Project-JDM wrote:i feel it will have an epic protest by maxi and taxis drivers , then people will be job less due to everyone wanting to take the train and well crime will increase .... idk but the main question where are they going to run the train lines to POS ? are they going to buy out the betham estate ?
Dizzy28 wrote:WRT taxing online purchases...local businesses and merchants make the goods appear out of thin air??
Aren't the merchants themselves purchasers of US$?
Online purchases merely shown up the demand for US$
The_Honourable wrote:Pictures are originally from the TriniTrain website.
Victory_Specification wrote:Really don't see the point in this project. Consensus so far surrounds with infrastructure/costs etc. Surprised anyone is yet to mention the security of commuters if this project ever sees the light of day.
Dizzy28 wrote:Victory_Specification wrote:Really don't see the point in this project. Consensus so far surrounds with infrastructure/costs etc. Surprised anyone is yet to mention the security of commuters if this project ever sees the light of day.
Are you anticipating it to be less safe that the current situation on maxis and buses?
Habit7 wrote:It's sad to see so many of you so myopic about this project. Most of the questions you all are asking were answered since 2009. Our regional competitors like Panama, Dominica Republic and Puerto Rico are leaving us behind with their mass transit systems while some in T&T believe the way to solve traffic is not to create hubs like every other country in the world, but to dissolve the urban area and place a ministry in Couva, one in Tabaquite, another in Lopinot and three Mayaro thus further relying on personal transport to conduct business.
The PNM campaigned on reducing traffic through a mass transit system, the UNC campaigned on reducing traffic by having in 5yrs one incomplete ministry building in Chaguanas as decentralisation. The ppl voted and went with the PNM's plan (just like every other major traffic initiative came from the PNM) so just sit back and allow a international lending agency oversee a hopefully corruption free project.
Daran wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:Victory_Specification wrote:Really don't see the point in this project. Consensus so far surrounds with infrastructure/costs etc. Surprised anyone is yet to mention the security of commuters if this project ever sees the light of day.
Are you anticipating it to be less safe that the current situation on maxis and buses?
Well considering crime is rampant on the Venezuelan subways, I understand his concern. We aren't Venezuela are we?
Another scenario to consider is that anytime Beethem residents want to act up, they can throw crap on the rail tracks (unless it's suspended type monorail) causing havoc. They currently throw crap on the PBR and highway causing havoc none the less
I've been doing some research off course you have!!! [color=#0040BF]Wouldn't be Daran if you didn't. [/color] and they're quite a lot of highly contentious rail/tram projects across the world. Many of which were politicized, heavily involved with corruption and experienced massive cost overruns, and that is with IDB involvement.
I honestly, don't see this project as feasible given our local environment What do you suggest then?. Would be nice, but i really need more info (economic feasibility studies) before I support something as costly as this.
oh boy Daran reach.Daran wrote:Habit7, you're coming across very biased here. Elections done, we have 5 years (supposedly) of PNM. They deserve the same critism that you all put forth to PP.
Lots of PP's traffic plans worked, Couva, Pt Lisas, Valencia, Caroni, St Helena, Sando. Not to mention all the highway works.
They did far more in those 5 years than PNM did in their 9.
Also Habit, corruption in big projects is near impossible to remove and when IDB involvement doesn't eliminate this. They may just have more accountability with regards to their responsibility, but come nah, big man like your should know this. PNM is equally or more corrupt than the PP. They were just better at hiding it.
sliderz1 wrote:is there a published feasibilty study?
Project-JDM wrote:i feel it will have an epic protest by maxi and taxis drivers , then people will be job less due to everyone wanting to take the train and well crime will increase .... idk but the main question where are they going to run the train lines to POS ? are they going to buy out the betham estate ?
Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:"Politricks at its best"...
PNM's scapegoat to swindle $$$ from tax payers...
Trinidad just not ready for rapid rail in many instances...
More pressing matters to deal with currently...
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:"Politricks at its best"...
PNM's scapegoat to swindle $$$ from tax payers...
Trinidad just not ready for rapid rail in many instances...
More pressing matters to deal with currently...
I bet people like you have your own vehicle and don't give 2 flying sheit about those who have travel and hence get stabbed with knife in City Gate when 200 people trying to push down each other to get into a 24 seater maxi on evenings ent? or the maxi who charges $21 a head on mornings to reach City gate from Arima.
Rowley must be well commended for sticking to his word. They doing what is best for citizens, take away the billion dollar fuel subsidy and divert it to subsidize the rapid rail. Finally people in this place won't be at the mercy at car salesmen, traffic and nasty greedy maxi taxi men charging 3 times the legal fare in rush hour.
When UNC was wasting billions on useless Box Drains not a single one of allyuh complained, but a rail that can actually help people all of ah sudden there is a big issue. The saying is true, people in this country need ah good raging bull in they ass.