Numb3r4

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby Numb3r4 » October 7th, 2015, 7:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
A car is 24 hrs, racket rail may be operating within certain hours just like the bus services. Men still have to take taxi

^ And that is exactly what the rail need to do, operate at peak hours, the maxi taxi will operate normal because not everybody going direct from Arima to POS on mornings. So everybody go still eat ah food..

But the important thing is the days of people being stranded on mornings or evenings is coming to an end and the days of maxi taxi men illegally charging $21 to go to Pos from Arima when the fare is $7 will now come to an end.

Nobody ever complained about paying the going legal rate of a maxi or taxi. Not a single person has complained, people complain about the serious lack of transport in peak hours. Even with all the current available transport there is nowhere near enough maxi and taxi on mornings.

Then there is the HUGE issue of TRAFFIC in yuh neh nen. The rail operating free of traffic and a set of useless dotish maxi drivers stopping every 3 minutes to drop off and pick up, you have any idea what kind of dog sheit experience is that for someone traveling Arima to POS?

17 minutes to reach POS from Arima vs 3 hours in a car or maxi.

If you only need something for peak hours why do need to spend such large sums of money, why not improve the PTSC's service. Increase the number of buses, better tendering practices for the buses and the parts, and promote a culture of maintenance.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 7th, 2015, 8:33 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:"Politricks at its best"...

PNM's scapegoat to swindle $$$ from tax payers...
Trinidad just not ready for rapid rail in many instances...
More pressing matters to deal with currently...

I bet people like you have your own vehicle and don't give 2 flying sheit about those who have travel and hence get stabbed with knife in City Gate when 200 people trying to push down each other to get into a 24 seater maxi on evenings ent? or the maxi who charges $21 a head on mornings to reach City gate from Arima. I guarantee you every single person who opposes the rapid rail they own a vehicle and afraid of paying for their higher priced gas. So I won't be fooled by those who are opposed to the rail I know exactly why people afraid of the rail and has nothing to do with cost of the rail.

Rowley must be well commended for sticking to his word. They doing what is best for citizens, take away the billion dollar fuel subsidy and divert it to subsidize the rapid rail. Finally people in this place won't be at the mercy at car salesmen, traffic and nasty greedy maxi taxi men charging 3 times the legal fare in rush hour.

When UNC was wasting billions on useless Box Drains not a single one of allyuh complained, but a rail that can actually help people all of ah sudden there is a big issue. The saying is true, people in this country need ah good raging bull in they ass.

Fella like yuh like to write to look & feel somewhat important!!!

I worked in POS for 21 years of my life, traveled every day of it & have succumb to each of your inconveniences insinuated & more... What about you? Or are you just expressing views based on other ppls stories?

You seemed confused btw, stop, gather your thoughts and return with sensible views & opinions...

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » October 7th, 2015, 9:20 pm

How this rail helping me out in point fortin ?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 7th, 2015, 9:30 pm

Why rapid rain from north to south when the water Taxi can easily handle this route if expanded?

Just like the government you guys are glossing over cheaper alternatives like "bus rapid transit" and jumping on board with the most expensive option available

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 7th, 2015, 9:46 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:i feel it will have an epic protest by maxi and taxis drivers , then people will be job less due to everyone wanting to take the train and well crime will increase .... idk but the main question where are they going to run the train lines to POS ? are they going to buy out the betham estate ?

Taxi drivers against rapid rail

Highlights from the article:

Maxi Taxi and taxi drivers in T&T are saying a firm and resounding no to any Rapid Rail system in T&T, whether it comes from the UNC or the PNM, as they say it makes no sense and will only result in a financial burden on tax-payers and a major loss of income for drivers.

There are over 5,000 maxi-taxis operating on the nations road daily. Those maxi-taxis feed into a downstream industry of mechanics, straighteners, painters, air-conditioning technicians and auto-repair shops. Any decrease in passengers can only negatively affect multiple business in T&T.

“All the maxi-taxi drivers see this rapid rail project as a negative thing,” said president of the Association of Maxi-Taxi drivers of T&T, Ian Hewitt. “If this rapid rail becomes a reality, we are going to be pushed out to fight up with the taxis and the illegal vehicles because how else are we going to make money?”

Hewitt said no entity had had serious discussions with the drivers, whose entire families would be affected by a move toward a rapid rail system. “It’s going to affect the income of small businesses, but it is also going to affect profits at Neal and Massy, Diamond Motors and Toyota when we can’t afford to purchase,” Hewitt said.

Further, Hewitt said he could not understand how a rapid rail system would help decrease traffic. He echoed statements made by transport engineer Dr Rae Furlonge saying, “the rapid rail is not a traffic measure, it is a transportation measure.”

President of the Route 2 Maxi Taxi Association Linus Phillip said in 2005 the People’s National Movement (PNM) encouraged drivers to buy Maxi Taxis by offering a rebate. “After we spent $605,000 on a maxi taxi, they will have to tell us what they want us to do. And that’s a problem. Nobody comes to us and tells us anything."

The other concern is whether, once constructed, the rapid rail would need to be heavily subsidized by Government, much like the Water Taxi service, which saw a loss of $41 million in 2015.

Read in full: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-08- ... rapid-rail

Maxis and taxis don't pay taxes but they defending tax payers dollars? Makes no sense.
Just like when the Coach and the water taxi came in they were complaining because they will take money out of their pockets.
But there are some sensible drivers who know that once they provide a quality service then people will use them.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 7th, 2015, 9:47 pm

@ ingalook, the water taxi is not cost effective intuit the ticket sales do not cover all the expenses. the water taxi was set up to alleviate the traffic situation pending a long term solution.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 7th, 2015, 11:40 pm

^^Pending a long term solution....why can't they beef up the existing bus service?

They have a long term system the bus system....maintain it and encourage efficiency when it comes to the managing of the system....

If they want invest in more buses to cater to the peak periods but on the whole as I said before just building a rail to cater to peak periods of traffic is that advisable?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 8th, 2015, 12:47 am

PapaC wrote:@ ingalook, the water taxi is not cost effective intuit the ticket sales do not cover all the expenses. the water taxi was set up to alleviate the traffic situation pending a long term solution.

It was stated that they have lost $41 million last year... the service does take about 1000 cars off the roads every day , limited by 1. Parking 2. Number of sailings

The rapid rail will cost a MINIMUM of 10.5 Billion dollars

10500/41 = 256 YEARS

With that money you could run the water taxi for 256 years

The damn cost of the feasibility study for the Rapid Rail could run the water taxi for the next 15 years!

We haven't even considered the recurrent maintenance for such a system - I'm sure you could safely tack on another 100 years to the water taxi service just to run the Rapid rail for 10 years

You can expect massive cost and time overruns as per any government project - what are we really talking about here????

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 8th, 2015, 12:55 am

Ok... according to this posted earlier :

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... onsultants

the price quoted by the minister is actually US$ so the price of the rapid rail is more in the ballpark of 60 billion TT$

Enough money to run the water taxi service for over 1500 years - in case you're keeping score

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 8th, 2015, 1:06 am

One should also note that public transport systems are normally subsidised. I don't think there are any such systems that actually turn a profit. If so could someone post it.

With that in mind why are we looking to fund such expensive projects that would require greater amounts of subsidy. Try to improve what we already have, PTSC and water taxi.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 8th, 2015, 1:37 am

Some of them people here defending maxi taxi all of a sudden probably own maxi taxis and want to eat ah big food. So they against the rapid rail, lets not be fooled by these people they will stop progress at all cost.
They are like the same people who made a killing on box drains and defended the box drains at all cost.

Luckily for us the raging bull in power.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 8th, 2015, 5:34 am

PapaC wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:i feel it will have an epic protest by maxi and taxis drivers , then people will be job less due to everyone wanting to take the train and well crime will increase .... idk but the main question where are they going to run the train lines to POS ? are they going to buy out the betham estate ?

Taxi drivers against rapid rail

Highlights from the article:

Maxi Taxi and taxi drivers in T&T are saying a firm and resounding no to any Rapid Rail system in T&T, whether it comes from the UNC or the PNM, as they say it makes no sense and will only result in a financial burden on tax-payers and a major loss of income for drivers.

There are over 5,000 maxi-taxis operating on the nations road daily. Those maxi-taxis feed into a downstream industry of mechanics, straighteners, painters, air-conditioning technicians and auto-repair shops. Any decrease in passengers can only negatively affect multiple business in T&T.

“All the maxi-taxi drivers see this rapid rail project as a negative thing,” said president of the Association of Maxi-Taxi drivers of T&T, Ian Hewitt. “If this rapid rail becomes a reality, we are going to be pushed out to fight up with the taxis and the illegal vehicles because how else are we going to make money?”

Hewitt said no entity had had serious discussions with the drivers, whose entire families would be affected by a move toward a rapid rail system. “It’s going to affect the income of small businesses, but it is also going to affect profits at Neal and Massy, Diamond Motors and Toyota when we can’t afford to purchase,” Hewitt said.

Further, Hewitt said he could not understand how a rapid rail system would help decrease traffic. He echoed statements made by transport engineer Dr Rae Furlonge saying, “the rapid rail is not a traffic measure, it is a transportation measure.”

President of the Route 2 Maxi Taxi Association Linus Phillip said in 2005 the People’s National Movement (PNM) encouraged drivers to buy Maxi Taxis by offering a rebate. “After we spent $605,000 on a maxi taxi, they will have to tell us what they want us to do. And that’s a problem. Nobody comes to us and tells us anything."

The other concern is whether, once constructed, the rapid rail would need to be heavily subsidized by Government, much like the Water Taxi service, which saw a loss of $41 million in 2015.

Read in full: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-08- ... rapid-rail

Maxis and taxis don't pay taxes but they defending tax payers dollars? Makes no sense.
Just like when the Coach and the water taxi came in they were complaining because they will take money out of their pockets.
But there are some sensible drivers who know that once they provide a quality service then people will use them.

and ah telling allyuh. that is a 30bn project. not 10bn like they saying. this rapid rail will make taxation rocket over pnm 5 year tenure. and if price of oil drop during this time which im 100% certain it will go sub $40 within that 5 years we will shiet weself.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 5:51 am

Fact is given the real push for alternative energy, oil may never cross $40 a barrel.

Funding this rapid rail can lead to exorbitant taxes and loans for future generations, loans they will need to pay with decreased revenues.

I don't think it's worth it one bit. Better use that money for rapid buses and await self driving cars.

Maybe then use a fraction of that money to develop our human resources and create new industries in trinidad.

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2015, 6:32 am

IDB ready to work with PNM on light rail...
Time ripe to weigh option

Rhondor Dowlat
Published: Thursday, October 8, 2015

The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) says it is ready to work with the People’s national Movement Government to implement a mass transit system, noting now is the proper time to consider and effectively address Port-of-Spain’s needs for such a system and improved mobility.

That was the word yesterday from the IDB’s representative to T&T, Tomas Bermudez, who is currently in Washington DC.

Responding to question’s posed by the T&T Guardian, via email, Bermudez said once a final decision was made by the new Government, the IDB stood ready to work with the administration “to fully and quickly evaluate its chosen alternative and determine how we can best support the implementation of the project.”

Bermudez said after receiving a request recently from the Office of the Prime Minister, the IDB had just begun preparing a study offering various mass transit options for metropolitan Port-of-Spain and its surrounding communities.

“Our transportation options study will be based on the IDB’s extensive experience in developing these kinds of projects in other parts of the region, such as bus rapid transit, high-speed rail and subway systems,” Bermudez said.

He added the IDB hoped to be able to provide enough technical information and financial data to the Government so as to help it to make a well-informed decision on what it considered to be the most practical and affordable transportation option for the citizens of the Port-of-Spain metropolitan region.

During Monday’s national Budget, Finance Minister Colm Imbert announced the implementation of a mass transit system and disclosed that discussions were ongoing with the IDB on having a $10 billion light rail system implemented.

He again announced the plan during a post-Budget analysis, hosted by the T&T Chamber of Industry and Commerce on Tuesday, saying the IDB had also offered to finance the project.

“They have offered to finance the project and the IDB does not finance projects of this nature unless they are satisfied that they make sense,” Imbert told the audience then.

“We are not going to fund the project in the way the Point Fortin Highway was being funded. I don’t know if you know the Point Fortin Highway was being funded out of the Consolidated Fund, out of the general revenues and that is why that project is always in trouble because there is just not enough money,” he added.

Members of the travelling public are also welcoming a mass transit system but serious concerns have been raised about whether or not the T&T economy can facilitate such a project at this time.

Speaking with the T&T Guardian yesterday, commuter Tristan Edwards, of Talparo, said he believed a light rail system could be very effective in relieving traffic into the capital city, “not to mention having a viable alternative to transportation in the country.

“However, I am concerned about the cost with regards to the present oil prices, of course, but we need to see if this can really be done,” Edwards added.

He, however, saw the need for proper consultation. “In-depth consultation is needed with the national public and it needs to be transparent but the idea should not be completely scrapped until all the pros and cons are weighed,” he noted.

Dominic Hosein, of San Fernando, said he was all for the project but said there must be a holistic approach.

“We have to ensure that we look at the traffic situation holistically because people are buying cars for buying sake because everyone in the household drives. People here in T&T don’t have the mentality of car pooling and using the public transportation system, which is far more reliable than ten to 15 years ago,” Hosein said.

He said Government also had to consider seriously whether it could afford such a plan, given the state of the economy.

He asked: “Is now really the time and how do we get it done? Do we have to finish off some of our very mammoth projects and then deal with it? There are so many questions but I do welcome it,” Hosein said.

Carapichaima resident Ameel Mohammed said the light rail system was a good long-term idea “but not right now with the state on the economy. The light rail system will ease a lot of traffic but it will always be a cost to the country in terms of maintaining it.”

Maxi owners want proper consultation

President of the Association of Maxi-Taxi Drivers of T&T, Eon Hewitt, says he believes strongly the rail system would have a negative impact on the industry.

He also called for dialogue with the Government.

“This was introduced to us seven years ago and our position still stands. We have bought a lot of new vehicles and if this would come it would have a negative impact on us,” Hewitt told the T&T Guardian.

“When the Government now was in Opposition then they reached out to us. Now that they are in Government let us see if they would reach out to us again and have proper dialogue,” he added.

Also contacted president of the Route 2 Maxi Taxi Association, Linus Phillip, said the People’s National Movement (PNM) talked a lot about it on the campaign trail but failed to say whether or not a proper survey was done.

“This could be one man’s view or few men’s view. Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said they would have consultation but listening to the Minister of Finance I would want to believe that their minds are made up so how are we going to have that fair and transparent consultation across the board?

“There needs to be proper consultation then a decision. There are questions over the financial position of the country right now which is a critical factor,” Phillip said.

He also asked if the system should come into existence to whom the subsidies would go... “to foreign pockets?”

On average, about 250,000 people commute along the East/West Corridor each day and the average cost is $15 a person return trip. That cost, Phillip said, would be very economical and would remain cheaper when compared to a light rail system ticket.

“People have to be careful what they ask for in this country. That rail line would be running alongside the highway, which would not be convenient for the travelling public, and this is what the Government needs to come out and say.

“That ticket from Arima to Port-of-Spain, one way might cost $10, which is far more than what people are paying today. Our feeder routes from Curepe to Port-of-Spain costs $5,” Phillip added.

More Info

In 1846, the railroad covered about 173 kilometres and the trainline ran from Port-of-Spain to Arima, before the railways were extended to Couva in 1880, San Fernando in 1882, followed by Tabaquite, Siparia and Rio Claro.

After the railway closed, government at the time encouraged citizens to begin work in the maxi taxi industry to aid with public transport.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-10- ... igh-option

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2015, 7:35 am

ingalook wrote:
PapaC wrote:@ ingalook, the water taxi is not cost effective intuit the ticket sales do not cover all the expenses. the water taxi was set up to alleviate the traffic situation pending a long term solution.

It was stated that they have lost $41 million last year... the service does take about 1000 cars off the roads every day , limited by 1. Parking 2. Number of sailings

10500/41 = 256 YEARS

The damn cost of the feasibility study for the Rapid Rail could run the water taxi for the next 15 years!

We haven't even considered the recurrent maintenance for such a system - I'm sure you could safely tack on another 100 years to the water taxi service just to run the Rapid rail for 10 years

You can expect massive cost and time overruns as per any government project - what are we really talking about here????

You do know a large number of water taxi users travelled with other forms of public transportation before and they merely switched. Where you getting this 1000 cars off the road figure?

roadhog

Postby roadhog » October 8th, 2015, 8:52 am

After reading this I'm more convinced that people need to prove their intelligence before being able to have a say about anything. Your iq or level of education can't be bottom of the barrel and you want to argue for or against anything. Allow the smart people to make the decisions.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 8th, 2015, 9:04 am

1000 is fair I think

The secure parking in South holds 200-300 cars, then there are about 100 or so cars parked in the area outside the carpark... if you ever frequented the service you would realise that more than half of the people coming off the water taxi have someone waiting to pick them up.

Then there is a number of people (lower) going the other way... I think 1000 us a fair estimate

If you doubled the capacity of the service tomorrow - in a week or two the service would again be fully subscribed

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2015, 10:01 am

ingalook wrote:

10500/41 = 256 YEARS

You do know a large number of water taxi users travelled with other forms of public transportation before and they merely switched. Where you getting this 1000 cars off the road figure?

I agree in more than 1000 ppl at least in the morning, there are 3 sailings from Sando on a morning (down from 4, one boat is under maintenance) each have a capacity of 405 souls and the first 2 are fully and the last is at 80%. When they are operating 4 boat there are more ppl.

However you are comparing apples with oranges with comparing the cost to build and implement a mass transit system (MTS) for 80% of the population in lieu of a water taxi on one route. A MTS can provide an alternative to the years $4B fuel subsidy. More water taxis cant do that.

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2015, 10:10 am

If we cant afford to subsidize one mode of transport .....through the fuel subsidy....how are we affording the transfer of that cost to subsidize another-the RR.????

We have not optimized the existing modes of transport....all of which are inefficient and under utilized.

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2015, 11:04 am

Redman wrote:If we cant afford to subsidize one mode of transport .....through the fuel subsidy....how are we affording the transfer of that cost to subsidize another-the RR.????

We have not optimized the existing modes of transport....all of which are inefficient and under utilized.
We already subsidise all modes of transport. Creating a streamlined mode of transport for 80% of the population and subsidising it, will optimise other modes and reduce our dependence on them. Easier movement of ppl in TT will increase productivity and will redound to the benefit of the economy and its growth.

Postby The_Honourable » October 8th, 2015, 11:27 am

Transport engineer on traffic proposals

Rail won’t solve congestion

Neither the rapid rail proposal of the PNM nor the light rail proposal of the PP will solve T&T’s transportation woes, says Dr Rae Furlonge, traffic and transport engineer.

In fact Furlonge, in an interview with the T&T Guardian, has accused both sides of simply using “sexy terms” to insult the intelligence of the citizens. Furlonge asked: “Why are we not challenging the politicians?” adding that T&T sorely lacked proper management of the transport system.

It was during the PNM’s political meeting in Four Roads, Diego Martin, on Tuesday night that Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley said the PP Government had intended to construct a billion dollar mass light transit rail system from City Gate in Port-of-Spain to Arima. However, he said, the project was stopped when ILP political leader Jack Warner left the Government.

Furlonge said some 600,000 people, half from along the East/West Corridor, used public transport during peak hours daily. He described the rapid rail as a high speed travelling at about 120 miles an hour while the light rail was opposite, going at some 40 miles an hour.

“You don’t solve a traffic problem with a transportation solution. We need to manage our existing system by finding ways to make it more attractive and safe,” Furlonge said, adding there was the absence of an incentive for people to park their cars voluntary and instead use public transport.

Security, Furlonge added, was another fundamental issue to entice people to use public transport as a high proportion of people using public transport were women and children.

He said the increase in the number of cars to 800,000 today was the result of an approach towards car ownership but limited development in the sphere of public transport.

“Where will Government find the funds to operate and maintain the existing and future road system, the proposed train system and the current and future public bus system?” Furlonge asked.

Furlonge has long questioned the effectiveness of rapid rail.

“Rapid rail uses electricity, so what would happen if there is a major power outage as occurred midday for several hours in Port-of-Spain on January 16, 2007? Rapid rail would be Government-owned so what would happen if either of the unions representing the suppliers of natural gas, or the distribution of electricity, or the workers operating the railway system were to go on an industrial strike; or if the same union represented all three?”

“In addition to poor performance in planning and goal-setting, no government has ever been strong in maintenance and management. Will our culture suddenly adjust so that operational costs would be in line with developed countries?” Furlonge had questioned.

Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-08- ... ngestion-0

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 8th, 2015, 11:30 am

Numb3r4 wrote:^^Pending a long term solution....why can't they beef up the existing bus service?

They have a long term system the bus system....maintain it and encourage efficiency when it comes to the managing of the system....

If they want invest in more buses to cater to the peak periods but on the whole as I said before just building a rail to cater to peak periods of traffic is that advisable?

Buses use the same route as cars, so A bus heading north to south on evening faces the same traffic as everyone else. What sense is that? You also forget the fact that the object is to efficiently get people out of the city so you option would require more buses on an already congested road.

A rapid train will move more people faster without further congestion to the road network.

Postby sliderz1 » October 8th, 2015, 11:39 am

The_Honourable wrote:
NIDCO needs to make public the feasibility report and any other past reports that deals with the Rapid Rail.

strong this

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 8th, 2015, 11:50 am

Public feasibility report thumbs up , any large public expenditure project should have this as a requirement . Highway to X , feasibility report , bridge over x feasibility report . Having been involved in some of these projects this was just a requirement for the project . Who is willing to share this should not be very hard .

Did the eastern drivers spend time going nowhere this morning , yeah 30 mins from Pasea to UWI. Bring on the options !

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 8th, 2015, 12:49 pm

just tyin up p8liticians head to spend bad money. let idb take a chill pill. maybe next year.

Postby desifemlove » October 8th, 2015, 3:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Transport engineer on traffic proposals

Rail won’t solve congestion

Neither the rapid rail proposal of the PNM nor the light rail proposal of the PP will solve T&T’s transportation woes, says Dr Rae Furlonge, traffic and transport engineer.

In fact Furlonge, in an interview with the T&T Guardian, has accused both sides of simply using “sexy terms” to insult the intelligence of the citizens. Furlonge asked: “Why are we not challenging the politicians?” adding that T&T sorely lacked proper management of the transport system.

It was during the PNM’s political meeting in Four Roads, Diego Martin, on Tuesday night that Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley said the PP Government had intended to construct a billion dollar mass light transit rail system from City Gate in Port-of-Spain to Arima. However, he said, the project was stopped when ILP political leader Jack Warner left the Government.

Furlonge said some 600,000 people, half from along the East/West Corridor, used public transport during peak hours daily. He described the rapid rail as a high speed travelling at about 120 miles an hour while the light rail was opposite, going at some 40 miles an hour.

“You don’t solve a traffic problem with a transportation solution. We need to manage our existing system by finding ways to make it more attractive and safe,” Furlonge said, adding there was the absence of an incentive for people to park their cars voluntary and instead use public transport.

Security, Furlonge added, was another fundamental issue to entice people to use public transport as a high proportion of people using public transport were women and children.

He said the increase in the number of cars to 800,000 today was the result of an approach towards car ownership but limited development in the sphere of public transport.

“Where will Government find the funds to operate and maintain the existing and future road system, the proposed train system and the current and future public bus system?” Furlonge asked.

Furlonge has long questioned the effectiveness of rapid rail.

“Rapid rail uses electricity, so what would happen if there is a major power outage as occurred midday for several hours in Port-of-Spain on January 16, 2007? Rapid rail would be Government-owned so what would happen if either of the unions representing the suppliers of natural gas, or the distribution of electricity, or the workers operating the railway system were to go on an industrial strike; or if the same union represented all three?”

“In addition to poor performance in planning and goal-setting, no government has ever been strong in maintenance and management. Will our culture suddenly adjust so that operational costs would be in line with developed countries?” Furlonge had questioned.

Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-08- ... ngestion-0

Back up generators...i presume he heard of? industrial action common, even in big "foreign"...http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic- ... guedo.html http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... break.html and why not learn? Everything has a first step, ent?

Playerz

Postby Playerz » October 8th, 2015, 3:26 pm

Hope the rapid rail will have security measures in place, people may get robbed onboard or while waiting..lol..almost everyone want a car when they reach 18/ owns a car or more than one, who wants the headache of travelling nowadays rather than enjoying your personal luxury? May be this caters for the less fortunate or certain people? The maxi taxi association may even absorb these losses too when people choose to travel via rail than maxi...:-)

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2015, 3:40 pm

Some perspective

The bee's knees
Published on Sep 30, 2009, 12:01 am AST

Commenting on the role of the medical school in the healthcare services, last week's column spoke to the oversized Mt Hope Medical Complex. Now, apart from the director of Sodeteg, the French building contractors of the complex, who was surprised at its acreage, Prof Dame Sheila Sherlock, one of the luminaries of international medicine with special expertise on the liver, during her visit to Trinidad and Tobago in 1986, was taken on a short tour of the complex. Her comment? "But we can't afford this in England!"

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 54419.html

When the govt built the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex there were cries of it being too expensive and too big. Now it is a hospital taken for granted. Today another truck turned over and clogged access to South Trinidad for several hours again. We can't limit ourselves to the status quo, we have to think about launching T&T in the future.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 8th, 2015, 3:48 pm

Playerz wrote:May be this caters for the less fortunate or certain people? The maxi taxi association may even absorb these losses too when people choose to travel via rail than maxi...:-)

The Maxi taxis may have to abandon the the highway/bus routes and adapt themselves to serving feeder routes to and from the railway stations.

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2015, 4:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Redman wrote:If we cant afford to subsidize one mode of transport .....through the fuel subsidy....how are we affording the transfer of that cost to subsidize another-the RR.????

We already subsidise all modes of transport. Creating a streamlined mode of transport for 80% of the population and subsidising it, will optimise other modes and reduce our dependence on them. Easier movement of ppl in TT will increase productivity and will redound to the benefit of the economy and its growth.

But Habit..the calls for the reduction in the subsidy is because we cant AFFORD IT...

the pros and cons of either mode is separate from us being able to afford it.