Explosion in Maraval?

orangefox

Re: Explosion in Maraval?

Postby orangefox » February 5th, 2015, 11:33 pm

sMASH wrote:I eh wah no damn cng in my cyar... Too many potential spark sources, and high potential for gas leakage.

... And confirmed oxygen in the atmosphere.

Yes no CNG ! Its El Pecos in your boot.

Every car with CNG may be suicidal on impact.

Maybe Tuner engineers ( the qualified one :D not the Reshmi kind ) here could confirm or not.

Postby shogun » February 6th, 2015, 12:13 am

Depressed most of the day about this yes. Meh Pecos dred?!?!

Hope all injured recover.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 6th, 2015, 12:35 am

shogun wrote:Depressed most of the day about this yes. Meh Pecos dred?!?!

You should be happy that you were not in the Mall's vicinity .
Glass, the thick commercial type, went flying all over the place.

However it make you wonder what is going on with all the food places
and are they safe.

Which food place is next ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2015, 12:45 am

orangefox wrote:

and are they safe.

where was there another explosion in a food place?

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 6th, 2015, 1:33 am

orangefox wrote:

and are they safe.

where was there another explosion in a food place?

The Maraval El Pecos Restaurant fire incident may well be a wake up call to all concerned.

Are food places in certain building, malls etc., really safe ?
Is there proper or regular inspection of the stove/gas facilities ?

Most food courts are packed to capacity with customers at breakfast and /or lunch times.
Most are filled with varying customers inclusive of women and children that are unaware that
danger may be lurking in a gas connection.

Many food court tenants use huge commercial gas stoves. The heat and fire is immense.

Are they inspected ? Are the gas connections inspected and in order ?

100% explosion free ?

This is not the first time we hand a "kitchen fire" in Trinidad.

Are we to wait until there is another explosion ?

Some may remember the People's Mall where the Mall's construction was questioned by fire officials.

http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/fo ... ad;id=2817

" Chief Fire Officer Lennox Alfred said one of the problems was the construction of the Mall. He explained that most of the properties are small and narrow and the passages are clustered. These building problems constrained the fire men. He said the booths were built of wood which allowed the flames to spread rapidly. He further explained that water was a problem and several hydrants in the capital were dry. "

As I enter a Mall or more importantly any food court, I will be aware that even as I go to
have a pleasant meal with family and/or friends it may not be ISIS but an old stove connection that just
may go KABOOM !!

Hmmm .. :shock:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2015, 1:37 am

^ that's some serious sensationalism there

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 6th, 2015, 1:45 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ that's some serious sensationalism there

Not really.

Life is fragile .

Gas stove connection are also fragile !

So listen for the KABOOM as you eat a burger and fries :shock:

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2015, 6:53 am

Most food places keep their gas tanks just outside the building. Perhaps they should start keeping them a few hundred feet away

Postby j.o.e » February 6th, 2015, 7:17 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Most food places keep their gas tanks just outside the building. Perhaps they should start keeping them a few hundred feet away

100 feet away may be far from the establishment...but close to someone else.

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2015, 7:22 am

They could keep it underground somewhat. In that to full them, the gas people have to walk down some steps. Me eh know.better they buy a set of nuwave

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2015, 7:25 am

dunno how people could regularly eat a working lunch for $50-60

Postby sMASH » February 6th, 2015, 7:34 am

That's a good point; no matter where u put them, there would still be a potential for explosion. In a built up area, there would not be any place close enough to any establishment yet far enough to keep people away from harm.

So, to mitigate that, there needs to be mandatory installation of explosimeters along three run of the gas lines, with quaterly calibration and simulated testing.

Also, a specific blast proof room needs to be constructed to store pressurized gas cylinders. This room needs to vent into the atmosphere with positive pressure. The opposite of an extractor fan. Where the vent exit point is in the room, he purge air should enter on he opposite side to push any gas leak out into the atmosphere.

Btw, when the building plan was PASSED, were all building codes adhared to? Knowing that u need completion certifies as well...

matix

Postby matix » February 6th, 2015, 8:23 am

orangefox wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ that's some serious sensationalism there

Not really.

Life is fragile .

Gas stove connection are also fragile !

So listen for the KABOOM as you eat a burger and fries :shock:

Point noted. How many of us have those gas cylinders in our homes. I use the 100lb tanks and a lot of people use the smaller ones. These are used daily, changed regularly and carry the same risk. So kaboom in your home as well?

Postby sMASH » February 6th, 2015, 8:51 am

50 X 5 x 4 = 1000
I can live with that for the while. Plus is only half the time I does splurge so.

Postby sMASH » February 6th, 2015, 8:55 am

@ matix are the cylinders at home in an open area, like down stairs in a post, or are they in a room like a tool shed, or store room?

Just a btw question

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2015, 9:14 am

I don't think it was a regular Ramco etc LPG tank that exploded here.
From the newspaper reports "it is believed that while receiving cooking gas from a supplier, the supplier’s fuel hose developed a leak which then began spewing the gas. As a result the Fire Service believes a mere spark may have caused the gas to ignite."

Postby Redman » February 6th, 2015, 9:16 am

North Plant distributes lpg.

I'm not sure if it is a co operative or if it is owned by NP.

Postby S_2NR » February 6th, 2015, 9:20 am

thelem wrote:
pugboy wrote:dunno how people could regularly eat a working lunch for $50-60

Because we can afford it???

Advent

Postby Advent » February 6th, 2015, 9:25 am

S_2NR wrote:
thelem wrote:
pugboy wrote:dunno how people could regularly eat a working lunch for $50-60

Because we can afford it???

:oops:

matix

Postby matix » February 6th, 2015, 9:35 am

sMASH wrote:@ matix are the cylinders at home in an open area, like down stairs in a post, or are they in a room like a tool shed, or store room?

Just a btw question

The cylinders are downstairs at my home in my laundry area. I've seen many homes where the smaller cylinders are just stuck in a cupboard next to the stove.

matix

Postby matix » February 6th, 2015, 9:38 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I don't think it was a regular Ramco etc LPG tank that exploded here.
From the newspaper reports "it is believed that while receiving cooking gas from a supplier, the supplier’s fuel hose developed a leak which then began spewing the gas. As a result the Fire Service believes a mere spark may have caused the gas to ignite."

Correct. It's those commercial lpg storage tanks that most large restaurants use. Those tanks are refilled by the trucks.

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2015, 10:06 am

matix wrote:
sMASH wrote:@ matix are the cylinders at home in an open area, like down stairs in a post, or are they in a room like a tool shed, or store room?

Just a btw question

The cylinders are downstairs at my home in my laundry area. I've seen many homes where the smaller cylinders are just stuck in a cupboard next to the stove.

Well that's the usual case. The stove does come with enough hose to put the small tank right next to it lol

Postby supercharged turbo » February 6th, 2015, 12:50 pm

Yeah our 20lb right by the stove but it begins to crack,we buy a new piece.

Postby UML » February 6th, 2015, 2:22 pm

I hearing an explosion and at the same time I see a woman running towards me and I just grabbed her hand and led her to the bathroom...then I took my time and I led her out.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/15- ... 01001.html

:mrgreen:

matix

Postby matix » February 6th, 2015, 2:50 pm

The 100lb cylinders are most times, properly installed. The guys that sell them install the tubing and they inspect it almost everytime that they replace a tank.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1423248614.951104.jpg

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 6th, 2015, 4:26 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I don't think it was a regular Ramco etc LPG tank that exploded here.

Hmm .. So that specific truck with "a fuel hose leak" supplying other people ? :shock:

RAMO have some rusty looking gas tanks that seem to be painted red and grey, which may hide the visual rust marks but the integrity of the cylinder under pressure may be danger lurking in your home and/or business.

Gas tanks should have a mandatory inspection done by authorities.
Never seen any label saying "Inspected" on any gas tank.

But on my extra extra large jockey shorts I always see a label saying "Inspected by # 7"

matix

Postby matix » February 6th, 2015, 7:13 pm

Anyone saw the news. It's just the larger tanks that they have and they both intact. No damage done to any of the tanks. So now the plot thickens. And yet there's no mention of the refueling truck that was involved.

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2015, 8:04 pm

They say hose got loose so liquified gas all over the place and vaporizing fast then kaboom

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 6th, 2015, 9:17 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1423271842.319113.jpg

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 6th, 2015, 9:18 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1423271887.957216.jpg