Dr. Rowley wrote:Our Vision for Trinidad and Tobago
What does all of this add up to? What kind of society does the PNM envision for Trinidad and Tobago? What do we create if and when we implement this policy framework, this menu of policies?
What we envision and aspire to is a society that is Diverse but Inclusive. History has endowed us with a heterogeneous population, "of many varied races" as the words of one of our national songs proclaim. Our diversity is not a source of division and conflict, as it is in so many other societies, but a source of strength because of our practice of inclusiveness, mutual respect and tolerance.
http://www.pnm.org.tt/index.php/latest- ... -2014.html
dougla_boy wrote:hoverauto wrote:Garcia as education minister might be a mistake. That man is a fool.
i thought was me alone...hate that man
SR wrote:Previous government didnt do much for the muslim community so dont expect any different
UML wrote:Infrastructure work in Charlieville
COSTAATT Campus Charlieville
Habit7 wrote:Dr. Rowley wrote:Our Vision for Trinidad and Tobago
What does all of this add up to? What kind of society does the PNM envision for Trinidad and Tobago? What do we create if and when we implement this policy framework, this menu of policies?
What we envision and aspire to is a society that is Diverse but Inclusive. History has endowed us with a heterogeneous population, "of many varied races" as the words of one of our national songs proclaim. Our diversity is not a source of division and conflict, as it is in so many other societies, but a source of strength because of our practice of inclusiveness, mutual respect and tolerance.
I agree that meritocracy should be a primary factor in choosing one's Cabinet, but by Dr. Rowley's own standard, he preaches a doctrine of inclusiveness. While I celebrate him doing this based on gender, there are no ministers representing a considerable sector of our nation save for a parliament secretary. Having a religiously homogeneous Cabinet goes against the principles he claims to abide to.
The last govt was accused of giving high profile Cabinet positions only to those of one sect and many saw it as wrong. This govt should be held to no different standard.
janfar wrote:There is no point to have a 'religiously harmonious cabinet'. Religion should have absolutely nothing to do with State issues.
janfar wrote:Didn't the gov give Inshan land for a mosque. For like 2 dollars and a half eaten dinner mint.
SR wrote:Awaits a substantial contribution uml charliville is not the only muslim community.
Habit7 wrote:Dr. Rowley wrote:Our Vision for Trinidad and Tobago
I agree that meritocracy should be a primary factor in choosing one's Cabinet, but by Dr. Rowley's own standard, he preaches a doctrine of inclusiveness. While I celebrate him doing this based on gender, there are no ministers representing a considerable sector of our nation save for a parliament secretary. Having a religiously homogeneous Cabinet goes against the principles he claims to abide to.
The last govt was accused of giving high profile Cabinet positions only to those of one sect and many saw it as wrong. This govt should be held to no different standard.
Dizzy28 wrote:Habit7 wrote:Dr. Rowley wrote:Our Vision for Trinidad and Tobago
This problem started at the candidate selection stage where both parties to varying degrees failed to live up to diversity. PNM failed to put a single Muslim or Hindu in a seat they could have even marginally counted on winning.
Meanwhile on the yellow side, off their 18 MPs they have 12 Hindus (without counting Paray as I have no clue about him) and two Muslim.
When parties start with this level of disparity it will take quite a lot of senatorial appointments to redress any perceived imbalance.
The u
Dizzy28 wrote:Habit7 wrote:Dr. Rowley wrote:Our Vision for Trinidad and Tobago
This problem started at the candidate selection stage where both parties to varying degrees failed to live up to diversity. PNM failed to put a single Muslim or Hindu in a seat they could have even marginally counted on winning.
Meanwhile on the yellow side, off their 18 MPs they have 12 Hindus (without counting Paray as I have no clue about him) and two Muslim.
When parties start with this level of disparity it will take quite a lot of senatorial appointments to redress any perceived imbalance.
The u
eliteauto wrote:The speech:
https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/vide ... 001405610/
SR wrote:3 outright bad choices..... hinds dumbert and d whale. Deyalsingh was a pharamcists once pon a time so hopefully can do a better job than the previous doctors in the position. Dont know enough about the other new people to comment on the choice
SR wrote:3 outright bad choices..... hinds dumbert and d whale.