::: Official PNM Government Affairs Ched :::

dredman1

Re: Thoughts on Proposed PNM Cabinet?

Postby dredman1 » September 11th, 2015, 1:16 pm

Any indication on who could be Speaker of the House?

Postby SR » September 11th, 2015, 1:17 pm

3 outright bad choices..... hinds dumbert and d whale. Deyalsingh was a pharamcists once pon a time so hopefully can do a better job than the previous doctors in the position. Dont know enough about the other new people to comment on the choice

Postby SR » September 11th, 2015, 1:18 pm

Previous government didnt do much for the muslim community so dont expect any different

Postby Habit7 » September 11th, 2015, 1:30 pm

Dr. Rowley wrote:Our Vision for Trinidad and Tobago

What does all of this add up to? What kind of society does the PNM envision for Trinidad and Tobago? What do we create if and when we implement this policy framework, this menu of policies?

What we envision and aspire to is a society that is Diverse but Inclusive. History has endowed us with a heterogeneous population, "of many varied races" as the words of one of our national songs proclaim. Our diversity is not a source of division and conflict, as it is in so many other societies, but a source of strength because of our practice of inclusiveness, mutual respect and tolerance.

http://www.pnm.org.tt/index.php/latest- ... -2014.html

I agree that meritocracy should be a primary factor in choosing one's Cabinet, but by Dr. Rowley's own standard, he preaches a doctrine of inclusiveness. While I celebrate him doing this based on gender, there are no ministers representing a considerable sector of our nation save for a parliament secretary. Having a religiously homogeneous Cabinet goes against the principles he claims to abide to.

The last govt was accused of giving high profile Cabinet positions only to those of one sect and many saw it as wrong. This govt should be held to no different standard.

Postby janfar » September 11th, 2015, 1:35 pm

There is no point to have a 'religiously harmonious cabinet'. Religion should have absolutely nothing to do with State issues.

hondamadness

Postby hondamadness » September 11th, 2015, 1:35 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
hoverauto wrote:Garcia as education minister might be a mistake. That man is a fool.

i thought was me alone...hate that man :evil:

the min. of education is going to have a very difficult job, with tertiary education and science and tech most likely merging with the education ministry. Tertiary Education by itself is a very big ministry with a lot of agencies under the MTEST umbrella. In my opinion MTEST made huge strides in the last 5 years and should have been allowed to continue.

Postby UML » September 11th, 2015, 1:37 pm

SR wrote:Previous government didnt do much for the muslim community so dont expect any different

Documents arranged for Haj
Eid celebration grants
Had Muslims in government
ECCE school at Asja Charlieville
Infrastructure work in Charlieville
COSTAATT Campus Charlieville

Muslim brothers who know better can add to this list.

daas

Postby daas » September 11th, 2015, 1:38 pm

A Tobagonian as Minister of Tourism.....

I see what you did there Growley, I see

Postby Habit7 » September 11th, 2015, 1:40 pm

UML wrote:Infrastructure work in Charlieville
COSTAATT Campus Charlieville

So work done in Charlieville is doing something for the Muslim community?

Postby SR » September 11th, 2015, 1:41 pm

Awaits a substantial contribution uml charliville is not the only muslim community.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » September 11th, 2015, 1:44 pm

Habit7 wrote:

What does all of this add up to? What kind of society does the PNM envision for Trinidad and Tobago? What do we create if and when we implement this policy framework, this menu of policies?

What we envision and aspire to is a society that is Diverse but Inclusive. History has endowed us with a heterogeneous population, "of many varied races" as the words of one of our national songs proclaim. Our diversity is not a source of division and conflict, as it is in so many other societies, but a source of strength because of our practice of inclusiveness, mutual respect and tolerance.

I agree that meritocracy should be a primary factor in choosing one's Cabinet, but by Dr. Rowley's own standard, he preaches a doctrine of inclusiveness. While I celebrate him doing this based on gender, there are no ministers representing a considerable sector of our nation save for a parliament secretary. Having a religiously homogeneous Cabinet goes against the principles he claims to abide to.

The last govt was accused of giving high profile Cabinet positions only to those of one sect and many saw it as wrong. This govt should be held to no different standard.

"I agree that meritocracy should be a primary factor in choosing one's Cabinet,"......

It should be THE primary factor and your post contradicts itself. Religion/race should have NO place in state affairs and choosing who's best for a job.

Postby UML » September 11th, 2015, 1:45 pm

As I said I don't know everything they did that's why I asked for my muslims to assist. I is just a sheep.

But at the same time I don't think when u go to the children hospital or achievement you are denied for being muslim.

Everyone benefits so it is for all.

Come to think of it. What did Hindus get?
Last edited by UML on September 11th, 2015, 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby janfar » September 11th, 2015, 1:46 pm

Didn't the gov give Inshan land for a mosque. For like 2 dollars and a half eaten dinner mint.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » September 11th, 2015, 1:47 pm

janfar wrote:There is no point to have a 'religiously harmonious cabinet'. Religion should have absolutely nothing to do with State issues.

Evidently the masses think otherwise. We should apparently always mix up de pot to please everyone. To hell with finding the best candidate for the job. SMFH.

allrotor

Postby allrotor » September 11th, 2015, 1:48 pm

didn't they get some land close by to the nagar?

Postby UML » September 11th, 2015, 1:50 pm

janfar wrote:Didn't the gov give Inshan land for a mosque. For like 2 dollars and a half eaten dinner mint.

Is this the $5 million land he get or was it something else I hear ppl talking bout. Because I heard the PNM promised to double it for his support and tv show.

W2J

Postby W2J » September 11th, 2015, 1:59 pm

SR wrote:Awaits a substantial contribution uml charliville is not the only muslim community.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/LAND-FOR-INSHAN-295696351.html

Postby Dizzy28 » September 11th, 2015, 2:03 pm

Habit7 wrote:

This problem started at the candidate selection stage where both parties to varying degrees failed to live up to diversity. PNM failed to put a single Muslim or Hindu in a seat they could have even marginally counted on winning.
Meanwhile on the yellow side, off their 18 MPs they have 12 Hindus (without counting Paray as I have no clue about him) and two Muslim.

When parties start with this level of disparity it will take quite a lot of senatorial appointments to redress any perceived imbalance.

The u

Postby SR » September 11th, 2015, 2:04 pm

W2j we go discuss this tomoro while dem coals lighting up

Postby janfar » September 11th, 2015, 2:10 pm

Habit7 wrote:

This problem started at the candidate selection stage where both parties to varying degrees failed to live up to diversity. PNM failed to put a single Muslim or Hindu in a seat they could have even marginally counted on winning.
Meanwhile on the yellow side, off their 18 MPs they have 12 Hindus (without counting Paray as I have no clue about him) and two Muslim.

When parties start with this level of disparity it will take quite a lot of senatorial appointments to redress any perceived imbalance.

The u

Paray is Hindu.

I don't think Rowley cares about that anyway as he's a low key Atheist. Doesn't deter him from being able to run the country.

Postby Habit7 » September 11th, 2015, 2:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:

The u

PNM has always had a problem with attracting Hindus. Since 1956 the Hindus felt that PNM rule would lead to their subjugation and despite assurances of inclusion the Hindus formed the largest Opposition to the PNM in the form of the DLP. As the DLP failed it eventually became the SDMS which while taking up their religious role, still maintained as a political advocacy group. Therefore Hindus who joined the PNM always felt that they were going against their religion and their culture.

PNM has slim choices of competent Hindus to serve and this is egged on by ppl like Sat Maharaj and Anand Ramlogan. This is not good for the country because there will always remain a recalcitrant minority (Jwala Nehru's words not Dr. Williams) who would make it hard for them to govern. Inclusion of more Hindus in to PNM govt with help reduce the sentiment of being ostracised.

P.S. Dr Rowley is not an atheist. He constantly references his multi-religious upbringing and how it shaped his morality and ethics. He promotes religious inclusion and he references God in many of his speeches. If he is atheist, he is very deceitful.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 11th, 2015, 3:50 pm

anyone has a vid link for his speech after the swearing in of Ministers?

Postby pugboy » September 11th, 2015, 4:41 pm

Imbert need to explain the faulty water taxis he buy that came down totally defective.

Postby eliteauto » September 11th, 2015, 4:56 pm

Postby The_Honourable » September 11th, 2015, 5:35 pm

Thanks! 8-)

I hope he really gets rid off the gimme gimme attitude.

Postby DVSTT » September 11th, 2015, 6:49 pm

SR wrote:3 outright bad choices..... hinds dumbert and d whale. Deyalsingh was a pharamcists once pon a time so hopefully can do a better job than the previous doctors in the position. Dont know enough about the other new people to comment on the choice

Postby shogun » September 11th, 2015, 6:52 pm

SR wrote:3 outright bad choices..... hinds dumbert and d whale.

Agree with Hinds and McDonald, but as much pressure as Imbert gets i always thought he was one of the best prepared, knowledgeable on all kinds of topics in Parliament. I still think because of his arrogant gnomish appearance that people dislike him. *shrugs*

Postby The_Honourable » September 11th, 2015, 6:59 pm

SR wrote:3 outright bad choices..... hinds dumbert and d whale.

Agreed 100%

But i guess the logic is that we need the experienced heads who has been in government before versus the newbies. Also, they are front line speakers in the Parliament who can deal with the UNC.

Let's see how it goes.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 11th, 2015, 8:00 pm

Just merged my "thoughs on Cabinet" with The_Honourables....

carry on. As you were.

Postby rfari » September 11th, 2015, 9:56 pm

Reflecting on the cabinet positions. Classic 4-3-2-1.
Ppl worried about imbert's ability to handle the finance ministry but its the delivery of the findings in the ministry and the overall expenditure in all the ministries that is important.
Al wari and young are the wingers-attacking mids in the ag office. They have their workload cut out for them and will be called to 'put it in de sauce' from time to time.
Growley in the defensive mid in the centre controlling the tempo of the game in front of the defence with shamfa on the left flank and rambarath on the right flank with avinash overlapping from the right back position. Deyalsingh is left back while Dillon is first stopper. Goalie/sweeper is marlene. Hind in last stopper position