***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

ADONI

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby ADONI » October 7th, 2015, 11:29 am

Imagine the maintenance cost for that rapid rail to be up kept in tip top condition.
It wasn't 15 Billion before???

Postby sliderz1 » October 7th, 2015, 11:36 am

is there a published feasibilty study?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2015, 12:00 pm

we banking on a very low oil price to maintain that RR project...you all think removing gas subsidies alone would be enough?

forking Imbert considering taxing online purchases...geez imagine how much more things he want to tax

Postby j.o.e » October 7th, 2015, 12:07 pm

The taxing of online purchases is not to earn money. It's because we have serious foreign exchange leaks in our economy. I'm sorry but too many tuners are over simplifying fiscal policy ..... Some are making comments without even having read the facts. But anyway this is the ole talk forum.

Postby The_Honourable » October 7th, 2015, 12:08 pm

Project-JDM wrote:i feel it will have an epic protest by maxi and taxis drivers , then people will be job less due to everyone wanting to take the train and well crime will increase .... idk but the main question where are they going to run the train lines to POS ? are they going to buy out the betham estate ?

Taxi drivers against rapid rail

Highlights from the article:

Maxi Taxi and taxi drivers in T&T are saying a firm and resounding no to any Rapid Rail system in T&T, whether it comes from the UNC or the PNM, as they say it makes no sense and will only result in a financial burden on tax-payers and a major loss of income for drivers.

There are over 5,000 maxi-taxis operating on the nations road daily. Those maxi-taxis feed into a downstream industry of mechanics, straighteners, painters, air-conditioning technicians and auto-repair shops. Any decrease in passengers can only negatively affect multiple business in T&T.

“All the maxi-taxi drivers see this rapid rail project as a negative thing,” said president of the Association of Maxi-Taxi drivers of T&T, Ian Hewitt. “If this rapid rail becomes a reality, we are going to be pushed out to fight up with the taxis and the illegal vehicles because how else are we going to make money?”

Hewitt said no entity had had serious discussions with the drivers, whose entire families would be affected by a move toward a rapid rail system. “It’s going to affect the income of small businesses, but it is also going to affect profits at Neal and Massy, Diamond Motors and Toyota when we can’t afford to purchase,” Hewitt said.

Further, Hewitt said he could not understand how a rapid rail system would help decrease traffic. He echoed statements made by transport engineer Dr Rae Furlonge saying, “the rapid rail is not a traffic measure, it is a transportation measure.”

President of the Route 2 Maxi Taxi Association Linus Phillip said in 2005 the People’s National Movement (PNM) encouraged drivers to buy Maxi Taxis by offering a rebate. “After we spent $605,000 on a maxi taxi, they will have to tell us what they want us to do. And that’s a problem. Nobody comes to us and tells us anything."

The other concern is whether, once constructed, the rapid rail would need to be heavily subsidized by Government, much like the Water Taxi service, which saw a loss of $41 million in 2015.

Read in full: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-08- ... rapid-rail

Postby Dizzy28 » October 7th, 2015, 12:28 pm

Posted in the wrong thread oui!!! Meant this for the Budget one.
Last edited by Dizzy28 on October 7th, 2015, 12:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby The_Honourable » October 7th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Pictures are originally from the TriniTrain website.
RapidRail.jpg
RapidRailPhase1.jpg
Station.jpg

Daran

Postby Daran » October 7th, 2015, 12:31 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:WRT taxing online purchases...local businesses and merchants make the goods appear out of thin air??
Aren't the merchants themselves purchasers of US$?
Online purchases merely shown up the demand for US$

I can't think of anything I bought online that had a 'local' version here. Regardless this is a non-nonsensical proposal. It clearly shows the direction PNM's financiers want to take.

Postby pete » October 7th, 2015, 12:33 pm

They will have a purpose though. To get people to the train stations and move around the city etc.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 7th, 2015, 12:33 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Pictures are originally from the TriniTrain website.

Land acquisition costs will be insane, especially if PNM mismanages real estate inflation (quite likely).

Postby pete » October 7th, 2015, 12:36 pm

Only if their friends have bought land along the proposed routes. What are the chances of that?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 7th, 2015, 12:41 pm

I Hope that they do a proper calculation of the provided PArking, too many times in this country do they UNDER ESTIMATE the provision of parking spaces, obviously if people cannot park, they will have no choice than to use their cars.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 7th, 2015, 1:23 pm

"Politricks at its best"...

PNM's scapegoat to swindle $$$ from tax payers...
Trinidad just not ready for rapid rail in many instances...
More pressing matters to deal with currently...

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » October 7th, 2015, 1:33 pm

Really don't see the point in this project. Consensus so far surrounds with infrastructure/costs etc. Surprised anyone is yet to mention the security of commuters if this project ever sees the light of day.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 7th, 2015, 1:56 pm

Victory_Specification wrote:Really don't see the point in this project. Consensus so far surrounds with infrastructure/costs etc. Surprised anyone is yet to mention the security of commuters if this project ever sees the light of day.

Are you anticipating it to be less safe that the current situation on maxis and buses?

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » October 7th, 2015, 1:56 pm

An no one mentions the obvious noise pollution a train produces.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

Postby Habit7 » October 7th, 2015, 2:02 pm

It's sad to see so many of you so myopic about this project. Most of the questions you all are asking were answered since 2009. Our regional competitors like Panama, Dominica Republic and Puerto Rico are leaving us behind with their mass transit systems while some in T&T believe the way to solve traffic is not to create hubs like every other country in the world, but to dissolve the urban area and place a ministry in Couva, one in Tabaquite, another in Lopinot and three Mayaro thus further relying on personal transport to conduct business.

The PNM campaigned on reducing traffic through a mass transit system, the UNC campaigned on reducing traffic by having in 5yrs one incomplete ministry building in Chaguanas as decentralisation. The ppl voted and went with the PNM's plan (just like every other major traffic initiative came from the PNM) so just sit back and allow a international lending agency oversee a hopefully corruption free project.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 7th, 2015, 2:03 pm

Hmm at least it won't be Rowley problem for long. .. al wari waiting to fill his shoes. ..

Daran

Postby Daran » October 7th, 2015, 2:08 pm

Victory_Specification wrote:Really don't see the point in this project. Consensus so far surrounds with infrastructure/costs etc. Surprised anyone is yet to mention the security of commuters if this project ever sees the light of day.

Are you anticipating it to be less safe that the current situation on maxis and buses?

Well considering crime is rampant on the Venezuelan subways, I understand his concern.

Another scenario to consider is that anytime Beethem residents want to act up, they can throw crap on the rail tracks (unless it's suspended type monorail) causing havoc.

I've been doing some research and they're quite a lot of highly contentious rail/tram projects across the world. Many of which were politicized, heavily involved with corruption and experienced massive cost overruns, and that is with IDB involvement.

I honestly, don't see this project as feasible given our local environment. Would be nice, but i really need more info (economic feasibility studies) before I support something as costly as this.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 7th, 2015, 2:17 pm

Habit7 wrote:It's sad to see so many of you so myopic about this project. Most of the questions you all are asking were answered since 2009. Our regional competitors like Panama, Dominica Republic and Puerto Rico are leaving us behind with their mass transit systems while some in T&T believe the way to solve traffic is not to create hubs like every other country in the world, but to dissolve the urban area and place a ministry in Couva, one in Tabaquite, another in Lopinot and three Mayaro thus further relying on personal transport to conduct business.

The PNM campaigned on reducing traffic through a mass transit system, the UNC campaigned on reducing traffic by having in 5yrs one incomplete ministry building in Chaguanas as decentralisation. The ppl voted and went with the PNM's plan (just like every other major traffic initiative came from the PNM) so just sit back and allow a international lending agency oversee a hopefully corruption free project.

Habit7, you're coming across very biased here. Elections done, we have 5 years (supposedly) of PNM. They deserve the same critism that you all put forth to PP.

Lots of PP's traffic plans worked, Couva, Pt Lisas, Valencia, Caroni, St Helena, Sando. Not to mention all the highway works.

They did far more in those 5 years than PNM did in their 9.

Also Habit, corruption in big projects is near impossible to remove and when IDB involvement doesn't eliminate this. They may just have more accountability with regards to their responsibility, but come nah, big man like your should know this. PNM is equally or more corrupt than the PP. They were just better at hiding it.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 7th, 2015, 2:21 pm

Daran wrote:

Well considering crime is rampant on the Venezuelan subways, I understand his concern. We aren't Venezuela are we?

Another scenario to consider is that anytime Beethem residents want to act up, they can throw crap on the rail tracks (unless it's suspended type monorail) causing havoc. They currently throw crap on the PBR and highway causing havoc none the less

I've been doing some research off course you have!!! [color=#0040BF]Wouldn't be Daran if you didn't. [/color] and they're quite a lot of highly contentious rail/tram projects across the world. Many of which were politicized, heavily involved with corruption and experienced massive cost overruns, and that is with IDB involvement.

I honestly, don't see this project as feasible given our local environment What do you suggest then?. Would be nice, but i really need more info (economic feasibility studies) before I support something as costly as this.

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » October 7th, 2015, 2:29 pm

As a separate form of transport I would say it's reasonable to expect it's own challenges on the crime front - I just hope the relevant authorities are equipped enough to deal with them.

Postby Habit7 » October 7th, 2015, 2:33 pm

Daran wrote:Habit7, you're coming across very biased here. Elections done, we have 5 years (supposedly) of PNM. They deserve the same critism that you all put forth to PP.

Lots of PP's traffic plans worked, Couva, Pt Lisas, Valencia, Caroni, St Helena, Sando. Not to mention all the highway works.

They did far more in those 5 years than PNM did in their 9.

Also Habit, corruption in big projects is near impossible to remove and when IDB involvement doesn't eliminate this. They may just have more accountability with regards to their responsibility, but come nah, big man like your should know this. PNM is equally or more corrupt than the PP. They were just better at hiding it.
oh boy Daran reach.

I am biased towards the RR, ppl want it, the PNM promised it, now they have to deliver it. If they don't, they will be criticized for it.

I won't call building new roads alleviation of traffic. For instance the Preysal interchange works well but now we have a build up in Couva and Pt. Lisas. Valencia was good, give kudos for that. Caroni h'way eliminates traffic in La Paille/Fredrick Settlement but traffic at the bottle necks on either ends. I dont know what you talk of in Sando, traffic is horrible. If I leave Sando on an afternoon it takes me 30mins to the h'way.

Just building roads is kicking the can down the road and not solving the problem. Soon these roads would be congested and ppl just buy more cars. An alternative form of transport is needed that doesnt utilise the same compromised roadways we all use.

Please name that IDB project you have in view?

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2015, 3:03 pm

Hope men know that every year under PNM expect gas prices and taxes for cars will be increasing.
This is to con ppl in agreeing with the racket rail project.
Increased Car taxes will be coming, new car sales will go down and more taxes to sell your car, car parts on the up.
But dont worry ppl were conned to vote for dat

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 7th, 2015, 3:06 pm

sliderz1 wrote:is there a published feasibilty study?

we do the feasibility study already. we eh wah spend that money right now lol we payin enough taxes. let we enjoy the lil bump in the price of oil and have all successful projects minus that railway business.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 3:10 pm

Project-JDM wrote:i feel it will have an epic protest by maxi and taxis drivers , then people will be job less due to everyone wanting to take the train and well crime will increase .... idk but the main question where are they going to run the train lines to POS ? are they going to buy out the betham estate ?

Thats good, now they will have to whine somewhere else after the years of abuse against passengers. Charging 3 times the legal fare to go from Arima to POS on mornings or evenings when people stranded. And nothing people can do about it because they stop the maxi force everyone to get out then make a 360 and pick up everyone again they do this 3 times on the way to POS.

So I happy this will happen.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 7th, 2015, 3:14 pm

Good work with this rapid rail idea, I support it 100%.
good step forward. taxis are very unreliable, Busses are Not always prompt.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 3:15 pm

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:"Politricks at its best"...

I bet people like you have your own vehicle and don't give 2 flying sheit about those who have travel and hence get stabbed with knife in City Gate when 200 people trying to push down each other to get into a 24 seater maxi on evenings ent? or the maxi who charges $21 a head on mornings to reach City gate from Arima. I guarantee you every single person who opposes the rapid rail they own a vehicle and afraid of paying for their higher priced gas. So I won't be fooled by those who are opposed to the rail I know exactly why people afraid of the rail and has nothing to do with cost of the rail.

Rowley must be well commended for sticking to his word. They doing what is best for citizens, take away the billion dollar fuel subsidy and divert it to subsidize the rapid rail. Finally people in this place won't be at the mercy at car salesmen, traffic and nasty greedy maxi taxi men charging 3 times the legal fare in rush hour.

When UNC was wasting billions on useless Box Drains not a single one of allyuh complained, but a rail that can actually help people all of ah sudden there is a big issue. The saying is true, people in this country need ah good raging bull in they ass.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 7th, 2015, 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2015, 3:24 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:"Politricks at its best"...

I bet people like you have your own vehicle and don't give 2 flying sheit about those who have travel and hence get stabbed with knife in City Gate when 200 people trying to push down each other to get into a 24 seater maxi on evenings ent? or the maxi who charges $21 a head on mornings to reach City gate from Arima.

Rowley must be well commended for sticking to his word. They doing what is best for citizens, take away the billion dollar fuel subsidy and divert it to subsidize the rapid rail. Finally people in this place won't be at the mercy at car salesmen, traffic and nasty greedy maxi taxi men charging 3 times the legal fare in rush hour.

When UNC was wasting billions on useless Box Drains not a single one of allyuh complained, but a rail that can actually help people all of ah sudden there is a big issue. The saying is true, people in this country need ah good raging bull in they ass.

A car is 24 hrs, racket rail may be operating within certain hours just like the bus services. Men still have to take taxi

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2015, 3:26 pm

what this country needs is another source of income
and measures to drastically reduce our food import bill....