desifemlove wrote:zoom rader wrote:So what you think about the general Lee
not above. I mentioned slavery. Doesn't mean I cannot call it out as wicked/savage, ent? General Lee was operating the era/values of his time, nd his Union enemies were no better.
Slartibartfast wrote:That's all just philosophical masturbation. A wonderful exercise in thought with practical application. Yes we cant state with certainty that anything exists, although we can't state with certainty anything doesn't exist. So far this proves my statement "can be wrong" which I already knew.
I want you to show that "it is wrong". Show me one scenario where what I have stated is wrong. Or develop your argument further to directly disprove what I have stated.
MD Marketers wrote:Technically speaking Desifemlove is the most correct in stating that Morality is purely subjective.
The reason why she is correct is because there is only 1 thing in this world we can prove truly exists and is therefore truly absolute.
This one thing makes Atheists look like hypocrites, Religious people smarter & Agnostics look like they are really the smartest.
The following is probably going to shock you & probably piss you off because no one can logically dispute it and it's the only real thing you will ever know. Everything else outside of this thing I'm about to show you is simply "Blind Faith".
The only thing you can know for certain is that your thoughts exist, because "you are aware, therefore your thoughts must exist"
take me for example (since I'm certain that I'm here and you might be figments of my imagination).
If I am the only thing that exists, and the Universe is My Oyster served on a figmental half-shell, then why cannot I be surrounded by beautiful houris who do nothing but peel me half-naked grapes (or peel me grapes, half-naked, better yet) at a whim? Why do I have to plod along typing this instead of just wishing the lines onto the page? You see, Solipsism alone isn't a sufficient axiom. I need more. I need axioms to explain why I sometimes hurt, why my eyes are gradually failing as I age, why I age, why bad things happen to me. Sometimes very bad indeed.
I also need axioms to explain why my perceptions of what is nearby are so limited, but my perceptions of what is going on thousands of miles away through the glass teat of a television tube are crystal clear, complex, different, and correspond perfectly to what I see when I visit Paris, the Parthenon, India. Why and how I manage to be some sort of split personality.
If all of this is a figment of ``my'' imagination, then I've successfully managed to split myself into at least two incredibly separate beings - the artist that is constantly making up the story that I find myself embedded in, and the audience (the ``me'' that is typing this on what appears to be a laptop computer obviously created by my artistic half). The watcher within that watches the watcher watching, so to speak. Since I never perceive the artist directly, how do I know that it is ``me''?
Altec55 wrote:the definition of good/bad you posted uses moral in it. however you want to define moral using good/bad. so right now you spinning top in mud. you like to offroad or what? lol
in any event, check out the following 2 scenarios.
1. subjective
if morality is subjective, then so is good and bad. why? because one day you can say something is good and next day, you can say it's bad. why? because you feel like it. therefore moral, good and bad really has no meaning because it always changes.
2. absolute
good and bad is defined and finite (in my case i use the Bible), therefore morals are based on what is good or bad (which don't change because you feel one way or the other).
until you have a solid unchangeable basis for good/bad, morals will always be subjective.
so for me, morals are absolute and not subjective.
that my view the the original post.
Altec55 wrote:ok, but how would you define good, bad and moral?
MD Marketers wrote:I never said I believe in solipsism.
I claimed solipsist have a valid point because we can only prove 1 absolute thing.
I am ready to defend that point, not solipsism.
You are claiming I am a solipsist because I agree with one of their point of views.
That is like saying I'm a Christian simply because I believe Christ died on a cross.
MD Marketers wrote:Altec55 wrote:ok, but how would you define good, bad and moral?
By repeating the words used in the English dictionary.
Altec55 wrote:MD Marketers wrote:Altec55 wrote:ok, but how would you define good, bad and moral?
By repeating the words used in the English dictionary.
ohhhh ok, well then it sounds like you'll have to stay stuck spinning top in mud...until a new meaning for good and bad are discovered.
Slartibartfast wrote:Here is my argument. I am going to break it down as simply as I can.
In my argument, the following words shall take on the meanings and context described below. I understand these words are general and can take on different meanings but I am aiming to streamline the argument and keep it simple.
HARM - Any injury/pain/discomfort that may be physical/emotional/mental etc.
BAD - Something that brings harm to someone or increases the effects of harm on people etc.
GOOD - Something that reduces the effects of harm on a person or a group of people.
RIGHT - An action made with intention to do something good
WRONG - An action made with intention to do something bad
My argument is that morality is not purely subjective.
My argument is that there is an underlying principle that acts as an objective underlying principle of morality (this then means that morality is not purely subjective.
The objective underlying principle can be summarised into the three following words
"DO NO HARM"
This simple phrase can be expanded to say "Do as little net harm as possible in the given situation".
Slartibartfast wrote:Directly disprove the following statement.
"Do as little net harm as possible in the given situation" is the objective underlying principle of morality.
Advent wrote:In case people dont want to read, watch this video of "md marketers" solipsistic position is complete BULLSH..T.............
What am I?
Logic is just a game:
1. You make the rules.
2. I agree.
3. We play.
4. Others watch, comment & decide who wins.
5. Sometimes we play it over again because we just can't admit defeat. Aka Typical Tuner.
That being said, let's play:
Game Over
Absolute Truth:
Questions:
A more detailed understanding of Logic:
X2 wrote:In some countries, water is harder to come by than a 40 year old virgin... but in others... we flush after every piss and brush our teeth with the tap on... In some African countries that would be morally wrong... but even in TnT... it's common place and no grounds for being appalled.Morally wrong to waste a rare but essential for life commodity. Wastage in where you speak of can mean somebody can very likely go without and you cannot live without water (can cause harm). In Trinidad there is no such consequence to flushing your toilet after every piss (extremely unlikely to cause harm)
Unfortunately most human decisions lead toward the 'immoral scale' from a holier than thou perspective (nobody suffers but the sinners)... but there are so many hypothetical situations.
Cancer treatment... from a simple standpoint... can be quite invasive, such as radiation. Too much and you kill both the patient and the cancer... too little and the cancer comes back.Not sure what this is meant to prove. Arguments needs further development
Prison system... people in jail for years for carrying a plant like substance, while others walking free after short sentences for violence, rape, murder, extortion.I think punishing a smoker (for smoking and possessing herbs only) as though they were are murderer or rapist causes more harm than letting them walk free or sending them to rehab. Therefore I believe this is morally wrong.
Was it morally wrong to drop the bomb on the Japs and not the Germans... or was it morally wrong to have NOT dropped it on the Germans to end the war. If they did, German wouldn't be Europe's financial darling as it is today.The following video discusses precisely that. Notice that they use the reasoning "Do as little net harm as possible" to argue their point.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BmIBbcxseXM
What if you have a family to protect and:
1) A scruffy looking stranger is approaching the front door... he's carrying a back pack and has an iPhone in his hand... should we shoot him ? HELL NO !!! Shooting him would cause more harm than not shooting him.
or
2) A scruffy looking stranger is approaching the front door... he's carrying a back pack and a loaded gun in his hand.... should we shoot him ? HELLS YES !!!You place a higher importance on the life of you and your family over the life of the stranger. From your perspective shooting the stranger would result in less net harm
What if I told you this wasn't Syria or Iraq... but Trinidad.
Would you shoot in either scenario ?The country is irrelevant. If I viewed the assailant as an immediate threat and I had the opportunity I would shoot without hesitation for the reason stated above.
And even if you did shoot... would you shoot for the head ?Centre mass... three times while moving out of the way. My aim is to neutralise the threat for the reasons stated above. I can miss if I try shooting for the head and if I hit I think it would be hard on his loved ones when they have to view the body to identify him/ at the funeral and they did not wrong to have to suffer that grief. That second point of course is my own point of view and another person may place zero importance on that. Given the situation, I owe nothing to the victim's family and choosing where I shoot him does not change the morality of the action of getting rid of the threat. If he dies or doesn't is not my concern. My only concern is that my family and I live for precisely the reasons stated earlier
Morality is flexible and can be a victim of circumstance.Yes I agree with this. I have agreed with this from the very beginning. Read over my argument.
teems1 wrote:Historic decision by the SCOTUS to legalize gay marriage across all states.
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2015-06-26/gay-marriage-legalized-nationwide-by-u-s-supreme-court-ibdovxv1
The religious conservative are probably fuming at the mouth
Slartibartfast wrote:
You keep making the claim:
This act is bad in all instances because it cannot be proven good in this instance.
This is an invalid argument for Objective Morality. The inference is invalid, therefore the conclusion is invalid. It cannot be put to the test of logical reasoning.
Here is an example of a proper argument for Objective morality:
This act is bad in all instances because it cannot be proven as good in any instance.
A listener can now attempt to prove you wrong by envisioning any hypothetical situation in relation to the act in question. If they are unable to envision such a scenario then your conclusion is objectively valid.