Windows from installation CDs I already had.
S_2NR wrote:i have a 2015 15" rMBP. Dont miss the optical drive one bit. But i do miss the ethernet port like hell. Just ordered that stupid dongle after months of debate with my wallet.
uncle sam wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:tr1ad wrote:currently I have an SSD in the MBP, and 16GB Ram
Get it but also get an external disk drive. You may not use it often but it isn't obsolete. I have had to use my external disk drive to read data off a cd for a project, burn CDs for family members who not tech savvy enough to download and it came in handy with installing Windows from installation CDs I already had.
Forward ever.. all them things you could do on a flash...
I own 1 flash just for reinstalling OS etc.. other than that I don't even use a flash..
Cloud storage is the way to go though and a duplicate on a passport..
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ you can fight it but the reality is that CDs and DVDs have become obsolete and newer computers and media devices will not come with drives for them.
I know ppl who fought the fight for floppy disks for a decade after it became obsolete claiming it wasn't.
all 12 cause yuh forget to switch the write-protect on number 8 and now it have Lotus 123 files on it.tr1ad wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ you can fight it but the reality is that CDs and DVDs have become obsolete and newer computers and media devices will not come with drives for them.
I know ppl who fought the fight for floppy disks for a decade after it became obsolete claiming it wasn't.
yuh mean all 12 of meh installation floppy obsolete?
right hereAllergic2BunnyEars wrote:Where did I say it wasn't obsolete?
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?p=9035627#p9035627Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Get it but also get an external disk drive. You may not use it often but it isn't obsolete. I have had to use my external disk drive to read data off a cd for a project, burn CDs for family members who not tech savvy enough to download and it came in handy with installing Windows from installation CDs I already had.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:right hereAllergic2BunnyEars wrote:Where did I say it wasn't obsolete?http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?p=9035627#p9035627Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Get it but also get an external disk drive. You may not use it often but it isn't obsolete. I have had to use my external disk drive to read data off a cd for a project, burn CDs for family members who not tech savvy enough to download and it came in handy with installing Windows from installation CDs I already had.
neexis wrote:S_2NR wrote:i have a 2015 15" rMBP. Dont miss the optical drive one bit. But i do miss the ethernet port like hell. Just ordered that stupid dongle after months of debate with my wallet.
How that 15" working for you over the 13" ?
Stark Auto Rentals wrote:Just sharing an experience here - I use an Iphone6 and 6plus everyday and yesterday I used an android phone with the swipe feature on the keyboard and was blown away by how fast you can type using that.
I really wish Apple supported that feature. Anyone ever tried it out?
bugs such as?S_2NR wrote:So I would recommend you guys hold off on updating to os x 10.11.3. Multiple reports of random bugs online.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bugs such as?S_2NR wrote:So I would recommend you guys hold off on updating to os x 10.11.3. Multiple reports of random bugs online.
been running it some days now and no problems at all