Foreign Used (Abused??) Tyres

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 12th, 2015, 6:58 am

Interesting video for those who may not be aware of scams in the used tyre industry.

TTBS has tyre engineers on its inspection staff?

link

Re: Foreign Used (Abused??) Tyres

Postby link » March 12th, 2015, 7:27 am

that also took off the treadwear indicators...a giveaway indication of tampering........
why we pay money -scarce foreign currency- to import other ppl rubbish...& don't hve the qualified inspectorate to ensure unscrupulous scalpers don't willfully endanger motorists' lives..???
it's a mystery ....

Postby j.o.e » March 12th, 2015, 7:50 am

That might be the practice in that country..but I've never seen a used tyre locally with that kind of tampering...that's super obvious imo

Postby dougla_boy » March 12th, 2015, 7:52 am

only mystery is who eating ah food........which i am sure....some people know.

Postby MG Man » March 12th, 2015, 8:07 am

been buying f/used for solodex for years...once you know what to look for, you can find some amazing deals....never seen re-groved tyres yet

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2015, 8:12 am

our market don't such high end demand
we buying any crap they send, no need to look like new, lol

the bigger issue is tire age, I bought a foreign used car a couple years ago
the foreign used dealers usually remove the tires that were shipped with the car
and replace with whatever foreign used junk they get, possibly locally
from the date codes, tire ages were 9, 6,4,3 years old.....

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 12th, 2015, 8:44 am

MG Man wrote:been buying f/used for solodex for years...once you know what to look for, you can find some amazing deals....never seen re-groved tyres yet

Same here,a buddy of mine brings selected Japanese used Michelin tyres an Dunlop like new.

Advent

Postby Advent » March 12th, 2015, 10:08 am

anyone know the hardstyle song in the background ?

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » March 12th, 2015, 11:30 am

Saw this being done by Balliram H & K Recapping

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » March 12th, 2015, 11:39 am

Yup tire dealers in south doin dat..den dey hittin d tire a coat of some black stuff that works like silicone oil..and sellin it normal normal

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 12th, 2015, 11:51 am

Advent wrote:anyone know the hardstyle song in the background ?

Darude-Sandstorm

Postby black start » March 12th, 2015, 12:46 pm

if i buying fu tyres, i alway select my own. that way I'm sure i getting decent rubber.

but as of recently fu tyre prices just becoming ridiculous, imagine paying $250 for a 14" tyre. might as well put a lil more and get a new tyre..

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 12th, 2015, 1:44 pm

fu tires is fuh sufferers

Sundar

Postby Sundar » March 12th, 2015, 2:20 pm

TurboSingh12 wrote:
MG Man wrote:been buying f/used for solodex for years...once you know what to look for, you can find some amazing deals....never seen re-groved tyres yet

Same here,a buddy of mine brings selected Japanese used Michelin tyres an Dunlop like new.

where is this :?:

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 12th, 2015, 2:35 pm

Sundar wrote:
TurboSingh12 wrote:

where is this :?:

Dont know the name but its located in Williamville.

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » March 12th, 2015, 3:14 pm

Main Road, Arouca. I have seen a guy using a manual tool to re groove used tyres.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » March 12th, 2015, 4:22 pm

Kiro_lee wrote:Main Road, Arouca. I have seen a guy using a manual tool to re groove used tyres.

Saw the same thing in a tyre shop in Rio Claro

ralex

Postby ralex » March 12th, 2015, 5:59 pm

^ there was a tyre shop in tunapuna opposite turban building, saw the guy doing the same. He closed down, and move to rio wondering if is the same person.

Postby black start » March 12th, 2015, 7:08 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:fu tires is fuh sufferers

my bank acct. confirms... :|

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » March 12th, 2015, 7:34 pm

ron_28 wrote:
Kiro_lee wrote:Main Road, Arouca. I have seen a guy using a manual tool to re groove used tyres.

Saw the same thing in a tyre shop in Rio Claro

which tyre shop in rio?

Postby K74T » March 12th, 2015, 7:44 pm

a

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » March 12th, 2015, 8:32 pm

A
.... That's all I'm saying

Postby X_Factor » March 12th, 2015, 8:56 pm

re grooving tires isnt something new...at least 12yrs ago a partner had a tire shop and the taxi drivers would drop their tires to re-groove..so thats nothing new

and once you know what to look for on the f.used tires --mainly DOM, thread wear indicator, country of manufacture and type of tire..... i really do not see anything wrong with them
they are probably even better than half of those chinese tires they selling locally

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 12th, 2015, 11:46 pm

Where do you get decent used ones MG?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 13th, 2015, 2:27 am

re-grooving has been done for many many years before we were born...

Postby r3iXmann » March 13th, 2015, 3:24 am

so hear this bright idea... allyuh ready? :mrgreen:

don't buy? :|

Postby X_Factor » March 13th, 2015, 6:39 am

NR8 wrote:

you have to shop around, couple years ago chippy's and johns were the place to check but now there are many more dealers who sharing a container and bringing tires
what i do, i dont go looking when the tires are in dire need of changing...a couple mths before i start looking so if i have the time and i pass a shop i may stop and check what they have
if they good...i'll just buy and put them down till i ready

Postby SMc » March 13th, 2015, 7:12 am

New tyre crew checking in here...just changed my Front tyres yesterday did 18500 miles (about 30,000 KM) on them (yay) Back still looking very good. Cant imagine going back to FU
Last edited by SMc on March 13th, 2015, 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 13th, 2015, 8:29 am

Three things to never ever skimp on or let price be your ultimate deciding factor - Brakes, engine oil and tires. Always go stock or better. If you can't afford it then you can't afford to use your car.

Only time I would say you could buy used tires is if you riding a motorcycle cuz new tires only last 3 months and used last about a month. Because the turnover of motorcycle tires is much higher, the used tires you get are much younger so the rubber still grips pretty well.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » March 13th, 2015, 10:25 am

X_Factor wrote:
NR8 wrote:

you have to shop around, couple years ago chippy's and johns were the place to check but now there are many more dealers who sharing a container and bringing tires
what i do, i dont go looking when the tires are in dire need of changing...a couple mths before i start looking so if i have the time and i pass a shop i may stop and check what they have
if they good...i'll just buy and put them down till i ready

Second, when I had the Altis, I used to look for tyres of the same brand and type as I had before I actually needed them. When I passing I usually stop in and see what the different shops have.

There are some really good f'used to be found as I've used them for four years without a problem. Much better traction than those new Chinese tyres and I've gotten 30,000kms out of a pair of $180 225/45-18 Dunlop f'used that I kept on the rear wheels of the car.