djaggs wrote:tiger balm wrote:shogun wrote:Lmao.
I think people here equate fine art with the cars in their garages. Well known works of art by known artists typically tend to appreciate over time, especially deceased artists. In the next 10 years could be worth a lot more. Good investment.
Thank you. To the poster who says our history isn't great, how will you know when you shoot it down so? We have a rich history, if we had embraced and developed it instead of ignoring it, the magnificent seven would be open for all citizens & visitors to visit. We would be making money from them, not just spending money. Why do you think the UK and Paris are such popular tourist destinations? Their history (both the good and bad aspects of it), and they are making millions of dollars because of it.
Ihope these painting will be displayed, and are part of a larger plan to showcase our history. Teaching and showing our history would also encourage us to be more nationalistic rather than selfish.
It was a very good move to buy and preserve our cultural heritage. The people criticizing this probably supported the destruction of the Greyfriars Church as well. A people with no cultural heritage have nothing to base their identity on. If you dont know where you came from, how can you chart your way forward.
This is better than spending 6 million dollars for a box drain.....and at least its not being purchased in some secret back room office like the secret contracts that were being doled out in the Ministry of Education Facilities Company Ltd.
S_2NR wrote:amd-dude wrote:So 3 mill in painting but we in the ministry of (*%($*% could only get napkins instead of toilet paper. Seems legit, I guess the reasoning would be napkins could wipe your face and yuh ass.
Hoss tell me you joking... Please God be joking... Hahahahahhaha
rfari wrote:Growley ah idiot. I wasn't gonna telling ollur ass-hole nuttin. Heng tht sheit up in diplo centre and stunt. Normal
stev wrote:S_2NR wrote:amd-dude wrote:So 3 mill in painting but we in the ministry of (*%($*% could only get napkins instead of toilet paper. Seems legit, I guess the reasoning would be napkins could wipe your face and yuh ass.
boy i wish he was joking yes....my partners in 'certain' government offices studied hard, earn their degree, working morning till night.......only to wipe their asses with 1 ply tissue. (providing tissue is available)
S_2NR wrote:stev wrote:S_2NR wrote:amd-dude wrote:So 3 mill in painting but we in the ministry of (*%($*% could only get napkins instead of toilet paper. Seems legit, I guess the reasoning would be napkins could wipe your face and yuh ass.
boy i wish he was joking yes....my partners in 'certain' government offices studied hard, earn their degree, working morning till night.......only to wipe their asses with 1 ply tissue. (providing tissue is available)
No wonder them doh answer phone or do their job. I won't if I couldn't wipe my ass
stev wrote:djaggs wrote:tiger balm wrote:shogun wrote:Lmao.
I think people here equate fine art with the cars in their garages. Well known works of art by known artists typically tend to appreciate over time, especially deceased artists. In the next 10 years could be worth a lot more. Good investment.
Thank you. To the poster who says our history isn't great, how will you know when you shoot it down so? We have a rich history, if we had embraced and developed it instead of ignoring it, the magnificent seven would be open for all citizens & visitors to visit. We would be making money from them, not just spending money. Why do you think the UK and Paris are such popular tourist destinations? Their history (both the good and bad aspects of it), and they are making millions of dollars because of it.
Ihope these painting will be displayed, and are part of a larger plan to showcase our history. Teaching and showing our history would also encourage us to be more nationalistic rather than selfish.
It was a very good move to buy and preserve our cultural heritage. The people criticizing this probably supported the destruction of the Greyfriars Church as well. A people with no cultural heritage have nothing to base their identity on. If you dont know where you came from, how can you chart your way forward.
This is better than spending 6 million dollars for a box drain.....and at least its not being purchased in some secret back room office like the secret contracts that were being doled out in the Ministry of Education Facilities Company Ltd.
how is knowing your heritage helping u move forward? it's actually holding u back.
knowing if ur ancestors were slaves / indentured laborers etc. is doing what for the future? if anything it's only prolonging third world thinking / hate / racism etc...
u guys so quick to compare everything to the last Government....this is not what thread is about....its about justifying spending all that money on paintings that can't help anyone.
does not matter which party is in power...![]()
.....and to the big 'IF' on top there....thats not the case at the moment....saying 'if' this and 'if' that will not help....we sadly dont have these spots in the way we want it.
how is knowing your heritage helping u move forward? it's actually holding u back.
knowing if ur ancestors were slaves / indentured laborers etc. is doing what for the future? if anything it's only prolonging third world thinking / hate / racism etc...
.....and to the big 'IF' on top there....thats not the case at the moment....saying 'if' this and 'if' that will not help....we sadly dont have these spots in the way we want it.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Redman wrote:stev wrote:MaxPower wrote:Small money for small matters..
it is small money but whether it's 3 million or 30 million....it was poorly spent.
Really?
What would you think would be a better use of the money?
Maybe buying chairs for students since many schools seem to chairs in total sheit condition damaging school uniforms etc.
I like the paintings though I think its important to have them but had this been PP buying this the media would go all ape sheit about it, now they very quiet.
stev wrote:Redman wrote:stev wrote:MaxPower wrote:Small money for small matters..
it is small money but whether it's 3 million or 30 million....it was poorly spent.
Really?
What would you think would be a better use of the money?
anything other than a bunch of stupid paintings...
how can these paintings benefit the country?
plz don't say some nonsense about history....Trinidad history aint that great...let's be real
also...why hide these paintings in our tiny country? why not give it to an international art museum for the whole world to see?...probably those museums didnt want it in d 1st place
RASC wrote:You're really a philistine of the highest order.
Panday wrote:One word for Kamla: ... Opps!
Redman wrote:Since ZR take the head fake from them two ole women he drop home on election day...He making some sense.
Redman wrote:If it was the PP.it would.have cost an extra 143,000,000
they would have paid SIS in Jan 2014,
And we would have recieved 8 paintings.
BRZ wrote:This makes Sooooo much sense........ preserve Historic heritage but at the same breath Innocent people lose newborns and loved ones who rely on the local Medical System due to an obvious LACK of Funding and proper doctors.
Redman wrote:If it was the PP.it would.have cost an extra 143,000,000
they would have paid SIS in Jan 2014,
And we would have recieved 8 paintings.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:honestly BRZ...for the price they pay for medical care down here (nothing)
they get good treatment
people here getting free drugs and tests that run into the hundreds of thousands
cancer treatment for people in st james is hundreds of thousands (free from government)
a mri is 10k privately? free in mt hope (just a long wait)
all them medication under cdap.....
a padna of mine broke his two legs and damaged his intestine in a truck accident about 2 months ago
he spend 500k in private hospital over the course of 3 weeks