bluefete wrote:Heads of departments of UWI are not qualified to assess the competences and capabilities of local students who have been accepted to Harvard, Vanderbilt or Cambridge.
A bunch of dunces.
ruffneck_12 wrote:doing like they never get free text books from primary school to secondary, and financial support for their degree
Teach a man to fish, but the man begging for yacht
This generation rel entitled. If yuh er meet the requirements, yuh er meet the requirements.
RASC wrote:bluefete wrote:Heads of departments of UWI are not qualified to assess the competences and capabilities of local students who have been accepted to Harvard, Vanderbilt or Cambridge.
A bunch of dunces.
Wayyyy beyond their competency levels!
Mudboy wrote:Work for a few years and pay for yourself.........
Ted_v2 wrote:DE phoq. So who gives uwi their ceterfication? Somebody must pickup on that
Ted_v2 wrote:Boy is only so much help the government could help. It's sad to see such willing people be turned down for this but that's the way the cookie crumble.
So then, for example, if someone was accepted to do ‘PhD Psychology’ at a UK University, with research focused on Neuropsychology or Animal Behaviour, they would be rejected for a scholarship because UWI has ‘PhD Psychology’, even though UWI has no lecturers or facilities for Neuropsychology or studying animal behaviour?
Ans: Yes. It doesn’t matter whether or not the research can be supervised locally. Once the name in a local university is the same as the foreign university, you will be rejected for a scholarship to study away.
Mudboy wrote:Work for a few years and pay for yourself.........
Azzuri wrote:Ted_v2 wrote:Boy is only so much help the government could help. It's sad to see such willing people be turned down for this but that's the way the cookie crumble.
Another thing and I don't mean to sound like a critic, but nothing makes these girls inherently special or more deserving......yet.
Firstly, I highly doubt she was accepted into Cambridge for a PhD, although I can't say for sure all Cambridge's programs are the same, but most require you to do a UK masters first. Oxford is even more stringent requiring an Oxford only MSc before doing a PhD.
But regardless, if they're bright and motivated it shouldn't be this hard and i fully agree that this here is MAJOR BS.....you totally limit and stagnate any development or research potential of our locals by being so close minded.So then, for example, if someone was accepted to do ‘PhD Psychology’ at a UK University, with research focused on Neuropsychology or Animal Behaviour, they would be rejected for a scholarship because UWI has ‘PhD Psychology’, even though UWI has no lecturers or facilities for Neuropsychology or studying animal behaviour?
Ans: Yes. It doesn’t matter whether or not the research can be supervised locally. Once the name in a local university is the same as the foreign university, you will be rejected for a scholarship to study away.
zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:bluefete wrote:Heads of departments of UWI are not qualified to assess the competences and capabilities of local students who have been accepted to Harvard, Vanderbilt or Cambridge.
A bunch of dunces.
How much PNM give you for your skullarship bro
bluefete wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:bluefete wrote:Heads of departments of UWI are not qualified to assess the competences and capabilities of local students who have been accepted to Harvard, Vanderbilt or Cambridge.
A bunch of dunces.
How much PNM give you for your skullarship bro
Lemme tell you something Mr. ZR:
EVERYTHING I have in this life I worked for. My undergrad, grad, fellows, work experience here and abroad - no one did me any favours. I did not come from a rich family.
It was hard work and pure bad mind on my part.
That is why I could say what I have to say.
Notwithstanding, these young women, given what they have achieved, deserve some kind of financial support from the nation.
SMH, if they strike out on their own and another country recognizes their gifts, we vex.
nervewrecker wrote:Mudboy wrote:Work for a few years and pay for yourself.........
Beat me to it.
Life not fair, deal with it.
Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
steverandolph wrote:Interesting story, hope it turns out well for all involved, baytee in blue jeans could get it tho....just saying
Dizzy28 wrote:steverandolph wrote:Interesting story, hope it turns out well for all involved, baytee in blue jeans could get it tho....just saying
Seeing that she is married though!!