The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 17th, 2015, 6:58 pm

Got my hands on a G2 today.
Got the SIM cut and everything and installed fine.

Only problem is that sometimes when I try to make calls, it dials with no ringtone and takes like 15 seconds for the dial tone to kick in and to actually call. Sometimes it works normal and it calls instantly. During these calling issues as well, text messages fail to send.
However the phone receives calls and texts perfectly.

Tried a factory restore but it only worked for a while before going back to doing the same thing.

Any suggestions on what might be causing this problem???
It's pretty annoying actually.

EDIT: It's not receiving any calls now. It just goes straight to voice mail and it stays without the dial tone now until the call drops :?
Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on August 17th, 2015, 7:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » August 17th, 2015, 7:07 pm

What is the original network for the g2 you got?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 17th, 2015, 7:16 pm

It's an unlocked AT&T version

Postby pete » August 17th, 2015, 7:39 pm

Similar thing happens with mine when I have very poor reception.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 17th, 2015, 7:40 pm

Really?
Studying if to go to bmobile tommz and ask for a sim :/

Postby pete » August 17th, 2015, 7:49 pm

I doubt it would be the sim card. Isn't that just used for initial verification and registration on the network and once it's not removed the account doesn't have to be accessed?

It does happen on my phone. Maybe not 15 seconds but it sometimes sticks on Dialing before "Call Forward Conditional is enabled" pops up and the call goes through.

Postby pete » August 17th, 2015, 7:52 pm

Also, if it's not upgraded to lollipop then don't bother to do it. You lose a lot of nice features with the AT&T phone on lollipop like the wifi drive and brightness slider.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 17th, 2015, 8:11 pm

LG released Lollipop for the G2 yet???

Hasn't even prompted me for it as yet.
Haven't tried back the phone yet though. Really hoping that nothing isn't wrong with it.

EDIT: Just tried it and it's doing the same thing. Not even calling or receiving calls now :cry:

Now it says the network isnt available whenever I try to call but the phone clearly shows that it's connected to it :|

Postby stev » August 17th, 2015, 8:42 pm

boy its a G2 u talking about there inno...custom rom all the way.

Postby pete » August 17th, 2015, 8:43 pm

The unlocked AT&T phones don't get prompted to update OTA. You need to root the phone and flash the lollipop rom. I did it and wasn't happy with some things they removed. A lot of people weren't happy with it.

Postby cinco » August 17th, 2015, 8:47 pm

pete wrote:Also, if it's not upgraded to lollipop then don't bother to do it. You lose a lot of nice features with the AT&T phone on lollipop like the wifi drive and brightness slider.

WiFi drive is da troof. Can't lose that. Brightness slider doesn't bother me

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2015, 4:24 am

most likely selling my g2 or giving it away. not impressed with where android is going with lollipop. gonna give windows phone a try.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 18th, 2015, 9:02 am

S_2NR wrote:most likely selling my g2 or giving it away. not impressed with where android is going with lollipop. gonna give windows phone a try.

Better to keep as a backup.

What you looking at next?

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk

Postby pete » August 18th, 2015, 9:52 am

If you giving it away I'll take it :)

What price you looking for?

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2015, 1:29 pm

pete wrote:If you giving it away I'll take it :)

What price you looking for?

If a family member doesn't snatch it up first and I like the lumia (which is a big IF) ..I'm really not sure how much. Whatever is reasonable like maybe 1k with the cases and ghost armor screen protector with lifetime warranty at West mall installed.

Order a lumia 640 to try the platform. Would have it next week. Will update

I also have a moto x and g. Both first gens lying around. People borrow it and give it back and I'm not quite sure where it is lol

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 18th, 2015, 2:15 pm

Google announces OnHub, a $200 router focused on simplicity

Coming August 31st for $199.99

https://on.google.com/hub/

Postby pete » August 18th, 2015, 2:16 pm

Thinking to get the new moto g actually. This LG is too fragile. seems any little thing I do it has a problem and the screen I bought for it has started to unstick from the frame.

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2015, 3:57 pm

pete wrote:Thinking to get the new moto g actually. This LG is too fragile. seems any little thing I do it has a problem and the screen I bought for it has started to unstick from the frame.

Hold off till next week.
PM me your number and I'll contact u first if I'm selling.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 18th, 2015, 4:48 pm

Well apparently my house is a dead zone.

Phone works if I step outside into the garage or go out.
In the house, calls don't go through and sometimes they don't come in...phone goes to voice mail.

Other cell phones work perfectly inside though.

Postby nervewrecker » August 18th, 2015, 4:53 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Well apparently my house is a dead zone.

Phone works if I step outside into the garage or go out.
In the house, calls don't go through and sometimes they don't come in...phone goes to voice mail.

Other cell phones work perfectly inside though.

Give away the house

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » August 18th, 2015, 9:36 pm

Need some help guys. Got my first android unit today...samsung s6. I talk to alot of ppl via whats app and i like to keep my chat history clean. I've been told that the deleted whats app messages can be restored by some means. Question is...is there any possible way to delete my whats app messages permanently so they cant be restored/ viewed by anyone?
Thanks.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 18th, 2015, 9:40 pm

Once you delete the WhatsApp message database in the folder WhatsApp Databases

You should see some msgcrypt files.

Just delete those and you'll be good

Cuz those can be easily decrypted using a program and lots of messages can be viewed , using that same method my padna and I figured out that his gf was cheating on him through her phones WhatsApp Database messages, only needed the phone for a few minutes to transfer across the databases .

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Postby RASC » August 18th, 2015, 9:53 pm

pete wrote:Thinking to get the new moto g actually. This LG is too fragile. seems any little thing I do it has a problem and the screen I bought for it has started to unstick from the frame.

New MotoG 2015...16gb w/2gb of ram... Under $250usd? Winning

Postby S_2NR » August 19th, 2015, 2:45 am

Lenovo took over Motorola and the support is now crap. Real crap. Would not recommend a Motorola to anyone

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » August 19th, 2015, 5:32 am

Bought an Asus zenfone 2..will give reviews when I get it.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » August 19th, 2015, 6:22 am

Mr.Bollywood wrote:Once you delete the WhatsApp message database in the folder WhatsApp Databases

You should see some msgcrypt files.

Just delete those and you'll be good

Cuz those can be easily decrypted using a program and lots of messages can be viewed , using that same method my padna and I figured out that his gf was cheating on him through her phones WhatsApp Database messages, only needed the phone for a few minutes to transfer across the databases .

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

I deleted the encrypted files just like you said.. hope it works. Thanks bro.

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2015, 5:49 pm

moto x 1st gen for sale with charger and box. mint.
takes nano sim. i dont have a cutter.
let me know if any of you guys interested. when i put stuff in misc it goes fast.

accepting offers. abroad currently.

also have a moto g 1st gen which i keep as a backup phone but might sell. not sure as i consider this still the best feeling moto g.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 27th, 2015, 3:34 pm

Anyone here has the LG G Pro 2???

How's the support for it from LG in terms of OS upgrades???

Postby Chimera » August 27th, 2015, 6:26 pm

How much a used g3 worth?

Postby M_2NR » August 27th, 2015, 7:35 pm

Study, this week, the LG G Flex 2 was $250.00 on eBay, new brand. I was reallll tempted :oops:

ABA, saw that for $280.00 refurb on ebay this week...