Procedure for Importing a Vehicle

jayfost

Re: Procedure for Importing a Vehicle

Postby jayfost » February 3rd, 2015, 8:13 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
jayfost wrote:Is it true that if i ship a car and register it as H i pay less MVT VAT and Duty

Yes on the flip side insurance for taxis are higher than p

how much more and if i decide afterwards i decide to re-class to P do i have to pay the difference that was discounted

Postby cinco » February 3rd, 2015, 8:59 pm

You have to have a taxi badge to do that don't u?

jayfost

Postby jayfost » February 3rd, 2015, 9:06 pm

cinco wrote:You have to have a taxi badge to do that don't u?

That's not so hard to get

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 3rd, 2015, 9:38 pm

jayfost wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:
jayfost wrote:Is it true that if i ship a car and register it as H i pay less MVT VAT and Duty

Yes on the flip side insurance for taxis are higher than p

how much more and if i decide afterwards i decide to re-class to P do i have to pay the difference that was discounted

Well im not too sure you can probably call an insurance agent

teef

Postby teef » February 20th, 2015, 4:54 pm

Anyone knows if there is any tax exemption on importation of new vehicles? Or is it the same as the figures listed above?

Postby pete » February 20th, 2015, 5:23 pm

Hybrids under 1800 cc no mvt or vat

sasuke

Postby sasuke » July 25th, 2015, 9:16 am

I LIKE THIS THREAD, REAL TIME INFO! keep it coming guyz! thanx!

BTW ANY CUSTOM BROKERS YOU COULD REFER TO ME AROUND $1000 charge?

sasuke

Postby sasuke » July 26th, 2015, 9:19 pm

[quote="Jet"]The vat figure a little off but you on the right track. If you need a broker to clear any vehicle call dis guy naresh
326-0705[/quote]

***this one pricey about 5k for his service, who have the $1000 custom broker pls?

scotty_buttons

Procedure for Importing a Vehicle

Postby scotty_buttons » July 30th, 2015, 7:47 pm

Question: for returning nationals, MVT and VAT is fully exempted.. Where person must 'intend' on staying permanently in Trinidad. Is there any requirements to show/ prove permanent residency? or is there any follow up? can anyone shed some light into this?
uncle coming in from UK to live here but MAY need to go back if necessary.
Any limit to the amount of personal vehicle import for the returning national ?

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » August 3rd, 2015, 3:44 pm

How is the cc rating determined? as in what documentation is used to calculate the tax
Sometimes websites have vehicles at 1800 cc, but the engine is specced at 1792 cc or similar.

Postby Morpheus » August 3rd, 2015, 6:25 pm

Yeah that just thrusts you into a different CC tax bracket.....sigh

Like Evos are really 1997cc or so. They would be a lot cheaper...

They just probably round it off.

HSA

Postby HSA » October 20th, 2015, 10:10 am

Prince2424 wrote:Ok, vehicle should be cleared sometime this week.

Now I know you are allowed ( or should be ) to drive the vehicle from the port to the licensing office without a D plate. Can you confirm this. What I heard is that the vehicle must be taken to Vemcott for tyre inspection first, when inspected they stamp some form to take to licensing office to get vehicle registered.

Now since usually, by the time u clear vehicle from port to reach Vemcott and finish the time may already be too late to go to licensing office. You are not allowed to drive the vehicle home so does this mean I have to hire a tow truck to take the vehicle home ?

The next day now I can take a chance ( leave very early and hopefully no police on the road ) to reach licensing office the next day ?

Then how does the ( day ) insurance works ? Will I have to take another day insurance for the vehicle to be registered again ?

Can someone explain this process from clearing from the port, to inspection of tyres, to licensing ( including the insurance issues )

Thanks

30k ah month salary and yuh doh know this info?? way de mudda cornt

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » October 20th, 2015, 12:58 pm

Guys I need to apply for an import license. I was told that the Min of Trade is located at maritime plaza in barataria but when I got there the security personnel said only the ministry of tourism is there.

Any ideas where this ministry is located?

Thanks.

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 20th, 2015, 1:51 pm

kriticalkase wrote:Guys I need to apply for an import license. I was told that the Min of Trade is located at maritime plaza in barataria but when I got there the security personnel said only the ministry of tourism is there.

Any ideas where this ministry is located?

Thanks.

It's not at maritime plaza, it's opposite the gas station

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » October 20th, 2015, 7:14 pm

Thanks I will go again tom.

Postby Morpheus » October 20th, 2015, 7:41 pm

TTMF Building?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 20th, 2015, 8:17 pm

Don't quote me on this eh padna but i believe that entire system is electronic now, no more TTMF thing. You give your broker the information and they do the rest of work. But there are people alot more knowleageable than me on this matter on this forum.

Ryan2302

Postby Ryan2302 » October 20th, 2015, 8:47 pm

daxt0r wrote:Don't quote me on this eh padna but i believe that entire system is electronic now, no more TTMF thing. You give your broker the information and they do the rest of work. But there are people alot more knowleageable than me on this matter on this forum.

This...

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » October 21st, 2015, 10:30 am

Guys who have done this transaction before, do u recommend any brokers in particular for this? Thanks again for the valuable info.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » October 21st, 2015, 11:24 am

Guys who have done this transaction before, do u recommend any brokers in particular for this? Thanks again for the valuable info.

nivek

Postby nivek » October 21st, 2015, 11:33 am

Let me make this easy for u...call me at 355 4681 and let me handle everything for u...

killercow

Postby killercow » October 25th, 2015, 5:34 pm

Hey tuners just curious.
If I apply for an import licence this year and the vehicle is shipped out this year
but it does not land in T&T until next year do I pay VAT based on 15% or 12.5%?

jason_79

Postby jason_79 » October 25th, 2015, 7:52 pm

With reference to the MVT exemption for hybrid vehicles up to 1800cc, does anyone know what's the policy for hybrid vehicles over 1800cc??

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 26th, 2015, 2:24 am

Good question. Salt for anything over 1800cc AFAIK.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » November 8th, 2015, 11:41 am

Question:

Would it be too late to import a 2009 Legacy seeing that were are in November and 2016 is a couple months away?

Does the month the car was produced also determines when it reaches the 6 year limit? for example if the car was manufactured late 2009, will i still be able to bring it in in early 2016
?

Postby Kenjo » November 9th, 2015, 6:59 am

Has anyone done it where by they have the VAT and MVT off from work and what is the extra process ?

nivek

Postby nivek » November 9th, 2015, 9:03 am

OP made d call and have ordered through me..no headache and transparent transactions....

nismo8300

Postby nismo8300 » January 13th, 2016, 9:29 pm

Hi anyone know the procedure to import a truck/wrecker and the cost to register mvt, vat etc....

matthewb

Postby matthewb » March 12th, 2019, 3:08 pm

Question if a vehicle production year is 2014 but the registration is 2015 can i still import it?

Postby A172 » March 12th, 2019, 4:46 pm

nah