Doctors Salaries in T&T

neexis

Re: Doctors Salaries in T&T

Postby neexis » November 6th, 2015, 7:13 am

jm3 wrote:In 2012 my girlfriend at the time was making 18k as a pediatrician I'm not sure if this was before or after tax

That figure sounds about right for a House Officer

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 6th, 2015, 3:49 pm

fallen_angel wrote:you have pics of this girlfriend?

Nothing special

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 6th, 2015, 3:52 pm

neexis wrote:
jm3 wrote:In 2012 my girlfriend at the time was making 18k as a pediatrician I'm not sure if this was before or after tax

Best thing they get is the tax break on vehicles Wish I could get that lol

Postby Dizzy28 » November 6th, 2015, 4:43 pm

RBphoto wrote:Doctors in Trinidad dirt poor.

If they lazy. My cousin is my age we both went Hillview and then UWI at the same time - he did medicine whilst I chose Business. He has just bought a 3m dollar house and a 2nd SUV. I wish I had that equivalent spending power.

He works for an RHA but does extra work on the side. Not as much time for the family as should be ideal but you are able to give them a very good life otherwise.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 6th, 2015, 5:02 pm

jm3 wrote:
neexis wrote:

Best thing they "got" is the tax break on vehicles Wish I could get that lol

Fixed

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » November 6th, 2015, 5:14 pm

RBphoto wrote:Doctors in Trinidad dirt poor.

If they lazy. My cousin is my age we both went Hillview and then UWI at the same time - he did medicine whilst I chose Business. He has just bought a 3m dollar house and a 2nd SUV. I wish I had that equivalent spending power.

He works for an RHA but does extra work on the side. Not as much time for the family as should be ideal but you are able to give them a very good life otherwise.

Like a lot of other careers if you go the extra mile, you will be compensated. It's just a shame that society will use your cousin and other doctors like him as a sweeping generalization that most, if not all doctors have that caliber of financial clout. That being said, if you are intelligent with your income, and have no loans to pay off from med school (the big killer), you should be able to afford a decent lifestyle within a reasonable time frame. But it's still hard work - no matter what. Esp. in the public sector.

http://www.theguardian.com/healthcare-network/2015/oct/22/nhs-doctor-surgeon-junior-contract-quit-job-stress-family-children

neexis

Postby neexis » November 6th, 2015, 8:33 pm

racedriverpro wrote:
jm3 wrote:
neexis wrote:

Fixed

Doctors ah d realist sufferers

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 6th, 2015, 8:39 pm

Dentists who work at private practices take home around 22k tax free.

neexis

Postby neexis » November 6th, 2015, 9:07 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Dentists who work at private practices take home around 22k tax free.

22k is not much money for that kinda work though.. even if it is tax free.

Engineers in the energy sector FTW

Postby Kenjo » November 6th, 2015, 10:48 pm

Engineering is the best bet if you looking for money . Medicine you could basically get your whole career flushed down the drain in a one versus most other professions you just press back space . The man with bathe cousin with the 3 million dollar house has to compare if their parents make the same money and if these guys had cars from the start so didn't need any basic down payment and such . That description is too black and white of the cousin just balling straight off like that . His wife not working and I'm sure brought in some assets

Postby black start » November 6th, 2015, 10:57 pm

Kenjo wrote:Engineering is the best bet if you looking for money

Buhahahhaha oh god oui :lol: :lol:

Postby Kenjo » November 6th, 2015, 11:07 pm

Engineering is competitive in terms of getting a job but overall time and lifestyle this is the best . Medicine is heading down a crappy slope all around the world .if these guys going into a profession for the money for both the rest of us and themselves medicine isn't the best bet

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » November 6th, 2015, 11:50 pm

Kenjo wrote:Engineering is competitive in terms of getting a job but overall time and lifestyle this is the best . Medicine is heading down a crappy slope all around the world .if these guys going into a profession for the money for both the rest of us and themselves medicine isn't the best bet

True, NHS, Trinidad, USA...Someone who is wealthy enough to pay for service has much more options than someone seeking care in the public sector. Most pronounced in the USA though

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 7th, 2015, 11:15 am

well i wanna know who is earning the money to buy these houses in trinidad then.

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 7th, 2015, 11:17 am

racedriverpro wrote:
jm3 wrote:
neexis wrote:

Fixed

they stopped getting it? nice hope she likes them apples ahahaha

Postby Chimera » November 7th, 2015, 11:18 am

yeah a few years ago they stopped it

Postby Chimera » November 7th, 2015, 11:19 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-03- ... -exemption

Radhica Sookraj
Published:
Saturday, March 23, 2013
More than 400 doctors from the South West Regional Health Authority (SWRHA) are upset over the removal of motor vehicle tax exemptions from their joint collective agreement. At a news conference held at the San Fernando Medical Library yesterday, acting president Dr Ravindranath Narine claimed the decision to remove the tax exemption was taken unilaterally by the Chief Personnel Officer Stephanie Lewis without consultation with MPATT, the recognised trade union.

Postby De Dragon » November 7th, 2015, 11:21 am

black start wrote:

Yuh unnahstan'? Every beyotch and he bredda getting Engineering Degree from University of Guyana/Moruga/Beetham. Engineers unless in some very specialized areas ketching dey MC.

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 7th, 2015, 11:27 am

black start wrote:

Yuh unnahstan'? Every beyotch and he bredda getting Engineering Degree from University of Guyana/Moruga/Beetham. Engineers unless in some very specialized areas ketching dey MC.

there are still some engineering fields that are relatively easy to get in,
unfortunately most of the uwi kids feel they to good to earn the small starting salaries compared to the oil companies.
although right now everyone in a difficult position due to oil downturn.

Postby De Dragon » November 7th, 2015, 11:35 am

jm3 wrote:
black start wrote:

there are still some engineering fields that are relatively easy to get in,
unfortunately most of the uwi kids feel they to good to earn the small starting salaries compared to the oil companies.
although right now everyone in a difficult position due to oil downturn.

Yes and because they are easy to get in, the money is small at first. I remember when the Chemical Engineer was almost revered and compensated as such. Now experienced, and even semi-experienced operators and lab techs getting what a CE starting with.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 7th, 2015, 1:55 pm

Spies make good money...

Zedenka

Postby Zedenka » November 7th, 2015, 2:47 pm

Hey everyone, i know this is a Doctors Salaries Thread but just wanted to ask a quick question.
Would IT persons ever make as close to doctors or engineers in terms of salaries? Seems the IT field is so underpaid.

Postby Kenjo » November 7th, 2015, 3:07 pm

Zedenka wrote:Hey everyone, i know this is a Doctors Salaries Thread but just wanted to ask a quick question.
Would IT persons ever make as close to doctors or engineers in terms of salaries? Seems the IT field is so underpaid.

^^^^long hours , risks to your life and the life of others?check us back then .

Postby S_2NR » November 7th, 2015, 4:23 pm

salary should not matter if you like what you do. become an expert in any field you like and the money will come naturally.

neexis

Postby neexis » November 7th, 2015, 6:23 pm

jm3 wrote:well i wanna know who is earning the money to buy these houses in trinidad then.

More than likely the business owners

LeRobot

Postby LeRobot » November 7th, 2015, 6:55 pm

neexis wrote:
jm3 wrote:well i wanna know who is earning the money to buy these houses in trinidad then.

More than likely the money launderers

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 7th, 2015, 11:12 pm

jm3 wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:
jm3 wrote:
neexis wrote:

Fixed

they stopped getting it? nice hope she likes them apples ahahaha

Bro u still toting? Lol

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 7th, 2015, 11:17 pm

Them cudders munt!
Zedenka wrote:Hey everyone, i know this is a Doctors Salaries Thread but just wanted to ask a quick question.

The "it" dept by us is a total waste of time and they are compensated well, too well to be wasting time playing video games while there are office PCs with fixable issues.

Postby The_Honourable » November 8th, 2015, 9:44 pm

From express article dated 14th May 2015. The numbers are basic salaries minus the allowances.

Intern - $7,800

House Officer - $11,000

Registrar - $14,200

Consultant - $18,000
11119147_10155488597950526_1208275625994708208_n.jpg
Express Article - Thursday 14th May 2015

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 9th, 2015, 8:12 am

All that money dem making and so they does want to make style on sick poor people(only in the hospital, not in private practice).