Re: Government buys 10 Cazabon paintings for $3.1 million

Postby stev » December 10th, 2015, 9:05 pm

djaggs wrote:
tiger balm wrote:
shogun wrote:Lmao.

I think people here equate fine art with the cars in their garages. Well known works of art by known artists typically tend to appreciate over time, especially deceased artists. In the next 10 years could be worth a lot more. Good investment.

Thank you. To the poster who says our history isn't great, how will you know when you shoot it down so? We have a rich history, if we had embraced and developed it instead of ignoring it, the magnificent seven would be open for all citizens & visitors to visit. We would be making money from them, not just spending money. Why do you think the UK and Paris are such popular tourist destinations? Their history (both the good and bad aspects of it), and they are making millions of dollars because of it.

Ihope these painting will be displayed, and are part of a larger plan to showcase our history. Teaching and showing our history would also encourage us to be more nationalistic rather than selfish.

It was a very good move to buy and preserve our cultural heritage. The people criticizing this probably supported the destruction of the Greyfriars Church as well. A people with no cultural heritage have nothing to base their identity on. If you dont know where you came from, how can you chart your way forward.

This is better than spending 6 million dollars for a box drain.....and at least its not being purchased in some secret back room office like the secret contracts that were being doled out in the Ministry of Education Facilities Company Ltd.

how is knowing your heritage helping u move forward? it's actually holding u back.

knowing if ur ancestors were slaves / indentured laborers etc. is doing what for the future? if anything it's only prolonging third world thinking / hate / racism etc...

u guys so quick to compare everything to the last Government....this is not what thread is about....its about justifying spending all that money on paintings that can't help anyone.

does not matter which party is in power... :roll:

.....and to the big 'IF' on top there....thats not the case at the moment....saying 'if' this and 'if' that will not help....we sadly dont have these spots in the way we want it.

Postby K74T » December 10th, 2015, 9:07 pm

Postby stev » December 10th, 2015, 9:08 pm

S_2NR wrote:
amd-dude wrote:So 3 mill in painting but we in the ministry of (*%($*% could only get napkins instead of toilet paper. Seems legit, I guess the reasoning would be napkins could wipe your face and yuh ass.

Hoss tell me you joking... Please God be joking... Hahahahahhaha

:lol: boy i wish he was joking yes....my partners in 'certain' government offices studied hard, earn their degree, working morning till night.......only to wipe their asses with 1 ply tissue. (providing tissue is available)

Postby rfari » December 10th, 2015, 9:14 pm

Growley ah idiot. I wasn't gonna telling ollur ass-hole nuttin. Heng tht sheit up in diplo centre and stunt. Normal

Postby stev » December 10th, 2015, 9:16 pm

rfari wrote:Growley ah idiot. I wasn't gonna telling ollur ass-hole nuttin. Heng tht sheit up in diplo centre and stunt. Normal

Postby S_2NR » December 10th, 2015, 9:20 pm

stev wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
amd-dude wrote:So 3 mill in painting but we in the ministry of (*%($*% could only get napkins instead of toilet paper. Seems legit, I guess the reasoning would be napkins could wipe your face and yuh ass.

:lol: boy i wish he was joking yes....my partners in 'certain' government offices studied hard, earn their degree, working morning till night.......only to wipe their asses with 1 ply tissue. (providing tissue is available)

No wonder them doh answer phone or do their job. I won't if I couldn't wipe my ass

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » December 10th, 2015, 9:30 pm

S_2NR wrote:
stev wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

No wonder them doh answer phone or do their job. I won't if I couldn't wipe my ass

Yea no joke and I not even doing things with answering phones, I'm a network admin but if I was, I would pick up the "govament woker" attitude.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » December 10th, 2015, 9:49 pm

stev wrote:
djaggs wrote:
tiger balm wrote:
shogun wrote:Lmao.

I think people here equate fine art with the cars in their garages. Well known works of art by known artists typically tend to appreciate over time, especially deceased artists. In the next 10 years could be worth a lot more. Good investment.

Thank you. To the poster who says our history isn't great, how will you know when you shoot it down so? We have a rich history, if we had embraced and developed it instead of ignoring it, the magnificent seven would be open for all citizens & visitors to visit. We would be making money from them, not just spending money. Why do you think the UK and Paris are such popular tourist destinations? Their history (both the good and bad aspects of it), and they are making millions of dollars because of it.

Ihope these painting will be displayed, and are part of a larger plan to showcase our history. Teaching and showing our history would also encourage us to be more nationalistic rather than selfish.

It was a very good move to buy and preserve our cultural heritage. The people criticizing this probably supported the destruction of the Greyfriars Church as well. A people with no cultural heritage have nothing to base their identity on. If you dont know where you came from, how can you chart your way forward.

This is better than spending 6 million dollars for a box drain.....and at least its not being purchased in some secret back room office like the secret contracts that were being doled out in the Ministry of Education Facilities Company Ltd.

how is knowing your heritage helping u move forward? it's actually holding u back.

knowing if ur ancestors were slaves / indentured laborers etc. is doing what for the future? if anything it's only prolonging third world thinking / hate / racism etc...

u guys so quick to compare everything to the last Government....this is not what thread is about....its about justifying spending all that money on paintings that can't help anyone.

does not matter which party is in power... :roll:

.....and to the big 'IF' on top there....thats not the case at the moment....saying 'if' this and 'if' that will not help....we sadly dont have these spots in the way we want it.

I wasn't going to bother responding, but here goes...

I'm not saying it's a simple thing to do, but, your heritage will only hold you back if you allow it to. Did you have a formal eductaion? Our ancestors that came to Trinidad didn't. If they sat there, saying my child/ grandchild is the offspring of a slave/ indentured laborer, I was seen as being nothing so they are nothing, let them sit down home and help me in my low paying job, would you have gotten an education? No. Would any of us have gotten an opportunity to become an engineer/ doctor etc. No.

For many of us, our heritage encouraged our parents etc. to push us to obtain a better quality of life.

.....So we must keep repeating the same mistakes/ exercising the same level of ignorance? Cool. Geez

Postby Redman » December 10th, 2015, 10:06 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Redman wrote:
stev wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Small money for small matters..

it is small money but whether it's 3 million or 30 million....it was poorly spent.

Really?

What would you think would be a better use of the money?

Maybe buying chairs for students since many schools seem to chairs in total sheit condition damaging school uniforms etc.

I like the paintings though I think its important to have them but had this been PP buying this the media would go all ape sheit about it, now they very quiet.

Yep and that would be a material difference in a ministry of education that has received 30 billion over the last 3 budgets.

This is a unique piece or our history.
And we should pursue it and own it.

I'm glad the GORTT took the opportunity to buy it...now make good use of it.

Postby eliteauto » December 10th, 2015, 10:10 pm

ITT enough brain to get a degree, too stupid to buy toilet paper

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 10th, 2015, 10:11 pm

So what percentage of the trinidad and tobago population going to view these paintings ?

Postby RASC » December 10th, 2015, 10:39 pm

stev wrote:
Redman wrote:
stev wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Small money for small matters..

it is small money but whether it's 3 million or 30 million....it was poorly spent.

Really?

What would you think would be a better use of the money?

anything other than a bunch of stupid paintings...

how can these paintings benefit the country?

plz don't say some nonsense about history....Trinidad history aint that great...let's be real :|

also...why hide these paintings in our tiny country? why not give it to an international art museum for the whole world to see?...probably those museums didnt want it in d 1st place :lol:

You're really a philistine of the highest order.

Postby MaxPower » December 11th, 2015, 12:22 am

Bai right now i dont give a rats assss about no blasted history of this country.

Talk to me about crime, den we cud do the whole history ting.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 11th, 2015, 12:26 am

RASC wrote:You're really a philistine of the highest order.

:rofl: ... That reminds me of what Panday said about Suruj Rambachan (@ 1:13 of clip)...

... and hold this one too...

Panday wrote:One word for Kamla: ... Opps!

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2015, 6:40 am

If this was a PP buy then there would have been a public uproar.

But nevertheless it was a great buy. I tried buying one of those painting years ago via a broker but got outbid.
Trinis version of art is spending $5k on a costume for two days. Cazabon out living those costumes and his art increases in value.

Now the trin government has it out of the buying circulation it makes his work even worth more.
Last edited by zoom rader on December 11th, 2015, 6:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » December 11th, 2015, 6:47 am

I actually agree with your statement...full 100%

Postby Redman » December 11th, 2015, 6:56 am

If it was the PP.it would.have cost an extra 143,000,000
they would have paid SIS in Jan 2014,
And we would have recieved 8 paintings.

Postby Redman » December 11th, 2015, 6:58 am

Since ZR take the head fake from them two ole women he drop home on election day...He making some sense. :P

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2015, 7:05 am

Redman wrote:Since ZR take the head fake from them two ole women he drop home on election day...He making some sense. :P

Dude if read some of my post I am into art especially Trini art. I have been collecting Trini banknotes, stamps and coins for over 30yrs. Getting Trini paintings is difficult cause there are very few notable painters. I have been trying for years to get a Cazabon.

Postby Redman » December 11th, 2015, 7:11 am

No doubt ZR.

What was the painting you were bidding on actually sell for?
And how long ago?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 11th, 2015, 7:32 am

This makes Sooooo much sense........ preserve Historic heritage but at the same breath Innocent people lose newborns and loved ones who rely on the local Medical System due to an obvious LACK of Funding and proper doctors.

konartis

Postby konartis » December 11th, 2015, 7:38 am

3M on paintings and little children every week on cnc3 begging for a couple hundred thousands for life saving surgery....

Postby j.o.e » December 11th, 2015, 7:44 am

Good move by Gov't ... Cazabon pieces should mean the most to trinis and should be held locally once possible.
This is more important than $m Gov't sponsored payouts for soca and chutney monarch in my opinion and $5m payout for Machel to produce tootoo in the name of celebrating independence.
Everyone doesn't have to agree .... That's what makes art ..... Art.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 11th, 2015, 7:44 am

Redman wrote:If it was the PP.it would.have cost an extra 143,000,000

Postby Redman » December 11th, 2015, 7:59 am

BRZ wrote:This makes Sooooo much sense........ preserve Historic heritage but at the same breath Innocent people lose newborns and loved ones who rely on the local Medical System due to an obvious LACK of Funding and proper doctors.

It's not one or the other.
That's like saying you not replacing your 40$ air freshener in the car till yuh change the tires.

You attend to what needs attending to when you can.

It's not a shortage of money.
Look at the budgetary allocations for health,education and security.
All have significant allocation s ....all in a mess.

Maybe it's the system.

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2015, 8:08 am

Redman wrote:If it was the PP.it would.have cost an extra 143,000,000

lol this so funny because it so likely it would have happened eh

sis might have charged a 20 million mobilisation fee as well

make meh care

Postby make meh care » December 11th, 2015, 8:12 am

and somebody will end up using 3M tape to stick the paintings down.

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2015, 8:12 am

honestly BRZ...for the price they pay for medical care down here (nothing)

they get good treatment

people here getting free drugs and tests that run into the hundreds of thousands

cancer treatment for people in st james is hundreds of thousands (free from government)

a mri is 10k privately? free in mt hope (just a long wait)

all them medication under cdap.....

a padna of mine broke his two legs and damaged his intestine in a truck accident about 2 months ago

he spend 500k in private hospital over the course of 3 weeks

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 11th, 2015, 8:19 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:honestly BRZ...for the price they pay for medical care down here (nothing)

they get good treatment

people here getting free drugs and tests that run into the hundreds of thousands

cancer treatment for people in st james is hundreds of thousands (free from government)

a mri is 10k privately? free in mt hope (just a long wait)

all them medication under cdap.....

a padna of mine broke his two legs and damaged his intestine in a truck accident about 2 months ago

he spend 500k in private hospital over the course of 3 weeks

Generally people don't appreciate things once it's never happened to them or it involves locals. No one is saying local systems do not need improvement but many tuners post as if nothing good ever happens here.

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2015, 8:39 am

one of the biggest problems i have locally is the operation of the blood bank

the way they treat donors...its as if they dont want people to donate