2015 Corolla vs Cerato vs Elantra Etc

optimisticcharlie

2015 Corolla vs Cerato vs Elantra Etc

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 5th, 2015, 10:03 am

Ok guys we can safely agree that our local new car dealers are high priced but im sure some of you all have bought at least one or two of these vehicles, wanna hear ur views on the vehicles thanks in advance.

Picasso

Re: 2015 Corolla vs Cerato vs Elantra Etc

Postby Picasso » February 5th, 2015, 10:07 am

The Corolla bai.. DUH!!

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 5th, 2015, 10:08 am

Nice but whats ur reasons is y i wanna know. Donu know anything about the new ones compared to the other cars mentioned?

Postby 16 cycles » February 5th, 2015, 10:22 am

parts for the koreans outside the company are hard to come by and expensive....might be same for the japs too....so should look into that if you intend on keeping the vehicle after the local warranty is up...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 5th, 2015, 10:27 am

Corolla - $192,500.00
Cerato - $180,887.80
Elantra - $168,000.00

Were some of the prices we were quoted late last year.

Corolla kinda up there in price compared to the others vs what you get. The Cerato & Elantra in terms of things like engine size, HP, fuel tank capacity, fuel type, etc are equal though the Cerato has some nice additions like daytime running LEDs, rear AC vents, etc.

Some other prices we got
Lancer - $195,000.00
Mazda3 - $182,649.20
Civic - $212,000.00 (though they have since got the new 2015 model)
Focus - $179,000.00

Of course things easily could have changed between then & now.

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 5th, 2015, 10:36 am

Yea saw the corolla sale now is 185500 but u get less with the toyota and the elantra n cerato has different models i realise so more money but which cud b the best buy, kia n hyundai long time wasnt the best durable buy i wonder if they change

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 5th, 2015, 10:38 am

Go test drive all of them.

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 5th, 2015, 10:53 am

The cerato has a more premium feel than all but small inside, the elantra is nice but worrisome about parts n the corolla is mainly brand n looks n well durability, dats my view so wanted to hear others who may have owned one of any

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 5th, 2015, 10:56 am

In this day and age I don't think it really matters which one you go with. There are so many elantras and ceratos on the road that foreign used dealers gonna be bringing in parts. You can also order parts online most likely all now. Trinis like Toyota so resale price might be higher years down the road. Up to you really. I personally like none of them.

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 5th, 2015, 10:58 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:In this day and age I don't think it really matters which one you go with. There are so many elantras and ceratos on the road that foreign used dealers gonna be bringing in parts. You can also order parts online most likely all now. Trinis like Toyota so resale price might be higher years down the road. Up to you really. I personally like none of them.

Lol cool

Postby sliderz1 » February 5th, 2015, 11:03 am

there are lots of new parts for the Korean cars available at external dealers. plus it helps that they've moved to a more globally popular brand so you can also import parts on certain models.

new corolla= meh

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 5th, 2015, 11:05 am

sliderz1 wrote:there are lots of new parts for the Korean cars available at external dealers. plus it helps that they've moved to a more globally popular brand so you can also import parts on certain models.

new corolla= meh

"Meh" as in nah?

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2015, 11:16 am

Axio gt ftw

Postby sliderz1 » February 5th, 2015, 11:22 am

correct. still as boring as my frontier

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 5th, 2015, 11:22 am

Kk

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 5th, 2015, 5:43 pm

sliderz1 wrote:correct. still as boring as my frontier

yeah but a frontier can get interesting with a just set of mud terrain tires; the corolla on the other hand..........
OP as mentioned already, do a test drive and see what you enjoy, cause that's what you'll be stuck with for a few years. Take a browse through the different subsections on here and read what people are having issues with. As for the dealerships, that's really like picking a political party in this country :/
Out of those 3 though, I'd probably go for the Elantra.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » February 5th, 2015, 6:29 pm

I'm going to test drive the cerato Koup in the morning. Will let you guys know how she feels.

Anyone know the price of the Jetta tsi now?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 6th, 2015, 8:33 am

bang for buck stick with the Koreans. as mentioned test drive it and look at projected running costs ( service fees for the first 100k ect)

parts well u can go to the firm which is very reasonable or you can buy online as parts now are global

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 6th, 2015, 8:41 am

Thanx guys rally appreciate this help

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » February 6th, 2015, 8:24 pm

Test drove the Cerato Koup today. The car is peppy...allows you to get into the higher revs easy enough. Feels solid on the road, the steering options though weren't really cutting it for me. The comfortable steering option was very soft, while the sport one was very stiff and not really enjoyable. The normal mode tried to be between the two but ended up still feeling mushy.

I was hoping for a leather interior but that's $10000 more. No sunroof on this model as well. Interior felt cheaper than I thought it would of been.

However I still like the car very much. Just wondering about resale value as well as reliability and having to deal with Southern Sales for the servicing etc.

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 6th, 2015, 8:28 pm

Kk inhave a partner who has the ilder model n he said the southen sales in south were well up to mark with him, at the same time yes resale value is good to know n only toyota has that, they say kia is koreans imitating audi lol but hey u get more "features for ur money" the corolla is nowhere close to the interior of the cerato but kia is doing great it seems

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » February 6th, 2015, 8:33 pm

Well to be honest the sales rep in the pos branch was an idiot, only on his phone, not initiating any conversation about the vehicle, basically didn't seem interested in selling the car. Was kinda pissing me off, but I said hey, you have idiots everywhere, I'll just deal with it.

Honestly trying to decide between the Cerato Koup (comfortable 2 door ride, bank for buck) and the more practical Navara (with leather interior, 4x4, manual)

Sigh.....

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 7th, 2015, 12:21 pm

Wow i was thinking the same about the sales rep in pos when i went, was he bout 5'8 dark skin negro guy?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 7th, 2015, 1:40 pm

hoverauto have you ever considered the Hyundai Tucson Diesel.
I had a Sports Version Navara that was stolen and replaced it with a Tuscon (was supposed to be temporary) but the Tuscon has really surprised me. The power is not close to the Navara but it's no slouch I take it on Lady Young and Maracas just for the runs (torque is addicting and surprisingly nimble with wider tires) if you don't need the tray give it a look. I've surprised many a sedan owner with that CUV actually thinking of modding just to see, because there's potential.

Plus the fuel efficiency even with spirited driving I manage more than 525+ kms and full up once a week and go just about anywhere during that time.

optimisticcharlie as Madcrix said bang for buck go for the Koreans personally for me Toyota has lost its way locally and I no longer see the value especially as the Koreans are up to mark and in some cases surpassing it. As for parts a credit card and a computer and the world is at your door.

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 7th, 2015, 1:48 pm

I know what u mean u all have great points, i looked at the older Cerato model i think its the 2010 or 12 model n its like 80k -90k and are in great condition and older Corolla like the 2011 models around there still have more resale value than the kia's so if ur not concerned about resale value i believe kia is my pick as it certainly is more bank for buck indeed but if u lookin to sell in a few years n lookin for a good resale value to buy something newer with little money to add then corolla and toyota is the best bet as i see it, its nice, jus dont like the seats material and tacky steering control but say wat

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » February 7th, 2015, 2:08 pm

optimisticcharlie wrote:Wow i was thinking the same about the sales rep in pos when i went, was he bout 5'8 dark skin negro guy?

Yes that's the idiot! Surprised he still have a job there.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » February 7th, 2015, 2:11 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:hoverauto have you ever considered the Hyundai Tucson Diesel.
I had a Sports Version Navara that was stolen and replaced it with a Tuscon (was supposed to be temporary) but the Tuscon has really surprised me. The power is not close to the Navara but it's no slouch I take it on Lady Young and Maracas just for the runs (torque is addicting and surprisingly nimble with wider tires) if you don't need the tray give it a look. I've surprised many a sedan owner with that CUV actually thinking of modding just to see, because there's potential.

Plus the fuel efficiency even with spirited driving I manage more than 525+ kms and full up once a week and go just about anywhere during that time.

optimisticcharlie as Madcrix said bang for buck go for the Koreans personally for me Toyota has lost its way locally and I no longer see the value especially as the Koreans are up to mark and in some cases surpassing it. As for parts a credit card and a computer and the world is at your door.

Whats the price of the Tucson Diesel? My budget is around $240000, hence the cerato Koup or the Navara.

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » February 7th, 2015, 2:26 pm

hoverauto wrote:
optimisticcharlie wrote:Wow i was thinking the same about the sales rep in pos when i went, was he bout 5'8 dark skin negro guy?

Yes that's the idiot! Surprised he still have a job there.

Yea he seemed like he dont care, wasnt seemingly interested sort of way

Postby nervewrecker » February 7th, 2015, 2:29 pm

optimisticcharlie wrote:I know what u mean u all have great points, i looked at the older Cerato model i think its the 2010 or 12 model n its like 80k -90k and are in great condition and older Corolla like the 2011 models around there still have more resale value than the kia's so if ur not concerned about resale value i believe kia is my pick as it certainly is more bank for buck indeed but if u lookin to sell in a few years n lookin for a good resale value to buy something newer with little money to add then corolla and toyota is the best bet as i see it, its nice, jus dont like the seats material and tacky steering control but say wat

I think the KIA them holding price you know.
They not like the older set that had no resale value and you have to feel shame to be caught behind the steering of one.

The only Toyota that actually caught my attention is the axio gt and from what I saw, price is ridiculous.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 7th, 2015, 2:58 pm

Wrt resale value the toyota will always sell for more because u paid more for it eh...so u nit comparing apples to apples