EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:zoom rader wrote:
A car is 24 hrs, racket rail may be operating within certain hours just like the bus services. Men still have to take taxi
^ And that is exactly what the rail need to do, operate at peak hours, the maxi taxi will operate normal because not everybody going direct from Arima to POS on mornings. So everybody go still eat ah food..
But the important thing is the days of people being stranded on mornings or evenings is coming to an end and the days of maxi taxi men illegally charging $21 to go to Pos from Arima when the fare is $7 will now come to an end.
Nobody ever complained about paying the going legal rate of a maxi or taxi. Not a single person has complained, people complain about the serious lack of transport in peak hours. Even with all the current available transport there is nowhere near enough maxi and taxi on mornings.
Then there is the HUGE issue of TRAFFIC in yuh neh nen. The rail operating free of traffic and a set of useless dotish maxi drivers stopping every 3 minutes to drop off and pick up, you have any idea what kind of dog sheit experience is that for someone traveling Arima to POS?
17 minutes to reach POS from Arima vs 3 hours in a car or maxi.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:"Politricks at its best"...
PNM's scapegoat to swindle $$$ from tax payers...
Trinidad just not ready for rapid rail in many instances...
More pressing matters to deal with currently...
I bet people like you have your own vehicle and don't give 2 flying sheit about those who have travel and hence get stabbed with knife in City Gate when 200 people trying to push down each other to get into a 24 seater maxi on evenings ent? or the maxi who charges $21 a head on mornings to reach City gate from Arima. I guarantee you every single person who opposes the rapid rail they own a vehicle and afraid of paying for their higher priced gas. So I won't be fooled by those who are opposed to the rail I know exactly why people afraid of the rail and has nothing to do with cost of the rail.
Rowley must be well commended for sticking to his word. They doing what is best for citizens, take away the billion dollar fuel subsidy and divert it to subsidize the rapid rail. Finally people in this place won't be at the mercy at car salesmen, traffic and nasty greedy maxi taxi men charging 3 times the legal fare in rush hour.
When UNC was wasting billions on useless Box Drains not a single one of allyuh complained, but a rail that can actually help people all of ah sudden there is a big issue. The saying is true, people in this country need ah good raging bull in they ass.
The_Honourable wrote:Project-JDM wrote:i feel it will have an epic protest by maxi and taxis drivers , then people will be job less due to everyone wanting to take the train and well crime will increase .... idk but the main question where are they going to run the train lines to POS ? are they going to buy out the betham estate ?
Taxi drivers against rapid rail
Highlights from the article:
Maxi Taxi and taxi drivers in T&T are saying a firm and resounding no to any Rapid Rail system in T&T, whether it comes from the UNC or the PNM, as they say it makes no sense and will only result in a financial burden on tax-payers and a major loss of income for drivers.
There are over 5,000 maxi-taxis operating on the nations road daily. Those maxi-taxis feed into a downstream industry of mechanics, straighteners, painters, air-conditioning technicians and auto-repair shops. Any decrease in passengers can only negatively affect multiple business in T&T.
“All the maxi-taxi drivers see this rapid rail project as a negative thing,” said president of the Association of Maxi-Taxi drivers of T&T, Ian Hewitt. “If this rapid rail becomes a reality, we are going to be pushed out to fight up with the taxis and the illegal vehicles because how else are we going to make money?”
Hewitt said no entity had had serious discussions with the drivers, whose entire families would be affected by a move toward a rapid rail system. “It’s going to affect the income of small businesses, but it is also going to affect profits at Neal and Massy, Diamond Motors and Toyota when we can’t afford to purchase,” Hewitt said.
Further, Hewitt said he could not understand how a rapid rail system would help decrease traffic. He echoed statements made by transport engineer Dr Rae Furlonge saying, “the rapid rail is not a traffic measure, it is a transportation measure.”
President of the Route 2 Maxi Taxi Association Linus Phillip said in 2005 the People’s National Movement (PNM) encouraged drivers to buy Maxi Taxis by offering a rebate. “After we spent $605,000 on a maxi taxi, they will have to tell us what they want us to do. And that’s a problem. Nobody comes to us and tells us anything."
The other concern is whether, once constructed, the rapid rail would need to be heavily subsidized by Government, much like the Water Taxi service, which saw a loss of $41 million in 2015.
Read in full: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-08- ... rapid-rail
PapaC wrote:@ ingalook, the water taxi is not cost effective intuit the ticket sales do not cover all the expenses. the water taxi was set up to alleviate the traffic situation pending a long term solution.
PapaC wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Project-JDM wrote:i feel it will have an epic protest by maxi and taxis drivers , then people will be job less due to everyone wanting to take the train and well crime will increase .... idk but the main question where are they going to run the train lines to POS ? are they going to buy out the betham estate ?
Taxi drivers against rapid rail
Highlights from the article:
Maxi Taxi and taxi drivers in T&T are saying a firm and resounding no to any Rapid Rail system in T&T, whether it comes from the UNC or the PNM, as they say it makes no sense and will only result in a financial burden on tax-payers and a major loss of income for drivers.
There are over 5,000 maxi-taxis operating on the nations road daily. Those maxi-taxis feed into a downstream industry of mechanics, straighteners, painters, air-conditioning technicians and auto-repair shops. Any decrease in passengers can only negatively affect multiple business in T&T.
“All the maxi-taxi drivers see this rapid rail project as a negative thing,” said president of the Association of Maxi-Taxi drivers of T&T, Ian Hewitt. “If this rapid rail becomes a reality, we are going to be pushed out to fight up with the taxis and the illegal vehicles because how else are we going to make money?”
Hewitt said no entity had had serious discussions with the drivers, whose entire families would be affected by a move toward a rapid rail system. “It’s going to affect the income of small businesses, but it is also going to affect profits at Neal and Massy, Diamond Motors and Toyota when we can’t afford to purchase,” Hewitt said.
Further, Hewitt said he could not understand how a rapid rail system would help decrease traffic. He echoed statements made by transport engineer Dr Rae Furlonge saying, “the rapid rail is not a traffic measure, it is a transportation measure.”
President of the Route 2 Maxi Taxi Association Linus Phillip said in 2005 the People’s National Movement (PNM) encouraged drivers to buy Maxi Taxis by offering a rebate. “After we spent $605,000 on a maxi taxi, they will have to tell us what they want us to do. And that’s a problem. Nobody comes to us and tells us anything."
The other concern is whether, once constructed, the rapid rail would need to be heavily subsidized by Government, much like the Water Taxi service, which saw a loss of $41 million in 2015.
Read in full: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-08- ... rapid-rail
Maxis and taxis don't pay taxes but they defending tax payers dollars? Makes no sense.
Just like when the Coach and the water taxi came in they were complaining because they will take money out of their pockets.
But there are some sensible drivers who know that once they provide a quality service then people will use them.
ingalook wrote:PapaC wrote:@ ingalook, the water taxi is not cost effective intuit the ticket sales do not cover all the expenses. the water taxi was set up to alleviate the traffic situation pending a long term solution.
It was stated that they have lost $41 million last year... the service does take about 1000 cars off the roads every day , limited by 1. Parking 2. Number of sailings
The rapid rail will cost a MINIMUM of 10.5 Billion dollars
10500/41 = 256 YEARS
With that money you could run the water taxi for 256 years
The damn cost of the feasibility study for the Rapid Rail could run the water taxi for the next 15 years!
We haven't even considered the recurrent maintenance for such a system - I'm sure you could safely tack on another 100 years to the water taxi service just to run the Rapid rail for 10 years
You can expect massive cost and time overruns as per any government project - what are we really talking about here????
Dizzy28 wrote:ingalook wrote:PapaC wrote:@ ingalook, the water taxi is not cost effective intuit the ticket sales do not cover all the expenses. the water taxi was set up to alleviate the traffic situation pending a long term solution.
It was stated that they have lost $41 million last year... the service does take about 1000 cars off the roads every day , limited by 1. Parking 2. Number of sailings
The rapid rail will cost a MINIMUM of 10.5 Billion dollars
10500/41 = 256 YEARS
With that money you could run the water taxi for 256 years
The damn cost of the feasibility study for the Rapid Rail could run the water taxi for the next 15 years!
We haven't even considered the recurrent maintenance for such a system - I'm sure you could safely tack on another 100 years to the water taxi service just to run the Rapid rail for 10 years
You can expect massive cost and time overruns as per any government project - what are we really talking about here????
You do know a large number of water taxi users travelled with other forms of public transportation before and they merely switched. Where you getting this 1000 cars off the road figure?
We already subsidise all modes of transport. Creating a streamlined mode of transport for 80% of the population and subsidising it, will optimise other modes and reduce our dependence on them. Easier movement of ppl in TT will increase productivity and will redound to the benefit of the economy and its growth.Redman wrote:If we cant afford to subsidize one mode of transport .....through the fuel subsidy....how are we affording the transfer of that cost to subsidize another-the RR.????
We have not optimized the existing modes of transport....all of which are inefficient and under utilized.
Numb3r4 wrote:^^Pending a long term solution....why can't they beef up the existing bus service?
They have a long term system the bus system....maintain it and encourage efficiency when it comes to the managing of the system....
If they want invest in more buses to cater to the peak periods but on the whole as I said before just building a rail to cater to peak periods of traffic is that advisable?
The_Honourable wrote:
NIDCO needs to make public the feasibility report and any other past reports that deals with the Rapid Rail.
The_Honourable wrote:Transport engineer on traffic proposals
Rail won’t solve congestion
Neither the rapid rail proposal of the PNM nor the light rail proposal of the PP will solve T&T’s transportation woes, says Dr Rae Furlonge, traffic and transport engineer.
In fact Furlonge, in an interview with the T&T Guardian, has accused both sides of simply using “sexy terms” to insult the intelligence of the citizens. Furlonge asked: “Why are we not challenging the politicians?” adding that T&T sorely lacked proper management of the transport system.
It was during the PNM’s political meeting in Four Roads, Diego Martin, on Tuesday night that Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley said the PP Government had intended to construct a billion dollar mass light transit rail system from City Gate in Port-of-Spain to Arima. However, he said, the project was stopped when ILP political leader Jack Warner left the Government.
Furlonge said some 600,000 people, half from along the East/West Corridor, used public transport during peak hours daily. He described the rapid rail as a high speed travelling at about 120 miles an hour while the light rail was opposite, going at some 40 miles an hour.
“You don’t solve a traffic problem with a transportation solution. We need to manage our existing system by finding ways to make it more attractive and safe,” Furlonge said, adding there was the absence of an incentive for people to park their cars voluntary and instead use public transport.
Security, Furlonge added, was another fundamental issue to entice people to use public transport as a high proportion of people using public transport were women and children.
He said the increase in the number of cars to 800,000 today was the result of an approach towards car ownership but limited development in the sphere of public transport.
“Where will Government find the funds to operate and maintain the existing and future road system, the proposed train system and the current and future public bus system?” Furlonge asked.
Furlonge has long questioned the effectiveness of rapid rail.
“Rapid rail uses electricity, so what would happen if there is a major power outage as occurred midday for several hours in Port-of-Spain on January 16, 2007? Rapid rail would be Government-owned so what would happen if either of the unions representing the suppliers of natural gas, or the distribution of electricity, or the workers operating the railway system were to go on an industrial strike; or if the same union represented all three?”
“In addition to poor performance in planning and goal-setting, no government has ever been strong in maintenance and management. Will our culture suddenly adjust so that operational costs would be in line with developed countries?” Furlonge had questioned.
Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-08- ... ngestion-0
The bee's knees
Published on Sep 30, 2009, 12:01 am AST
Commenting on the role of the medical school in the healthcare services, last week's column spoke to the oversized Mt Hope Medical Complex. Now, apart from the director of Sodeteg, the French building contractors of the complex, who was surprised at its acreage, Prof Dame Sheila Sherlock, one of the luminaries of international medicine with special expertise on the liver, during her visit to Trinidad and Tobago in 1986, was taken on a short tour of the complex. Her comment? "But we can't afford this in England!"
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 54419.html
Playerz wrote:May be this caters for the less fortunate or certain people? The maxi taxi association may even absorb these losses too when people choose to travel via rail than maxi...
Habit7 wrote:We already subsidise all modes of transport. Creating a streamlined mode of transport for 80% of the population and subsidising it, will optimise other modes and reduce our dependence on them. Easier movement of ppl in TT will increase productivity and will redound to the benefit of the economy and its growth.Redman wrote:If we cant afford to subsidize one mode of transport .....through the fuel subsidy....how are we affording the transfer of that cost to subsidize another-the RR.????
We have not optimized the existing modes of transport....all of which are inefficient and under utilized.