Laws Regarding Crossbows Please

iselltt

Laws Regarding Crossbows Please

Postby iselltt » October 30th, 2015, 9:42 am

I've called many police stations asking about this. No one is able to help me.

Anyone here can help me?

ruffrider27

Re: Laws Regarding Crossbows Please

Postby ruffrider27 » October 30th, 2015, 9:54 am

Well next step walk in a police station with one .

Postby Dizzy28 » October 30th, 2015, 10:51 am

Call Customs and ask for their input.

Arrow

Postby Arrow » October 30th, 2015, 11:44 am

U getting a green hoodie to go with that bow?

Postby tr1ad » October 30th, 2015, 11:47 am

Arrow wrote:U getting a green hoodie to go with that bow?

irony... thy name is.....

Postby black start » October 30th, 2015, 11:49 am

Jelly...thy feels are

Postby rollingstock » October 30th, 2015, 12:11 pm

Crossbows are illegal because the 'twang' when fired disrupts the feeding of the hummingbird.

Postby ismithx » October 30th, 2015, 1:14 pm

black start wrote:

Jelly...thy feels are

the man saw an opportunity and took it, DBU

Postby 88sins » October 30th, 2015, 2:29 pm

op hear what eh,
ease up on d walkin dead episodes nah. it startin to affect yuh perception of reality.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 30th, 2015, 10:32 pm

I wanna know too

When does a crossbow become illegal.

I know to bring down one (the legit hunting compound bows), you have to belong to an archery club or sumn.

I think the normal practice ones legal to bring down jusso, somebody correk meh

Postby 88sins » October 31st, 2015, 5:59 am

Bows & crossbows are considered restricted offensive weapons. From the longbow to recurve to compound to crossbow & are not allowed to be imported without a permit. Not even if its a bow with a 2lb draw, still requires a permit. If you want to get into archery you will have to join any of the archery clubs & they will help you get a permit to keep said equipment & many of them often have equipment for sale. If travelling anywhere in T&T with a bow it must not be strung.
Honestly though, crossbows are crap. Short heavy slow moving projectiles that are only effective at short distances.
Op if u srs about getting into archery join a club & get a compound bow or recurve instead.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » October 31st, 2015, 6:13 am

Hi
I also asked n crossbows r illegal because it has a trigger mechanism.
You can get a archery bow but it requires joining a club n paying n maintaining membership, southern bow tech is a great club to get more info, great coach n fun session, about 300 to start a class plus it's about $3000 they will order bows , recurve, n gear.
You can find out if a hunting license permits crossbows, but u can't own one , just for so .
:)

Postby Redman » October 31st, 2015, 7:43 am

Ha
Im ready for zombies....

and Moonilal campaigners.
Screen Shot 2015-10-31 at 7.41.48 AM.png

Daran

Postby Daran » October 31st, 2015, 7:54 am

3D print your own damn crossbow.

Postby 88sins » October 31st, 2015, 12:10 pm

nuttn wrong wit using a bow for hunting. very effective & not illegal afaik. but it have a ketch.
yuh hadda get close, like no more than 30 yards. & a beast in d bush ain't gonna allow yuh to get that close jusso

iselltt

Postby iselltt » October 31st, 2015, 2:50 pm

So what if I bring in one jus so and customs doesn't do anything?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 31st, 2015, 3:07 pm

^^^^ customs will seize it, not much chance of it getting past them

iselltt

Postby iselltt » October 31st, 2015, 5:26 pm

Actually they didn't I have it in my possession I just wanted to know more info about laws because I'm interested in selling it but not sure. It's still in the box.

Postby 88sins » November 1st, 2015, 7:01 am

well u real lucky for that to slip thru customs.

iselltt

Postby iselltt » November 1st, 2015, 7:09 am

Slip through? Doesn't a cross bow carry the same concept as a spear gun? Spearguns easy to bring in not so?

Postby 88sins » November 1st, 2015, 5:47 pm

similar concept, different appplication.
A crossbow bolt can reach & kill a man from 25-30 yards away in the open air/on land. Most speargun spears can only manage to be effective at half that distance & only in water.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 3rd, 2015, 8:26 am

Our LAWS regarding whats considered to be Illegal and Deadly NEED to be revised , I don't know WHY its still illegal to own a TAZER gun if it can save your life against criminals.

Postby 88sins » November 3rd, 2015, 9:26 am

dis country upsidefrontbacksidedown donkey years now. you can rest assured, no change will be effected soon, much more of the same to come

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 3rd, 2015, 12:45 pm

88sins wrote:Bows & crossbows are considered restricted offensive weapons. From the longbow to recurve to compound to crossbow & are not allowed to be imported without a permit. Not even if its a bow with a 2lb draw, still requires a permit. If you want to get into archery you will have to join any of the archery clubs & they will help you get a permit to keep said equipment & many of them often have equipment for sale. If travelling anywhere in T&T with a bow it must not be strung.
Honestly though, crossbows are crap. Short heavy slow moving projectiles that are only effective at short distances.
Op if u srs about getting into archery join a club & get a compound bow or recurve instead.

I will be honest, I would like to have a Crossbow for protection in my home. If one was to make a cross bow home DIY, and you kill an intruder with it, would the consequences be any different than a man with a licensed firearm or licensed Crossbow killing said intruder? Right now my only source of defense is a Machete forged from truck spring that I keep polished and sharp in a case. It will cut anything in half, zombie or gunta.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 3rd, 2015, 12:51 pm

BRZ wrote:Our LAWS regarding whats considered to be Illegal and Deadly NEED to be revised , I don't know WHY its still illegal to own a TAZER gun if it can save your life against criminals.

And yet if you do the slightest thing to harm Carnival in anyway shape or form is mass protest. But nobody advocates the importance of honest civilians being able to arm themselves. Especially when you know if you call the police they are NOT coming flat out they will tell you they have no vehicles.

Postby 88sins » November 3rd, 2015, 5:45 pm

A crossbow for home defense is not a good option. Cant leave that string under strain indefinitely. And no srs bandit goin & wait for you to pull string & load a bolt. You better off with d machete.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 3rd, 2015, 7:41 pm

hmm interesting well I guess you are right, I also have a cutlass attached under the mouse support for my computer desk. So is a matter of switching between mouse and blade once my chair roll back. Few other places aswell I hide home made Machete so I will always have a blade at easy access just in case.

I really wanna know the Laws regarding Booby Traps. What are the limits of these traps, I know in the US, shotgun booby traps are not legal.

iselltt

Postby iselltt » November 6th, 2015, 1:56 pm

88sins this is not made for self defense but if a situation occurs that forces you to use it why not. Also the crossbow i own is very easy to Rooster. why fuh wars long time they used archery as their form of defense? because it was most effective. BTW i feel i lookin to sell it fuh ah 4000.00

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 6th, 2015, 2:15 pm

88sins wrote:A crossbow for home defense is not a good option. Cant leave that string under strain indefinitely. And no srs bandit goin & wait for you to pull string & load a bolt. You better off with d machete.

Home made repeating cross bow ftw.

Postby Redman » November 7th, 2015, 6:04 am

iselltt wrote:88sins this is not made for self defense but if a situation occurs that forces you to use it why not. Also the crossbow i own is very easy to Rooster. why fuh wars long time they used archery as their form of defense? because it was most effective. BTW i feel i lookin to sell it fuh ah 4000.00

Because they were not defending against 9mm automatic s.