EmilioA

Re: 2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Postby EmilioA » October 8th, 2015, 12:49 pm

Daran wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:
Redman, the economy allows for this. Sole Traders earning less than $500k per anum do not pay income tax or VAT. That is by design, and in fact probably should be increased.

Say what ? Isnt personal income tax anything over 60,000 a year. And VAT is payable anyone earning more than 200,000 a year.

I meant VAT, and is it 200k or 500k...i could be wrong on that figure.

Are you talking out your ass again Daran ?

So you did not mean income tax even though that what you wrote and you dont know that VAT is payable on everyone selling over $200,000 per 12 month period ?

York

Postby York » October 8th, 2015, 1:28 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:
Redman, the economy allows for this. Sole Traders earning less than $500k per anum do not pay income tax or VAT. That is by design, and in fact probably should be increased.

Say what ? Isnt personal income tax anything over 60,000 a year. And VAT is payable anyone earning more than 200,000 a year.

So you did not mean income tax even though that what you wrote and you dont know that VAT is payable on everyone selling over $200,000 per 12 month period ?

daran is probably an Economist / Political commentator? those ppl who does go on d tv on mornings and election time? or dr winford james d pnm guru...dey does hit dey thumb 100 times before hitting d nail on d head.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 1:32 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:

Relax yuh self, Sole Traders earning under 200k (just checked) don't pay VAT. If they pay themselves a salary, they are subject to the same 60K ITA as we all are. In cash businesses (not limited to doubles men), no one does either. It's a double edged sword if you asking for this.

But stick to the point at hand. Doubles hasn't really increased in 7 years. If in 2008, a doubles man made 20k per month. All else being equal, that is worth ~$12,000 in today's economy due to inflation. Is it not fair that he raise his price to keep up with the cost of living?

Is that point too hard to understand?

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 1:33 pm

York wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:

daran is probably an Economist / Political commentator? those ppl who does go on d tv on mornings and election time? or dr winford james d pnm guru...dey does hit dey thumb 100 times before hitting d nail on d head.

Not far from the truth, I have been on talk radio before.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 8th, 2015, 2:04 pm

Daran wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:

Relax yuh self, Sole Traders earning under 200k (just checked) don't pay VAT.

:lol: Aye . Ent I just tell you that ? Like you back to not reading ways eh ?

If they pay themselves a salary, they are subject to the same 60K ITA as we all are. In cash businesses (not limited to doubles men), no one does either. It's a double edged sword if you asking for this.

Look more dotishness . What you mean pay themselves a salary? That only applies if they are an incorporated entity . If they are a sole trader they get taxed on everything they earn. They have no LLC to hide behind.

If they not paying they proper tax then they are thieves and criminals. Toss them in jail for stealing from the rest of us.

But stick to the point at hand. Doubles hasn't really increased in 7 years. If in 2008, a doubles man made 20k per month. All else being equal, that is worth ~$12,000 in today's economy due to inflation. Is it not fair that he raise his price to keep up with the cost of living?

Is that point too hard to understand?

How many people get 20% salary increases in the past 7 years ?

York

Postby York » October 8th, 2015, 2:14 pm

Maybe 5% and still under paid. I take back though, I have the luxury of working for what they pay me...that's how I put it.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 8th, 2015, 2:20 pm

If they not paying they proper tax then they are thieves and criminals. Toss them in jail for stealing from the rest of us.

A Statist argument can be undermined in one sentence.

What if there was no one left to tax?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 8th, 2015, 2:42 pm

Miktay wrote:

Can you name a country as an example of that situation?

Postby sMASH » October 8th, 2015, 2:52 pm

1444330310019.jpg

Penal yo!!

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » October 8th, 2015, 2:54 pm

Dem duz hardly have doubles. But they aloo pies does lash though.

Postby sMASH » October 8th, 2015, 3:08 pm

The Patrick manning version of the property tax took into consideration the location. But it was geared towards revenue collection, not zoning. It was based on the rentable value of your property, evaluated by someone passing round watching how many rooms , how many cars, how many air con units, if u tile or u vinyl, if u have dog and security camera. Basically it was how nice your place was by where it is was how much u u could charge rent(determined by them) and your tax was based on dat.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 8th, 2015, 3:14 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Miktay wrote:

Can u give an example of a pure free market?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 8th, 2015, 3:39 pm

Miktay wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Miktay wrote:

So you dont have an example ? And in order to cover this up you are seeking to switch the topic from tax evasion to the free market ?

Obvious troll is obvious.

Also I made an error in my earlier calculations. The doubles vendors dont have a 20% increase. They have 25% increase.

Postby 1UZFE » October 8th, 2015, 3:55 pm

^^everytime u type is errors.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 8th, 2015, 4:04 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Miktay wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Miktay wrote:

So you dont have an example ? And in order to cover this up you are seeking to switch the topic from tax evasion to the free market ?

Also I made an error in my earlier calculations. The doubles vendors dont have a 20% increase. They have 25% increase.

No answers to the question?

That iza typical weak Statist response.

No one believes in that pseudo intellectual Marxist taxation ideology anymore.

Go sell it to the socialists next door. Venezuela.
Last edited by Miktay on October 8th, 2015, 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 8th, 2015, 4:07 pm

yes but how does this affect the price of doubles?

wait...

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 8th, 2015, 4:08 pm

RASC wrote:$4 for a doubles was stretching it... $5?
Not worth it in the least. Let them keep it!

Raising the price IN ANTICIPATION??? Foolishness...anyway govt coming to tax their backsides too-it's about time!!
They're making money hand over fist without paying a cent-while everyone else has to fork out to the tax man.

doubles to $10. called it. talk to a doubles man today. he real vexx. defendin the $5 price. but he know if he wasnt sellin for $4 he woulda hafta eat all that doubles heself. doubles stand was bare today lol

Postby RASC » October 8th, 2015, 4:46 pm

bluesclues wrote:
RASC wrote:$4 for a doubles was stretching it... $5?
Not worth it in the least. Let them keep it!

Raising the price IN ANTICIPATION??? Foolishness...anyway govt coming to tax their backsides too-it's about time!!
They're making money hand over fist without paying a cent-while everyone else has to fork out to the tax man.

doubles to $10. called it. talk to a doubles man today. he real vexx. defendin the $5 price. but he know if he wasnt sellin for $4 he woulda hafta eat all that doubles heself. doubles stand was bare today lol

Doubles vendors were looking GHOSTTOWNISH today... Guess the message resonated!

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 8th, 2015, 6:10 pm

bluesclues wrote:yes but how does this affect the price of doubles?

wait...

For most bidnezzes increasing prices in the face of a looming recession iz the road to poverty.

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2015, 6:27 pm

pete wrote:#boycottdoubles

Yeah agrees but first start with boycotting Syrian gyros

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 8th, 2015, 6:43 pm

Miktay wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Miktay wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Miktay wrote:

No answers to the question?

That iza typical weak Statist response.

No one believes in that pseudo intellectual Marxist taxation ideology anymore.

Go sell it to the socialists next door. Venezuela.

so we back on taxation now ? Good.

1. Why are you defending criminal tax evaders ?

2. Is there a real life example there being no one left tax ? I really want to know where you get that from.

1UZFE wrote:^^everytime u type is errors.

Ahh but am I wrong ? Quite a difference.

Playerz

Postby Playerz » October 8th, 2015, 7:47 pm

So if gas gone up by a small margin and people raise by $1 for doubles and this having a ripple effect across the business community and where people are raising their prices, imagine when they start to pay property tax, doubles will reach $10 :-)

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2015, 7:56 pm

Ngc dirt digging start, some heads rolled today
Forensic audit to follow

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2015, 9:00 pm

pugboy wrote:Ngc dirt digging start, some heads rolled today
Forensic audit to follow

Nothing going to come out of that, it's just the PNM Minster of energy has an axe to grind.
Expect some PNM doh-doh heads to fill those spots.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 8th, 2015, 9:32 pm

Like everyone forget the $30-something million spent on carnival tickets by the board??
Everyone one of them deserved to be fired. The audit will prob bring allot more to light also.

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2015, 10:18 pm

Bezman wrote:Like everyone forget the $30-something million spent on carnival tickets by the board??
Everyone one of them deserved to be fired. The audit will prob bring allot more to light also.

30 million ? Post some facts on this so we can all learn

York

Postby York » October 9th, 2015, 1:58 am

Bezman wrote:Like everyone forget the $30-something million spent on carnival tickets by the board??

I know a board member of NGC, it's more like they step aside knowing PNM will appoint the ppl.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 9th, 2015, 2:02 am

this was reported by express a few months ago.

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2015, 6:52 am

From just over 1 million to....30 something million? Are all your "factual" figures this inflated?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/NGC ... 06041.html

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2015, 6:54 am

...220 tickets for South all-inclusivePublished on Feb 21, 2015, 8:04 pm AST12 CommentsArticle

Share:Facebook

Over $1 million was spent on tickets to all-inclusive fetes by the National Gas Company (NGC) for Carnival 2015.

A substantial number of the tickets were purchased for just one fete the South Cancer Support Group.

Priced at $1,600 a ticket, the NGC spent $352,000 on 220 tickets for the fete, which took place on January 31.

An invoice dated January 26 was circulated on social media on Friday evening, with the caption, “$0.3 mil­lion in fete tickets. Your Go­vernment work­ing for you”.

But it wasn’t the only non-governmental orga­nisation (NGO) for which the NGC spent thousands purchasing tickets.

The Sunday Express understands among the all-inclusives NGC bought blocks of tickets to were The

University of the West Indies (UWI)

fete, Soka in Moka, Queen’s Royal

College all-inclusive (QRC Fete), Bishop Anstey all-inclusive, Presen­-

tation College (Chaguanas) all-inclu­sive, Fete with the Saints and Pre­sen­tation College (San Fer­nando) all-inclusive.

The Sunday Express understands executive management at NGC were entitled to two tic­k­ets for three of the fetes or four for one fete and two for another, a max­imum of six tickets for each executive. 

And according to the NGC’s web­site, there are seven members of the executive team.

The Sunday Express calculated that at $1,600 an average ticket for an all-inclusive, multiplied by six, would yield the sum $9,600. So for seven members of executive man­agement to get their quota of tickets should cost the company an average of $67,200. 

So how and why did the company acquire 220 tickets?

Yesterday, the NGC could not explain how the company came to purchase 220 tickets to one fete or who were the recipients of Carnival tickets.

Cassandra Patrovani Sylvester, the vice-president of human and cor­­­­­­porate relations, said: “NGC, like many other corporate entities in Trinidad and Tobago, supports schools, communities and NGOs with their fundraisers, which include Carnival and other national events. At NGC, this process is managed by the manager, corporate com­mu­ni­cations, with direct supervision by the president.”

When the Sunday Express con­­tacted Charmaine Mohammed, manager of corporate communi­ca­tions, she said she had not seen the invoice circulating on social media.

The Sunday Express forwarded it

to her for review and comment and she responded: “The Corporate Com­munications Division will re­spond 

on its Corporate Social Re­sponsibility Programme on Monday.”

NGC president Indar Maharaj is currently out of the country and could not be reached.