Thinking of buying a drone. any laws to watch out for?

Trinispougla

Thinking of buying a drone. any laws to watch out for?

Postby Trinispougla » December 3rd, 2015, 4:05 am

Was doing some reaserch and I saw Garvin heerah said they were being monitored.

Re: Thinking of buying a drone. any laws to watch out for?

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2015, 4:44 am

Laws? Lol

Daran

Postby Daran » December 3rd, 2015, 5:17 am

Relax not yet. They do definitely need to be regulated but our law makers are far behind.

Buy it and have fun.

If you're wondering how the UK plans to regularize drones I'm friends with a drone developer (software) who's creating geofencing guidelines for a drone experiment.

The major issue is actually not with drone pollution (I.e. Too many drones cluttering up the sky, but with privacy regarding pictures and video).

There will be a drone structure whereby different tiers of drones will fit into different markets and they will be monitored and licensed.

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2015, 7:35 am

are they charged same duty as toys ?

Postby Mark! » December 5th, 2015, 7:05 am

Yuh go be like bonji gaaalin with he sky machine hosssy

Postby Redman » December 5th, 2015, 11:01 am

Trinispougla wrote:Was doing some reaserch and I saw Garvin heerah said they were being monitored.

Thats exactly why there is not one fack to worry about.

dem is the same fellas that monitoring the drug trade and money laundering.

Only law to watch out for is the mother in law.

Unless of course you want to hit her with the drone.

:wink:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2015, 12:38 pm

TAKEN FROM THE CIVIL AVIATION WEBSITE
https://caa.gov.tt/unmanned-aircraft-sy ... as-drones/

The TTCAA urges all UAS/Drone owners to register all drones of weight 750 grams or heavier. For registrations or inquiries please contact the TTCAA at email: drones@caa.gov.tt.
Please note the prohibited and restricted areas (No Fly Zones) and operating guidelines for Trinidad and Tobago.

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO CIVIL AVIATION AUTHORITY: NO FLY ZONES

TTP4 - CARONI BIRD SANCTUARY
Area bounded by lines joining points: 103826N/0612949W; 103826N/0612850W;
103233N/0612738W; 103233N/0612958W to point of origin.
Surface to 1000FT. NATURE RESERVE: ALL FLIGHTS PROHIBITED.

In the following areas all flights are restricted except for Medical Evacuations or flights in the
interest of National Security:
TTR1 - PORT OF SPAIN
Area bounded by lines joining points: 104049N/0613200W; 104049N/0613000W;
103834N/0613000W; 103834N/0613200W to point of origin. Surface to 2500Ft.
TTR3 - POINTE A PIERRE
Circular area centered on 101900N/0612700W within a 3KM radius. Surface to 2500FT.
TTR6 - MILITARY AREA (CHAGUARAMAS)
Area bounded by lines joining points 104436N/0613620W; 103927N/0613620W;
103927N/0614644W; 104300N/0614536W to point of origin. Surface to 2500FT.
TTR7 - GALEOTA
Circular area centered on 100800N/0610000W within a 3KM radius. Surface to 2500FT
TTR8 - POINT FORTIN
Circular area centered on 101100N/0614200W within a 3KM radius. Surface to 2500FT
TTR9 - POINT LISAS

Circular area centered on 102400N/0612900W within a 3KM radius. Surface to 2500FT

In addition all flights of Unmanned Aircraft/Drones are prohibited within a 5 KM radius of the
Piarco International Airport, the ANR Robinson International Airport and the Camden Heliport.

Drones should not be operated within 5 KM from any manned aircraft operations.
Drones should not be operated in any open air function or mass public gathering.
Drones should not be flown at a height greater than 121 metres or 400 feet above the ground.
Drones should not be operated in a manner that may endanger persons or property.

You can import your drone via skybox or walk through the airport with it and fly it just as you would any other radio controlled aircraft.

Postby SMc » December 5th, 2015, 2:35 pm

Daran wrote:Relax not yet. They do definitely need to be regulated but our law makers are far behind.

Buy it and have fun.

If you're wondering how the UK plans to regularize drones I'm friends with a drone developer (software) who's creating geofencing guidelines for a drone experiment.

The major issue is actually not with drone pollution (I.e. Too many drones cluttering up the sky, but with privacy regarding pictures and video).

There will be a drone structure whereby different tiers of drones will fit into different markets and they will be monitored and licensed.

Hi Daran, what you doing next weekend? I would like to meet you so we can discuss what people & how much personal information and experience we each have as I think we may be able to take over the world if we so desire while solving hunger, poverty and setting the world straight in everything finance related.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2015, 2:44 pm

^ LOL

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2015, 2:53 pm

the civil aviation legislation is already drafted and in some of the public's hands for consultation
supposed to be made widely public for comment soon but with change in govt it is probably on
backburner

Daran

Postby Daran » December 5th, 2015, 2:54 pm

SMc wrote:
Daran wrote:Relax not yet. They do definitely need to be regulated but our law makers are far behind.

Buy it and have fun.

Hi Daran, what you doing next weekend? I would like to meet you so we can discuss what people & how much personal information and experience we each have as I think we may be able to take over the world if we so desire while solving hunger, poverty and setting the world straight in everything finance related.

I'll put you on the blueclues, he might be the man you looking for. But when allyuh need advice come to me.

Postby j.o.e » December 5th, 2015, 4:33 pm

This is Trinidad

Laws don't matter

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » December 5th, 2015, 5:09 pm

Don't fly over my house, it a no fly zone. Flyover and your drone will be stoned down.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 5th, 2015, 6:46 pm

I have a brand new, 3 week old DJI Standard for sale.. I bought it to be used at a race but due to the location being on an active Naval base, we didn't want to risk getting into problems. $700 USD takes it. It was flown twice for maybe 10 minutes total. Comes in the original box etc.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2015, 8:21 pm

^ not a bad deal at all

mark2.0 wrote:Don't fly over my house, it a no fly zone. Flyover and your drone will be stoned down.
drones can fly pretty high up

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 6th, 2015, 12:48 am

^ Yeah boy Lall.. I bought it for Marcus Gomez go film the boats in Key West but no one wanted to get lockup for flying it on a Naval base.. I figure I can put the money to good use as I really want a 24-70 2.8 for my 5D mkiii

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 6th, 2015, 12:51 am

Pic in the box
image.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2015, 1:08 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:^ Yeah boy Lall.. I bought it for Marcus Gomez go film the boats in Key West but no one wanted to get lockup for flying it on a Naval base.. I figure I can put the money to good use as I really want a 24-70 2.8 for my 5D mkiii
I'd take it from you but I have my mind set on a Pro or Advanced

the ultrasonic sensors, extra buttons on the remote and especially the Lightbridge are big pluses for me boilallboiharry

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 7th, 2015, 1:44 am

if ah doh get it sold, I can always use it to peep at the neighbor when she sunning out by the pool.. Or ah could start ah weed delivery service in the area. It could hold ah few ounces with ease danboiduaneboinarineboi

Postby RBphoto » December 7th, 2015, 11:25 am

Gravity will get you every time tho.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 7th, 2015, 1:28 pm

LMAO- our forces cannot even stop people from adhering to the road laws, you really think they going to come after you for a stupid RC drone?

Postby desifemlove » December 7th, 2015, 5:28 pm

Depends. there are privacy laws. And what if it fall on break someobdy house? Not sure about airspace regs, but they are legal.

Postby RBphoto » December 8th, 2015, 7:45 am

Saw one crash at shorelands. A big quad that looked like a helicopter. After seeing how close it came to where people were, I do not trust these things flying directly above people anymore.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 14th, 2015, 6:50 pm

T&T Civil Aviation may very well follow the FAA on this one:

Registration Begins on December 21, 2015, First 30 Days are Free

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) today announced a streamlined and user-friendly web-based aircraft registration process for owners of small unmanned aircraft (UAS) weighing more than 0.55 pounds (250 grams) and less than 55 pounds (approx. 25 kilograms) including payloads such as on-board cameras.

The Registration Task Force delivered recommendations to FAA Administrator Michael Huerta and Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx on November 21. The rule incorporates many of the task force recommendations.

“Make no mistake: unmanned aircraft enthusiast are aviators, and with that title comes a great deal of responsibility,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx. “Registration gives us an opportunity to work with these users to operate their unmanned aircraft safely. I’m excited to welcome these new aviators into the culture of safety and responsibility that defines American innovation.”

Registration is a statutory requirement that applies to all aircraft. Under this rule, any owner of a small UAS who has previously operated an unmanned aircraft exclusively as a model aircraft prior to December 21, 2015, must register no later than February 19, 2016. Owners of any other UAS purchased for use as a model aircraft after December 21, 2015 must register before the first flight outdoors. Owners may use either the paper-based process or the new streamlined, web-based system. Owners using the new streamlined web-based system must be at least 13 years old to register.

Owners may register through a web-based system at http://www.faa.gov/uas/registration

Registrants will need to provide their name, home address and e-mail address. Upon completion of the registration process, the web application will generate a Certificate of Aircraft Registration/Proof of Ownership that will include a unique identification number for the UAS owner, which must be marked on the aircraft.

Owners using the model aircraft for hobby or recreation will only have to register once and may use the same identification number for all of their model UAS. The registration is valid for three years.
The normal registration fee is $5, but in an effort to encourage as many people as possible to register quickly, the FAA is waiving this fee for the first 30 days (from Dec. 21, 2015 to Jan 20, 2016).
“We expect hundreds of thousands of model unmanned aircraft will be purchased this holiday season,” said FAA Administrator Huerta. “Registration gives us the opportunity to educate these new airspace users before they fly so they know the airspace rules and understand they are accountable to the public for flying responsibly.”

The online registration system does not yet support registration of small UAS used for any purpose other than hobby or recreation – for example, using an unmanned aircraft in connection with a business. The FAA is developing enhancements that will allow such online registrations by spring of 2016.

The full rule can be viewed here: http://www.faa.gov/news/updates/media/20151213_IFR.pdf
I think we'd be lucky if it was convenient, far less for easy online registration.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 14th, 2015, 8:56 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 29th, 2016, 12:02 pm

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/nat ... ver-crowds

National Security Ministry asks that drones not be used over crowds

Friday, January 29, 2016

The Ministry of National Security is asking for persons who own and operate drones, to be mindful of the dangers they pose and asking that they not be operated over mass gatherings.

The Ministry says there are also strict no-fly zones that prohibit the use of drones, which is says it will publish in the media soon. It is also pointing to strict law regarding laser lights.

The following is the statement from the Ministry of National Security:

"It has come to the attention of the Ministry of National Security that Unmanned Aerial Systems, commonly called drones, are being used in a manner that can cause danger to persons and property and may invade the privacy of persons.

The Ministry of National Security is calling upon all members of the public, including all visitors, to exercise caution and avoid operating such devices over public buildings and spaces.

The public is advised that in keeping with the Trinidad and Tobago Civil Aviation Act, there are certain areas which are designated as No Fly Zones.

The public is strongly encouraged to avoid operating drones in those areas as they may cause harm and injury to authorised users within the Zones.

These No Fly Zones will be published in the media for the information of the public.

As we seek to promote the safety and security of the public, the Ministry of National Security in collaboration with the Trinidad and Tobago Civil Aviation Authority (TTCAA) is calling on all persons owning or operating a drone to visit the TTCAA to have the drones registered, in keeping with current arrangements to address this issue.

The public is asked to observe the following:

Drones should not be operated in any open air function or mass public gathering.

Drones should not be flown at a height greater than 121 metres or 400 feet above the ground.

Drones should not be operated in a manner that may endanger persons or property.

Drones should not be operated within 5 kilometres from any manned aircraft operations including the boundary of the Piarco International and ANR Robinson International Airports.

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2016, 9:32 pm

Murder rate rocketing under this government and they come up with drones

rookie

Postby rookie » February 2nd, 2016, 7:03 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2016, 10:33 pm

^ nice!!!

you were the guy with the Inspire on Sunday?

rookie

Postby rookie » February 3rd, 2016, 8:17 am

I was the guy with the phantom pro