Rejected For Post-Graduate Government Scholarships.

Postby bluefete » August 15th, 2015, 2:51 pm

Just WoW!!!

https://www.facebook.com/Jendayi.r.a/po ... 00005487:0

Jendayi Rukiya Akanke with Cho Sundari
19 hrs · Edited ·

Applied and rejected for postgraduate government scholarships: An exploratio

Pictured: Top pic: Hannah (right) and me (left).

Applied and rejected for postgraduate government scholarships: An exploration
This is a short exploration of the scholarship application process. I’ll call it ‘Part 1’, because perhaps there may be a ‘Part 2’ with more suggestions and more explication. I very much want you to read this please, and share. Hannah and I both went to St. Augustine Girls’ High School (SAGHS).

We both graduated from the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine, with first class honours Psychology degrees, and we were both accepted to pursue postgraduate degrees in Education. She was accepted to Harvard University and Vanderbilt University in the U.S.A, to begin her M.Ed this year. I was accepted to Cambridge University in the U.K. to begin my PhD.

However, we were both rejected for government scholarships, being told that we did not meet the criteria to move forward in the selection process, to pursue those degrees and to do the research necessary to develop our Education system further. I was twice rejected for a scholarship to do research on helping develop secondary school education and student psychology through ICT because "It was noted that your chosen area of study Education, is considered a priority area which is needed for the development of our educational system.

However, the area of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) which is your proposed research focus, is not one of the priority areas for development." T&T spends millions on laptops, but it's apparently not a priority for the government to explore how to effectively implement usage of them in our schools…. But I firmly believe the work needs to be done to ensure the Caribbean isn’t ‘left behind’ as the world moves forward, and so I began raising funds to start the degree. (http://www.gofundme.com/FundJendayiKalifa)

Following her rejection for the scholarship, Hannah decided to explore options for self-funding as well. She contacted banks in Trinidad and Tobago with hopes of possibly sourcing a student loan. However, the only student loan she could find for international study was offered at a very high interest rate of 10-12%. Realizing that she could not self-fund her study at Harvard or Vanderbilt, even after having received a partial scholarship from one of those Universities, Hannah decided to change her study and research plans to what was available at the UWI, St. Augustine. She applied to do a Masters in Education at UWI, but UWI rejected her application because she was not a teacher. Frustrated, she said that after having had many great dreams for herself and for contributing to T&T development, she felt road-blocked at all turns, with the only option for success, regardless of talent, being either riches or knowing the right people.

Having been through much of the frustrations of trying to fund studies myself, I identified with the frustration she felt. Nonetheless, I was shocked at her experience. Why would UWI reject one of their own brilliant alumni when the top Universities in the world were happy to accept her? What criteria did she not meet in her scholarship application? What is the scholarship application process? I had several questions, and so I visited the Ministry of Public Administration, as well as the School of Education at UWI, to get some answers. Below are the questions asked, and the answers given (paraphrased)

(The Ministry of Public Administration)
Can someone be awarded a scholarship for an international degree with the same name as a local degree, even if the topic of study cannot be supervised locally or the courses offered away are not the same as the local courses?
Ans: No, they will not get the scholarship. Applications that list the name of the international degree, which is also the same name as a local degree, are not considered further. However, if the name of the international degree is strange, the committee will read the proposed research and determine if the application should be considered further.

So then, for example, if someone was accepted to do ‘PhD Psychology’ at a UK University, with research focused on Neuropsychology or Animal Behaviour, they would be rejected for a scholarship because UWI has ‘PhD Psychology’, even though UWI has no lecturers or facilities for Neuropsychology or studying animal behaviour?

Ans: Yes. It doesn’t matter whether or not the research can be supervised locally. Once the name in a local university is the same as the foreign university, you will be rejected for a scholarship to study away.

What happens after a scholarship application is received? Is there a committee that reviews them and who is this committee made up of?
Ans: All applications are reviewed by a committee of 7 to 8 experts. These experts review all applications from all fields and are made up of people like heads of department at UWI.

Can I find out the fields of expertise of these committee members?
Ans: No

I ask this because you listed on the priority areas that Educational Psychology was a priority focus for postgraduate research. My research was focusing on self-efficacy development using ICT in Education. Self-efficacy is a psychological concept, and someone in the field of Psychology should have known that my research was psychology. However, that fact was completely missed by the committee and they focused only on the ICT aspect and rejected my research as not being ‘Psychology’. Is there any way to find out the expertise of these committee members that evaluate all applications from all fields?
Ans: No.

Have any scholarships been awarded for postgraduate study as yet?
Ans: No. The scholarships will only be awarded after Cabinet next meets to approve them and a list of awardees will be published after that.

(Asked at the UWI School of Education)
Can someone be accepted to pursue postgraduate study in Education at UWI if they are not a teacher?
Ans: You need at least 5 years teaching experience to be accepted for postgraduate degrees here.

Well, I had spoken to two UWI lecturers about the possibility of doing my PhD research there. Neither mentioned that I’d have to be a teacher. But is it that had I applied for a PhD at UWI, I’d have been rejected?
Ans: Well, I think that your best bet is to try to get into Psychology for a PhD and see if the supervisors at Education will let you do a joint-supervision PhD. The programme here is really for teachers. However, you can try to apply. You got first class honours for your BSc. and have an MPhil, so maybe they will consider taking you on but give you some extra courses to do.

So, if I wanted to do a Bachelors in Education at UWI, will I be accepted?
Ans: No. You need to be a teacher to be accepted to do that too.

Thing is, UWI seems to focus on teacher training moreso than on other aspects of developing the education system… which can be as diverse as Economics, to Technology to Psychology… and so, people like me who either don’t get a scholarship because my degree didn’t have the right name, or perhaps just aren’t focusing on ‘priority issues’ (whichever reason you believe), are in a tough spot. People like Hannah are in a tough spot too… she’d have to possibly wait 6 years before having any shot at local study and research to develop our Educational system, despite being one of our most brilliant minds. The people I spoke to at the Ministry of Public admin said that they are reviewing their policy and there will be improvement at some point, but they did not indicate what those changes might be or when they might come into effect.

Please comment with your similar experiences.
-------------------
We're both pushing forward and working on other options-- not giving up on dreams for success.
To support me with my fundraising, please continue to hire me and help at Unit Trust Corporation, Kalifa Damani, Accnt #: 5148889 – 002 OR Paypal payment to kalifadamani@gmail.com OR at http://www.gofundme.com/FundJendayiKalifa

Re: Rejected For Post-Graduate Government Scholarships.

Postby bluefete » August 15th, 2015, 3:03 pm

I fully agree with you. These are the people who deserve to be supported financially because they will come back and help develop the country.

Postby bluefete » August 15th, 2015, 3:07 pm

Heads of departments of UWI are not qualified to assess the competences and capabilities of local students who have been accepted to Harvard, Vanderbilt or Cambridge.

A bunch of dunces.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 15th, 2015, 4:48 pm

To much of " I know Mr someone in a position" in this country .
they put their friends and family in places they don't deserve.

Postby RASC » August 15th, 2015, 7:03 pm

bluefete wrote:Heads of departments of UWI are not qualified to assess the competences and capabilities of local students who have been accepted to Harvard, Vanderbilt or Cambridge.

A bunch of dunces.

Wayyyy beyond their competency levels!

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 15th, 2015, 8:00 pm

doing like they never get free text books from primary school to secondary, and financial support for their degree

Teach a man to fish, but the man begging for yacht

This generation rel entitled. If yuh er meet the requirements, yuh er meet the requirements.

Postby ismithx » August 15th, 2015, 9:18 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:doing like they never get free text books from primary school to secondary, and financial support for their degree

Teach a man to fish, but the man begging for yacht

This generation rel entitled. If yuh er meet the requirements, yuh er meet the requirements.

i think you should have read the article

Postby Ted_v2 » August 15th, 2015, 11:03 pm

Boy is only so much help the government could help. It's sad to see such willing people be turned down for this but that's the way the cookie crumble.

zdeternal

Postby zdeternal » August 16th, 2015, 7:36 am

I have had similar experiences... and empathize with their situation.... my solution.. strike out on your own...I had/have no money or rich family/patriarch... it was/is hard, but when you become established.. the same gov't (hopefully) will beg you to do consultancy work... then you stick it to them...!!!

Postby zoom rader » August 16th, 2015, 7:40 am

RASC wrote:
bluefete wrote:Heads of departments of UWI are not qualified to assess the competences and capabilities of local students who have been accepted to Harvard, Vanderbilt or Cambridge.

A bunch of dunces.

How much PNM give you for your skullarship bro

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » August 16th, 2015, 8:46 am

Work for a few years and pay for yourself.........

Daran

Postby Daran » August 16th, 2015, 9:13 am

Firstly, i think this government scholarship is and has always been run by idiots.

I too applied for a post grad scholorship in an engineering related field, got accepted into Imperial College, but was denied for exactly the same reason.....they have the course in UWI.

No offense to UWI, their BScs are fine. But when I compared ONE of Imperial's courses to that offered in UWI's MSc..........this is no exaggeration, but what was covered in one imperial course covered, was spread across 4 UWI courses........meaning it seemed Imperial's course contained more content and went more indepth....that four UWI courses.........UWI's course content was way to generalized and outdated. Oh and UWI's MSc had 8 of these so called courses, while Imperial offered 9.......so saying UWI's MSc are comparable to a first world MSc is like comparing SEA Math to A level Math.

And it gets even worse, my friend who did his MSc in Stats at Oxford, literally fell of his chair in shock when he compared his Oxford MSc to UWI's MSc in Stats.......he said one course at Oxford contained more content and was far more rigorous that what UWI offered for their entire Masters in Statistics program.

No wonder every man jack have a MSc and MBA (don't get me started on those) in Trinidad....

If we had a forward thinking government, we'd stop wasting money giving local scholarships when GATE is already MORE than sufficient. And instead, award a lot more post-grad scholarships to deserving students.........and also......never give full scholarships...fund the tuition only, let these students understand the value of money so they full appreciate it.

I worked my ass off and saved for 6 years, took the expensive student load that these girls bad mouth, and went the UK to do my MSc.

Top UK (Russel Group) and USA MBAs (top 50 school)......are life changing and push you hard academically. It's only then you realize what was called smart in UWI, is merely middle of the pack.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 16th, 2015, 9:26 am

Mudboy wrote:Work for a few years and pay for yourself.........

This is what I was thinking, they pursuing qualifications in educated related fields but can only see from a student's point of view as they have no teaching experience.

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » August 16th, 2015, 9:49 am

UWI's degrees and masters programs are certainly a joke. When I did chemical engineering at UWI, I was told, our program was as good if not better than the top ones in the UK, and that ICE (Institution of Chemical Engineers) had high criteria for accreditation blah blah blah. When I left after for an MSc in the UK, I literally felt like I had no degree. These UK and EU kids new so much advanced math, chemistry knowledge, programming models etc. I couldn't believe the gap in knowledge between me and them, and I was fresh out of a UWI First Class Honors Chem Eng degree......I spent months trying to catch up to their level. I really question UWI's accreditation, or at least how they manage to achieve it when all their programs pale in comparison to foreign universities, and I don't mean the top ones, even the Venezuelan Chem & Petroleum engineers are taught and exposed to so many more things that we were at UWI.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 16th, 2015, 9:55 am

DE phoq. So who gives uwi their ceterfication? Somebody must pickup on that

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » August 16th, 2015, 10:04 am

Ted_v2 wrote:DE phoq. So who gives uwi their ceterfication? Somebody must pickup on that

No, UWI's programs are accredited. But what I'm saying, the gap between what we were taught compared to what the average engineering student in the UK or US are taught is vastly different. It seems they acheive accreditation by the skin of their teeth or gain points by trying to cram a 4 year syllabus into 3.

In most cases it's the similar content (especially year 1 and 2), but in UWI we're often spoonfed with questions repeating similarly over the years, or 'draft's being the order of the day. In the end, you can essentially breeze through by cramming and hardly understanding any of it at all. Whereas, the first world universities teach more up to date content, encourage independent work and provide a far more rigorous and challenging approach.

Engineering Math I & II in UWI are perfect examples, they're a cramming course that repeats the same style of questions every year, you can get an 80+ easily without much effort. The math level of these UK students were on an entirely different level and I honestly felt quite ashamed and embarrassed for even thinking I was good at math.

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » August 16th, 2015, 11:12 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Boy is only so much help the government could help. It's sad to see such willing people be turned down for this but that's the way the cookie crumble.

Another thing and I don't mean to sound like a critic, but nothing makes these girls inherently special or more deserving......yet.

Firstly, I highly doubt she was accepted into Cambridge for a PhD, although I can't say for sure all Cambridge's programs are the same, but most require you to do a UK masters first. Oxford is even more stringent requiring an Oxford only MSc before doing a PhD.

But regardless, if they're bright and motivated it shouldn't be this hard and i fully agree that this here is MAJOR BS.....you totally limit and stagnate any development or research potential of our locals by being so close minded.

So then, for example, if someone was accepted to do ‘PhD Psychology’ at a UK University, with research focused on Neuropsychology or Animal Behaviour, they would be rejected for a scholarship because UWI has ‘PhD Psychology’, even though UWI has no lecturers or facilities for Neuropsychology or studying animal behaviour?

Ans: Yes. It doesn’t matter whether or not the research can be supervised locally. Once the name in a local university is the same as the foreign university, you will be rejected for a scholarship to study away.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » August 16th, 2015, 1:59 pm

But she was getting a student loan (high interest rates) , why didn't she take it?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 16th, 2015, 3:40 pm

Same thing in Medicine too...only if you was Ramsewak relative or pay him a bribe then you getting anywhere.

Corrupt piece of sheit.

Postby nervewrecker » August 16th, 2015, 3:50 pm

Beat me to it.

Life not fair, deal with it.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Lance

Postby Lance » August 16th, 2015, 4:14 pm

Azzuri wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:Boy is only so much help the government could help. It's sad to see such willing people be turned down for this but that's the way the cookie crumble.

Another thing and I don't mean to sound like a critic, but nothing makes these girls inherently special or more deserving......yet.

Firstly, I highly doubt she was accepted into Cambridge for a PhD, although I can't say for sure all Cambridge's programs are the same, but most require you to do a UK masters first. Oxford is even more stringent requiring an Oxford only MSc before doing a PhD.

But regardless, if they're bright and motivated it shouldn't be this hard and i fully agree that this here is MAJOR BS.....you totally limit and stagnate any development or research potential of our locals by being so close minded.

The universities could have on offer a 1+3 scheme.

It is quite common for social science degrees.

The MPA scholarship selection process is very superficial. It is currently incapable of evaluating the match between development needs and research outcomes. You can't apply a taught based selection criteria to a research degree such as a PhD.

This is the point that the young lady was making.

Postby bluefete » August 16th, 2015, 4:24 pm

RASC wrote:

A bunch of dunces.

Lemme tell you something Mr. ZR:

EVERYTHING I have in this life I worked for. My undergrad, grad, fellows, work experience here and abroad - no one did me any favours. I did not come from a rich family.

It was hard work and pure bad mind on my part.

That is why I could say what I have to say.

Notwithstanding, these young women, given what they have achieved, deserve some kind of financial support from the nation.

SMH, if they strike out on their own and another country recognizes their gifts, we vex.

Postby zoom rader » August 16th, 2015, 5:05 pm

bluefete wrote:
RASC wrote:

A bunch of dunces.

Lemme tell you something Mr. ZR:

EVERYTHING I have in this life I worked for. My undergrad, grad, fellows, work experience here and abroad - no one did me any favours. I did not come from a rich family.

It was hard work and pure bad mind on my part.

That is why I could say what I have to say.

Notwithstanding, these young women, given what they have achieved, deserve some kind of financial support from the nation.

SMH, if they strike out on their own and another country recognizes their gifts, we vex.

Eh bro the questions was for RASC

Postby Gem_in_i » August 17th, 2015, 4:53 pm

Beat me to it.

Life not fair, deal with it.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

:!:

steverandolph

Postby steverandolph » August 17th, 2015, 5:58 pm

Interesting story, hope it turns out well for all involved, baytee in blue jeans could get it tho....just saying

steverandolph

Postby steverandolph » August 17th, 2015, 5:59 pm

Interesting story, hope it turns out well for all involved, baytee in blue jeans could get it tho....just saying

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2015, 4:23 am

trinidad is corrupt? what exciting news!

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » August 18th, 2015, 7:54 am

They have achieved their 1st degree via gate funding
Then get a job, save and take loan and do whatever program they want.

Many persons can get acceptance to IVY Colleges with honors degree.

why not study SAT and on their own and get a scholarship to go abroad via the IVY college themselves

In the 1990's it was 26,000 ttd per year and after 3 years it was 100,000 ttd loan and no job as yet.

in many eyes they already had a scholarship for their first degree- GATE sponsored

Postby Dizzy28 » August 18th, 2015, 10:00 am

steverandolph wrote:Interesting story, hope it turns out well for all involved, baytee in blue jeans could get it tho....just saying

Seeing that she is married though!!

Postby zoom rader » August 18th, 2015, 11:36 am

steverandolph wrote:Interesting story, hope it turns out well for all involved, baytee in blue jeans could get it tho....just saying

Seeing that she is married though!!

She married? so she man cant pay for she to UNI