The *Official* [IDIOT DRIVER OF THE DAY] Thread

Re: The *Official* [IDIOT DRIVER OF THE DAY] Thread

Postby Chimera » February 19th, 2015, 11:05 pm

That officer have realll patience dred. If that was rollingstock u done getting ure head slam on d bonnet and kick up in yuh chest.

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » February 19th, 2015, 11:12 pm

Morpheus wrote:Officer is correct. Outer lane can take all exits......

Think about it. The car in the inner lane has to cross a lane(outer lane) to get off the roundabout. It's you(inner lane) that has to be careful and indicate properly.

It's always a live and let live on dual lane roundabouts.

You learn something. Good video to educate the masses. Allyuh hearing it from the Occifer's mouth.

Question: in computerman's vid on rivulet roundabout (when the xtrail come out) the roundabout layout is exactly the same as this… 3 exits, 2 lanes to single lanes on all exits. I saw most saying that if he were to take the outside lane, as one person was strongly suggesting he should've done, he would then need to take the first exit. Why is that logic different here? Not looking for any fight down talk, not looking to "die right". I just want to know so next time I'm not the one they stopping. Cuz up until now, I've always gone into that right lane to go straight & never in the left. I don't block out people if they in the left but I've always thought that to be wrong. If this is the case, that right lane usually has more traffic so I'll be in the left lane from now on.

Postby rollingstock » February 19th, 2015, 11:14 pm

Lol I only ever did that once and funnily enough was by Mon Repos roundabout.

Postby Morpheus » February 19th, 2015, 11:16 pm

Left lane can go right around if he wants. LoL in fact both lanes can. It's just that when whoever is on the inner lane wants to get off the roundabout, he is the one that actually has to cross a lane to get out, therefore he has to indicate and be mindful of the vehicle in the outer lane.

That very same drive at that very roundabout, I take the left lane to go across. Same scenario at Trincity roundabout...

Postby black start » February 19th, 2015, 11:19 pm

lol, guy on the outside lane was in the right! YOU have to cross HIS lane to exit pal.

hondablood

Postby hondablood » February 19th, 2015, 11:28 pm

if yuh driving that suspicious looking 14 in yuh avatar thats why you get stop and the other man get ah bligh

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » February 19th, 2015, 11:29 pm

Thing is, I always thought of it as the left lane not being able to go more than half the roundabout since that would mean "blocking" any inner lane vehicle from exiting freely. & the whole reason for "right of way to those on the right" would be to allow for inner lane vehicles to exit with ease.

Wrt the officers' patience, I honestly wasn't trying to be an annoyance. I figured I'd get him to see what I was saying & then explain further the proper use so I won't have to resort to tuner & mixed info cuz the Internet only shows 2 lane to 2 lane (or more) roundabouts.

Postby Hook » February 19th, 2015, 11:29 pm

I wish we could drive with a "nah, you go first buddy" mentality, instead of this "AYE YUH WRONG BOY! LEMMIH PASS!" approach we've adopted.

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » February 19th, 2015, 11:37 pm

[quote=]lol, guy on the outside lane was in the right! YOU have to cross HIS lane to exit pal.[/quote]

This is not directed to the quoted person:
Let's say in a scenario where the person in the left lane (since he can essentially take any exit he chooses as suggested by others) decides that he's turning right while the inner lane person wants to exit straight. Is the person on the inner lane wrong for cutting across the outer lane? OR is the outer lane person wrong for impeding the traffic flow of the inner lane by driving across the exit path?

The logic of them having to be in different lanes is now mute since both lanes, as stated by you all, can make full 360deg if they so choose.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » February 19th, 2015, 11:39 pm

I dus low ppl eh but when a man wanna play he rushin n dipping headlight, i dus keep driving cus afaik, dippin lights means "come thru padna" and not "bai i more bz thsn anything...lemme pass" ...

Postby Morpheus » February 19th, 2015, 11:57 pm

GTcruzer wrote:the whole reason for "right of way to those on the right" would be to allow for inner lane vehicles to exit with ease.

Oh that's your problem dey. That right of way you speaking of is for vehicles (approaching from the right) already on the roundabout that you are trying to enter. You have to give them right of way before you enter the roundabout.

It is not for 2 vehicles already on a roundabout. You misinterpret the whole rule...

*Regs need to be a CXC subject I feel oui...

alex jj

Postby alex jj » February 20th, 2015, 2:25 pm

i feel the next bike man went after the other driver..all d man try telling u is to take yuh time an allow d russians, plus d man didn't really rush you.. he was on another lane and u had to cut across

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 20th, 2015, 7:27 pm

So a driver on the inside Lane will always see pressure to exit. ... That doesn't make any sense. You have to give way to drivers on the right when approaching and on the roundabout
If anything in the video I see outta place is that the driver on the outside Lane get so far ahead of you. ... challenging him made no sense

Read the highway code

Postby rollingstock » February 20th, 2015, 7:43 pm

^ You need some common sense and need to do over your regs if you honestly believe that sheit that you just spewed.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 20th, 2015, 8:29 pm

Can you read..?

Postby rollingstock » February 20th, 2015, 8:39 pm

You have any fcuking common sense? Why the fcuk would a driver have to give way for another vehicle on the right whilst on the roundabout? Yuh talking a bag of ass.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 20th, 2015, 8:50 pm

That driver who was on the outside Lane was supposed to take the next exit... There wasn't suppose to even be near miss. .. and I uphold that on a roundabout drivers on the right have right of way.

Postby brams112 » February 20th, 2015, 8:52 pm

The police should have watched the video,then charged that idiot the full Monty for reckless driving,the works,my understanding of a roundabout is,left lane turns LEFT around the roundabout,right lane keeps right around the roundabout,correct me if I am wrong,stock.

Postby brams112 » February 20th, 2015, 8:58 pm

kamakazi wrote:That driver who was on the outside Lane was supposed to take the next exit... There wasn't suppose to even be near miss. .. and I uphold that on a roundabout drivers on the right have right of way.

The lane he was in he was supposed to go around on the right,not keep right,then pull left,as for drivers on the right having the right of way,that is for entering the flow of traffic as far as I know.

Postby rollingstock » February 20th, 2015, 9:02 pm

This kamakazi fella will live up to his name and just ram into people causing death, destruction and mayhem.

Actually brams it isn't that simple, each roundabout is different but once you adhere to simple guidelines it wouldn't be a difficult prospect to navigate. (edit:this is in relation to the first question not your reply to kamakrazy)

With everything mentioned a driver on the right can still turn left just when safe to do so, the important thing is to plan your drive ahead and get in the proper lane to minimize disruption to other road users.

Like in the instance of the video, the OP is 'right in a way' the driver of the wagon should not have entered the roundabout but yielded to the traffic to his right (the op) but where there is a dual lane roundabout and the op occupied the inside lane the outer lane was empty and the driver of the wagon was free to enter the roundabout, and did the right thing as he was exiting left, the op also wanted to exit at the same place and should have yielded to the wagon.

Some people think that occupying the roundabout first gives them the authority to do anything they want, it isn't so.
Last edited by rollingstock on February 20th, 2015, 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » February 20th, 2015, 9:03 pm

Allyuh getting it confused......

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » February 20th, 2015, 9:06 pm

Simplest thing is to always keep on the outside lane in a roundabout

Postby rollingstock » February 20th, 2015, 9:09 pm

Sheit just rewatched the vid, the wagon didn't enter from the left, he was abreast GTcruzer, dan you wrong as hell.

Postby Spitfir3 » February 20th, 2015, 9:10 pm

question to the guise who know..regarding the price plaza roundabout...lettuce say you coming from a northern direction and goin "round d bout" and heading towards Endevour/langepark side, my question is can you use both lanes if you're going that way? ...i know most people use the inner lane to head that direction while guys use the outter lane to proceed towards movietown ....then i see some guys using either or

also that police who stop gtcruzer pretty calm and understanding, some police would've done slap yuh dong for answering back but that guy seemed to just be looking out for YOUR well being while you busy trying to be Mr. Right...oh and the point he was trying to make is whether you were right or wrong things can escalate quickly so is better to be patiented before you get stabbed or shot for a very stupid reason

Postby brams112 » February 20th, 2015, 9:15 pm

rollingstock wrote:This kamakazi fella will live up to his name and just ram into people causing death, destruction and mayhem.

Actually brams it isn't that simple, each roundabout is different but once you adhere to simple guidelines it wouldn't be a difficult prospect to navigate. (edit:this is in relation to the first question not your reply to kamakrazy)

With everything mentioned a driver on the right can still turn left just when safe to do so, the important thing is to plan your drive ahead and get in the proper lane to minimize disruption to other road users.

Like in the instance of the video, the OP is 'right in a way' the driver of the wagon should not have entered the roundabout but yielded to the traffic to his right (the op) but where there is a dual lane roundabout and the op occupied the inside lane the outer lane was empty and the driver of the wagon was free to enter the roundabout, and did the right thing as he was exiting left, the op also wanted to exit at the same place and should have yielded to the wagon.

Some people think that occupying the roundabout first gives them the authority to do anything they want, it isn't so.

Hear this,the driver in the video,if he knew he was going to turn left,wasn't he suppose to keep left on entering the roundabout,to turn left,so he would have ended up following the wagon,then continue on his way?because it seems he came from the same direction as the other guy?

Postby Morpheus » February 20th, 2015, 9:25 pm

RS, just the fact that it's dual lane to enter the roundabout as well as dual lane on the roundabout itself is what confuses people...

Postby rollingstock » February 20th, 2015, 9:38 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:question to the guise who know..regarding the price plaza roundabout...lettuce say you coming from a northern direction and goin "round d bout" and heading towards Endevour/langepark side, my question is can you use both lanes if you're going that way? ...i know most people use the inner lane to head that direction while guys use the outter lane to proceed towards movietown ....then i see some guys using either or

In that scenario, either, but in that instance there is a filter lane to the left to go to movietown, so that will place vehicles entering the roundabout on the right lane, and in keeping with that you maintain that and enter the roundabout on the right or inner lane and filter off when safe to exit, BUT seeing as it's a dual roundabout nothing is wrong with entering on the outside lane if you want to exit to go Lange park etc as it would be the simpler drive.

And wrt to this particular roundabout if common sense is used, there are 3 exits;
1 is to go movietowne which has it's own filter lane so we disregard that.
2 To proceed to lange park area, I would advise keep to the outside lane to minimize disruption to traffic.
3. to go to the flyover, keep to the inner lane and filter across when safe.

brams112 wrote:
rollingstock wrote:This kamakazi fella will live up to his name and just ram into people causing death, destruction and mayhem.

Hear this,the driver in the video,if he knew he was going to turn left,wasn't he suppose to keep left on entering the roundabout,to turn left,so he would have ended up following the wagon,then continue on his way?because it seems he came from the same direction as the other guy?

Yep.

Morpheus wrote:RS, just the fact that it's dual lane to enter the roundabout as well as dual lane on the roundabout itself is what confuses people...

And it shouldn't.

Postby Spitfir3 » February 20th, 2015, 10:06 pm

^wrd, how you described it is exactly how i do my drive because like yuh say common sense that would be the easiest way but i just wanted to make sure

Postby Dizzy28 » February 20th, 2015, 10:15 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Several issues with your vid and that roundabout -
1. From the direction you coming from there are arrows painted on the ground there, the right lane has a right turning arrow on the ground for right turning traffic going to the highway and the the left lane is for those going around the roundabout
2. You were on the right lane and the other guy was on your left so I would think you have right of way as it is a roundabout

kamakazi wrote:Car on the right has right of way

No wonder there's a whole thread for idiot drivers. It's a dual lane roundabout, the inside lane which he was in has to cross the outside lane to make the drive he did, the car on the outside lane has the option of turning left there OR proceeding straight.

This is so simple and yet people get it wrong, anyway anticipating a long winded reply by the ignoramuses trying to defend it.

Not trying to defend but understand.......what about the arrows painted on the lanes entering that roundabout?? The left lane has left turn arrow, the right lane has straight arrows. Should not anyone wanting to utilise the roundabout to go either around or continue straight like OP and the wagon be on the left lane??
Last edited by Dizzy28 on February 20th, 2015, 10:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 20th, 2015, 10:16 pm

So let me get this straight ....are some of you saying that the op wrong for taking that exit?? And that because he entered on the right he has to make the rounds like he going back the way he came.... with that logic I coming with a hope and a prayer....bless