$5,000 fine for ‘Magic Jack’

Re: $5,000 fine for ‘Magic Jack’

Postby gastly369 » January 26th, 2016, 8:00 pm

Did thermo scans for t&tec a time... And yep ED. Free current dey..they ran us out "forcefully" easy way to say it.

Postby pete » January 26th, 2016, 8:02 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:If this is for real, then Laventille hadda be the best place to live. Free current hoss? so you could Air Condition your whole house and even grow grapes and thing in a green house for free? :lol:

When you drive along the Beetham, just take a look at the electricity poles and you will observed that there are endless jumper cables stealing current.
Again nothing is done his cause TTEC police say black man have to live.

They probably mean themselves. I.e they not getting shot for a $600 a month bill ttec not receiving.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 26th, 2016, 8:04 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:If this is for real, then Laventille hadda be the best place to live. Free current hoss? so you could Air Condition your whole house and even grow grapes and thing in a green house for free? :lol:

When you drive along the Beetham, just take a look at the electricity poles and you will observed that there are endless jumper cables stealing current.
Again nothing is done his cause TTEC police say black man have to live.

I have to check that sheit for real yes. On another note why don't the government offer subsidized electricity for those of us interested in green house farming?

I wanted to grow Strawberry and Grapes but it won't come in this climate. The heat and humidity will kill it with fungus, plus it won't even flower. I wonder why we never considered the idea of greenhouse farming? sure those fruits will still be expensive but atleast we won't have to import.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2016, 8:13 pm

I think the main difference between magic jack and other voip services like facetime, whatsapp, skype, facebook messenger etc is that they are data to data connections, however magic jack can be used to call an actual phone number (data to phone-line) i.e. a call can be terminated on a voice telephone network.

The actual voice telephone network is what TATT has jurisdiction over.

Postby redmanjp » January 26th, 2016, 8:47 pm

Skype can call phones too i believe once you have credit.
Still don't understand that judge logic- they weren't providing a service just selling a device

Postby S_2NR » January 26th, 2016, 9:15 pm

Yes Skype can call phones. Google hangouts has free calls in the US

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2016, 9:39 pm

S_2NR wrote:Google hangouts has free calls in the US
and this is relevant how?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » January 26th, 2016, 9:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Well we live in a country where toy guns are illegal so this is of no surprise.

Hopefully everybody gets charged $5000 now for using watts app.

Given that other countries have banned what app I wouldn't put anything past our monopolistic retards in this country. They done fakup cable and removed all the good channels, well next .....

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 26th, 2016, 10:07 pm

Laws are written and are updated based on the society changing. This could probably be one of the many laws that needs updating to align itself with what is available to the populace.
May as well be a landmark ruling to urge legislative change in the right direction.
No need to get them panties in a twist.

Postby S_2NR » January 26th, 2016, 10:07 pm

S_2NR wrote:Google hangouts has free calls in the US
and this is relevant how?

notsureifsrs. let me break it down..
i can be in trinidad and call the US (canada also i believe) for free, instead of picking up a digi,tstt,flow phone.

wasnt replying to you by the way or i would have quoted you.

Postby rspann » January 26th, 2016, 10:23 pm

This is how its done on the Beetham,allyuh send T&TEC police nah,we connecting back as they leave.

...and all the things you seeing at the top of the wires is not vines eh.
IMG_4861 (1).JPG
IMG_4861 (1).JPG (14.25 KiB) Viewed 3420 times

Postby ismithx » January 26th, 2016, 10:49 pm

I think you all really need to go back and read my post on page 1. This has nothing to do with the laws, a gross misunderstanding and misapplication is what happened in this case. There is no legal basis for the guy to be charged

Postby S_2NR » January 26th, 2016, 10:49 pm

Magic jack has an app by the way. Do what you will with that information :lol:

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 27th, 2016, 1:28 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think the main difference between magic jack and other voip services like facetime, whatsapp, skype, facebook messenger etc is that they are data to data connections, however magic jack can be used to call an actual phone number (data to phone-line) i.e. a call can be terminated on a voice telephone network.

this makes sense. but real easy for the common man or businessman to overlook. he get a technical fk up there boy.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 27th, 2016, 1:47 am

but the thing is eh.. the termination not happening on our local network. it happening in a foreign networkafter it pass through a public network... the internet. so i suppose maybe they charging him because he is selling foreign telecom access. but that still real technical. still feel like a hoop was jumped through somewhere where that charge is concerned.

i suppose it goes without saying u cant sell foreign mobile fones with working at&t sim locally? or maybe you cant even sell the foreign sim. because its practically that module that magic jack replaces with the internet.

i personally dont agree with the charge. feels like an infringement on freedom because tstt dont want magic jack biting into their sales of telephone services. the charge seems fugly and twisted. and i feel maybe the judge was misled by how magic jack operates.

but if the law is broad then it will be summarized by the prosecution as "selling telecom access and equipment without a license".

i still would like to know if i cant write software that utilizes the internet to make foreign or local calls without a license too. it have no equipment in that but basic network and voip equipment i can purchase over the counter.

it have to mean that they charging you for selling access to a telecom exchange whether or not that exchange occurs locally or in foreign. kinda crappy but i feel that is it. have to be. not even the primary internet connection could save u from that law once it interfaces with telecom landlines anywhere in the world.

but its pointless anyway. voip fones is over the counter. landline gonna stay in the ground and rotten or get repurposed soon enough. anybody with a voip fone could call anybody else with a voip fone over the internet. free. once everyone has one you wont need to interface with a telecom exchange ever. just your isp.

wetfowl

Postby wetfowl » January 27th, 2016, 4:04 am

Just asking , is the grapes that are growing in Beetham , in air condition , green houses the Black grapes , ??

I only asking this because I know some black grapes happen to be be very sweet , and I might be interested in a pound or two depend on how black and sweet they might be ,,,,

And if they are chilled from growing in air conditioning the entire time of development ????? :angel:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 27th, 2016, 5:26 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think the main difference between magic jack and other voip services like facetime, whatsapp, skype, facebook messenger etc is that they are data to data connections, however magic jack can be used to call an actual phone number (data to phone-line) i.e. a call can be terminated on a voice telephone network.

but magic jack is not an issue for TATT, the real issue is providing a telecommunications service without a concession, that's like running a call center or a private telephone network ,if TATT had a problem with magic jack they could address that issue from customs but so far there is no ban or prohibition on the importation and sale on magic jack devices in Trinidad and Tobago
I am of firm belief that this law was misapplied and that this matter should be appealed as the defendant was not warned by letter to cease operations, TATT have a set of dunce by them and just trying a thing

look at this other case this is the way I think it should be,

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Woman-fined-50000--for-illegal-telecom-service-286305141.html
A MARAVAL woman was yesterday ordered to pay $50,000 or serve three years in prison after being found guilty of providing a public telecommunications service without a concession, contrary to the Telecommunications Act (2001).

Magistrate Aden Stroude, presiding in the Port of Spain Fifth Magistrates’ Court, imposed the fine on Neola Noel who was found guilty last week of operating a business during the period of March and May 2009, which provided cheap international calls via an Internet programme.

Noel was given 28 days to pay the fine or in default serve the prison term.

Her attorney, Marc Husbands, however, said his client would be appealing the magistrate’s decision.

On Monday, attorney Sean Cazabon, who represented the Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT), pointed out the seriousness of the offence and submitted that under Section 65 of the act, one could be fined up to $250,000 or made to serve up to five years in prison.

Cazabon said it was difficult for TATT to keep up with evolving technologies which may potentially circumvent regulations and that a harsh penalty would serve as a deterrent for other individuals who had intention of committing the same offence.

He added that it would also aid in the development of the telecommunications sector in keeping with the intention of the legislation.

Husbands, in his no-case submission, stated that under the act, certain necessary steps needed to be taken were not embarked upon before his client was arrested and charged.

The attorney submitted that under Section 73(1), where the executive director has reasonable grounds for believing any person is operating a telecommunications network or providing a service without a concession, the Minister of National Security had to be notified in writing.

Following this, Husbands said, the minister may direct the individual in writing to cease operating the network.
Last edited by megadoc1 on January 27th, 2016, 5:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SR » January 27th, 2016, 5:32 am

The amoubt of corporate companies using magic jack for international calls via thier internal pbx...

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2016, 5:47 am

take a zoomed in pic

rspann wrote:This is how its done on the Beetham,allyuh send T&TEC police nah,we connecting back as they leave.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 27th, 2016, 6:05 am

these are the concessions granted by TATT , which one caters for the sale of magic jack products?

Concessions

Please note that there is currently a Moratorium on applications for concessions for specific markets.

The Authorisation Regime as prescribed by the Telecommunications Act

Sections 21 and 36 of the Telecommunications Act prescribe two types of instruments for authorising telecommunications and broadcasting operators to provide networks and/ or services under the new regime in Trinidad and Tobago:

A concession is granted by the Minister to authorise the operation of a public telecommunications network (Section 21) and/or the provision of any public telecommunications service or broadcasting service. An application for a concession must be submitted to, and evaluated by, the Authority before a recommendation is made to the Minister to grant the concession.

2. A licence is granted by the Authority to authorise the operation or use of any radiocommunication service or any radiotransmitting equipment, including that on board any ship, aircraft or other vessel in the territorial waters or airspace of Trinidad and Tobago, (Section 36).

Classification of Concessions

The Authority’s concession classifications are as follows:

Type 1: Network-Only Concession (network-based): Authorises a concessionaire to own or operate a public telecommunications network, without the provision of public telecommunications or broadcasting services.

Type 2: Network-Service Concession (network-based): Authorises a concessionaire to own or operate a public telecommunications network in addition to providing public telecommunications services[2]over that network.

Type 3: Virtual Network-Service Concession (service-based): Authorises a concessionaire to provide public telecommunications services, without an authorization to own and/ or operate a physical public telecommunications network, in a manner that is transparent to the end user. Such a concession will be required in cases where an entity has the capability of providing multiple services (e.g. data, image, voice, video) over a single transmission medium that has been leased or otherwise obtained from an authorised network operator.

Type 4: Telecommunications Service Concession (service-based): Authorises a concessionaire to provide a specific public telecommunications service(s) without an authorization to own and/ or operate a telecommunications network.

Type 5: Broadcasting Service Concession (service-based): Authorises a concessionaire to provide a broadcasting service without an authorization to operate a telecommunications network. An entity that leases capacity from a telecommunications network operator and provides subscription-based broadcasting services via that media, requires a Broadcasting Service concession. However an entity that supplies programmes or other broadcast content to a broadcasting service provider does not require a concession

below is the application form check it out
https://tatt.org.tt/Portals/0/Generic%20Concession%20Document.pdf

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2016, 8:48 am

rspann wrote:This is how its done on the Beetham,allyuh send T&TEC police nah,we connecting back as they leave.

This is what I pointed out.

If injun do that chit in Penal it's level TTEC police.

I point it out but some tuner kant say I racist. Maybe TTEC police are the racist onces.

It will also be the same with TSTT. Probably some injun will get charged first.

Just as police only look for injun drunk drivers in indo areas.

Postby j.o.e » January 27th, 2016, 9:00 am

ZR every post have to somehow end up as anti PNM or a 'injun' sad story ? Lawdie

Postby Spitfir3 » January 27th, 2016, 9:10 am

This is what I pointed out.

If injun do that chit in Penal it's level TTEC police.

I point it out but some tuner kant say I racist. Maybe TTEC police are the racist onces.

It will also be the same with TSTT. Probably some injun will get charged first.

Just as police only look for injun drunk drivers in indo areas.

they would only "enforce the law" against individuals they know wont rebel
at this point they just let the beetham crew do what do they want as a means to keep them lil quiet although they could very well move in with squad and have those lines taken down but i guess that would require too much effort and forward thinking it much easier to just press the lil man for a $5000

scuba1900

Postby scuba1900 » January 27th, 2016, 9:12 am

kamakazi wrote:Does "use" imply sale of the device.
It also isn't free of charge. ..

There is more to consider , so Pricesmart selling a digital camera is an issue ?

scuba1900

Postby scuba1900 » January 27th, 2016, 9:13 am

SR wrote:Awaits backlash for using facetime viber skype whatsapp

It is quite funny , if you paid the dollar for whatsapp then you have a problem .... if you got it free then there is no issue ?

scuba1900

Postby scuba1900 » January 27th, 2016, 9:17 am

bluesclues wrote:sum tin wong here bad.

magic jack is now free software u can download and install on android. but doesnt this fall under network devices and not telecommunication? yes i understand it is a form of telecommunication which mimics normal telecom landline networks. but its not actually a fone.

so if i tie a string to 2 cup and sell it that will be a breach too? any communication device. how come u can sell cellphones? what about landline fones? what about voip fnes? which is what magic jack is effectively.

both issues are incorrect if u ask me. setting up a voip network that allows overseas calling is not shady its actually standard all over the world. when i was in england every single internet cafe offered that service in separate booths. selling a magic jack device is like selling a voip fone.

i dont understand this law if it has been interpreted correctly. im quicker to suspect that the judge does not understand magic jack technology and mistakenly classified it as something requiring a licence.

i also think that the major problem lies in trinidad forgetting that they cant keep telephone landlines forever. that they will become obsolete just like the string and 2 cups(first telephone). and voip is where all calls will be placed. through that though i will understand why they would rush to include voip technologies under telecomm, but i still say it can be appealed. not just for selling the device man. nah.

YOU are right , I going further , a digital camera allows you to send pictures , the authority who is democratic needs to close down stores that sell digital cameras, cell phone shops, digital audio recorders ..... of course the media could be wrong in the sharing of the news also , but this is definitely allowed .....

eXamin

Postby eXamin » January 27th, 2016, 10:47 am

That offence is real BS. TSTT just angry that they losing customers.

Postby RBphoto » January 27th, 2016, 11:00 am

Duane making a jail just now for hosting the biggest communication network in Trinidad and not paying royalties to TSTT. #FreeDuane #PowersellersUnite

Advent

Postby Advent » January 27th, 2016, 11:18 am

RBphoto wrote:Duane making a jail just now for hosting the biggest communication network in Trinidad and not paying royalties to TSTT. #FreeDuane #PowersellersUnite

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 27th, 2016, 11:34 am

well well , MJ out nearly 10 yrs , like said above probably made a example of d guy but he smart to pay d 5k & get it over with rather than pay more to a lawyer or waste time ...