tyres

Re: tyres

Postby MG Man » May 19th, 2015, 10:46 am

call Jacks and see if they have it...the 205 50 15 not overly low though, so you should be ok

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 19th, 2015, 8:32 pm

Maxxis has my vote

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 19th, 2015, 10:30 pm

Captainzaak wrote:Gentlefolks,

I've been trying to play catch up in this thread but i not able na.

Trying to find some 215/45/17, the prices i've gotten from calling around so far is:

Roadstone, Triangle, Sailun - $450,
Nankang- $495
Dunlop DZ101- $740
Maxxis- $700

Tyres are for a 2012 Kia Cerato Koup, any recommendations?
Was looking for that exact size a couple months ago. 2 pages back:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=283418&start=1890#p8609401

Not sure of the prices now, but the Sumitomo Z3 and the DZ102 were good prices.

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » May 19th, 2015, 10:32 pm

MA-z1 yes. Max4s not as I hoped good tyre so far but expected more in terms of grip. Not dz101 bad but then Little mileage I can't tell until they are worked in

Postby cinco » May 20th, 2015, 7:30 am

GTi Guy wrote:MA-z1 yes. Max4s not as I hoped good tyre so far but expected more in terms of grip. Not dz101 bad but then Little mileage I can't tell until they are worked in

I've been using z4s daily and to dex for over a year. No complaints really for the price they are awesome I don't expect re11 type grip on a 500 dolla tyre

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » May 20th, 2015, 7:44 am

dredman1 wrote:Not sure of the prices now, but the Sumitomo Z3 and the DZ102 were good prices.

According to tirerack... the z3 marginally outperforms the dz102, but the dz has way better tread wear.

Postby MG Man » May 20th, 2015, 9:42 am

cinco wrote:
GTi Guy wrote:MA-z1 yes. Max4s not as I hoped good tyre so far but expected more in terms of grip. Not dz101 bad but then Little mileage I can't tell until they are worked in

I've been using z4s daily and to dex for over a year. No complaints really for the price they are awesome I don't expect re11 type grip on a 500 dolla tyre

if I doh sell de F by time tyres ready to change (2-3 years from now), I'ma try de Maxxis

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 20th, 2015, 11:51 am

Big Z wrote:
dredman1 wrote:Not sure of the prices now, but the Sumitomo Z3 and the DZ102 were good prices.

According to tirerack... the z3 marginally outperforms the dz102, but the dz has way better tread wear.
Very true. I've only heard good things about the D102.

OP has to make a choice between performance and longevity between the 2. Also not entirely sure of both prices now.

If the Z3 went back up to the pre-sale price, that would complicate the decision.

One thing to note with the Z3 is that it is asymmetrical, whereas the DZ102 is directional. Thus you have more tyre rotating options with the DZ102 (front to back, left to right and vice versa), than you do with the Z3 (front to back and vice versa only).

Postby cinco » May 20th, 2015, 9:45 pm

cinco wrote:

if I doh sell de F by time tyres ready to change (2-3 years from now), I'ma try de Maxxis

I actually considering the dz102 or htrz2 if I can get them in 15s. At around 500 a pop and a year use I can live with that

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » May 22nd, 2015, 1:31 am

cinco wrote:

I've done less than 100km on them so I may have been too critical too soon

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » May 22nd, 2015, 7:58 am

You are still driving on casing material at this point. Report back in after say 1000km

Postby MG Man » May 22nd, 2015, 9:10 am

cinco wrote:

I actually considering the dz102 or htrz2 if I can get them in 15s. At around 500 a pop and a year use I can live with that

well you've seen them on my car, and Jack's always has stocks....and I love that no-hassle damage warranty...just remember to keep your bill

Postby cinco » May 22nd, 2015, 9:45 am

cinco wrote:

well you've seen them on my car, and Jack's always has stocks....and I love that no-hassle damage warranty...just remember to keep your bill

Good thing I told you about the warranty. :p

Postby MG Man » May 22nd, 2015, 10:02 am

yup...I owe yew a hug and a kiss for that

Postby X_Factor » May 22nd, 2015, 7:21 pm

saw the 102's in a tire shop in the st augustine area for 550 a pop
is that the average price?

Postby MG Man » May 23rd, 2015, 12:06 pm

Yup. Pretty much

Milkman45

Postby Milkman45 » May 23rd, 2015, 3:16 pm

Where in st Augustine xfactor

Postby X_Factor » May 23rd, 2015, 4:30 pm

college road, south side
the tire shop before college bar
i believe it was 195/50 or 55/15
free balance etc

Milkman45

Postby Milkman45 » May 24th, 2015, 3:45 pm

O ok. I runnin 205 though. But I'll still check them

Postby cinco » May 25th, 2015, 8:21 pm

i always suggest tyre clinic for dunlops just because of their warranty program.

Nick_2NR

Postby Nick_2NR » June 1st, 2015, 3:31 pm

Where in Central have the Dunlop DZ102 for that average price? ($550.)
Tyre Clinic have it for $700. just called

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 1st, 2015, 3:39 pm

Best summer tyre for $750-800 225/45/r17?

Postby X_Factor » June 1st, 2015, 3:53 pm

Nick_2NR wrote:Where in Central have the Dunlop DZ102 for that average price? ($550.)

i was in debe over the weekend and the rim/tire shop right next to the regional coperation ( not sure of the name)
they told me 475.00 for one--195/55/15

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » June 1st, 2015, 5:38 pm

Nick_2NR wrote:Where in Central have the Dunlop DZ102 for that average price? ($550.)

Tire clinic in couva or chag?

aidan

Postby aidan » June 2nd, 2015, 10:21 am

I need a set of 255-55-18, any recommendations?

Postby MG Man » June 2nd, 2015, 10:26 am

Kalisnakov wrote:

they should both have similar stock, but I bought my set in Couva

Postby cinco » June 2nd, 2015, 3:33 pm

Kalisnakov wrote:

same company same prices

Postby cinco » June 2nd, 2015, 3:33 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Best summer tyre for $750-800 225/45/r17?

Dz102 or sumitomo htrz3 tyre clinic

Nick_2NR

Postby Nick_2NR » June 2nd, 2015, 3:51 pm

Kalisnakov wrote:

Called Couva, think other branches will have the same prices. I asked for sale price and they said the DZ102 is $700 sale price lol

Nick_2NR

Postby Nick_2NR » June 2nd, 2015, 3:52 pm

Where have the DZ102 at best price??