2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Re: 2015/2016 Budget predictions.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 22nd, 2015, 9:45 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I can't understand why we haven't done this as yet? compared to the kind of money each government wastes in this country why can't they implement this camera system?

We seem to just be talking about great ideas every year and thats about it.

You actually think any of them serious about crime? :lol:

You ever hear fingerprints found at a crime scene? Or DNA being used to find someone? Come nah man :drinking:

This is true, a few years ago I saw a big police sergeant cuss up ah security guard in Japs cause the security tell the man he can't park here unless he is a paying customer.
All I does hear from people in power is eating ah food and jinkin ah joose, they pay eh high enough so they want jostiss call Ancil ASAP, hold ah nationwide road block and check oil in man engine, pressure in tire. Fack crime and all that nonsense, food hadda eat and joose hadda jink :drinking:

Just imagine the vast majority of crime in this country can be solved so easily if they gave even 1% of a sheit.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 22nd, 2015, 9:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 22nd, 2015, 9:48 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:There currently is no subsidy on premium.

You sure about this?

If that is true then thats one cheap as hell premium.

Postby nervewrecker » September 22nd, 2015, 11:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I can't understand why we haven't done this as yet? compared to the kind of money each government wastes in this country why can't they implement this camera system?

We seem to just be talking about great ideas every year and thats about it.

You actually think any of them serious about crime? :lol:

You ever hear fingerprints found at a crime scene? Or DNA being used to find someone? Come nah man :drinking:

This is true, a few years ago I saw a big police sergeant cuss up ah security guard in Japs cause the security tell the man he can't park here unless he is a paying customer.
All I does hear from people in power is eating ah food and jinkin ah joose, they pay eh high enough so they want jostiss call Ancil ASAP, hold ah nationwide road block and check oil in man engine, pressure in tire. Fack crime and all that nonsense, food hadda eat and joose hadda jink :drinking:

Just imagine the vast majority of crime in this country can be solved so easily if they gave even 1% of a sheit.

Tint, loud music, fog lights, all those are things they not serious about. When I see something being done to address our woes then I might tink something being done.

All I keep hearing is hommuh billion to nashional securitee, luckdung de bordahs and new puleece veeickles.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2015, 11:17 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

You sure about this?

If we use the USA as an example, for the 22nd September the state with the most expensive fuel was Nevada with premium at 3.30 a gallon. Our premium is selling at 3.43 a gallon and I don't think our premium is as premium as in the US. Florida's premium price was 2.70 a gallon today.

Postby The_Honourable » September 22nd, 2015, 11:38 pm

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 23rd, 2015, 12:05 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

You sure about this?

If we use the USA as an example, for the 22nd September the state with the most expensive fuel was Nevada with premium at 3.30 a gallon. Our premium is selling at 3.43 a gallon and I don't think our premium is as premium as in the US. Florida's premium price was 2.70 a gallon today.

I don't even think there is much of a subsidy on SUPER right now with oil prices as low as they are... and Government has been profiting on the sale of premium since the price was set at $5.75

See here:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=640069

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 23rd, 2015, 12:07 am

ingalook wrote:
ingalook wrote:Oh, and the PRIME MINISTER makes LESS than the chairmen of most state boards, LESS than the Governor of the Central bank, LESS than the Chairman of NLCB, NGC etc.

Does it seem logical that you make far less than those you are in charge of? You are supposed to be paid based on responsibility, the PM is responsible for 1.4 Million people...

Now you just talking out of your ass. There are no state enterprise chairmen higher paid than even a high school teacher. Refer to the State Enterprise Performance Monitoring Manual.

So you are saying that the chairman of NLCB (which makes billions of dollars in profit) makes less than a school teacher???

Who exactly talking out their ass here?

You still are. State Enterprises are governed by rules and regulations as issued by Corporation Sole (Minister of Finance). Did you even bother to read the State Enterprise Performance Monitoring Manual?

The maximum board fees payable based on the 2011 update are -

NLCB based on its revenue generation and scale should be a Category A.

If you have any information as to the NLCB Chairman making more than those stipulated there then kindly report make a report to the Min of Finance and the Fraud Squad.

Ok.. I have been served...

However, you mentioned that these people can sit on multiple boards??? Are they also allowed to work in the private sector while on these boards?

Can a minister do the same?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 23rd, 2015, 12:22 am

ingalook wrote:
ingalook wrote:Oh, and the PRIME MINISTER makes LESS than the chairmen of most state boards, LESS than the Governor of the Central bank, LESS than the Chairman of NLCB, NGC etc.

Does it seem logical that you make far less than those you are in charge of? You are supposed to be paid based on responsibility, the PM is responsible for 1.4 Million people...

Now you just talking out of your ass. There are no state enterprise chairmen higher paid than even a high school teacher. Refer to the State Enterprise Performance Monitoring Manual.

So you are saying that the chairman of NLCB (which makes billions of dollars in profit) makes less than a school teacher???

Who exactly talking out their ass here?

You still are. State Enterprises are governed by rules and regulations as issued by Corporation Sole (Minister of Finance). Did you even bother to read the State Enterprise Performance Monitoring Manual?

The maximum board fees payable based on the 2011 update are -

NLCB based on its revenue generation and scale should be a Category A.

If you have any information as to the NLCB Chairman making more than those stipulated there then kindly report make a report to the Min of Finance and the Fraud Squad.

However, you mentioned that these people can sit on multiple boards??? Are they also allowed to work in the private sector while on these boards?

I never mentioned that they can sit on multiple boards that was someone else.
However when the PP when came in power they had issued a policy wherein you can only serve on one state board. Previous to that one could have sat on multiple state boards e.g. Michael Annisette who was on several boards simultaneouly and Ken Julien who was actually Chairman of two state entities e TecK and UTT.

Yes you are allowed your private sector work whilst on a board.
A minister is not supposed to have private work outside of his ministerial duties.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 23rd, 2015, 10:15 am

they go make they babash and ole rum

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 23rd, 2015, 9:03 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Yes you are allowed your private sector work whilst on a board.
A minister is not supposed to have private work outside of his ministerial duties.

So someone on a state board CAN make a whole hell-of-a-lot more than a minister then?

Why would they even take the minister seriously?

Postby De Dragon » September 23rd, 2015, 9:39 pm

ingalook wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Yes you are allowed your private sector work whilst on a board.

So someone on a state board CAN make a whole hell-of-a-lot more than a minister then?

Why would they even take the minister seriously?

Yes, most people serving on State boards make a lot more than those allowances there. Why would they listen to a Minister? Hopefully if they are professional enough, and if he has good policies, they would support it. Earning power has nothing to do with it.

Postby The_Honourable » September 23rd, 2015, 11:14 pm

Economists on the 2016 Budget Part 1

Postby The_Honourable » September 23rd, 2015, 11:14 pm

Economists on the 2016 Budget Part 2

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 24th, 2015, 9:59 pm

I think we're all going to die......

But seriously folks....

Sorry that's all I've got.
Still I do like this post, do keep it up.

Postby The_Honourable » September 25th, 2015, 5:08 pm

Revenue sources... raise taxes?

RodAMD

Postby RodAMD » September 25th, 2015, 5:29 pm

There is an old saying.....give em an inch they taking a mile

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » September 25th, 2015, 7:38 pm

Well to me it's the removal of subsides on gas and diesel and the reinstall of the property tax the government usually make 90mil jus on the property tax.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 27th, 2015, 2:28 am

They talk a lot about OPV and all the fancy gizmos. But how many crooked people are in the system who actually allow the drugs to come through?

Just wait and see the millions they gonna spend on coast guard and after 5 years the drug trade will be doing just fine, guaranteed!!

Postby Redman » September 27th, 2015, 7:31 am

Maybe we should diversify the economy .....into coca processing...export the paste within caricom...

Diversification ...improved.
Drug problem...fixed
Employment ...fixed
Agriculture...encouraged..
Forex...improved.
Manufacturers..happy
Help caricom create employment..so they could buy stuff that our manufacturers export...at least the cans that don't have cocaine in them

Postby Dizzy28 » September 27th, 2015, 9:28 am

Redman wrote:Maybe we should diversify the economy .....into coca processing...export the paste within caricom...

Diversification ...improved.
Drug problem...fixed
Employment ...fixed
Agriculture...encouraged..
Forex...improved.
Manufacturers..happy
Help caricom create employment..so they could buy stuff that our manufacturers export...at least the cans that don't have cocaine in them

Domestic cocoa production is only 700 tonnes. Not a whole lot of paste to be had. Untill we back in the tens of thousands of tonnes of cocoa production that will remain a niche sector.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 27th, 2015, 10:03 am

Wait "coca" or "cocoa" ...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 27th, 2015, 10:24 am

Coca obviously.

Postby desifemlove » September 27th, 2015, 11:19 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:They talk a lot about OPV and all the fancy gizmos. But how many crooked people are in the system who actually allow the drugs to come through?

Just wait and see the millions they gonna spend on coast guard and after 5 years the drug trade will be doing just fine, guaranteed!!

Ent UNC said they wanted OPVs too? So what? cos some people will be crooked, we can't have any measures to stop drugs/guns comin in?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 27th, 2015, 11:25 am

The Damen Stan 5009s the GORTT acquired recently are significantly different from an OPV??

Postby desifemlove » September 27th, 2015, 11:36 am

would also say:

- privatise or part-privatise state firms, like the Lottery Board, PTSC, FCB, etc. use the funds in a general share sale to T&T citizens as additions to the Heritage and Children's Funds.

- introduce tolls on specific roads

first one to me is more important. government is too big, and less agencies to fund means less expenditure. I know FCB would kick and fuss, but how many commercial banks in the world are state-owned? if their employees owned 40% shares, and the state 51% with the rest by T&T citizens, i don't see why not.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 27th, 2015, 12:02 pm

ingalook wrote:

Man never checked and were talking out of his ass.

Why should anybody bother with him in future ?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 27th, 2015, 12:07 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The Damen Stan 5009s the GORTT acquired recently are significantly different from an OPV??

The 5009s are OPVs.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » September 27th, 2015, 12:09 pm

Wht I anticipate _

Short Term
Review in GATE policy--only certain programs will be funded 100 percent. Ie where we have industry shortfall. Introduction of MEANS test for things such as laptops and tertiary education.. Only certain people will benefit from GATE.. .Freeness done.
A massive Home Construction Policy by HDC. To stimulate Job Creation and increase housing available to citizens. I feel that will be the main driver in this budget. Same to funded by LOAN from IADB,WB or other lending agency
A reduction of VAT
A reintroduction of Property Tax
A review of US FOREX policy
Higher taxes on Internet Based Purchases. Amazon etc.
A increase in toll paid to PTSC and an attempt to enhance the service offered.
Review of the Public Sector inclusive of Contract Employees and the enforcement of retirement age. ( Some people going to end up on the breadline)
Encouragement of Subsistence Farming and Reintroduction of Mega Farms. Review of Lands given to Caroni Workers to do agriculture. Subsidy to persons willing to get into agriculture. A repossession of lands given and no cultivation being done.
Large thrust on Tourism in attempt to diversify economy. Tobago going to see a lot of development in this regard. So to areas like Maracus, Carenage , La Brea and other national areas of heritage.

Medium Term and Long Term
An entire restructuring of National Security Apparatus
Inviting and coaxing international companies to invest through foreign delegation going to all these investment forums and sheit
Streamlining the Public Sector
Total privatisation of CAL
Possible introduction of another phone and cable company
revival of Eteck park and establishment of other industrial parks in the rural areas.
possible wage freeze for two years and stalling of negotiations
Sale of Bonds by central Bank.. 10 and 15 years

my 2 cents..

Postby desifemlove » September 27th, 2015, 12:15 pm

ent UNC was fixing up Eteck? would support property tax if it were based on size of house.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » September 27th, 2015, 12:21 pm

desifemlove wrote:ent UNC was fixing up Eteck? would support property tax if it were based on size of house.

UNC stall Eteck Park.. yeh property tax could never be one size fits all.. Based on property size. The people who gonna get f' cked up with property tax are the people who have rental income properties. tax on them thing.. Still will be a drop in the bucket.