2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

York

Re: 2015/2016 Budget predictions.

Postby York » September 21st, 2015, 11:53 am

Guys writing essays, try using paragraphs.

Postby RASC » September 21st, 2015, 12:13 pm

Again... You listening to yourself?
I'm not even bothering because you guys not serious.

York

Postby York » September 21st, 2015, 1:16 pm

RASC wrote:Again... You listening to yourself?

So why they cant drive a Qashqai or Hilux or X-Trail or Grand Vitara? Not only ministers but Permanent Secretaries and other ministerial staff.

Tell me why they MUST drive Prados when they have police / special branch police to escort them on occasion when necessary?

i say cut that siht out...

Postby pete » September 21st, 2015, 1:44 pm

The guys running corporations making millions of dollars a year and who can actually run a business properly, you think they want to come work for $360k tt/year plus be under public scrutiny / have their life threatened when they try to make the hard decisions to get things on the right track?

Prime Minister salary is Mid Management in a medium sized company locally. You would expect someone in mid management to be able to run a country properly as a full time job? And don't give me the BS about they should do it for their country. None of these people right now doing it all for their country. Time to wake up from that dream yes.

Postby De Dragon » September 21st, 2015, 5:51 pm

York wrote:
RASC wrote:Again... You listening to yourself?

So why they cant drive a Qashqai or Hilux or X-Trail or Grand Vitara? Not only ministers but Permanent Secretaries and other ministerial staff.

Tell me why they MUST drive Prados when they have police / special branch police to escort them on occasion when necessary?

i say cut that siht out...

Notice that aside from dismissiveness, he has not bothered to answer your question?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 21st, 2015, 6:30 pm

York wrote:
RASC wrote:
ingalook wrote:I may be in the minority here but, I think that MPs' salaries are far too low

You take people from the private sector who are making MILLIONS
You pay them THOUSANDS
THEN you put BILLIONS in their hands and tell them not to touch

Then you wonder why there is corruption

Don't give me that "for the good of the country" altruistic Mother Theresa BS, does that exist in the real world?

Many of these ministers were doctors and lawyers etc. before taking their portfolio - they and their families are accustomed to a certain lifestyle, it is naive to think they will suddenly start living on the salary of a mid-level bank manager.

Paying the ministers (and the PM) a bit better will cost us a few more million every year, but it may end up saving us BILLIONS

Been speaking about this with regards to the police service also.
Again don't expect intelligent convo.

They live in fantasy land. One guy even suggesting scrap all luxury SUV's and give them TIIDAS...

I can't even with these people anymore.

well what the hell they driving Prados for when a $200k - $300k vehicle will do just fine.

money wasted on each vehicle in the public service can build a house or pay for an operation for someone...

they quickly forget about serving the people and ONLY focus on serving themselves!

How much does one of these Prado cost minus duties, vat and mvt?

Sent from my SM900 Note 3

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 21st, 2015, 10:47 pm

Exactly, remember when Robinson bought a BMW X5 Vat+Duty free? I think it cost $275k or something like that

Which brings up another point, saying there are too many cars on the roads:

1. Government makes anywhere from 1.5 to 3 Billion dollars from taxes on these cars each year, any increase in MVT is to increase revenue NOT to dissuade people from buying vehicles. It is an easy way for government to "morally" make more money, its just like taxing cigarettes.

2. There are already MORE cars than licensed drivers registered (think Jack said 2 cars to every driver awhile back) - guess what, I haven't figured out how to drive both my cars at the same time, have you?

It basically means that they can sell 50,000 cars tomorrow if they wanted, it would not change the amount of cars on the road significantly, it would only affect the average age of the vehicles on the roads

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 21st, 2015, 10:57 pm

Oh, and the PRIME MINISTER makes LESS than the chairmen of most state boards, LESS than the Governor of the Central bank, LESS than the Chairman of NLCB, NGC etc.

Does it seem logical that you make far less than those you are in charge of? You are supposed to be paid based on responsibility, the PM is responsible for 1.4 Million people...

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2015, 11:32 pm

ingalook wrote:Oh, and the PRIME MINISTER makes LESS than the chairmen of most state boards, LESS than the Governor of the Central bank, LESS than the Chairman of NLCB, NGC etc.

Does it seem logical that you make far less than those you are in charge of? You are supposed to be paid based on responsibility, the PM is responsible for 1.4 Million people...

Now you just talking out of your ass. There are no state enterprise chairmen higher paid than even a high school teacher. Refer to the State Enterprise Performance Monitoring Manual.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 22nd, 2015, 12:02 am

nervewrecker wrote:What they say and what they do is always two different things eh.

Said free wifi for all too if im not mistaken.

I have no faith in free wifi for all. Waiting for that to happen is like waiting on a bridge to the moon.

We are better off with them giving a license to another major ISP/phone company to come down here. TSTT and FLOW internet is major sheit right now just read these threads on tuner and you would have an idea with what people have to put up with.

I Would much rather a decent internet service than free WIFI imagine if paid for internet is currently so much sheit in this country can you imagine how bad free internet would be? it would work about 1% of the time.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 22nd, 2015, 1:08 am

ingalook wrote:Oh, and the PRIME MINISTER makes LESS than the chairmen of most state boards, LESS than the Governor of the Central bank, LESS than the Chairman of NLCB, NGC etc.

Now you just talking out of your ass. There are no state enterprise chairmen higher paid than even a high school teacher. Refer to the State Enterprise Performance Monitoring Manual.

So you are saying that the chairman of NLCB (which makes billions of dollars in profit) makes less than a school teacher???

Who exactly talking out their ass here?

Postby desifemlove » September 22nd, 2015, 7:12 am

Obama does make far less than a Fortune 500 VP, let alone CEO. i doh see problem there. should peple become politicians for the money, or to serve?

Daran

Postby Daran » September 22nd, 2015, 7:16 am

ingalook wrote:

So you are saying that the chairman of NLCB (which makes billions of dollars in profit) makes less than a school teacher???

Yes chairman's max salary is $10,000 per month. I also think you don't understand the role of a state Board. But carry on.

Postby RASC » September 22nd, 2015, 8:17 am

Kronik wrote:
York wrote:
RASC wrote:
ingalook wrote:I may be in the minority here but, I think that MPs' salaries are far too low

You take people from the private sector who are making MILLIONS
You pay them THOUSANDS
THEN you put BILLIONS in their hands and tell them not to touch

Then you wonder why there is corruption

Don't give me that "for the good of the country" altruistic Mother Theresa BS, does that exist in the real world?

Many of these ministers were doctors and lawyers etc. before taking their portfolio - they and their families are accustomed to a certain lifestyle, it is naive to think they will suddenly start living on the salary of a mid-level bank manager.

Paying the ministers (and the PM) a bit better will cost us a few more million every year, but it may end up saving us BILLIONS

Been speaking about this with regards to the police service also.
Again don't expect intelligent convo.

They live in fantasy land. One guy even suggesting scrap all luxury SUV's and give them TIIDAS...

I can't even with these people anymore.

well what the hell they driving Prados for when a $200k - $300k vehicle will do just fine.

money wasted on each vehicle in the public service can build a house or pay for an operation for someone...

they quickly forget about serving the people and ONLY focus on serving themselves!

How much does one of these Prado cost minus duties, vat and mvt?

Leave them Nah man.
They talking out their arse as usual...
Those luxury vehicles cost the state less than 300k most times a pop.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2015, 8:44 am

ingalook wrote:

You still are. State Enterprises are governed by rules and regulations as issued by Corporation Sole (Minister of Finance). Did you even bother to read the State Enterprise Performance Monitoring Manual?

The maximum board fees payable based on the 2011 update are -

NLCB based on its revenue generation and scale should be a Category A.

If you have any information as to the NLCB Chairman making more than those stipulated there then kindly report make a report to the Min of Finance and the Fraud Squad.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 22nd, 2015, 10:04 am

:lol: NO MORe CEPEP,
Gate going to a you put 75% , and govt puts the balance 25%

Driving under the influence FINE increased to $ 25,000.00

Breaking a Stop light FINE to be increased to $ 15,000.00

Shoulder driving FINE increased to $ 18,000.00

Daran

Postby Daran » September 22nd, 2015, 10:52 am

BRZ wrote::lol: NO MORe CEPEP,

X2.

But reduce GATE to 50% with penalties to 75% if below a 2.0 GPA after the first year.

Also increase tertiary education post graduate foriegn scholarships. And don't limit it to first class honors only as inferring that someone who scored 70% in a social science degree is more deserving than someone who scored 68% in a chemical engineering degree is ridiculous.

Postby 1UZFE » September 22nd, 2015, 10:59 am

ingalook wrote:

You still are. State Enterprises are governed by rules and regulations as issued by Corporation Sole (Minister of Finance). Did you even bother to read the State Enterprise Performance Monitoring Manual?

The maximum board fees payable based on the 2011 update are -

NLCB based on its revenue generation and scale should be a Category A.

If you have any information as to the NLCB Chairman making more than those stipulated there then kindly report make a report to the Min of Finance and the Fraud Squad.

Board memebers dont get alot thats y they are on multiple boards.

Postby The_Honourable » September 22nd, 2015, 12:43 pm

1UZFE wrote: Board members dont get alot thats y they are on multiple boards.

exactly!!!

Postby pete » September 22nd, 2015, 12:51 pm

I would say:

Allow the amendments to the MVRTA to be implemented and drop the fine for breaking a light to $1000, put cameras on all traffic lights and start to mail out tickets like crazy.

Driving on shoulder and speeding - same thing. We don't have enough police officers so let technology do the work for them and free them up to focus on more important things.

A $1000 fine that you have to pay is much much much more of a deterrent than the threat of a $1M fine that you're never going to.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 22nd, 2015, 1:09 pm

$1K a bit too low, I say around $3K should do it. The whole issue is most people keep getting away with it.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 22nd, 2015, 1:49 pm

Government workers is real sufferers!

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 22nd, 2015, 4:20 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:$1K a bit too low, I say around $3K should do it. The whole issue is most people keep getting away with it.

That's why he said to use camera systems to detect the act, and mail them the ticket, that way police don't hadda be there to catch them. Once they do it, automatic ticket.

You will see how fast men stop do that and drive like saint

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 22nd, 2015, 5:47 pm

^ I can't understand why we haven't done this as yet? compared to the kind of money each government wastes in this country why can't they implement this camera system?

We seem to just be talking about great ideas every year and thats about it.

Postby Redman » September 22nd, 2015, 5:52 pm

ED^^^^^

The technology has been here and available here for about 7+ years.
Not sure why GORTT hasnt done anything with it.

I would also suggest that that network can be meshed with cameras at the choke points and gas stations to assist TTPS in tracking wanted vehicles....PDD xxxx is stolen and entered into the database....it could show up and be tracked PDQ.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 22nd, 2015, 5:52 pm

I guess when Trinidad catches up with technology on the state side, that can happen. Right now they still running infrastructure that could support fiber speeds islandwide. You know the more cameras they put, the more strain on bandwidth, and I rather they take long to do it than put up 10000 camera islandwide and suffer me and my downloads yes.

Postby nervewrecker » September 22nd, 2015, 6:16 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I can't understand why we haven't done this as yet? compared to the kind of money each government wastes in this country why can't they implement this camera system?

We seem to just be talking about great ideas every year and thats about it.

You actually think any of them serious about crime? :lol:

You ever hear fingerprints found at a crime scene? Or DNA being used to find someone? Come nah man :drinking:

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » September 22nd, 2015, 6:19 pm

Some men might hadda sell their tiidas to pay those fines

Postby desifemlove » September 22nd, 2015, 7:55 pm

No GATE for masters' programmes. No continual GATE, if yuh firetruck up once, tough, yuh pay all.

elimination of premium fuel subsidy. if as ex-PM Kams said it only 5% who does pay it, so what? Any good tax system is progressive.

Increase taxes on alcohol. it's a good with weak elasticity. people still gonna buy Carib or White Oak or Smirnoff.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2015, 8:47 pm

desifemlove wrote:No GATE for masters' programmes. No continual GATE, if yuh firetruck up once, tough, yuh pay all.

elimination of premium fuel subsidy. if as ex-PM Kams said it only 5% who does pay it, so what? Any good tax system is progressive.

Increase taxes on alcohol. it's a good with weak elasticity. people still gonna buy Carib or White Oak or Smirnoff.

There currently is no subsidy on premium.